Boyceville, WI 
Axldog Acres DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
-- / --   2 / 255ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Amust play WI course

2-4    9/23/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 132  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Private course in the middle of nowhere it seems though its only about 20 minutes outside menominee. Amazing views on more than half the holes. Benches or tables at EVERY tee, and you'll need them. Lots of walking up, down and across hills, but its good for ya. A mix of different baskets but all were in good shape and all were level even on steep hillsides which i love to see. All baskets had lights on top for a glow round which would be nuts here. There were 3 campsites spread around the property. $5 donation to play this was probably the best bargain i've had at a pay to play course. Amazing use of elevation throughout the whole course. The first 14 holes play in mostly tight, wooded section of property with tons of elevation and chances to lose discs (we lost one). Rollaways can kill you on this course, so play smart. Very clean and probably never busy. No trash cans but if you pack it in, pack it out making the need for them a moot point. The last 7 holes play around a more open prairie area of the property. Very defined, well mowed fairways on this section. Though now that i think of it the whole course was well mowed, which is quite the job in itself. Not much for trees on the last 7 holes but the wind will punish you here. You are so high up that on windy days its nearly impossible to just chuck it and actually have it go where you intended it too. All in all it offers everything you'd want except much water risk, but there is some. Theres a pond behind the pin for hole #1, but you'd really have to overshoot the pin to hit the water. There is also a creek that runs across hole 7, however it's probably never too deep. If there is a decent amount of water in it though there is a nice bridge crossing the creek. I'd say the most well rounded course i've played. VERY FUN!
Cons: Natural tees can be uneven and rocky/rooted. I personally don't have an issue with them but worth mentioning. Navigation wasn't a problem for me since i had a map that was easy to follow. Used it the first round and didn't check it once the 2nd time thru. However without a map it may take some extra walking to find the next tee. The owner provided the map so just ask and this isn't even a con then. Signs with hole layout would help but the more people play the sooner they can get some, so again get out here if you get a chance.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses i've played in WI. I'd put it up there with anything at Highbridge, Justin Trails, Sandy Point, or Standing Rocks. In other words a must play, it is phenomenal. Be sure to call in advance since it is a private course. And be sure to donate at least the $5 to play, The owners clearly put A TON of work into this and it shows. Good area to go for a weekend of discin, With Wakanda Park, Brickyard, Menomonee Middle School, and Lambs Creek all within a half hour. We stopped at Lambs Creek after for 2 rounds there and some unbelievably good burgers. A great day of disc golf!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beginnings of an incredible course

2-4    4/15/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: Fighter
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: + Great use of elevation changes
+ Private course
+ Excellent level of difficulty presented
+ Beautiful views, Gorgeous surroundings
Cons: - Tees lacking
Other Thoughts: Only real complaint with this course is the tees. I know there will be teepads in the near future of some form, but to have a course this awesome without them is the only real let down here. The camping option is great here as well, a very good course to take a road trip to for sure

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/16/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: Grape Drank
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Low traffic
-A couple of very well designed holes
-Lots of elevation change
-Baskets in good condition, including lights
-Water in play
-Lots of benches
Cons: -Very long grass
-Thick buckthorn/stinging plants
-Lots of ways to lose a disc
-Tees are rough
Other Thoughts: This is a great course I think. It is a unique property and the holes play pretty well on it. Hole one is a great start to the course and also has the course's only brick tee pad. Speaking of tee pads most of them were in tough shape, it was hard to get a good run up. Also the grass is way too long here, my friend and I spent a lot of time walking through fields of grass looking for a disc. We have been getting a lot of rain in the area lately though so that could have contributed. Surprisingly the bugs were not an issue when I went, but I'm sure that isn't normally the case. This is a course I will definitely visit again in the future.

