Nashville, TN 
Seven Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: NIBSTOOLS  
Park Sign



Reviews: 70
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

1    3/4/2014   3/5/2014
Review By: thrillthrower
Played: 40  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety- 1st couple of holes and last finish with big drive potential. In between challenging wood holes complimented by seemingly groomed , even picturesque holes - one hole reminded me of a golf ball course . Left and right shots needed - deuces available if you find the right path to the hole . Risk/ reward potential on several holes makes shot selection fun
Cons: Erosion / drainage may be a consideration in a few spots if wet or has rained Discs may get a rock rub or two on 2 holes. (So throw with precision or use disc u don't love)
Other Thoughts: Flowed nicely- couple of holes with water in play - wonderful course-

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

First Impresssion

1    2/17/2014   2/17/2014
Review By: Vibramterraius
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First time on the course and it was an excellent experience. The course has mantgreat features. Distance variations, Multi-pin placement, Adequate Tees. Design along with the wooded enhancement of the course offers so much to the players to all levels. Disc selection and throw shaping through multiple flight paths make it a great course. Once played it is easy to see why so many enjoy this course.
Cons: No course negatives really. Stray domestic animals have slowed play.
Busy course often have players backed up waiting to tee.
Other Thoughts: If you play here your skill level will improve making less challenging courses easier to throw.
Excellent course one of the best in the area and if you really want a good time playing Disc Golf then this course is a must.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course, but too crowded

5+    3/25/2012   1/25/2013
Review By: weatherbill
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: great variety of shots. basket locations relocate sometimes which makes it interesting. Landscape is very excellent and well maintained.
Cons: some holes are too long for my liking. I like to have chances at Aces.
Other Thoughts: this course has become too crowded in the last 2 years and can hinder the flow of your game. This use dto be a really nice time for me, but since the local news channel covered this, everyone and their dog has come ou tto this course and I no longer want to visit.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Quintessential Course

5+    1/11/2013   1/11/2013
Review By: WillAnderson
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well done in the heart of Nashville, 7Oaks provides a great environment for all levels & styles. Elevation changes & tunnel fairways keep everyone honest. The signage is clear, & multiple basket positions keep each hole fresh throughout the year. Bridges across water & drainage ditches are in good shape, and each hole features erosion control (mulch, railroad ties, logs, rocks, etc) that keep its heavily trafficked areas clean & navigable. The holes mix well too, giving up birdies only to great shots on most holes but not punishing the heck out of badly placed drives. Many of the holes are completely mulched on fairways, and even if you land in the rough with a tough out, it isn't so bad to find a line because the roughs aren't thick with brush (mostly.) All around fantastic course. I'd give it a higher rating if it had more character (water holes, hills, or cool rest spots.) The length & design of the course puts it on the same level as the best I've played.
Cons: The traffic can be annoying, but who's in a hurry anyway? I don't mind because I play for exercise & relaxation anyway. Some of the holes lack signage to next tee & cross over other holes, but hey, meet someone new & ask for direction?
Other Thoughts: Feel free to bring the whole family or a dog if you'd prefer. The hills are moderate & every hole gets plenty of attention from the parks system & community. I'd love to have it as a home course!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Popular for a Reason

2-4    10/9/2012   11/16/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 (or 21) hole course in a wooded park right near the airport. I'm not a local, but get the impression that this course is very popular and can get very crowded.
- Located in a nice multi-use park, so plenty of parking, but the open part of the course is kind of in its own section and there's really nothing else going on in the wooded part
- Overall is a fairly short course, but has a nice variety - some open holes across the grassy fields (but nice use of the few trees and terrain for added difficulty), but mostly tighter technical holes amidst the trees
- Can play the 18 hole loop, or add in the 3-hole "inner course" (in between holes 6 and 7 I think?) that starts right next to basket 6 and ends at tee 7 for an added bonus
- Multiple basket positions that create variety if you play a lot (and the different positions are not just different hole legnths of the same line/route)
- Concrete tee pads on all holes that are in pretty good shape
- Tee signs with washer system to indicate basket location - plexiglass covered on the main 18 - cool looking carved wood on the inner course
- Most holes (if not all - can't remember) have seating with overturned cable reels to act as tables
- "Next tee" signs on most baskets, I think
- This course has a lot of trees that really force you to be precise with your lines - very rewarding when you hit a nice long drive or fairway shot
- Good use of elevation where available and good mix of left and right basket locations
- Many of the wooded fairways with elevation changes are not just slopes - there are logs/boards buried into the dirt to create tiers/steps for easier walking and throwing base
- Devoted locals to change pin positions and bring gravel or wood chips out into the woods to help with erosion and to avoid it from getting too muddy - no trash that I saw
- I love the holes that are a nice unimpeded tunnel, but with trees lining the sides (#12-16 I think are like this) - #15 with the exposed rock ground like a dried up river bed is awesome looking
- Water not really in play - small, shallow creek nearby on a couple holes - either crossing right in front of the tee or running along side the fairway
Cons: - Some of the tee signs are pretty worn down, rusted or busted, making it tough to see where some of the baskets are located on the hole map - tough on out-of-towners who don't play regularly
- I dunno, maybe I'm spoiled by the nice course maps at the courses near me, but this is one of many courses that doesn't have an overall course map (at the course or online) - this really should be a must on any top course, especially when there is a bulletin board/kiosk already there (such as at Seven Oaks)
- Tee pad #6 (I think) is sloped downward with a dropoff at the end - I had to be pretty catious teeing off there
- A few fairways are "poke and hope" - while I have no problem with wooded courses/holes, a few of them here really didn't seem to offer any consistent, realistic lines - your best shot can get knocked down when the openings aren't much bigger than your disc
- A few holes run a bit close to each other hard fades on hole #6 can probably scare those teeing off of #7 - holes #8 and #17 are kind of close, too - kind of a collision of holes 3, 4, 10 and 18 in a field where errant throws could be trouble
- I think one of the inner course holes has an extra basket on it or something? I remember being confused coming across an extra one
- Baskets really blend into the wooded background - no flags or colors
- A couple of the washers for basket position were in the wrong spot
Other Thoughts: - Port-a-john and some garbage cans
- Basket #18 doesn't put you right back at the parking lot, but it's not too long of a walk
- I heard that a homeless guy lives near one of the tees

