Nashville, TN 
Seven Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #21
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole III Tee

Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Every city needs one of these!

1    1/27/2011   1/10/2012
Review By: ALPO
Played: 65  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I want to give this course a 5, but I don't want to suggest this is the best course ever, just my personal favorite. I know there are courses that are better than Seven Oaks, but not in between Memphis and Nashville. Seven Oaks does more with less than any other course I've played.

For starters, all 18 holes provide a varying amount of shots, distances, tee placements and open vs. wooded fairways. Almost every hole is challenging and rewarding without being too easy or too hard. Even the courses easiest holes (the first four in my opinion) have enough character to make you love them. Unlike some more densely wooded courses, Seven Oaks typically offers multiple lines for the golfer to reach the pin, and that is what gives this course so much re-playability. Many of the wooded holes show you the line you want but if you miss it, you can fight to save par versus taking strokes (hole 15 excluded, this hole feels like it belongs on a different course in a different state! Where did the pine trees and exposed rock come from?! Not to say it is a bad hole by any means, just the black sheep here.)

Other commendables:

1) The caretakers of this course cannot be praised enough. Each hole is well kept, free of debris (unless those in front of you have ravaged it), and they keep those baskets moving around without overdoing it.

2) This course has 21 holes in a limited area. I've played 18 by myself in 45 minutes! If you like wide open courses with long hikes from pin to tee pad, then go for it. I prefer to spend more time throwing than walking.

3) For a course almost on airport property and right in the middle of a bustling city, Seven Oaks is a quaint oasis, a slice of disc golf heaven! The community here is outstanding. Weekends have high traffic but if you truly love disc golf, it is such a plus to see all the families, teens, veterans, etc. enjoying this sport. If you hate the atmosphere, come during the week, where its quiet, not busy, and you can enjoy the woods and geography, which is amazingly diverse for being in the city, probably this courses most underrated feature.
Cons: The only con is that 17's fairway slightly impedes on hole 8, which could be an issue if no one is paying attention. This is a heavily played course, traffic here still flows well and most people will let you play through. I have never had an issue and if I did that would reflect the people not the course!

Perhaps, if you only like to throw for max distance off every tee pad you wouldn't like this course, you'd be more at home at Sander's Ferry.
Other Thoughts: Seating is amazing here! There are cozy wheel-type things at every hole (seriously too afraid to ask someone what they are because I know I should know) benches, plenty of trash cans, etc. This course has it all. There is even a water hole! Actually, its just a mild stream that flows along a few holes, no fear of losing a disc. Without repeating what reviewers have already said, the layout is perfect. Starts out in the open, dives into the woods while still maintaining to provide open holes for a variance, and then you can bring it on 18 across an open hole (stay away from the dip on the right).

I'll wrap up here because I think I covered everything that makes this course great. All things considered, you could not ask for more here: it's challenging without intimidating, offers birdies that can turn into bogeys (for those yet to find their stride), great for the skilled and the rookies, and has a perfect layout to help you utilize your entire foray of shots and discs! It's a 5/5 in terms of atmosphere, maximized layout, design, location, etc. I'm awarding a 4.5 because I haven't given any course the amount of play as I've done here. I just don't think it would be fair to rank it 5/5 simply because I'm having so much damn fun with it being right down the street.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Course

1    10/14/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: keebler
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1. Very Clean and well managed
2. Easy to navigate
3. Good tee pads
4. Very challenging
Cons: 1. Crowded course
2. Lots of trees to hit
3. Only a few holes where you get to air it out.
Other Thoughts: One of the prettiest courses I've played in the past 5 years (including Austin and Denver). This course was crowded, could only imagine playing during peak times.. The holes were very challenging as much of the course is heavily wooded, yet manageable. Its one of the most well kept courses I've seen in the southeast in a long time. Definitely used every disc in my arsenal of throws to make it through the course. Very Enjoyable.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun Little Walk in the Woods

1    9/7/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: Magiken
Played: 46  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Baskets are in good shape
Tee pads are in good shape
Trash Cans
Very well maintained course and very easy to find
Good signage
No restrooms/water that I could find
No map that I could find either, although only an issue on a few holes
Other Thoughts:
Take water and use the restroom ahead of time

Random Thoughts:
This is a loved course, and by that I mean, it's one of the cleanest, well maintained courses I've ever seen. It's conveniently located in a nice park with almost no cross traffic to speak of. As for the hole layout, there's a nice variety of shots (shapes and lengths) with some in the open, some in the trees, and some of both. I also like that this course lets you get warmed up with a couple straight-forward holes before it ratchets up the difficulty. With that said, there are some very difficult holes on this course, most of which are in the trees. These holes demand precision shots and when you're not precise, you may find getting back out on the "fairway" a challenge as well. One of the bonus holes in particular I just laughed at because I couldn't see any real shot to the basket so I just let fly and hoped for the best. It didn't end well, but no biggie. I appreciate the challenge. There's also a random basket in this area that could confuse you so be on the lookout for it. (And no, I never figured out what it was for.) I finished up my round after meeting up with a nice local, and I liked that it finishes out in the open again to give you a good shot at a nice score.

