Layout Extinct

St. Charles, MO 
Lindenwood University - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: hognosesucker Hole #15 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 340ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 

5+    7/19/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: GatewayDiscSports
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 25.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: An excellent course for beginners and amateurs, this one offers a nice variety of holes including water holes, narrow wooded holes, and picturesque wide open holes. Most holes are accessible in one big throw, but many require accuracy. Takes advantage of a small drainage berm/dike across the course property and trees for some interesting pin placements. Very narrow front nine holes require very accurate drives and great putting to score well. Back nine requires a big arm and wind control as it is mostly wide open.
Cons: Still new and working on signage/maintenance issues. #3 is currently in place as of July 2011, although it is a good idea to play with someone who knows the course the first time you play as some of the wooded holes can be difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: One of Gateway's newer designs, this course will grow into itself very soon and become one of the better courses in the area. In the meantime, it caters to a disc golf-starved St. Charles community.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hopeful for the future

1    5/28/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 43  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The area where the course is layed out is mostly very scenic and well kept. Your first shot runs along the pond and get's you off to a nice start. There's a good mix of open shots for unabashed driving and punishing deep woods with 5 ft. wide fairways lined by thick, menacing honeysuckle vines and underbrush. The rolling hills of the back 9 are just fun to throw across and add a nice relief from the punishment of 4 through 9.
Cons: It is near impossible to find your way around in some places. From 3 (by the giant pile of wood chips) we would have never found 4 without help. Navigating from 4 through 9 was nothing more than lots of wasted time with trial and error and we never found the tee for 15 (but we did find someones runaway pet python/boa while looking). Many of the tee sign-posts were just a board in the ground with no sign and the 'natural' tees themselves are in bad shape. The worst part for us was holes 4-9. They are so short, narrow and overgrown with poison ivy and vines that it's practically impossible to not lose your discs unless you just throw precise, short tosses (or you are a pro.) The woods need to be cleaned up badly. There was also litter at almost every single tee because there are no trash cans anywhere (although that's still no excuse to you inconsiderate so and so's who decide it's an excuse to just drop it).
Other Thoughts: The map in the links on this course is pretty much wrong. Could be that things have changed since it was made. I hate being so down on so many courses, but this one would be a lot better if I had just skipped 4-9 and had been able to find the tees on some of the others. It might be a great course in the future.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lindenwood

5+    2/24/2011   2/24/2011
Review By: dudiablo
Played: 70  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of variation to it. The front 9 are riddled with tricky little shots, just as the back will let you put some real muscle behind the disc. Makes for an interesting round.

This course can be very tough which to me is a good thing! You will use most every disc in you bag here.

The lake on the course also adds some excitement because there are a hand full of holes where you are either shooting right at the lake, or right along its bank. It really makes you think about what you are wanting to do with the elements of the shot.

Signs are good, and give you a decent idea of what to expect.
Cons: For some reason this course has a terrible tendency to WINDY!!! This could be seen as a positive because each hole will play differently from day to day, but its a putting nightmare.

For a first time out the course could be difficult to navigate, especially the front 9 and there is a pretty unorthodox set up between 14 and 15 where you pretty much walk the right by 15s fairway to get to the tee.

The tees are natural (except the first which is an artificial turf) so over time these will become very rutted, but they aren't bad at all right now. Having an artificial surface on the 1st tee does give some hope for similar set ups on the remaining 17 holes for the future which would be really nice.
Other Thoughts: This is a very well rounded course on a campus that could really use it! Its in a great location so that you could easily play it, creave coure and white birch all in a day if you really wanted to get a dg fix. This is one is definitely worth playing, and has a pretty unique set up by stl standards. Well done.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not quite finished

1    9/6/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a university campus with a nice mix of open grassy fairways and tight woods shots. There is enough elevation that most shots play up or down hills, and a few use the elevation to make tricky greens. A pond comes into play on a few holes, adding some nice risk reward at the beginning and end of the course. There is a great mix of short and long holes so even the more open parts of the course don't feel too repetitive, especially with pins placed on top of small levees or tucked into trees at the end of a long open hole.

