Maple Bluff, WI
Johnson Park Share
Uploaded By: puttlikeablowfly Hole #1 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 149ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 A whole new course

1    10/10/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 98  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * A new six-hole layout with new tee signs and Mach New II targets
* Some technical shots required
* Good for practice and beginners
* Attractive park
Cons: * Short holes due to small park size
* Only six holes
* Along busy street
* Natural tees
Other Thoughts: This course was completely renovated in Fall of 2010. Reviews posted prior to mine reflect the old nine-hole course with homemade baskets.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good for complete newbies

2-4    6/16/2009   7/17/2010
Review By: MooTaters
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for someone new to the sport. The course is very small and holes are rather short. At least now it has real baskets, with tee signs and everything. I will say there are two actually fairly decent holes for the more skilled players. If you want to do an ace race go here, hole 3 is probably your best chance.
Cons: Very short, not even 9 holes long. Longest hole is 225 feet. Won't need anything longer than a midrange.
Other Thoughts: If you have a friend looking to get into the sport, but they can barely throw a regular frisbee, take them here. This way you shouldn't feel too bad holding people up(at more populated courses like Hiestand or Vallarta-Ast) and they may not feel terrible about their score.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 review posted before extinction

1    6/4/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 685  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 25.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc golf with interesting entrapment devices.
Pretty neighborhood park.
Couple of local residents walking dogs on course; worked with us and gave no dirty looks.
What pins were available were blocked well.
Cons: I almost hate putting this down; because if Tim sees this; perhaps this course will go the way of Kops Park; why, because there are only three baskets here that we could find. We located baskets numbered 1, 5, and 7.
No tees. We played 5 shots from one baskets locale to another basket. Having only found three holes; there were not a lot of options.
One of three baskets leaning drunkinly sideways.
Only 5 sets of chains on one bucket; the other two had eight.
Other Thoughts: These baskets are actually interesting disc catching devices. The bottom, box, is large enough that a lofted putt has a good chance of staying in. The center pole; though much smaller in diameter than normal baskets; does a decent job of kicking disc into box (basket area).

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

A relic (note: reviewed before refurbishment)

1    8/25/2009   4/17/2010
Review By: XDrew
Played: 215  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Funny old targets...
Cons: ...that will take a bite out of your disc! There are five pins, no tees, and I kinda felt like I was trespassing.
Other Thoughts: This is not really a disc golf course! It's a small, quaint park with the bonus of some DG history in the form of bird-feeders/baskets. Just check out the pic I posted and don't bother the nice people of Maple Bluff.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth your time...

5+    4/2/2008   4/3/2010
Review By: dlk33
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's better then nothing, sort of. I don't think you'll have to wait to throw.
Cons: Just about everything. The so called homemade baskets have become a joke. They are in terrible shape!
Other Thoughts: This is actually the first course I ever played on several years ago. It was a short, just learning to play course. The small park itself is nice, but it won't take you more then half an hour to play the course. I personally wouldn't bother playing this course, but I might have a picnic there.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.