Nashville, TN 
Seven Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 332ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 74
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Well rounded course.

1    5/16/2016   5/17/2016
Review By: jesse_v_m
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open and wooded holes. Clear attention to detail regarding maps of each hole at each tee. Holes often have multiple tees and baskets which give it a nice variety without needed to relocate baskets. The "intercourse" holes are a clever way to work a few extra playable holes. Well groomed course with thoughtful building of steps, disc-catching walls, and protection on some pads from players throwing on the previous hole. Clearly thought through and purposeful course. Also very nice that it's a dedicated course instead of a park with non-players roaming in the way.
Cons: Pay attention to the signage at each tee for info about the next hole's tee. There are signs hanging on the baskets but they aren't always pointing the correct way.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty sweet course

2-4    4/12/2016   4/13/2016
Review By: TXDiscDude
Played: 78  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of all kinds of shots for lefties and righties.
Lots of benches and tables.
Strictly a disc golf course, no kooks running aorund in the way.
Good bud.
Friendly groups
Extra bonus holes "the intercourse"
Good double chained baskets.
Arrows to next tee at baskets
Fresh cut fairways.
Disc golf store around the corner.
Cons: Very crowded in the afternoon.
A few signs were missing, but most holes have basket placement visible from tee pad. If you look around the trees there are signs for basket placement drawn on rocks and boards on the holes with missing original signs.
Other Thoughts: A lot of love went into the course. Keep it up.
I will be playing here when I'm in Nashville in the future.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Course

1    8/12/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: DragonJarod
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good upkeep with benches, tables, garbage cans, and a place to hang your bag at almost any hole. The signs for the holes are good. It's a nice course to practice your accuracy with only a few open holes.
Cons: A smashed in sign and a rotting table, at two different holes. Sometimes, it's confusing where the hole is.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/4/2014   3/5/2014
Review By: thrillthrower
Played: 51  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Variety- 1st couple of holes and last finish with big drive potential. In between challenging wood holes complimented by seemingly groomed , even picturesque holes - one hole reminded me of a golf ball course . Left and right shots needed - deuces available if you find the right path to the hole . Risk/ reward potential on several holes makes shot selection fun
Cons: Erosion / drainage may be a consideration in a few spots if wet or has rained Discs may get a rock rub or two on 2 holes. (So throw with precision or use disc u don't love)
Other Thoughts: Flowed nicely- couple of holes with water in play - wonderful course-

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

First Impresssion

1    2/17/2014   2/17/2014
Review By: Vibramterraius
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Being new to the disc golf world my review is focused on offering a review as seen by a beginner players first time on the course.

This course was an excellent experience since there are so many great features.

Course design was well thought out and use of trees and land topology are a great part of playing here. Distances vary and most will make a newer player work to get par. Tees are fine and in great shape the course is well maintained. Trash cans and benches along the course are placed well. Disc selection and throw shaping through multiple flight paths keep things interesting. Once a round is played it is easy to see why so many enjoy this course.
Cons: No course negatives really.
Stray domestic animals have slowed play.
Busy course often have players backed up waiting to tee.
Other Thoughts: By playing this course your skill level will improve making less challenging courses easier to throw.
Seven Oaks is one of the best DGCs in the area and if you really want a good time playing Disc Golf then this course is a must.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, but too crowded

5+    3/25/2012   1/25/2013
Review By: weatherbill
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: great variety of shots. basket locations relocate sometimes which makes it interesting. Landscape is very excellent and well maintained.
Cons: some holes are too long for my liking. I like to have chances at Aces.
Other Thoughts: this course has become too crowded in the last 2 years and can hinder the flow of your game. This use dto be a really nice time for me, but since the local news channel covered this, everyone and their dog has come ou tto this course and I no longer want to visit.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Quintessential Course

5+    1/11/2013   1/11/2013
Review By: WillAnderson
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well done in the heart of Nashville, 7Oaks provides a great environment for all levels & styles. Elevation changes & tunnel fairways keep everyone honest. The signage is clear, & multiple basket positions keep each hole fresh throughout the year. Bridges across water & drainage ditches are in good shape, and each hole features erosion control (mulch, railroad ties, logs, rocks, etc) that keep its heavily trafficked areas clean & navigable. The holes mix well too, giving up birdies only to great shots on most holes but not punishing the heck out of badly placed drives. Many of the holes are completely mulched on fairways, and even if you land in the rough with a tough out, it isn't so bad to find a line because the roughs aren't thick with brush (mostly.) All around fantastic course. I'd give it a higher rating if it had more character (water holes, hills, or cool rest spots.) The length & design of the course puts it on the same level as the best I've played.
Cons: The traffic can be annoying, but who's in a hurry anyway? I don't mind because I play for exercise & relaxation anyway. Some of the holes lack signage to next tee & cross over other holes, but hey, meet someone new & ask for direction?
Other Thoughts: Feel free to bring the whole family or a dog if you'd prefer. The hills are moderate & every hole gets plenty of attention from the parks system & community. I'd love to have it as a home course!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Popular for a Reason

