Walla Walla, WA 
Fort Walla Walla DGC Share
Uploaded By: wallawallathrower Hole #17 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 394ft.   3 / 394ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee (Red Course)

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Fort Walla Walla Park Course Review

1    9/7/2015   9/12/2015
Review By: TheBeardedFatGuy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (We played the blue course, a full 18 holes.) The first two holes were promising - interesting terrain and nicely manicured lawn. The next 11 holes were another story (see Cons), but 14-18 were again on nice green lawn.
Cons: Holes 3 through 13 were not only on marginalized land, most of them were in uncut weeds where long pants were essential to keep your legs from being perforated by stickers. A few of the holes, due to their length, I feel should have rated at par 4 instead of 3. Getting to hole 3 was an adventure as the maps provided don't clearly illustrate the way to get to it. I hate to criticize any course where they had the gumption to even put one in, and I know it can be a struggle to get volunteers wrangled and deal with parks officials. Any course is better than no course and, with proper support and patronage, the resources to improve can come. I wish the folks who love this course the best of luck.
Other Thoughts: I haven't played a lot of courses to date, but I see how some of them are pushed onto marginalized land, either because there isn't enough well-cared for areas to accommodate them, or because the park authorities aren't keen to fill their picnic areas with flying discs. Some of them it's because the were erected decades ago when the sport was not well known or nearly as popular as it is today.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    2/27/2015   3/2/2015
Review By: chevis
Played: 51  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tees (w fading #s) & Innova Baskets (w color coded #s)
-Park maintenance
-uncrowded (on a weekday afternoon, might be different on a weekend)
-good mix of right, left, short, long holes.
-technical ob, but not punishing
-some elevation changes
Cons: -Flow, many long walks to the next tee
-Difficult navigation (no signs)
-not many obstacles in the fairways (mostly wide open)
-walking paths, pedestrians
-shared baskets for the red course
Other Thoughts: almost a tale of 3 courses. first there is a nice park with baskets, then there is a field with baskets, and finally a couple baskets squeezed onto a sloped strip of land. this makes the course feel cluncky; like it was a 9 holer that kept adding holes. there appears to be a lot of unused land in that area, so I'm sure there were constraints in the past that restricted the initial design of a full 18. At least there are 18 now, they just are spread out.
with no signs, the tees need a marker of some sort. trying to find the next pad in a field of grass is hard w/no sign. there were some that did have a bench or a log and those were easier to find. if I lived there I would move some of those logs that are by the bridge and put them next to the pads that need them (thus providing a seat & a marker).
I wonder what is up with the old rundown house that is fenced off between 7 and 8. it really is an eyesore on the course.
there is one par 4 (#9blue) and it is well setup with bushes in strategic places so you have to plan your navigation wisely. it also has trees that frame the basket nicely.
If you have some people that are restricting you from playing disc golf, convince them to go check out the fort walla walla museum. while they are busy in the museum, you can slip away and get a round in out back.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fort Walla Walla

1    9/8/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: Idahomtnhigh
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Large playing area with good use of holes and tees. Easy to find for out of town players.
Cons: Very little maintenance has been done. Several of the tee box painted numbers were nearly worn off and had to guess if we were using the right tee. No signs or other markings anywhere on or around the course. Homeless people living in OB areas.
Other Thoughts: Would be a great course if the local disc golfers would spend some time with maintenance of the course.

 A challenger for me for sure

2-4    10/8/2011   10/8/2011
Review By: DGShawn
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Versatility. With the multiple tees and baskets of the red course, and the Blue course also having multiples of both, the versatility of this course is amazing.

Cleanliness. There was very little trash and riff raff anywhere to be found here today when I played. The fairways were nice and mowed, the OB's were clearly marked, and with having printed the map(s) from here the intricacies of the course were clear and concise.

Locals. There was an Ace Pot going on while I was here today, and those that were around were very helpful to me, telling me where this and that is, and the OB lines and such. Helpful friendly folks.