The signage is adequate, and has a basic hole layout and distance. There is a decent course map posted here that is helpful in following the course. The tees are natural, but aren't too rutted out yet so they still provide fine footing. The baskets are pretty new so they are in nice shape and catch well. The grounds are nicely maintained, with mowed grass and not too much trash or vandalism even in the thick woods.
Cons: The first 4 holes are in a construction site at the moment, so the tees and signs are missing, and you're throwing over and around construction equipment and torn up muddy ground. Other than that, there's only a couple weird spots for navigation, but those are a little tough to figure out without a map or guide.

The wooded holes have nice lines, and good punishment for errant shots, but they need a little more clearing. A couple had brush still encroaching quite a bit into the fairway, and all had dead branches and leftover stumps to trip you up. The tees are starting to show some erosion, and if this course gets much play they looked like they'll get pretty rutted out in the near future.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to have on a university campus to expose students and the community to the sport. It is well designed, and manages to stay interesting despite a few too many wide open shots. It still needs some work, and will be much improved with the completion of the construction project that is currently making the first 4 holes ugly and difficult to follow.

Beginners will find the course pretty tough, with lots of length on the open shots, and thick punishing rough on the shorter wooded holes. More experienced players will find some good challenges here, especially on a windy day. There is potential for some cool long tees for tournaments, especially around the water, that could make for some water carries to add challenge and risk.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A shmorgishborg of shots.

1    7/5/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Lindenwood University course has a nice variety of shots. You have some wooded and some open shots, some uphill and some downhill shots, some deuce runs and some "air it out" shots, and some shots where water comes into play. These shots provide a decent challenge. It's not a course that will challenge an Open pro but it's not a cupcake. The back nine was mostly wide open which I usually hate, but the design used some natural drop-offs with some pin placements and tucked some other pins back against the tree line which kept things interesting. For me the variety and challenge level made it a fun course to play.
Cons: There are two spots where navigation is an issue. The walk between # 3 and # 4 involves knowing where to turn into the woods and walking far enough down a wooded path that I began to get a bit concerned that my guide was just taking me to a secluded place where he could pull out a gun and go Deliverance on me. I'm pretty sure I would not have found that hole without a guide. Then when you finish #14 there again is no sign of the next hole. You have to walk around a wooded area where you will encounter the basket for #15, then walk all the way up the fairway to get to the tee for #15. That could cause backups and safety issues if the course was crowded. Since this one hole is set away from the rest of the course I'm not sure I would have found it without a guide; the logical place to look for the next tee is where # 16's tee is.
In a couple of places the holes run very close to property lines. I'm pretty sure I took my upshot from the Church property on #14, and there was a pretty big danger of hyzering your drive into a backyard on # 8.
There were other issues that come with a new course. The area around # 2-# 3 was torn up due to construction in the area. # 1 has a really nice artificial grass tee, but the rest were dirt. There were no garbage cans on the course, and it looked like they could use some. Hopefully all these things will be addressed in the future.
Other Thoughts: I've heard some people say this is a "students only" course and others that say it's open to the public. Nobody asked us any questions, but I think it's a safe bet that the campus really does not want to get swarmed by non-student golfers. Many of the holes are in clear view of the Dean's house, so it's not going to be an "out of sight, out of mind" deal. It is very important to pick up garbage and keep things on the up and up when you play this course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Diverse

1    1/19/2010   2/13/2010
Review By: Chucktown
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lindenwood is a really diverse course, something that only a few courses in our area have. It has a mix of heavily wooded and open holes, downhill and uphill shots, and a variety of lengths from 200-600 feet.
Cons: Unfortunately this is a progressing course so it is not completed yet. So not all of the tees have a pad yet. I was only able to play holes 1, and 9-18 because the course was so wet and I was afraid of loosing my shoes in the mud.
Other Thoughts: Course shows a lot of promise, cannot wait until all the pads are in and the course is dry. Also, I have heard some unfortunate rumors that the course has now become private to university students.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Fun course in st.charles

1    1/19/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: 2gttalon
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: Good variation in hole types and lengths. Mulitple par variations. Multiple terrains and decent scenary. This course will be very fun once the weather warms up ,the mud is gone and all holes are done.
Cons: As of 1/19/09 There are still many holes under construction and the course is very muddy right now. Hole 1 and 18 are close to the pond and may eat your disc. The layout can be confusing the first time around especially since 3 is missing. I added the course layout under links/files from stldiscgolf.
Other Thoughts: Today Was the first day I played. I was playing by myself and had some guys who just finished watch me on the first hole. I threw an anhyzer around the trees to the left and got a hole in one.
Had to leave my initials. " RJH". I wonder if it is the first ace at the course ?

