Nashville, TN 
Seven Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Challenging, Tight

1    6/9/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: Disc Golf Dave
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 30.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has many vary good holes that are unique and very playable.
Cons: A few of the holes are too tight for my liking. I like to see the disc fly with unbridled enthusiasm, or something like that. Tunnel holes are not as cool.
Other Thoughts: If this course was in my neighborhood I would play it, but it's not among the most enjoyable courses I have played.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/3/2012   3/5/2012
Review By: entangled
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun run in the woods for the most part.
Get to use a lot of shots. Shady in the hot summer. Beautiful park. Pretty easy to find the way around for the out of towner. Except for a couple of spots and the famous "innercourse" that you might find.
Cons: Crowded, but that means it's good right. At least it's just disc golfers that crowd it up though.
Don't get to rip it very much. Dreaded needle threading shots that can be frustrating.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play on a trip to TN in my opinion, it's one of the best around here.
Be prepared for a excercise in patience and restraint.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/24/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seven Oaks is one of the top courses in the Nashville area. The course provides great variety in length, layout and technicality, a must play if you are in the area. Although Seven Oaks is an older course, it is still very challenging and demanding, even by today's standards. Here is a breakdown of the course:

Course Essentials:
-Baskets: Mach Baskets with multiple positions on all holes except #1.
-Tee Pads: Single position concrete pads on all holes...
-Signs: Variety, some holes still have the original tee signs, others have printed/laminated signs, but unfortunately, many holes do not have any signage at all...

Course Design & Layout:
-Fairways: Good mix of open, technical and semi-technical fairways. Several holes offer multiple routes to the basket, and with the wide variety of pin placements, many holes can vary between straight/right/left lines, depending on the current location.
-Elevation: Minimal elevations with rolling hills throughout the course.
-Length: Great variety in length with the multiple pin placements. The course can play anywhere from 4300-6500ft, depending on current pin locations.


Course Description:
Seven Oaks begins with a series of 3 semi-open holes that are a great warm-up before you get into the more technical areas of the course, and an opportunity to get off to a good start with some easy pars and possible deuces. Once you finish the opening 3 holes, the course takes you into the more heavily wooded areas where tighter, more technical fairways await. Holes 4-6 are shorter par3's, but become progressively more technical with some really nice, tight fairways (especially 5-6) that reward accuracy and punish any stray drive. Once you finish #6, you can choose to play the optional holes I, II, and III which will return near the tee for #7. The path for these holes isn't clearly marked, but is located near the long position for hole #6. Holes 7 & 8 open up a bit, but still have narrow fairways with plenty of trees to force lines and shape your tee shots. The front nine finishes with a fairly short, semi-open shot that is a nice break and easy deuce to close out the first half of the course.

You don't get much of a break as Hole #10 takes you straight back into the woods. There are a couple of narrow routes through the heavily guarded fairway that plays slightly uphill to the basket. Holes 11-13 are a little more open, but the edges of these fairways are protected with some very thick trees. Hole 14 is simply a great golf hole. An open (but narrow) fairway that plays slightly down hill with a gentle right to left dogleg that offers great aesthetics and design. The fairways on 15 & 16 open back up a bit, but the rough is very thick and will easily add strokes. Holes17 is a shorter more technical style hole that plays slightly uphill with lots of trees. If you can hit the line, it's an easy 2, but the shorter length makes your up and down for par fairly simple if you catch a tree off the box. Hole 18 is a really nice finishing hole. A couple of trees to avoid off the tee with a gentle turnover line to an open fairway. The pin is tucked back into an opening in the trees and just in front of the creek. Some landscaping on the left provides great protection for the basket making for a difficult putt if your approach fades out. The trees and creek behind and to the right are trouble too.

