Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

St. Charles, MO 
Lindenwood University - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: hognosesucker Hole #7
3 / 224ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: Follow player's arm to basket 75' left



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A shmorgishborg of shots.

1    7/5/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 137  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 19.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Lindenwood University course has a nice variety of shots. You have some wooded and some open shots, some uphill and some downhill shots, some deuce runs and some "air it out" shots, and some shots where water comes into play. These shots provide a decent challenge. It's not a course that will challenge an Open pro but it's not a cupcake. The back nine was mostly wide open which I usually hate, but the design used some natural drop-offs with some pin placements and tucked some other pins back against the tree line which kept things interesting. For me the variety and challenge level made it a fun course to play.
Cons: There are two spots where navigation is an issue. The walk between # 3 and # 4 involves knowing where to turn into the woods and walking far enough down a wooded path that I began to get a bit concerned that my guide was just taking me to a secluded place where he could pull out a gun and go Deliverance on me. I'm pretty sure I would not have found that hole without a guide. Then when you finish #14 there again is no sign of the next hole. You have to walk around a wooded area where you will encounter the basket for #15, then walk all the way up the fairway to get to the tee for #15. That could cause backups and safety issues if the course was crowded. Since this one hole is set away from the rest of the course I'm not sure I would have found it without a guide; the logical place to look for the next tee is where # 16's tee is.
In a couple of places the holes run very close to property lines. I'm pretty sure I took my upshot from the Church property on #14, and there was a pretty big danger of hyzering your drive into a backyard on # 8.
There were other issues that come with a new course. The area around # 2-# 3 was torn up due to construction in the area. # 1 has a really nice artificial grass tee, but the rest were dirt. There were no garbage cans on the course, and it looked like they could use some. Hopefully all these things will be addressed in the future.
Other Thoughts: I've heard some people say this is a "students only" course and others that say it's open to the public. Nobody asked us any questions, but I think it's a safe bet that the campus really does not want to get swarmed by non-student golfers. Many of the holes are in clear view of the Dean's house, so it's not going to be an "out of sight, out of mind" deal. It is very important to pick up garbage and keep things on the up and up when you play this course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Fun course in st.charles

1    1/19/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: 2gttalon
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: Good variation in hole types and lengths. Mulitple par variations. Multiple terrains and decent scenary. This course will be very fun once the weather warms up ,the mud is gone and all holes are done.
Cons: As of 1/19/09 There are still many holes under construction and the course is very muddy right now. Hole 1 and 18 are close to the pond and may eat your disc. The layout can be confusing the first time around especially since 3 is missing. I added the course layout under links/files from stldiscgolf.
Other Thoughts: Today Was the first day I played. I was playing by myself and had some guys who just finished watch me on the first hole. I threw an anhyzer around the trees to the left and got a hole in one.
Had to leave my initials. " RJH". I wonder if it is the first ace at the course ?

0 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 front nine three, back nine 2.5

1    1/3/2010   1/3/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 356  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -course offers a good mix of water hazards, heavily wooded, wide open, flat and hilly sections
-lots of shot variety here, water holes favor a right to left shot heavily, but this is counteracted by the wooded shots which favor left to right shots
-some decent length here, some holes over 400' but most range between 250-350'
-a nice ridge on the back nine is the home to a couple baskets so that there is always an uphill putt at the 2 baskets (hole 10 and 12)
-a couple dangerous greens here involving water (9, 17, 18) and a nice fall away style green (11) that is placed on the edge of a ditch peninsula.
-Nice teesigns on almost all holes (minus 2 and 3) and scorecards with maps at hole 1.
-Pretty decent navigation especially on the back nine, front nine is a bit tougher in the woods, but it wasn't really an issue as I had a guide (Redarmy).
Cons: -right now the course is pretty rough, it looks like lines in the woods were fairly recently cut, so there are some stumps and some brush that needs to be cleared, but I'm not counting this against the course b/c it is so new.
-The back nine is way too open for my tastes, several of the holes on the back are completely bare of obstacles with just elevation in play.
-Course plays along a lot of residental areas (holes 5-8, 9, 11, 14) in which the neighbors might get a little ticked that golfers will be making noise and retrieving discs.
-Natural teepads and no garbage or bathroom facilities (again not counting this in the ratings as some will be fixed in the near future, see OTHER THOUGHTS)
Other Thoughts: -I'm definitely excited to watch this course progress, it has the potential for a challenging red level/rec course. Once it gets cleaned up a bit it'll look niiice. That being said I think this course will top out at a 3.5, mostly because of the somewhat weak back nine.
-They are experimenting with different tee pads currently. Rubber pads and astroturf. the astroturf was actually pretty nice, it looks a little funky right now because it's dark green and everything else is brownish, but it feels nice and I liked it better than the rubber pads.
-I think this course has the potential to get A LOT of play. It's on a college campus and I saw 2 groups besides mine today and it was 20 degrees and WINDY.
-It was certainly a fun course with lots of downhill bombs, interesting, tight lines and a couple "bag emptying" holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Finally something to do on campus

1    12/31/2009   1/2/2010
Review By: klenglfr
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is fantastic. It could be a little tough on beginners because the first half requires accuracy and the last half requires distance.

For experienced players this is great for honing your skills. Requires all types of shots and is really just an all around great course.

Hole 13 is a great place to really see what you got and improve on your distance.
Cons: There is a lot of construction obstructing with the course on the first few holes. Lots of mud right now. Once the construction is gone that should get fixed. No trash cans or direction signs yet but if I remember I will put something together to help navigate.
Other Thoughts: I am a student at Lindenwood as well as a frequent disc golfer. The campus is very small and there is really not much to do. When I heard about the course going in I was very excited. Now I will probably play it almost everyday. I can't wait til it is warmer because I do not play well in the cold.

There is now a basket in place for hole 3 but tees have not been put in yet so just take a guess at where you would like to tee off.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.