Overall, it's easy to see why this course is so popular in an area with a bunch of good courses. This one will really challenge your precision, but still offers a bunch of fun holes and lines. It's a must stop every time I'm in Nashville.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good Ol Seven Oaks

1    7/14/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: PHARP
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course. Has a variety of holes with slight elevation changes, narrow fairways, wide open holes, and very wooded. The course is very well kept up by local volunteers. You may even spot pro Will Shusterick playing here.
Cons: The holes are moved around alot, which in most cases is a pro, but the signage does not always show an accurate placement of the basket. There is a clint tournament held by locals that is played every Saturday when we play that starts around 10AM, which can really crowd the course really quickly.
Other Thoughts: Love the course. Play it weekly with a group of guys from work. Even though we play weekly, it still challenges us. Will always be near to my heart.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Frickin' Sweet

1    5/3/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: etaylor777
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course was pretty awesome. I had just played Sharp Springs in Smyrna prior and LOVED it. So I was surprised when this one blew my mind as well. Granted, I still like Sharp Springs better, this is a solid 4star course. It had plenty of risk shots. Great layout. Not much walking from basket to tee. I had an amazing time. Good Discin'.
Cons: Not many cons. A couple of tee's were close to prior baskets and you had to stay alert not to get hit, but not that big of a deal. A couple of holes through across or near a different holes green area. Other than that...4 Star!!!!!!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun Little Walk in the Woods

1    9/7/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Baskets are in good shape
Tee pads are in good shape
Benches
Trash Cans
Very well maintained course and very easy to find
Good signage
Cons:
No restrooms/water that I could find
No map that I could find either, although only an issue on a few holes
Other Thoughts:
Tips
Take water and use the restroom ahead of time

Random Thoughts:
This is a loved course, and by that I mean, it's one of the cleanest, well maintained courses I've ever seen. It's conveniently located in a nice park with almost no cross traffic to speak of. As for the hole layout, there's a nice variety of shots (shapes and lengths) with some in the open, some in the trees, and some of both. I also like that this course lets you get warmed up with a couple straight-forward holes before it ratchets up the difficulty. With that said, there are some very difficult holes on this course, most of which are in the trees. These holes demand precision shots and when you're not precise, you may find getting back out on the "fairway" a challenge as well. One of the bonus holes in particular I just laughed at because I couldn't see any real shot to the basket so I just let fly and hoped for the best. It didn't end well, but no biggie. I appreciate the challenge. There's also a random basket in this area that could confuse you so be on the lookout for it. (And no, I never figured out what it was for.) I finished up my round after meeting up with a nice local, and I liked that it finishes out in the open again to give you a good shot at a nice score.

Bottom Line:
This is a course that is well worth checking out. It may not be the most scenic course, but it has a good amount of challenge without being unfair. It's beautifully maintained and the locals are friendly. All in all, a good round is yours for the taking.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My new favorite

1    9/26/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: hound_dog
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome layout. Great variety of shots needed. There are a lot of holes that play longer than those of a typical wooded course. Numerous pin placements, 5 possibilities on some holes, allow for a wide variety of layouts. The park was very quiet and peaceful. I never even noticed that there was an airport nearby.
Cons: This course would easily earn a 5 rating from me with two things. New tee pads that are not dangerously slick when wet and new baskets. Some of the baskets are bent or rusty. The tee pads have gravel poured into the concrete in such a way that it creates a very slick surface. Also a few of the tee pads slope down hill making it an awkward throw.
Other Thoughts: This course is just fantastic. It was just a great walk through the woods. The course never seemed to get old, and every hole seemed well thought out. I will return to play this one again soon.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Always a good time

5+    9/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: boondock339
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All the signage has been updated, and it's WAY better than before. This course has a good mix of open and wooded, mainly the latter. I prefer wooded courses mainly because that's what I grew up playing on.
Cons: Sometimes the course has some drainage issues around 12 and 13.
Other Thoughts: I have seen some people talk about unsavory characters and open drug and alcohol use on this course. It is what it is. If you want a country club atmosphere go play golf.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.