Maple Bluff, WI 
Johnson Park Share
Uploaded By: puttlikeablowfly Hole #6 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 181ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 NEW DESIGN + NEW BASKETS = NEW COURSE

1    11/12/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Sure this is a short course, but in my opinion it is a great beginner course when all other Madison courses are more intended to the avid DG'er. Beginners would learn a lot here because there are obstacles on all but 1 hole on this course. They will learn what discs work for them, and what direction they go and how quick they turn left.

2) Nice DGA signs with a simple map of the holes using their stock stickers. Hole # and distance are also listed.

3) Nice new DGA baskets will most likely get used more frequently than the old wood ones with only a few chains. Bright orange tape on the poles for visibility.

4) Nice park here, it is well landscaped (trust me I am a landscaper). There are lots of perennials beds and shrubs set in the bed spaces, a gazebo in the middle of the park and lots of nice mature trees here. It would be a wonderful place to hangout and also get in a 15 minutes round of DG if you lived in the area. The turf in the park is in great shape and it stands up well to the use of the park.

5) Rolling hills (more the size of mounds than hills) create some interesting topography for this course. No . . . the elevation isn't dramatic but it is on par with the size of the park as well as the users of the DG course.

6) Almost every hole has something different to avoid ending with a fairly wide open hole. #1 is a simple hyzer slightly downhill but has a few trees to avoid, #2 shoots uphill and has a couple tree. #3 is an anyhyzer with a big turn on it and quite a few trees to avoid, #4 is an uphill hole with a large White Pine in the way to somewhat of an island green (really just a round area of turf surrounded by landscape beds, #5 is a straight away hole with a tree halfway down the fairway to avoid, and #6 ends in the open.
Cons: 1) Walkpaths and sidewalks will come into play about 4 times ont his course and that could be dangerous if it was crowded. My guess is there are way less disc golfers here than other park users, so keep that in mind if you play during a busy time. They may have no idea what you are doing there.

2) Short short short. I don't mind but most would consider it a negative.

3) Grass tees are always a negative in my opinion, but if you are any better than a real beginner you won't need a runup at all.
Other Thoughts: This park was greatly improved for DG with the new baskets . . . I never got to play it with the old baskets but its nice to see the upgrade. It is a small park and should be reserved mostly for beginners. Be sure to be courteous with the other park patrons as I would bet it is packed with people normally in the summer. Worth a stop to check off another course or if you are a beginner, but it doesn't pose a large challenge to anyone really.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A whole new course

1    10/10/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 111  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * A new six-hole layout with new tee signs and Mach New II targets
* Some technical shots required
* Good for practice and beginners
* Attractive park
Cons: * Short holes due to small park size
* Only six holes
* Along busy street
* Natural tees
Other Thoughts: This course was completely renovated in Fall of 2010. Reviews posted prior to mine reflect the old nine-hole course with homemade baskets.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good for complete newbies

2-4    6/16/2009   7/17/2010
Review By: MooTaters
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for someone new to the sport. The course is very small and holes are rather short. At least now it has real baskets, with tee signs and everything. I will say there are two actually fairly decent holes for the more skilled players. If you want to do an ace race go here, hole 3 is probably your best chance.
Cons: Very short, not even 9 holes long. Longest hole is 225 feet. Won't need anything longer than a midrange.
Other Thoughts: If you have a friend looking to get into the sport, but they can barely throw a regular frisbee, take them here. This way you shouldn't feel too bad holding people up(at more populated courses like Hiestand or Vallarta-Ast) and they may not feel terrible about their score.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 review posted before extinction

1    6/4/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc golf with interesting entrapment devices.
Pretty neighborhood park.
Couple of local residents walking dogs on course; worked with us and gave no dirty looks.
What pins were available were blocked well.
Cons: I almost hate putting this down; because if Tim sees this; perhaps this course will go the way of Kops Park; why, because there are only three baskets here that we could find. We located baskets numbered 1, 5, and 7.
No tees. We played 5 shots from one baskets locale to another basket. Having only found three holes; there were not a lot of options.
One of three baskets leaning drunkinly sideways.
Only 5 sets of chains on one bucket; the other two had eight.
Other Thoughts: These baskets are actually interesting disc catching devices. The bottom, box, is large enough that a lofted putt has a good chance of staying in. The center pole; though much smaller in diameter than normal baskets; does a decent job of kicking disc into box (basket area).

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

A relic (note: reviewed before refurbishment)

1    8/25/2009   4/17/2010
Review By: XDrew
Played: 228  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Funny old targets...
Cons: ...that will take a bite out of your disc! There are five pins, no tees, and I kinda felt like I was trespassing.
Other Thoughts: This is not really a disc golf course! It's a small, quaint park with the bonus of some DG history in the form of bird-feeders/baskets. Just check out the pic I posted and don't bother the nice people of Maple Bluff.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth your time...

5+    4/2/2008   4/3/2010
Review By: dlk33
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's better then nothing, sort of. I don't think you'll have to wait to throw.
Cons: Just about everything. The so called homemade baskets have become a joke. They are in terrible shape!
Other Thoughts: This is actually the first course I ever played on several years ago. It was a short, just learning to play course. The small park itself is nice, but it won't take you more then half an hour to play the course. I personally wouldn't bother playing this course, but I might have a picnic there.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.