Seattle, WA
Sanislo Elementary Share
Uploaded By: cefire  
Hole #14 Safari Course A



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great idea, but that's the only great thing here.

1    6/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: b-mart
Played: 42  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There really aren't a lot of pros here.

The main pro would be that this "course" is located on the grounds of an elementary school, so children can be introduced to the game. The actual layout is great for that as well. There are no teepads, and the baskets go in numerical order in a clockwise pattern around the field. I assume that this means that the kids (using Frisbees of course) will just go in a circle throwing from one basket to the next. While this would bore any golfer and most kids, it's a good way to get their feet wet.

From here on out I'll be reviewing this as the safari course that is mapped out on this site.

The safari course is decent due to some of the longer holes, so if you follow it you do get a chance to air it out a bit more. I played the whole thing with a Buzzz, but holes like number 2 don't make the use of a driver out of the question.

The big asphalt area in the middle makes this an ideal place to break in a new disc... And the fact that the course consists of a circle of baskets around a field means that you can introduce new players to the game here or just work on your field work with baskets to make it more interesting. The ability to introduce new players here is a major pro, and the only thing that keeps me from rating this a "0". With Lakewood and SeaTac (water and monster holes) being the only courses nearby, it helps to have a place where you can take somebody for their first round without worrying about overwhelming them or having them lose your disc.
Cons: The baskets are homemade and are falling apart. Another reviewer said that two years ago, and they're in even more abysmal shape than they were back then. This course will never see traffic (I was probably the first person to play here since sillybizz), so it just isn't worth repairing. The fact that some of the baskets had crumbled to the point of exposing nails is a travesty though. This is a PLAYGROUND.

There is very little challenge here unless you play it as a safari course. The one detailed on this site is interesting, but is not worth a second play through. Being nothing more than a safari course, there are no signs and no teepads.

Most of the safari holes throw across an asphalt play area, so this course is a no no if it's a nice day or if there are kids around. And of course nobody should play here if school is in session.

This neighborhood is a bit seedy. It didn't feel that way when I played there, and there were a few parents with their children enjoying the sunshine/clouds, but this isn't the safest place to take a date if you know what I mean.
Other Thoughts: Sanislo was a nice idea when it was set up, and I'm sure the cheaply made baskets were fun several years ago, but this is a course that just needs to be shut down. I hate to say it because Seattle proper needs more courses, and I did mention the value of an easy "introductory" course in my pros... But really. This one has fallen into disrepair and the baskets are both hazardous and an eyesore to an otherwise attractive playground area. I saw a girl climbing on one of the baskets, and even if I hadn't, I would have known that it happens. I was young once too. What if she had chosen to climb on one of the baskets with rusty nail points sticking out of it? Baskets are not a jungle gym, but in this setting that's all they'll ever be.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/30/2010   1/30/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 187  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's very nice to see a disc golf course on school grounds as I believe exposing elementary aged children to the game early could help the sport in the long run. Because there isn't an official course and the way it's laid out you can make many, many different courses to your hearts content to keep things fresh. When I was there no one else was there, disc golfer or otherwise and I can guarantee it gets very little play.
Cons: As the other reviews have stated the baskets are homemade but they are falling apart, this is probably due to the fact that course is on the playground of the school so during recess you can imagine children climb and play all over the baskets. There is little to no obstacles which doesn't challenge you at all, I was using two discs only, one to drive and one to putt and putting really is just hitting the post and counting that as holing out, it would of been better as posts.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you print off a map of the safari course before you go down or just make up your own when you're there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sanislo Elementary

1    1/24/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 176  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 1/30/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sanislo Elementary has a beginner friendly disc golf course around back on the playfields near the playground. I'm assuming it was created with the intention of promoting fitness for students and neighborhood kids alike.

The course has some decent elevation toward the corners of the field, with wetlands located at the base just below the school. There is one enormous cement court directly in the middle, along with a path that meanders around the perimeter. Nine baskets are set up in an amoeba like shape around the courts and playground allowing for some uphill putts. Holes vary anywhere from 133 ft to 494 ft making par a little bit of a challenge at times.

The Safari 18 (what I played) had some fun shots that took advantage of what little elevation the course had. Distance played a factor in the overall course difficulty but for the most part was still fairly straight forward.

This course seemed most appropriate for novice to intermediate players, and perfect for families too. If the kids get bored they can play on the playground, shoot hoops, or play hop skotch while you get some practice in.

The overall feeling of the course was safe and clean. Grass was trimmed and the area was manacured. There was little to no grafitti and was litter free. I saw a mother with three children playing around with what looked like not a care in the world which made me feel safe. However, I wouldn't be playing around there late in the evening fyi.
Cons: The baskets were in seriously bad shape. As the previous reviewer stated in his review, the bottom rubber was literally falling off the baskets. The solid 4x8 seemed sturdy and the top along with the chains seemed to work but the catchers are straight up worthless. I have no problem having them turn those baskets into targets. Just paint strips the appropriate heights to teach them proper accuracy. Either that or do a fundraiser to get some better baskets. I know there are grants out there such as the EDGE program that can help give great discounts to help educate children.

The fact that there are no signs, tee pads, bathrooms (for dgers), and limited availability (school hours/weekend events).

The current layout for students. Holes are setup clockwise allowing only for one approach. Although the course is made with the best intentions, it promotes bad habits at an early age. Hopefully they atleast go counter clockwise occasionally. = )

To be honest, unless you are looking to bag another course, I suggest skipping this course and going to Lakewood. It is like night and day as far as quality discgolfing goes.
Other Thoughts: Sanislo is a great little addition to our beloved Seattle area. It's great the course can help benefit the kids and families around the community. I do agree however that this course will not last for many years to come if the baskets are not fixed or changed out. I hope it stays as it is a wonderful way to promote the game we love directly into the schools. Perhaps one day this will not be an uncommon thing among our Washington Schools. This course may not be much but atleast it is here. Let it stay that way!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Extinct Dodo Bird DGC!

1    1/17/2010   1/18/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: You ask why I've named this Extinct Dodo Bird Disc Golf Course? Because like the legendary extinct flightless bird, I fear that the Sanislo course is destined for extinction. Why, because the homemade wooden baskets are not built to withstand the abuse they are receiving here at the Sanislo playfield. The rubber tire catching part is too thin and they're hanging down on baskets 1, 2, 3 and 4. They are an eyesore the way they look now plus they don't catch very well. The wooden 2" x 4"s that hold the tires up are screwed into the posts instead of bolted and a couple of them ( #1 and others) are already broken. Nothing like a teenager on jumping up and down on them. Unless someone comes to the rescue here and totally refrabicates these baskets (replace the current thin tires with heavy duty metal truck rims like Horning's Hideout course in Oregon and bolster the wooden frames below them) this course, IMO, has no chance of surviving.

On the pro side, this is kind of a neat little park like setting to have a course in. The safari course which I played included some fun throws with decent distances. There are no other courses in the immediate area and Seattle could certainly use another.
Cons: The original 9 baskets are placed near the fences meaning the elementary students play in a clockwise manner. Naturally, every little kid is going to start out by hysering every throw and many discs will end up on the wrong side of the fences.
With any kind of use in the park, the safari layout would be greatly hampered because every throw crosses over the center area where any pedistrians would be gathered.
Other Thoughts: My advice is, If you want to count this course as played, you best play it sooner rather than later. I doubt if they'll leave it up when it falls into disrepair and these homemade baskets are not built to hold up to the kind of abuse it has and will continue to receive. I wouldn't be surprised to set it gone by the end of 2010. Sorry, it pains me to lose any course and we here in Washington have few enough as it is.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.