Navigation:
Even without a course map, the holes were pretty straight-forward and easy to follow. The printed/laminated signs listed the direction to the next tee, which was very helpful. Without these navigational aids, it would have been more difficult to follow the course. A few holes have some longer walks to the next tee, and at some points on the course, multiple tees are visible, which gets a little confusing. The most difficult area is around hole 3. The tee for number 4 appears as though it could go for multiple baskets opposite of each other, and with no tee sign on 4, you kind of have to guess. Hole 4 is a short par3 that plays up the hill (gentle uphill) to the right of 3's basket. The basket down the hill to the left is actually the basket for hole 18. When finishing on hole 9, you are very near (if not in the right side of) the fairway for 18. You'll want to stay along the tree-line on the right side and you'll find the tee for hole 10 throwing back into the woods.
Cons: -Baskets: The baskets are in decent shape, but can be very difficult to spot in the heavily wooded areas of the course. Even in daylight, the tree cover makes for some great shade, but given the lighting, the baskets tend to blend into the background. Many baskets have the orange reflective stickers, but they are older and still a little difficult to see.

-Signs: The printed signs are good (as far as information), but with many holes having no sign at all, you'll probably be scouting several pin placements your first time through the course. Some of the existing original signs are faded and difficult to read.

-Markers: Pin position markers on many of the posts (threaded bolt w/washer) which are nice, but several of them were not up-to-date with the current pin placements, which makes it difficult to locate the pin if you are new to the course.

-TeePads: Concrete pads were adequate in size, but many of them have cracked and are getting very worn. Dirt around the tees (in some areas) is starting to wash away, and several pads weren't level.

-Safety Concerns: I've only played the course once, but it was very busy. I really didn't have to wait behind other groups, and I don't really consider busy a "con" so to speak, it is good that so many people enjoy the course, but several areas where tees/pins are located in close proximity on the course does create a safety concern. When I was getting ready to tee off on hole 17 for example, someone playing hole 8 had missed a little left and was right in the line for hole 17. Other similar situations occur in various areas of the course.
Other Thoughts: All in all, a solid course that is both fun and challenging. The course, as a whole was in decent shape and appeared to be maintained very well, the park was clean and manicured when I played there. The course design, minus the safety issues, was very well done and offers some really great golf holes. Nashville has some great disc golf, with Seven Oaks being one of the top courses in the area, definitely a must play if you are coming to Nashville. (I would also highly recommend nearby Cedar Hill!)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A True Labor of Love

5+    7/17/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: slowRoll
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2010
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'll say it upfront; the crew that takes care of this course deserves a 5 star rating by themselves. Mulch and gravel are everywhere, pin positions move every two weeks or so. Huge railroad ties are laid down all throughout this course to act as roller deterrents and create a tiered effect on several holes that add to the visual beauty of the woods surrounding you. They even have some "video game fences" as we like to call them. Fences that server no real purpose at all. They are just their for looks and to be an obsticle for you to navigate around. Homemade benches are scattered all throughout this course. I take a stool, but you could do fine just taking breaks at the spots they provide. Good mix of open, wooded, and left/right doglegs. This course doesn't seem to have any sort of favoritism built in from a design standpoint unlike some of the other courses I've played recently. The course locals do a really good job marking pin positions with bolts on the tee signs. Be sure to pay attention to where it is located, because they do move baskets very frequently here. This course is really nice to play after a good rain. There is a creek that is dry most times, but it really fills up quickly and I enjoy playing several of these holes to the sound of flowing water.
Cons: Crowded. I've taken days off work thinking I'd have the course to myself only to find a dozen cars in the parking lot at 10:00 am on a Tuesday. Not a lot of elevation changes to deal with (no more than 40' variance on any hole). Some may consider that a "Pro", but I enjoy the challenge elevation provides. There seems to be a large hippy element that is connected to this course. Not the first place I would bring children to play. Signs are older and a newer visitor might need help navigating their first time through. Large fairway that houses hole 3, 4, and 18 is a dangerous spot. Watch out for errant throws.
Other Thoughts: The three extra holes are called the Inner loop ( or innercourse if you want a chuckle), they were designed to allow local players to jump into the loop from various points on the course to avoid crowds up ahead with the idea that by the time you finished the inner 3, the blockade up ahead should be long gone. The ideal way to enter the inner loop is after hole 6 down the hill. If #6 is in the long, the teepad for hole "I" is just to the left of the basket. If 6 is in a shorter position, simply walk on down the fairway and follow the path to your left to I's tee. I plays up the hill (get used to the tight woods, all 3 are like this) to a basket that can be positioned left, right, or straight. II's tee is to the left of I's basket and actually plays to either of 2 separate baskets. II regular is a tight dogleg right, the other basket is called the X-factor and snakes it's way straight ahead through a tight curving fairway. III's tee is just up the hill to the left of X-factor's basket. III plays down the hill, again through some ridiculous 6' wide…tree… 4' tree...gaps. After completing III, continue walking ahead down the fairway and you will find yourself at the teepad for 7 having missed nothing on the original course. I hope this helps some of you travelers navigate and enjoy these unique holes. The inner loop is in my opinion the toughest 3 hole block on the course. Check this course out next time you are in town, you'll be glad you did.