Update: Don't know how I missed this the first time, but make sure you wear pants. I foolishly went in shorts and my legs felt like they were burning at times. Lots of thorny and stinging plants.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Axldog Acres

5+    4/1/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: SleekrBeekr
Played: 47  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 20 holes.
Private course so it's usually not very busy.
Excellent mix of elevation, tight fairways, short technical holes through the woods, and long holes in the open fields.
Small campground on site.
ATV's and animals welcome.
Cons: Natural tees, sometimes can be a little uneven.
Thick brush and tall grass off the fairways.
Long and in the middle of nowhere, which isn't necessarily a con, just more of inconvenience.
Bugs!
The layout can be a little hard to follow in some spots.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my all-time favorite courses. The owner has done a nice job designing this course. they also do a pretty good job maintaining it, which can be a lot of work in the summer when all the grass is tall and thick. The owners are also very good hosts and will accompany you on your round if you like. There are also a number of tournaments held on this course throughout the year, including Discraft's annual Ace Race.
The course is long and there are a lot of elevation changes, so this course will definitely give you some exercise. The wind can get a little bad on the last four holes, as they are all played in the fields and along the rolling hills.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 An A-tier here?? Nice property

2-4    4/17/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: superberry
Played: 167  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Location. It's private, isolated, beautiful, set in the rolling hills on a great piece of wooded property around the Menomonie area. Many holes offer sweeping vistas of the surrounding properties and terrain. It's extremely beautiful here. Being a private course, you can really lose yourself and enjoy a nice quiet round.
Balance and variety. As the pictures and E-Rock's review will show you, you get a very mix of long/short, open/wooded, uphill/downhill/crosshill, right/left/straight, water/OB/mandos/punishing rough, etc. You will find yourself using a wide range of discs on this course, except when it's windy, then maybe 5.
No garbage cans. You heard me correctly, this is a private course, and if you packed in your beer bottles, you can pack them out, why make Steve work any harder and also risk litter scattered all over his land.
Decent benches all around the property, and a firepit area at a 'crossroads' on the property with holes 5, 6, 7.
Cons: I was extremely let down by the tees here. Not the fact that they are natural, but that many have had no attempt to level them out whatsoever. I'm talking, lumpy, rocky, root riddled uphill sloping tees on various holes. Hole 12 did a decent job of trying to level out the tees, but the effort still falls a bit short with lumps and rocks left on the tee. It was also very disappointing to play a PDGA A-Tier on these types of pads. Quite a few could be easily leveled out, even if they stayed natural/dirt. A few loads of crushed stone would do wonders for the tee surfaces. I'd have no expectations for concrete or rubber mats on a private course - way too much cost.
Complete balance and variety within the course could be so much better with multiple tees and multiple pin locations. Only a few of the open hilly holes had multiple tees. I believe these two aspects are absolutely required for any course to receive high ratings. It's nice to play a single 18 hole course in various ways by utilizing shorter red level tees for beginners or ace runs for experienced players, and also add longer alternate pin placements which turn the short tees into white level tees, or long tees into gold level tees.
Personally I would have cut more holes into the really tight wooded sections of the property. Only 4, 9, and 10 I would considerd fully wooded. The love of wooded holes is a preference, but the property seems to be able to support a bit more of that very tightly wooded mix.
No tee signs whatsoever. Personally I like signs, even simple handmade ones. I like a generic depiction of the hole and prominent features and I like to see the distance. If more pins and tees were added, tee signs would be a must.
Playing in the summer is probably a chore with all the long grass and many many closed up lines through the woodsonce leaves sprout.
It's $5, and with natural pads and a collection of baskets from around the state, that must all go toward gas to mow all the open holes.
It's just the weather, nothing about the course, but 3 rounds (two slow/boring pace of play tournament rounds) in 40+mph winds and 35-45 degree temps can really take their toll. My face actually peeled from all the windburn.
Other Thoughts: I really think this course only falls in as a 3.0 because of the lack of better tees, just single tees, and just single pin locations. I'm torn because the seclusion and beauty of the area is really nice and makes me want to rate it higher. But then I think about how boring the last 5 holes are. I think they would have been more fun though if any of the 3 rounds I played here had less than 30-40mph winds.
While I was initially disappointed after my first round at the hyped axledog, I also continued to be disappointed. I don't know if I was in a bad mood from all the poor weather, but I never really got into the course. I've often stated how I walk around looking at courses and how I would design a hole differently - I did that a lot here. To each his own, and my preference dictates the review and rating I've given. I am taking NOTHING away from the hard work and dedication that Steve puts into the course, but I am also not giving credit for it, just reviewing the course as a course, nothing more.
I'd come back to play here again, no doubt, especially after getting in a few more rounds on all the layouts at Brickyard. If there were two tees on every hole, and alternate pin placements (easily done - many baskets are portables!) I could easily bump my rating to a 4.0 and possibly a 4.5 if even more risk and variety and unique terrain were brought into that mix.
I feel I may still be overinflating the rating with a 3.5 though.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Hilly Great course

