Nashville, TN 
Seven Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: anthonygobot Hole #13 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 272ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 72
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Every city needs one of these!

1    1/27/2011   1/10/2012
Review By: ALPO
Played: 75  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/11/2016
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seven Oaks does more with less than any other course I've played.

For starters, all 18 holes provide a varying amount of shots, distances, tee placements and open vs. wooded fairways. Almost every hole is challenging and rewarding without being too easy or too hard. Even the courses easiest holes (the first four in my opinion) have enough character to make you love them. Unlike some more densely wooded courses, Seven Oaks typically offers multiple lines for the golfer to reach the pin, and that is what gives this course so much re-playability. Many of the wooded holes show you the line you want but if you miss it, you can fight to save par versus taking strokes (hole 15 excluded, this hole feels like it belongs on a different course in a different state! Where did the pine trees and exposed rock come from?! Not to say it is a bad hole by any means, just the black sheep here.)

Other commendables:

1) The caretakers of this course cannot be praised enough. Each hole is well kept, free of debris (unless those in front of you have ravaged it), and they keep those baskets moving around without overdoing it.

2) This course has 21 holes in a limited area. I've played 18 by myself in 45 minutes! If you like wide open courses with long hikes from pin to tee pad, then go for it. I prefer to spend more time throwing than walking.

3) For a course almost on airport property and right in the middle of a bustling city, Seven Oaks is a quaint oasis, a slice of disc golf heaven! The community here is outstanding. Weekends have high traffic but if you truly love disc golf, it is such a plus to see all the families, teens, veterans, etc. enjoying this sport. If you hate the atmosphere, come during the week, where its quiet, not busy, and you can enjoy the woods and geography, which is amazingly diverse for being in the city, probably this courses most underrated feature.
Cons: The only con is that 17's fairway slightly impedes on hole 8, which could be an issue if no one is paying attention. This is a heavily played course, traffic here still flows well and most people will let you play through. I have never had an issue and if I did that would reflect the people not the course!

Perhaps, if you only like to throw for max distance off every tee pad you wouldn't like this course, you'd be more at home at Sander's Ferry.
Other Thoughts: Seating is amazing here! There are cozy wheel-type things at every hole (seriously too afraid to ask someone what they are because I know I should know) benches, plenty of trash cans, etc. This course has it all. There is even a water hole! Actually, its just a mild stream that flows along a few holes, no fear of losing a disc. Without repeating what reviewers have already said, the layout is perfect. Starts out in the open, dives into the woods while still maintaining to provide open holes for a variance, and then you can bring it on 18 across an open hole (stay away from the dip on the right).

I'll wrap up here because I think I covered everything that makes this course great. All things considered, you could not ask for more here: it's challenging without intimidating, offers birdies that can turn into bogeys (for those yet to find their stride), great for the skilled and the rookies, and has a perfect layout to help you utilize your entire foray of shots and discs! It's a 5/5 in terms of atmosphere, maximized layout, design, location, etc. I'm awarding a 4.5 because I haven't given any course the amount of play as I've done here. I just don't think it would be fair to rank it 5/5 simply because I'm having so much damn fun with it being right down the street.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 playing on home field

5+    5/12/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: jasmogegr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: i love this course. was first introduced to the sport on this course. consider it my home turf. every time they move the baskets i get excited.
Cons: none what so ever
Other Thoughts: you cant leave nashville without playing atleast once. its like home to me

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 A day in the park

5+    8/17/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2010
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: First 4 holes play through a lightly wooded field with a over the hill shot on hole 2. Nice wooded/field shots follow. I was recently hipped to the "intercourse" a.k.a. Holes 19, 20, and 21. Kinda remind me of Star World in Super Mario Brothers. The back 9 offer a lot more room to throw, with Hole 18 being my personal favorite. Lots of nice locals to play with too!
Cons: Can get quite crowded at busy times.
Other Thoughts: The best course in Nashville hands down. Oh, and fyi, the "intercourse" is located down the trail to the right of basket 6. It is not really that hidden but for some reason we couldn't find it without being shown.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 the heavens blessed this course

1    5/30/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: ChronoDisc
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: absolutaly the best i have played. there is not much bad about this course. beautiful area and very very well maintained. very wide variety of holes. you rarely have to throw the same type of throw. there are steps to get you down the rocky or hilly areas. there are seats at almost every tee...(i never thought a stump would be so comfy lol)
generally a relaxing area and just overall an awesome place.
Cons: we got a little turned around near the optional holes but once we figured out where we were we thought it was amazing to have 3 extra holes just for fun. i think some of the pars are slightly insane. you have to have a cannon for an arm to get a 450ft hole in 4 shots. or maybe im just weak.... not sure yet.
Other Thoughts: this course is worth the trip from any point in tennessee. absolutaly amazing course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course!! Best in Nashville!

1/11/2008   1/11/2008
Review By: ambroze
Played: 155  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Everything mostly! It has multiple pin placements and creates many challenges. I am a bit bias considering this is the course I would call my "home course". Ask anyone in Nashville and they'll pretty much all agree that this is the best course in town (some think it's Cedar Hill). The regulars there are great and take pride in keeping the course looking good and scheduling days dedicated for working on the course. Work hard/play hard!! Also, don't forget to look for the 3 inner holes called the "inner course" inside located just past #6. These 3 holes are very, very challenging, not recommended for beginners.
Cons: I think it's a hard course to play at night but that's about the only negative thing I can think of. That's not really a negative consider it creates a new challenge.
Other Thoughts: Be ready for a sweet wooded course with many challenges ahead. Some holes can be setup in the short pin placements making for some really easy deuces. I've deuced every hole at one time or another except for #18 which is one of the longer ones.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.