Not trying to pub myself , but I did create a complete course directory if you plan on visiting and playing in middle TN. You can walkthrough these courses via slideshows and read a brief writeup of any of our courses in under 2 minutes.

http://mtdga.sports.officeliv.../Courses.aspx

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, but crowded

1    5/8/2009   2/9/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 751  Exp: 12.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a ton of variety and balance. You'll throw all kinds of shots, over nice rolling hills in the woods and in open clearings. The course did a great job of playing in and out of the woods, and never felt repetitive or stale. There was a great balance between shots that required left or right turns, with some straight narrow fairways to navigate too.

There are concrete tees that are well worn but still serviceable. There are multiple pin positions on all the holes, with some holes having several possible settings. The signs showed distance and layout, and had a nice set up to show what the current placement was so that you didn't have to walk the holes just to see where the in was.

The different pin placements looked like they would really change things up and make the course play very different. The setting when I played was a nice balance of longer and shorter placements, and kept the left/right holes pretty even. I don't know how often this changes or whether it's always in such a nice balanced layout, but it certainly was well-done when I played.

The local players clearly love and take care of this course, and the ones we met and played with were friendly and helpful.
Cons: The course was quite crowded when we played, with several large groups slowing things down even more. We ended up waiting on every tee, which made for a very long round.

The tees aren't in great shape, many were cracked, sloping, and worn very slick with use. There were also some where erosion had made drop-offs around the edge of the concrete making for poor footing on run-ups and follow-throughs.

This course is showing its age a bit. The baskets and tees are very well used, and are starting to break down a little. There is pretty significant erosion in many places on the course, especially in the wooded holes which made for poor drainage and lots of mud and standing water even a few days after rain.

The extra 3 holes were a fun addition, but were tricky to find. It would have been nice to have a little better signage explaining the course layout and the optional extra loop.
Other Thoughts: This is a great older course that is still challenging and fun even with newer disc technology. There are lots of holes that reward great shots and punish bad ones, without being a disc-eater. I would definitely stop by this course for a fun round if you're in the area.

Newer players might find this course tough and a little frustrating, though it's not too terribly long. More experienced players will find a variety of challenges here, and will need lots of different shots to score well.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Early Wood

1    12/15/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: lschrock
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, controlled drives are the key to this oak forest. I played the majority of the course with a roc, with the exception of a couple of holes. Lots of trees, with most of the fairways having really defined lines. There are a couple that you throw, and just close your eyes and hope for the best. Pretty clean course for the most part. In a park right outside a nice little neighborhood, the course is pretty isolated. I don't foresee a lot of interference with joggers or bikers, either. This park doesn't share its disc space. Decent elevation change, and a good variety of shots. This course provides a lot of ace runs too, as long as you don't hit a tree.
Cons: No really long drives, though it could be the pin placements on the day that I played. The guys that I played with said that this course gets really packed most of the time. I guess I played at a good time. Course holds a lot of water, and it had just rained. A lot of holes in the 200-300 range, so the course is almost a midrange course exclusively.
Other Thoughts: Great course overall. Recommend a play or two, as long as you skip the peak play hours.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Oldie But Goodie

1    10/10/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 21 holes, multiple pin positions with indicator of current position at tee-sign, concrete teepads, dedicated area of the park. Benches and garbage cans.
Cons: Teepads a bit short, signs well-worn - difficult to read the distance information.
Other Thoughts: A very solid course, offering a variety of hole-types - very/moderately/not wooded. A few chances to bomb away, but there is a premium on control. Moderate elevation change on a few holes, most being relatively flat. Fairly even distribution of right/left/non-turning shots needed.