1    9/18/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 69  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great challenging, hilly course. The owners are very nice and helpful. This course is amazing and very fun. Well designed with lots of thought and work put in to make for a great experience. Lots of elevation changes I think there is only one flat hole. This course has it all Lefts, Rights, Ups, Downs, Woods, Fields and Water.
You will get a great work out playing this course, as it is very long up and down rolling hills. Nice mix of short and moderately long holes with two monster bombers. The area this course is in is absolutely beautiful with some amazing hilltop tee off views. It is also great for fall colors. Lighted baskets for night play and it is open in the winter. This course is off the beaten path and will not be busy, no waiting. There are quite a few real quality courses within a half hour of the course so you can get more than one course in a day. Course has three or four signature holes on it. THIS IS A MUST PLAY!!!

COURSE DISCRIPTION.

HOLE #1
Big down hill shot with water 40 ft. behind the basket. When you look at this hole you may not think the water will be in play but it is. The hill you throw off is about 175 ft. high and the wind can play a big factor here. Defiantly aceable but don't let it get away. Signature hole 1!!
HOLE #2
Up hill shot into a thick young growth wooded area. Drive hard up hill and try to navigate through the tight trees. The basket is very well protected. A three feels good here.
HOLE#3
Hillside field hyzer! Watch out for roll a ways to the right and tall grass on the left. Slightly up hill but pin is on a down slope. Alternate pin in woods to the right witch makes for a hard shot to a well-protected basket.
HOLE#4
Big thickly wooded up shot. Hard tee shot because of overhanging trees. Small trees surround the pin and a two here is an awesome score. Once again watch for rolling discs.
HOLE #5
Gradual moderately wooded down hill. Big dead trees in the middle of the fairway that are hard to get around. Once you have a clean line to the basket it's a fairly easy shot.
HOLE #6
Field goal hyzer! You will have to throw in between two trees that are quite a way up the fairway. This fairway is kinda tight but not as tight as some. Aceable!
HOLE #7
Big Downhill Wooded Hyzer! This is a hard hole with lots of trees to contend with. Trees line the fairway and branches reach in to grab you disks. You will need a hard downhill drive, 100 ft. approach over a small pond and a putt to get a three.
HOLE #8
Up hill field shot to protected pin! Most of this hole is wide open it is moderately up hill and when you get to the tree line it gets a little steeper. The pin on this hole is protected by those pesky small trees again and is also on a hillside. Good luck getting a two.
HOLE #9
Another big up in the woods! This is a tight fairway and it is pretty steep. In will take a very good shot to get up the hill and have a chance at a two. The basket has some trees protecting it but not as bad as some of the holes that you will have played. It is on the hillside once again though.
HOLE #10
Thick uphill hyzer! There are only a few opening to throw through here but it isn't as steep as the last one. The hole is flat for a nice change and isn't crowded by those little trees.
HOLE #11
Tree farm hole! This is a tough one for sure. The pine trees here are hard for sure. Up have to throw high and try to get some distance on it. The trees are not tall enough to shoot under, it makes for a hard first shot. If you don't get enough distance and can't see the basket your second shot will be even harder because you will have to shoot down a ten foot wide lane or up and over the 10 to 15 ft tall trees. I felt good with a 4 here.
HOLE #12
SIGNATURE HOLE 2! Down then up hyzer with a thick canopy of trees. You tee off down a hill with big oak trees leaning and reaching into the fairway. If you can get through the maze of branches and end up on the uphill slope you will be in good shape but will have to have some power to get up the hill.
HOLE #13
Down hill tonal! This hole is very tight you will have to throw it straight or it may take you a few shot to get down the hill. Very creative hole another signature.
HOLE #14
Up hill anhyzer on a hillside! Out of the woods and into the fields, the rest of the holes are in rolling open fields, this one isn't so bad as long as you stay out of the tall grass on the left.
HOLE #15
Down hill to a pin on a hillside rollaways are possible. Throw a big hyzer and watch it fly. Wide open just hit fairway and par is yours.
HOLE #16
This is the last Signature and it's a long one. 500 ft. of fun! Throw from one hill to another over some small shrubs and trees. Let it rip and hope you don't land behind a shrub. Big arms have a chance at a two because the tee is a little higher than the pin but it would have to be a great throw.
HOLE #17
Hilltop to hillside! Aceable but not easy because of the wind. You will have to throw hard to get close. You should be able to get one back here if you have a good drive. Wide open once again.
HOLE #18
Straight uphill that is the most basic hole on the course. Watch out for the grass on either side of the fairway.
HOLE #19
Across a valley to a nice big green! Not to hard get one back here if you can.
HOLE #20
The final hole is a long downhill bomb witch is nice to end the course with. Two drives and a putt and your done!