Challenge. For me this course was a very welcome challenge. Granted, I am used to shorter, less technical courses, but the blue tees here with the longer par 3's, and the "not just another hyzer" drives proved to be fun and different.
Cons: The only con I can really think of, is the lack of signage. Though the maps that are easily downloaded and printed from here are spot on, a new player without could easily get lost. Then again, there was a great sign in the parking area that had slots for maps and scorecards, so I would assume they are made available frequently.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a course I would like to play once a month at the least. They do have weekly Ace Pots, and apparently a Sunday league, so perhaps I can get in on that. I would recommend this course to anyone in the area. You could easily play 36 different holes in one visit.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of replay value

5+    9/13/2010   1/24/2011
Review By: afroflow
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has more variety then meets the eye.
3 courses, Red, Blue and Black (black is up for tournaments only).

Red - a 10 pin course, with 2 tee's for each pin. Short throws with very challenging OBs make this course more difficult then other courses its size. The red course is very well groomed year round as long as you keep your throws in bounds. Take special attention throwing from tee 5 not to go in the swamp unless you dont care for the disc.

Blue - full 18 pin course that overlaps with the red course from time to time. Much longer holes then the red course, but still only boasting a single par 4 in its quiver. A great variety of dog legs, mandos, OB and distance that make this course more challenging then expected. It has a very open feel for just about every hole, but with designated problems it gives the course excitement. Kind of like saying "dont step on the carpet, it's made of lava", this course has a few "dont throw into that outlined spray paint circle. it's a pond." Of course none of this is actually marked, but I'll get into that later. There is only 1 multiple tee option, but they move the pins pretty frequently. If you play with a strict out of bounds rule, and keep an eye on the path for slow walking senior citizens you'll have a great time.

Black - only set up for tournaments. This course adds another 9 holes to the regular blue course that extend further into the unused park (other then the seniors of course). Nothing really stands out about this 9 other then the "clown tooth" hole. a short hole with a narrow double mando.

All and all if you know how to navigate the park and all the holes, you can create a huge variety of options that give this course tons of replay. Play some blue, sprinkled in with some red variables, skip one, take a break on the swings for a while, dance around in the adjacent trailer park, really just do whatever. When you live in Walla Walla and the nearest course to this one is an hour away, this is truly a great park to have.
Cons: A huge con for the entire park is it's not marked. There are no signs or guides anywhere, trying to navigate this without someone who has played it your first time will tough for the red course and impossible for the blue. If the black course is up, you wont even find it. Also the mandos around the course are not explained other then by word of mouth. They truly add more excitement. However if your not privy to them, you'll be stuck wondering why they'd highlight such an ugly piece of grass.

Red - the second tee's. They are not paved, and generally don't add any excitement for the second time around. The tee's are usually 2-3 feet away from the tee you first threw from, and generally make the pin a little closer, or a little further away without adding new obstacles *exception hole 5 and 15*.

Blue - holes 3-16 aren't groomed. ever. in the spring its at it's peak of enjoyable play, but in summer it's very very very dusty, overgrown in spots and all in all ugly. This things can't be fixed, but they are cons just the same.

Black - only set up 3-4 weeks out of the year, and it's addition isn't anything exciting.
Other Thoughts: Great community! It's a rare thing to play here and not see the regulars. Everyone that I encountered playing here when I lived in Walla Walla over the years were very friendly. They *don't drop beer cans everywhere*, are always willing to help with directions on the course, and adhere to the subtle nuances that is polite disc golf etiquette. So if you play here, do the same.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My second home course

5+    10/24/2010   11/10/2010
Review By: Uhlman
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/3/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a beautiful park and lovingly maintained by a group of great volunteers, the entire park is family and stroller friendly. There is very nice and helpful kiosk in the main parking lot with overviews of the red and blue course. They also provide scorecard maps of the course that explain the mandos and OB rules.

Red- this course is very beginner friendly it has shorter hole lengths yet a good mix of difficulty levels for the non-beginner who just want to get in a quick round. All the pads are marked with their color and number.

Blue- this course is great for the intermediate and advanced players. It will take the average player about 2 hours to play the full 18. The holes are challenging and fair. All the pads are marked with their color and number. There are multiple pin positions on most of the holes and one hole (hole 6) has two tee pads. All tee pads are concrete.

Black- this temporary course only comes out for tournaments with some unique and challenging holes.
Cons: The Red and Blue course uses older Discatcher baskets and some of the bands are a little off kilter. After the main sign in the parking lot there are no other signs (which they are working to remedy) however, all the tee pads are marked with color and number.

Red - This course can be a little difficult to navigate after the first nine holes as two cement bricks only mark the second nine. In most cases, though these are near the cement pads. The natural pads for the second nine are a little rough.

