Minden, NE 
Minden DGC Share
Uploaded By: fretgod321 Hole #8 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 214ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The Tiki course of the West.

1    6/17/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: prerube
Played: 207  Reviewed: 187  Exp: 7.2 Years
Pros: Beautifully maintained park, very easy to find.
a few signs.
sidewalk is painted purple for tees.
Good baskets
Lots of ace runs, practically a par 2 course.
Good for beginners
Cons: Tees are often just colored sidewalk tiles.
No sign on hole 1 or 2. Do not throw back to hole 1's basket from tee 3. Hole 4 has a sign, but it is confusing. The hole is so short it does not seem like it could possibly be correct, but it is (sign says it is 169, DGCR says 150, I say 130ish)
Hole 5 is less than 115 feet, 6 is 145 straight with one tree obstacle, 7 is a 132 with an easy hyzer route.
Hole 8 is blind and plays back in the opposite direction with no sign. This hole really needs a sign! It is the only dog leg (sharp right)
I never found a separate tee for hole 9, Maybe tee 5 doubles or a sign has been damaged.
Keep your putter out. The average distance for holes 1-8 is 161 feet. There is very little challenge. Those of you that are familiar with the Blockhouse/Grange in Spotsylvania, Virginia would recognize this as a day time Tiki course. It is basically a Par 2.
Very little challenge for anyone with moderate experience.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to try to break a score of 20.

 

2-4    5/13/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: Norsemanne
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: Beautiful little park. Nice and well maintained.
Holes make you work on different techniques
Cons: Like everyone else, short. Only time I laid into the drivers was whole 9.
Other Thoughts: I will use this for warm up in the spring and when the whole family goes with me. The flowers and different plants kept the 4 yo interested for 2 rounds. No one was there at all for the 2 rounds we played. We had the whole park to ourselves.

 Short distance drivers dream

2-4    1/14/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: JAAAKE
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained.
Low traffic area.
Close parking.
Mature trees.
Forces technical shots.
Water safely in play.
Good elevation changes.
Cons: Very short.
Not challenging.
Tees are painted sidewalk squares.
Fairways are shared.
Other Thoughts: A great course to play for low skilled players. We enjoyed the simplicity of this course. I wish they would add a hole over the small pond.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Updated Course Info

2-4    1/14/2012   1/14/2012
Review By: 888HUSKERS
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 43.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/16/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course with a fairly simple layout. It does force you to work on both hyzer and anhyzer shots which is good for practice for a newer player but this course would literally be a walk in the park for a more experienced player. Although fairly simple it is fun and worth the drive. I would recommend this course to anyone just starting out or looking for a fun family outing that the whole family could come along on while you play or teach them to play.
Cons: The first hole does put you in danger of hitting cars in the parking lot but you can avoid it if you are not confident in your driving. Some of the holes are short but not as short as they were originally marked as. We took a Garmin GPS to confirm the distances and they were off by a fairly large margin on some of them. They should be updated soon and should give new players a better idea of what to expect.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    10/21/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: Norcenkan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice park, good baskets. Good parking.
Cons: Short , only good hole is #9. Rest are putts and midrange throws. Holes cross over each other.
Other Thoughts: A pond is here to use to throw over, but is not used? Good course for beginners.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Like playing in a garden.

1    6/6/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: fretgod321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Cement tee pads that are easy to find
- Holes force you to use many different throws to get around obstacles on the course.
- A number of blind holes which add some difficulty to an otherwise short and easy course.
- Course seems well-kept and clean. It is a nice small park with flowers and well manicured trees.
Cons: - The tees are just painted squares on the paths, however, the park seems barely used (there was no one there when i played), so there shouldn't be any problem with people.
- The baskets tend to be rather close to the tees of the next hole, but as I said before, the park is barely busy, so you shouldn't have any problems.
- The tee signs for holes 1, 8, and 9 are missing.
- Some fairways interfere with eachother, but again, the park is rarely busy.
Other Thoughts: Over all, the course is your run-of-the-mill short 9-holer that has been fit into an existing park. The person who designed it did seem to know what he was doing, however. You are forced to utilize a number of different throws throughout the course in order to get around or over the trees that block your way. There are also a number of blind shots that add some difficulty. There are plenty of birdie opportunities and one really good ace run (hole 4, 64'). There is a very slight water hazard, which is a small pond on the last 2 holes and a very small stream that flows through the park, though there wasn't any water in it when i played. All in all, I enjoyed playing this course. It was one of the better short courses I've played, thanks to the way it was designed. It is a good course for beginners as well; it forces controlled throws but isn't too long for beginners.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Small town+small course=beginner course

2-4    5/6/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a small course in a city park area of the town of Minden. Easy parking right next to the first tee. The teepads share the sidewalk that goes throughout the park. Short holes that an experienced player only needs a putter to play. Though the holes short, there are just enough trees on the course that are used in such a way that makes you think what type of shot you need to throw. Birdies are just there for the taking, as well as some aces. The park itself is very clean, well taken care of and has various types of trees, plants and flowers about as well as a small pond.
Cons: This is a small course that is great for beginners, seasoned players may quickly get bored. Single pin placement. It wasn't busy when I played on a friday afternoon, but I could see how this course would be very difficult if there were anyone else there. Signs were missing on hole one and nine.
Other Thoughts: A great course for beginners to learn the game on. The holes are short, yet there is a bit of a challenge from the rolling hills and trees on the course. A very nice park setting that would be a great place to take yonger players to as well.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Short Course

2-4    7/14/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: gfellerjm
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful gorgeous little park, variety of shots needed, very well maintained, easy to find way around (tees right next to previous holes).
Cons: Fairly short (will comment on later), some holes play very close to each other, probably best if you're the only group on the course/in the park.
Other Thoughts: This course is in a very gorgeous little city park with a beautiful pond large enough for a patio/deck. Overall the course if on the shorter side but most of the holes (especially the shorter ones) are blind. The second hole is a blind shot, down hill, towards the street, which was kind of intimidating. I believe the basket is visible on only 2 holes. This was mostly because of trees, but some elevation factored in. The trees made for some very challenging shots, however this is by no means a wooded course. Most of the holes had multiple approach lanes to choose from.

The tees are nice. The are all built out of the existing walk way. Hence why it would be good if you were alone in the park. They are very easy to find. Literally in sight of each previous basket. This may get dangerous, especially on 5 which plays over the 8th (I believe) tee. Some of the hole follow the walk ways which is kind of annoying (cement is not nice to my discs) but I really only hit one in two rounds.

The pond was very nice. It only come into play barley on two hole, 8 and 9 and that is only if you screw up. Also they longest holes (I believe).

Overall it was a very nicely designed, and maintained small course. I met one of the grounds keepers and he was very please to see me using the course. He explained that there had been some vandalism a few days ago and a couple signs had been torn off and one pole was taken (this explains the missing length, except hole 1, I'm dumb). He assured me that he was working on replacing them, which is a good sign, because I would hate to see this park fall into disrepair.

I fell in love with this course and will most definitely take the drive from Kearney when I get the chance. I would have rated it a bit higher if the holes were a bit longer.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.