Navigation: How I came across the three extra holes - after finishing #8 in the short/right position, there is a path to the left, which will take you to tee #9, a basket in front of you, labelled with an "X" (and some distance behind it you may see another basket, which is "II"), and to the right a path which will take you to the tee for number "III". Play "III" first, take the path to the back/left of basket-III to find the tee for number "I". After playing I", the tee for "II" is easy to find, then after playing it, simply return to the "X" basket, and take the path, now to your right, to the 9th tee. To find tee #15, turn left after crossing the mini-bridge (the easily visible tee to your right is #16), walk down the meadow a bit, then take a path to the right to find tee #15.

Favourite hole(s): 14-16 form a nice combination. #14 is a long, gentle downhill with a line of tree to the left and scattered trees in front of you as you approach the basket. #15 is a long, gentle uphill with brush then trees narrowing the approach over very rocky terrain. #16 is long and flat down the course of a meadow, trees/brush on both sides, with the shallowest of creeks also running along the right side. The right-side pin position across the creek with the woods behind is classic.
Least favourite hole(s): 5-8 for a borderline pinball combo that will make you pay for any inaccuracy!

Very convenient to the airport - only about a five minute drive away. Certainly worth a visit if in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/8/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: trippin4knuggs
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Wooded but not loaded with trees and brush.
Cons: Can really add up a score with bad hole.
Other Thoughts: Look for a hippie on the back nine as you enter the woods... chances are if you lost a disc he'll find it for some beer.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good..and not so good

1    8/29/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: SharpshootersDiscGol
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well maitained with benches, tables, and trash cans at every hole...no repetition of hole and pin placement..multiple pin placements...however this can be a problem too...
Cons: Tee signs were not helpful at all and if not for a local joining my group at hole 6 then we would have no clue as to where or what par these holes were. Several of the holes were no way in the par 3 range and there was no way of telling exactly what distance you were playing or where the pin acutally was hiding...other then that the course is very challenging.
Other Thoughts: Maybe I am a little partial to being spoiled by the HB Clark designs here in Kentucky but I don't know...This course would be a five in my book if the tee signs were just a little better marked and made sense.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/10/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: msudog_
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's been about 7 months since I last reviewed the course, so I think it's time for an update.

I believe there are benches at every hole, so that gives the course a chilled persona.

The majority of the course is wooded, so it will teach you accuracy. The course calls for a good mix of backhand and forehand shots along with some elevation.

The are multiple pin placements for almost every hole, and they are moved regularly.

There is some kind of cactus that is growing on hole 15, I believe.

It seems like the course is constantly being worked on.
Cons: The two biggest cons for me are the crowds and tee pads.

It seems like every time I go there it's crowded. I think the only time you might be able to play without a crowd is a dawn. Easily the most crowded course in the Nashville area.

This is an older course that needs a lot of work. Some of the tee pads can get pretty slick, especially holes 2 and 6. Both tees are on a downward slope. I would guess the angle is around 20 degrees. Way to steep for me to use my regular drive technique.

There are some semi-open holes, but only one hole that you don't have to worry about trees. There are some tight holes, then there are some insanely tight holes, almost to the point of just random trees.

The course can get very muddy if it has rained within 2 or 3 days. The tee signs are old and are getting harder to read. The baskets are also aging.

On hole 6, one of the pin positions sits behind the bench/tee pad of hole 7. Very easy to hit someone if you are not very accurate.
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to my home, but I usually try to go to other area courses. I'm really surprised at how crowded this course gets, because I don't consider it a beginner friendly course. You need to be accurate to do well here.

As of today, here are my Nashville area courses in rank.

1. Cedar Hill Park
2. Crockett Park
3. Liberty Park
4. Sharp Springs Park
5. Barfield Crescent Park
6. Seven Oaks Park
7. Two Rivers

I haven't played Sanders Ferry, Cedars of Lebanon, or Triple Creek.

If you want a course very beginner friendly, try Two Rivers. If you want something similar to Seven Oaks, but a little bigger, try Cedar Hill.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.