2-4    10/9/2012   11/16/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 (or 21) hole course in a wooded park right near the airport. I'm not a local, but get the impression that this course is very popular and can get very crowded.
- Located in a nice multi-use park, so plenty of parking, but the open part of the course is kind of in its own section and there's really nothing else going on in the wooded part
- Overall is a fairly short course, but has a nice variety - some open holes across the grassy fields (but nice use of the few trees and terrain for added difficulty), but mostly tighter technical holes amidst the trees
- Can play the 18 hole loop, or add in the 3-hole "inner course" (in between holes 6 and 7 I think?) that starts right next to basket 6 and ends at tee 7 for an added bonus
- Multiple basket positions that create variety if you play a lot (and the different positions are not just different hole legnths of the same line/route)
- Concrete tee pads on all holes that are in pretty good shape
- Tee signs with washer system to indicate basket location - plexiglass covered on the main 18 - cool looking carved wood on the inner course
- Most holes (if not all - can't remember) have seating with overturned cable reels to act as tables
- "Next tee" signs on most baskets, I think
- This course has a lot of trees that really force you to be precise with your lines - very rewarding when you hit a nice long drive or fairway shot
- Good use of elevation where available and good mix of left and right basket locations
- Many of the wooded fairways with elevation changes are not just slopes - there are logs/boards buried into the dirt to create tiers/steps for easier walking and throwing base
- Devoted locals to change pin positions and bring gravel or wood chips out into the woods to help with erosion and to avoid it from getting too muddy - no trash that I saw
- I love the holes that are a nice unimpeded tunnel, but with trees lining the sides (#12-16 I think are like this) - #15 with the exposed rock ground like a dried up river bed is awesome looking
- Water not really in play - small, shallow creek nearby on a couple holes - either crossing right in front of the tee or running along side the fairway
Cons: - Some of the tee signs are pretty worn down, rusted or busted, making it tough to see where some of the baskets are located on the hole map - tough on out-of-towners who don't play regularly
- I dunno, maybe I'm spoiled by the nice course maps at the courses near me, but this is one of many courses that doesn't have an overall course map (at the course or online) - this really should be a must on any top course, especially when there is a bulletin board/kiosk already there (such as at Seven Oaks)
- Tee pad #6 (I think) is sloped downward with a dropoff at the end - I had to be pretty catious teeing off there
- A few fairways are "poke and hope" - while I have no problem with wooded courses/holes, a few of them here really didn't seem to offer any consistent, realistic lines - your best shot can get knocked down when the openings aren't much bigger than your disc
- A few holes run a bit close to each other hard fades on hole #6 can probably scare those teeing off of #7 - holes #8 and #17 are kind of close, too - kind of a collision of holes 3, 4, 10 and 18 in a field where errant throws could be trouble
- I think one of the inner course holes has an extra basket on it or something? I remember being confused coming across an extra one
- Baskets really blend into the wooded background - no flags or colors
- A couple of the washers for basket position were in the wrong spot
Other Thoughts: - Port-a-john and some garbage cans
- Basket #18 doesn't put you right back at the parking lot, but it's not too long of a walk
- I heard that a homeless guy lives near one of the tees

Overall, it's easy to see why this course is so popular in an area with a bunch of good courses. This one will really challenge your precision, but still offers a bunch of fun holes and lines. It's a must stop every time I'm in Nashville.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good Ol Seven Oaks

1    7/14/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: PHARP
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course. Has a variety of holes with slight elevation changes, narrow fairways, wide open holes, and very wooded. The course is very well kept up by local volunteers. You may even spot pro Will Shusterick playing here.
Cons: The holes are moved around alot, which in most cases is a pro, but the signage does not always show an accurate placement of the basket. There is a clint tournament held by locals that is played every Saturday when we play that starts around 10AM, which can really crowd the course really quickly.
Other Thoughts: Love the course. Play it weekly with a group of guys from work. Even though we play weekly, it still challenges us. Will always be near to my heart.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Frickin' Sweet

1    5/3/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: etaylor777
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course was pretty awesome. I had just played Sharp Springs in Smyrna prior and LOVED it. So I was surprised when this one blew my mind as well. Granted, I still like Sharp Springs better, this is a solid 4star course. It had plenty of risk shots. Great layout. Not much walking from basket to tee. I had an amazing time. Good Discin'.
Cons: Not many cons. A couple of tee's were close to prior baskets and you had to stay alert not to get hit, but not that big of a deal. A couple of holes through across or near a different holes green area. Other than that...4 Star!!!!!!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.