Arlington, TX 
TCC Southeast Campus Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #1 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 545ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    6/29/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The only reason I gave the course a 1 ranking was because the grass was cut, it had markers for the teeboxes and 8/9 baskets. Other than that nothing great about it. You would have to have a really bad shot to lose your disc in the rough or water hazard.
Cons: Poor/terrible teeboxes, no hole signage, the baskets left more to be desired, long walk from course to parking.
Other Thoughts: The only reason I played the course was to add to the list and it is a 10 minute drive from my home. Probably wont play the course again since there are better course in the area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

1    5/20/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: judealan
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: shallow pond in case of a water hazard
grass cut
nothing special
Cons: Coarse not mapped out
bad tee boxes
building in the way
next to a parking lot
missing hole nine
play ground in the way
Other Thoughts: Never playing on again
could be much better if .... nevermind

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/3/2013   1/4/2013
Review By: brokenwing
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close to my house and virtually empty every time I play it. I like the homemade baskets to work on accuracy while putting. Some good basic shots throughout the course, and a great place for some practice.
Cons: Short course with foot traffic from walkers/runners giving ya funny looks when ya play. New construction takes hole #9 out of the picture for now. The Tee's are easily trip hazards since they're all natural .
Other Thoughts: It's a great place to take a beginner and to practice with new discs to get a feel for them.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 TCC

5+    7/7/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: flapjack
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the closest course from my house so I play it a lot! The baskets are harder to score on thus making you a better player at other courses because they are much smaller than a regular basket. Very pretty girls walking the track around the course. This course is pretty fun and laid back, nobody is ever here so it feels like my own private course most the time. There is police there to watch the parking lot thus making the chance of your car getting broken into or stolen much less i would guess. The campus cops are very friendly and laid back, i asked them about parking without a parking sticker and they said I am fine. I am pretty sure they know who I am and my car because I am always out here practicing.
Cons: There is a walking trail that goes though most of the fairways so you have to wait for them to pass a lot. There are soo many chigga burrs here, especially at hole 5! Not getting in the burrs is better than getting a Par! The tees suck, period. The pond smells like a toilet, don't even think about jumping in to get your disc if it goes in there. Did i say cigga burrs? omg they are really really bad.........
Other Thoughts: This course needs concrete tee's and better chains then i would give it a 3.5 score instead of the 2.5 score. If they would mow the burrs down I would give it a score of a 4.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant surprise!

1    6/10/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 210  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 7.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout and fun holes! I was surprised how much fun this course was for a community college 9 holer. The holes make good use of the land and there are interesting tee shots on several holes where you have a ceiling or tunnel to hit. Good variety of distances too.
Cons: Tee boxes are dirt/sand, short and a little awkward (especially #8). The baskets are homemade and very unforgiving. The rims are high on the baskets and the chains extend nearly out to the rim.

Walking trail through the course. Most people walking will have no idea what you are doing so use caution around the pedestrians.

Parking is restricted on campus. Park elsewhere or risk it.
Other Thoughts: I didn't expect this course to be as much fun as it is. There are some good obstacles like the pond on 3 and the tree-framed tee shots on 2, 7, 8. A great place to bring beginners since some of the holes are fairly short and there are few places to lose a disc other than the pond.

The tee boxes are okay but #8 in particular needs a little more room. It is short, narrow, and on uneven ground.

Stop for a round here if you happen to be nearby. It's not worth driving any significant distance for but it is worth playing if you're in the area.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good for what it is

5+    6/11/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: mdarket
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a short course that can be played in 45 minutes. Ace probability is high on most holes. The grounds are very well maintained. It's perfect for practicing mid range and putting. I've been playing here almost every day at sundown.

I've been within inches of ace-ing hole 6 on 3 occasions. It's coming.
Cons: The baskets are not the best. We had a few gimmees bounce of the chains because they are so loose. The baskets also need to be labeled because it's hard to figure out which to throw at (holes 1-5). It's easy to lose discs in the high brush. I've had a few go into there, and when I go in to find them I've come out with burrs all over me. Be careful of walkers/joggers on the paths around the course. They have no idea what we're doing and often walk right into the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I aced #6 on 9.2.10!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course to keep up practice

5+    5/24/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 21  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of ceiling shots
-Some holes were actually pretty technical
-Very Very well maintained
-Lots of great ace opportunities. i.e. 6 (i've come extremely close twice now)
-Lots of pretty girls walking the track ;)
Cons: -Baskets were very unforgiving
-Poison Ivy was bad if you got in the deep rough on two
-Somewhat confusing on first tee trying to figure out which basket to throw at
Other Thoughts: Good course for a first time player. Extremely difficult to lose a disc. *Edit, yes. I lost a disc here yesterday. Watch out for the rough behind #4. It is like hell back there with giant thorn trees and mesquite. Had a thorn go through my shoe) This is the closest course to my new apartment and is a great "stop by after work to get some throws in course". And the scenery is great too. Gotta love colleges.

They have cleared out a ton of brush off of 5-6. Made the dogleg a little more forgiving for those random bad throws.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 To the Crescent Moon Alice!

1    5/20/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, the first tee is directly behind the building where you park. The tees are a gravel/dirt mix that are actually not too bad. There are some low ceiling drives with trees creating a tougher shot to the holes. This was actually not a bad design. It will force you to maybe change how you approach certain holes. The "water" hole #3 has a nice pond and really is kind of a pretty hole. #9 has a hidden basket behind some small trees which was kind of fun to dart in at it from high above. It does feel like there are lots of short holes, but the hole length variety really isn't bad here. The course almost make a big crescent moon shape around a big field, making navigation a non-issue. There is some seating areas around some of the tees and the red tee posts are easy to see on all holes.
Cons: The red tee posts do not have any info on them except hole number. Some of the tee pads could use some size adjustments. The walk from #9 basket to #1 tee was a little long considering the over all size of the course. The homemade baskets were ok, but only had a single set of chains and didn't all hang like they should have. There were no public bathrooms actually and it could have used some trashcans, even though the area was quite clean.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was fair for me. I really didn't think the course was overly challenging, but yet there were some fun drives. The way the trees protected a few of the drives made you work enough shots that it was worth the stop. This is the kind of place you really should be in the area to stop by. However, it certainly is not road trip worthy. The college did an OK job and it is very cool that they have this for class credits too.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Better than expected

1    3/9/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee's marked
New gravel tee pads.
Red (homemade?) baskets
Last 3 holes are pretty good.
Cons: 2 of the tee boxes were just large enough to stand on, one of them was only on a 130ft hole, other was not long enough to take a step to throw.

VERY long walk from #9 to the Parking lot or hole #1
Other Thoughts: Based on the few other reviews, I was not expecting much, only stopped in to play the course to be able to add it to this list. However, I found the course better than expected with a few actually good holes.

I did not "check in" and did not ask permission to play the course. I actually ran several holes because I was worried about getting a ticket.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 TCC S.E. Campus Rundown!!!

1    1/13/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Shot variety...trees, open holes, couple long shots, short shots, and water hazards
-NO traffic mainly in part because no one knows about it
-Disc Golf class at TCC, nice to have something to throw at for class.
Cons: -No t-pads
-Not very long at all
-Baskets are homemade....decent metal shop baskets if you will...though you'll see spit outs and blow-throughs for sure
Other Thoughts: Cool idea to put a course on the campus. Really decent job they did on on it.

Not much of a course, but it's a decent throw have some holes bump in to a creek or go around a pond with both wooded and open shots.

Not worth a drive or anything, but if you're close you should check it out.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.