Walla Walla, WA 
Fort Walla Walla DGC Share
Uploaded By: wallawallathrower Hole #12 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 242ft.   3 / --   3 / 416ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee (Red Course)



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Red and Blue

2-4    11/6/2010   11/6/2010
Review By: Highball
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Red Course - This is a great cool down or warm up course. There are a few longer shots but for the most part you don't need a big arm.
Blue Course - This one will give you a work out! Oh my! There are some huge runs there. If you love to throw a disc way out there this is your course.
Cons: Red - I did not like the fact that holes 10-18 were over lapping 1-9. For us the day went good cause there were not many people out playing. If it was a packed joint there would be trouble. I understand that they made due with what they had to get 18.
Blue - It also over laps the Red course at points (1-2, 14-18) until you get into the back field.
We just went (mid June 2011) and the back field (3-13) of the Blue was an absolute sea of what people call "Fox Tails" or "Cheat Grass"!!! Loaded our socks and shoes! For you who have never dealt with this stuff.... It looks like bent over wheat. The seeds are like little barbed fishing hooks. Once they stick into your socks/ shoes they only go deeper until your getting pricked hard. You will be shocked how easy the seeds latch on and hard you have to pull to get each seed out of your sock! To combat the Cheat Grass I'd suggest wearing jeans and hi-top shoes. Your still going to have to stop and rip em out but you can go longer before each stop. Just made us want to set fire to the field but we were good and sucked it up and drove on.

There is a Black course marked but we could not find a Black course map to play it.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the two courses. Next time we will play the Blue first then go Red. If you go Red first your arm will pay for it when you need to use your big arm on the Blue. We are looking forward to making the trip back to this park and playing another 2 rounds!

PS: If someone reads this and has a good copy of the Black course please post it here. I would sure love to play it!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The crushers course

1    3/5/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice open course played in a pretty park gives opportunities to grip and rip. Most of the fairways are defined by a thick woodsy edge, paved pathways and a couple of fences. Navigation is easy with a map and the tees are big and contain the "painted" number of the holes that they accommodate (blue or red). The course challenges you mostly to stay in bounds, because there are not an abundance of trees in the fairways, except for a few holes.
Cons: The course plays a little open for my liking, and does not require that you shape many shots. You will be required to do a hyzer or anhyzer but very few s-curve shots to make it to the pin. Nevertheless, you will have to manage the fairways or risk going OB on many holes. I felt that a few shorter finesse holes would balance the course better.
Other Thoughts: I observed very few people playing disc on a sunny weekday, but many folks out walking the park. It was nice to have the course practically to myself on such a fine afternoon!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice

1    10/28/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: The_luthers
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It was a nice course, they now only have two different ones to play, the red and the blue. We played the red one. All of the concrete pads are fairly well marked and having a large map helped alot. it is a beautiful area and over all very easy to navigate!
Cons: there are a few areas that if you go out of bounds its hard to find your stray disk. There is one area that is fenced off for a marsh land, and my wife (who is a very new beginer) tossed her driver right into the yellow tall grass, and it took us an hour to locate it. but that is our only complaint
Other Thoughts: Walla Walla is a beautiful area and it is worth swinging in and playing a round or two here

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Walla Walla

1    9/23/2009   9/30/2009
Review By: Scorchysrevenge
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Three different courses with varying levels of difficulty
-Course laid out on board with course maps
-Great first hole on Blue Course
-Painted numbers on Tee Pads, easy to locate
Cons: -Disc-eating-trash-dump on hole 4 of Blue Course. A little gross.
-Crossing fairways, could see this causing conflict if there were lots of people playing.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fort Walla Walla DGC

2-4    3/21/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 187  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located on a former cavalry fort, Fort Walla Walla DGC is a wonderful area to play due to the scenic beauty of the rolling hills, grassy fields, abundancey of native trees and foliage (including wildlife), and creek running throughout. Other amenities include a BMX course, military museum with local history, and a remote control airplane area which includes mini landing strips.

Right away as I showed up to this course I was impressed with how well kept up it was. There was a huge map up front showing the layout of the course including the 10 holes with dual tee pads south of Garrison creek and the other 9 north of the creek which could be accessed by a foot bridge. Both the baskets (DISCatchers) and cement tee pads were in great shape which made the enjoyment factor of the course that much more. Coming from the Westside of the state where rain plays a huge role in everyday play, it was nice to have cement tee pads and even more, no rain!

Local maintenance was apparent as grass was mowed, trees were well groomed, and there was little to no brush to lose discs (with the exception for errant throws OB). The flow to the course seemed to make sense for the most part, with just a short walk at the end from the north to the south side.

There are three different course layouts, each with their own challenges and degree of difficulty. For beginners and novice players, I recommend the red course due to the its length, amont of obstacles, and pin placements. The blue and black courses would be more appropriate for advanced and pro (intermediate would do fine on either).
On all three courses there is an equal amount of lefty and righty holes allowing DGers a chance to use several different discs and styles of throws which is always a plus.
Cons: As mentioned earlier from the first review, it was a shame that the course lost a few holes due to the dog park. When DG courses border other areas with lots of open space it is inevitable the locals will want to add other amenities to this wonderful area. This DG course seems to have been given a lot of room for this great course though, which includes the black course which is primarily used for tournaments. It would be nice if they could regularly maintain that part of the park however, because those holes are fantastic! Last, the wind at times can play tricks with your game so be prepared to bring some over stable discs to compensate for the elements.
Other Thoughts: I had the privilege of playing in the Aloha Sushi Classic where I had a chance to observe two of the best players in the world (Dave Feldberg #1 and Nate Sexton #17) as well as play 3 incredible rounds on the black and blue courses. Everything was in pristine shape, and the tournament directors and HUK Lab did a fantastic job on the player packs, food, and overall quality of the event. I truly had a blast even though I struggled trying to avoid all the OB'S (and there were a lot).

I highly recommend playing a round here when on the east side of the state as well as checking out all the wineries this city has to offer. It is well worth it!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Well Marked Little Walla Walla Throw!

7/4/2008   7/12/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots to like about this course. Nice big map on the bulletin board at the beginning. Nice concrete teepads. Lovely green grassy park. Nice painted #'s on the teepads makes for easy navigation. Maps available at the bulletin board at # 1. The course is not long but it's tough enough to challenge but also suitable for families and beginners. Friendly locals. The overall park is huge with a miletary museum, model airplane flying area, dog park, BMX track and lots more to do here.
Cons: Unfortunately, they lost holes # 8 & 17 due to a dog park being built. Hopefully, they will reconfigure and figure out a way to get those two holes back. They have the room. Eastern Washington winds can play havoc to your game. Three of the holes hug the border of the park which could mean hunting for lost discs.
Other Thoughts: There is a second Black course across Garrison Creek. It is currently completely overgrown with grass and weeds waist high. The locals said it currently isn't playable. I liked the Fort Walla Walla course. After being frustrated by Pullman's Sunnyside Park earlier this morning, it was nice to play an easy to navigate course like this one. If you're ever in WaWa tasting wine, give this course a try.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.