0 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Course was fun until hole 9....

2-4    1/1/2010   1/4/2010
Review By: Jorge
Played: 65  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A new course in St. Charles county, just west of the county line and Creve Coeur park.

The front 9 was very fun tight wooded holes that will only get tighter in the summer when the bushes grow in.

4 holes are in play with the lake which is always fun to try to avoid.

Great signage and plans for multiple pin placements.
Cons: The front 9 is very very close to the dean's new house, close enough to see easily into his windows, which means he can see us too (about 150').

Hole 8 is played along the property line of many homes. One person I played with threw a big anhyzer that if it was 10' lower, it would have hit a house (which is only 30' from the property line).

The back 9 is wide open. A couple holes look like they were made long (571') just to get you from one hole to another.
Other Thoughts: All in all, not a bad course and I understand it is still under construction and hopefully a few changes will be made as it matures. Unfortunately, it will never be on the same level as the other 18 hole courses in St. Louis without some tweaking.

If you live in St Louis, make sure you play it, but if you are just coming through town, there are many other better courses to play.

I'll be sure to update this after the course is complete.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 front nine three, back nine 2.5

1    1/3/2010   1/3/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 363  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -course offers a good mix of water hazards, heavily wooded, wide open, flat and hilly sections
-lots of shot variety here, water holes favor a right to left shot heavily, but this is counteracted by the wooded shots which favor left to right shots
-some decent length here, some holes over 400' but most range between 250-350'
-a nice ridge on the back nine is the home to a couple baskets so that there is always an uphill putt at the 2 baskets (hole 10 and 12)
-a couple dangerous greens here involving water (9, 17, 18) and a nice fall away style green (11) that is placed on the edge of a ditch peninsula.
-Nice teesigns on almost all holes (minus 2 and 3) and scorecards with maps at hole 1.
-Pretty decent navigation especially on the back nine, front nine is a bit tougher in the woods, but it wasn't really an issue as I had a guide (Redarmy).
Cons: -right now the course is pretty rough, it looks like lines in the woods were fairly recently cut, so there are some stumps and some brush that needs to be cleared, but I'm not counting this against the course b/c it is so new.
-The back nine is way too open for my tastes, several of the holes on the back are completely bare of obstacles with just elevation in play.
-Course plays along a lot of residental areas (holes 5-8, 9, 11, 14) in which the neighbors might get a little ticked that golfers will be making noise and retrieving discs.
-Natural teepads and no garbage or bathroom facilities (again not counting this in the ratings as some will be fixed in the near future, see OTHER THOUGHTS)
Other Thoughts: -I'm definitely excited to watch this course progress, it has the potential for a challenging red level/rec course. Once it gets cleaned up a bit it'll look niiice. That being said I think this course will top out at a 3.5, mostly because of the somewhat weak back nine.
-They are experimenting with different tee pads currently. Rubber pads and astroturf. the astroturf was actually pretty nice, it looks a little funky right now because it's dark green and everything else is brownish, but it feels nice and I liked it better than the rubber pads.
-I think this course has the potential to get A LOT of play. It's on a college campus and I saw 2 groups besides mine today and it was 20 degrees and WINDY.
-It was certainly a fun course with lots of downhill bombs, interesting, tight lines and a couple "bag emptying" holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Finally something to do on campus

1    12/31/2009   1/2/2010
Review By: klenglfr
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is fantastic. It could be a little tough on beginners because the first half requires accuracy and the last half requires distance.

For experienced players this is great for honing your skills. Requires all types of shots and is really just an all around great course.

Hole 13 is a great place to really see what you got and improve on your distance.
Cons: There is a lot of construction obstructing with the course on the first few holes. Lots of mud right now. Once the construction is gone that should get fixed. No trash cans or direction signs yet but if I remember I will put something together to help navigate.
Other Thoughts: I am a student at Lindenwood as well as a frequent disc golfer. The campus is very small and there is really not much to do. When I heard about the course going in I was very excited. Now I will probably play it almost everyday. I can't wait til it is warmer because I do not play well in the cold.

There is now a basket in place for hole 3 but tees have not been put in yet so just take a guess at where you would like to tee off.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.