Cons: Natural tees and long grass are the only two things keeping this course from a 5 discer. The tees are not bad but it would be nice to have cement. Some holes have very tall grass and you will spend time looking for discs if you don't hit the fairway. Bring your own food and drink as there is nothing near by and no food or drink at the course. If you ask they will happily fill water bottles and even bring more out to you on the course if you call. I forgot about the signage because this course is so great. There are no hole signs on this course and it could be hard for a first timer to find there way through. The map that is provided is very helpfull but hopfully they will have real sings soon.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun private course

1    6/10/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 790  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2012
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful and fun private course through the Wisconsin woods. It is obvious that a ton of work and love has gone into this course, and that a great deal of thought went into the design. There is some great elevation throughout the course, with a fun downhill ace run to start off the course and good variety of uphill, downhill, and cross hill shots. There are some ace runs, and some longer shots here, with great variety of lengths so it never feels repetitive. With some tightly wooded shots that force many different shot shapes, and some more open holes where you have to contend with wind and elevation, there aren't really any holes that feel too similar throughout the course.

The course has a fun mix of all different kinds of baskets, and with the addition of extra chains to nearly all of them, they catch pretty well for the most part. It's a fun place to check out an eclectic collection. The tees are mainly natural, but are pretty well taken care of with no ruts or roots, and nice level surfaces to throw from. The course map that Steve gave us was very helpful, and made navigation no problem.
Cons: My biggest issue with the course is the long grass on the more open holes. Though the fairways were mowed (other than the couple he couldn't get to at the time due to a broken mower, not something I'm holding against the course as it seems like usually they are all nicely mowed), there was lots of prairie grass rough to get into that will cost you time and strokes without punishing errant drives with extra strokes.
Other Thoughts: This is a must-play course if you're in the area, it has a little of everything with elevation, wooded shots, hilly open shots, and a cool collection of different baskets (all of which are equipped with solar lights for night play). Beginners will find it pretty tough and punishing, most holes have thick rough. More experienced players will find some great challenges and variety here to test all different parts of their game. This is a fun area for disc golf, and is worth a stop.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/30/2010   4/30/2010
Review By: mooreca
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: The course was great. My friends and I played the course a couple times, they all liked it. Hole number 1 has got to be my favorite hole of all time. Really hilly so you get a little exercise in also.
Cons: Some holes have a lot of long grass (the rough). You will lose a disc in there, no problem.

0 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Another beauty in this area

5+    12/5/2009   1/12/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 693  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2011
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 20 holes