Blue- this course lacks technical holes (they have a few), as it does not have many trees (not their fault, just the climate). They have compensated for this by adding OB areas and mandos.

Black- This is a temporary course and only available during tournaments.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses to play as it offers me a new challenge every time. It is family friendly and the locals are great people to play with. If you have not played in a tournament here, you are missing a great time. If you can't make it to a tournament (or they are just not your thing) check out an ace pot or other weekly event...You'll have a great time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Red and Blue

2-4    11/6/2010   11/6/2010
Review By: Highball
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Red Course - This is a great cool down or warm up course. There are a few longer shots but for the most part you don't need a big arm.
Blue Course - This one will give you a work out! Oh my! There are some huge runs there. If you love to throw a disc way out there this is your course.
Cons: Red - I did not like the fact that holes 10-18 were over lapping 1-9. For us the day went good cause there were not many people out playing. If it was a packed joint there would be trouble. I understand that they made due with what they had to get 18.
Blue - It also over laps the Red course at points (1-2, 14-18) until you get into the back field.
We just went (mid June 2011) and the back field (3-13) of the Blue was an absolute sea of what people call "Fox Tails" or "Cheat Grass"!!! Loaded our socks and shoes! For you who have never dealt with this stuff.... It looks like bent over wheat. The seeds are like little barbed fishing hooks. Once they stick into your socks/ shoes they only go deeper until your getting pricked hard. You will be shocked how easy the seeds latch on and hard you have to pull to get each seed out of your sock! To combat the Cheat Grass I'd suggest wearing jeans and hi-top shoes. Your still going to have to stop and rip em out but you can go longer before each stop. Just made us want to set fire to the field but we were good and sucked it up and drove on.

There is a Black course marked but we could not find a Black course map to play it.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the two courses. Next time we will play the Blue first then go Red. If you go Red first your arm will pay for it when you need to use your big arm on the Blue. We are looking forward to making the trip back to this park and playing another 2 rounds!

PS: If someone reads this and has a good copy of the Black course please post it here. I would sure love to play it!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/1/2011   7/6/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 229  Reviewed: 221  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The red course is the family friendly side and it seems the blue course is the course for the more experienced players. No problem on navigation in this park as there are maps available at the first tee and a huge blown up map of both layouts so if you get lost here it's your own fault! The tee pads are concrete and the baskets are all DISCatchers in excellent shape. There are multiple tee pads that have the course color and hole number at each pad so you know when you reach the correct hole.
Cons: The dual red and blue layout can be a tad confusing at the start of the blue course as the first couple of blue holes overlap the red course and can make it confusing for people new to the course or when the course is busy with people which seems often. Some of the baskets are too close to the next tee pads and fairways are close to one another as well and this slows play down and makes the course more dangerous. The parking lot is quite small and on a busy day you might have to park 1/2 mile away and then walk to the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall I found this to be a reasonable course to play if you live nearby but I wouldn't drive out of my way again to come down this far south to play it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The crushers course

1    3/5/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice open course played in a pretty park gives opportunities to grip and rip. Most of the fairways are defined by a thick woodsy edge, paved pathways and a couple of fences. Navigation is easy with a map and the tees are big and contain the "painted" number of the holes that they accommodate (blue or red). The course challenges you mostly to stay in bounds, because there are not an abundance of trees in the fairways, except for a few holes.
Cons: The course plays a little open for my liking, and does not require that you shape many shots. You will be required to do a hyzer or anhyzer but very few s-curve shots to make it to the pin. Nevertheless, you will have to manage the fairways or risk going OB on many holes. I felt that a few shorter finesse holes would balance the course better.
Other Thoughts: I observed very few people playing disc on a sunny weekday, but many folks out walking the park. It was nice to have the course practically to myself on such a fine afternoon!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    10/28/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: The_luthers
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It was a nice course, they now only have two different ones to play, the red and the blue. We played the red one. All of the concrete pads are fairly well marked and having a large map helped alot. it is a beautiful area and over all very easy to navigate!
Cons: there are a few areas that if you go out of bounds its hard to find your stray disk. There is one area that is fenced off for a marsh land, and my wife (who is a very new beginer) tossed her driver right into the yellow tall grass, and it took us an hour to locate it. but that is our only complaint
Other Thoughts: Walla Walla is a beautiful area and it is worth swinging in and playing a round or two here

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.