Opportunity to play on just about every style of basket ever invented. Steve Kinde, owner and designer of Axl Dog Acres has assembled these baskets over the years. In addition to a representative of each of the modern style baskets from all companies available; he has a very first run Mach 1/Steady Ed basket with the 1970s trademark still on number plate (this baskets spent many years in Riverside Park, in St. Cloud, Minnesota; and had been on a very early Headrick course prior to that. There is another from the same time frame; that is even rarer. This was produced by one of Ed's few competitors at the time.)
A few of the early baskets were originally single chain assembly; and this could go in the cons section; however, Steve has added another trademark on all of the baskets here; and that is an inner set of yellow chains on targets; needing them. (These are not pictured in photos section; but all baskets currently have this extra chain assembly). (Also, only 18 holes are represented in the picture group; but this is a 20 hole layout)
Baskets all have light assemblies on top; for NIGHT TIME PLAY!!!! This is, of course, also very nice if you happen to finish your round late in the day. (There is a four hole section that is wooded and doesn't get enough light; most of the time; to perform well.)
Imagine yourself; playing this awesome design under the stars; with no light noise around and these huge hillside type, expansive views....gorgeous is the only word that comes to mind.
Anyone who may be a winter player; here in the great north; ha ha; will find that Steve loves winter play and even hosts an annual winter get together. See course home page for details.
Well used elevation.
Decent fall away greens.
Multiple tees on a few holes.
3 separate camping areas. More than one of these has high country views.
High country views here are similar to some of those that can be experienced at Highbridge.
A little water/creek action in play.
While this course is a good challenge of skills; it is not just a chuck it as far as you can type of course. Blue level players will find this course very challenging. Par, or slightly under is a good score for blue level players. Once the midwest master's is held (April 2010); good course rating numbers should tell more of the full story regarding scoring.
A number of tricky greens; which may require an interesting putt. i.e. some greens incorporate smaller trees near pins. I view this as similar to green side sand traps in bolf; requiring a skilled putt; though you aren't far from basket. Add the rollaway green factor; and you can turn a good drive into a four; if you're not paying attention to what you're doing.
As with most private courses of this type; it's the owner who helps make the great experience. Steve will not let you down in any way, in this regard. His dedication to course is obvious; and his sense of humor will quickly be just as obvious. His skills as a player, will impress rather quickly as well.
Christmas trees on #11 getting taller every year; this hole is going to provide very interesting opportunities for hole layout in the near future. Good hole now; but in a few years; this one may be a very interesting tunnel type of shot.
Lots of hill shots here; but also some fairly tight fairways that have dangerous schule off the fairways.
Cons: Some may find a few of the very old baskets to be less forgiving catchers than modern design. With the extra set of inner chains; myself and playing partners did not find this to be the case and I am not personally deducting anything for this. In fact, I would call the target situation to be a plus; but, wanted to point out some may be distracted slightly by playing at different baskets throughout the course.
Natural tees.
This course is a work out. Steve was kind enough to take my crew around on a four wheeler both times I have been there; but it should be noted that this is a long course with lots of elevation; and some travel between holes. Therefore, it has been pointed out that without using the four wheeler; rounds here are said to take 3 hours. No refreshments available on site. Bring beverages or whatever you may need with you. This course is off the beaten track.
Some of the hillside shots will have landing zones in fairly tall grass; with fairways cut through. Pay attention to you disc landing area. There are not really places you are likely to lose you plastic here; which is a plus; but you will need to pay attention in the high grass areas.
You do not really return to any starting point on this course. Once you begin, you are pretty much playing until the end of the course; before returning to your vehicle.
This is a tough course to play by yourself; the first time through. You are required to call ahead and set up a tee time; so this shouldn't be an issue; but there are not normal tee signs or next tee arrows. Most holes have small posts in the ground for tee signs; and the course is fairly self explanatory in terms of where you need to go next; but, Steve will have to show you the lay of the land. If for some reason, Steve gives the go ahead to play without his presence, print out the aerial map included in the home page (go to links); and you should be just fine.
Gold level players may find this course a bit short. Due to the basket uniqueness and the solitude of play here; I believe Gold level players will be thrilled to play here; and will simply find many holes to be a case of you must make a good shot and a good putt; but footage may be found a bit short for them. Should be noted that Steve is a top level Master's age player; and therefore knows good design and skill for all levels; but course is not designed to be toughest in the world.
Other Thoughts: This course, combined with a good "old school" 18 at Wakanda Park, the very interesting layout at Pioneer Bar and Grill, and another of my favorite nine hole courses; The Brickyard (2 sets of tees, two baskets on each hole; for four different layouts); makes this area a must play. If you don't enjoy this grouping of four; I would be very surprised. And....this course is the best of the four.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.