Bottom Line:
This is a course that is well worth checking out. It may not be the most scenic course, but it has a good amount of challenge without being unfair. It's beautifully maintained and the locals are friendly. All in all, a good round is yours for the taking.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    9/28/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: eupher61
Played: 95  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fairly easy to navigate. Being a first-timer with no guide, I have no idea what the inner course thing is about, so I just played it straight. The course is obviously well cared for. (Great job on that, folks!) A few very nice shots, lots of trees to totally screw you over, roots to cause errant bounces or skips. Great signage, and good pin indicators.
Cons: Every hole is about the same length, it seems. The #14 complex seems fun, but also seems like they rarely open it up full length. 2 baskets on that hole, one before the secondary tee and one after, would be nice.
Other Thoughts: This is obviously a busy course--10am on a Tuesday had at least 10 groups playing, counting singles as a group. Very cool! Barfield and 7 Oaks both remind me of Cliff Drive in KC, except much shorter and much flatter Not a forgettable course by any means, but nothing truly noteworthy. I threw 58, only because of ground obstacles toying with my disc on landing. Even with all the trees I hit, I could have broken par easily. No complaints, I look forward to being down that way so I can play it again. Congrats to the (durn, I forgot the exact title on the board..) the School Rd group that maintains it. You are doing a great job!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My new favorite

1    9/26/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: hound_dog
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome layout. Great variety of shots needed. There are a lot of holes that play longer than those of a typical wooded course. Numerous pin placements, 5 possibilities on some holes, allow for a wide variety of layouts. The park was very quiet and peaceful. I never even noticed that there was an airport nearby.
Cons: This course would easily earn a 5 rating from me with two things. New tee pads that are not dangerously slick when wet and new baskets. Some of the baskets are bent or rusty. The tee pads have gravel poured into the concrete in such a way that it creates a very slick surface. Also a few of the tee pads slope down hill making it an awkward throw.
Other Thoughts: This course is just fantastic. It was just a great walk through the woods. The course never seemed to get old, and every hole seemed well thought out. I will return to play this one again soon.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Always a good time

5+    9/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: boondock339
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All the signage has been updated, and it's WAY better than before. This course has a good mix of open and wooded, mainly the latter. I prefer wooded courses mainly because that's what I grew up playing on.
Cons: Sometimes the course has some drainage issues around 12 and 13.
Other Thoughts: I have seen some people talk about unsavory characters and open drug and alcohol use on this course. It is what it is. If you want a country club atmosphere go play golf.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Course in Nashville

5+    8/8/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: Biggzipp
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This really is my favorite course in Nashville. It has a great design with a wide variety of terrain and challenges for both left and right handers. The community of golfers surrounding the course keep it in good condition, and there's always several golfers playing when you show up. The landscape is diverse and inviting. Pretty nice tee pads. Multiple pin locations, and updated signs were just added. Location in the city!
Cons: Not much here, but the baskets are a bit shallow, so you might occasionally lose a putt that would stick somewhere else. Some might complain that it's too wooded, but that's part of what makes it 7 Oaks (IMO).
Other Thoughts: A really relaxing course to play since there's not much elevation change. You can play through quickly if you desire, but it's not boring or short. Might be the smartest designed course in town.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Will play it again!

1    6/27/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: SunOnMySkin
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging holes with a good mix of hills, trees, and open areas. Dog legs, and elbows help with the toughness. Also some holes are best played side arm and others back hand. Well marked with good baskets.
Cons: Hole 14 needed better marking for its tee off pad. Hole 15 is thick on each side so its easy to lose a disc. The start of the course at hole one is a little vague.
Other Thoughts: Over all this is a pretty good course. Clean and fun. Will play again for sure

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course

1    6/29/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: KickMuttButt
Played: 166  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 35.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of technical and open shots. minimal but effective/enjoyable elevation changes. I like courses that force accurracy by having very difficult recovery shots. This course could be very maddening if you are not on your game.

Very well maintained by the local DG community. I wish Atlanta golfers respected and improved our courses in this way. There were manicured and erosion-protected "greens" arround the basket. There were de-limbed fallen trees outlining fairways. There were nice benches and gravel areas surrounding the concrete tee-box areas. plentiful trash cans. Fantastic.
Cons: Not many. I was a little lost looking for hole #9. They had added 3 holes and there was no signage explaining this. It was a little difficult seeing the baskets...perhaps some bright pink flags on top of the baskets would help this (I've seen this at other courses - very effective).
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this round of golf and along with Cedar Hills consider this a must-play in the Nashville area. Great course to thow all the shots in your arsenal. Be prepared for a challenge!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/24/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seven Oaks is one of the top courses in the Nashville area. The course provides great variety in length, layout and technicality, a must play if you are in the area. Although Seven Oaks is an older course, it is still very challenging and demanding, even by today's standards. Here is a breakdown of the course:

Course Essentials:
-Baskets: Mach Baskets with multiple positions on all holes except #1.
-Tee Pads: Single position concrete pads on all holes...
-Signs: Variety, some holes still have the original tee signs, others have printed/laminated signs, but unfortunately, many holes do not have any signage at all...

Course Design & Layout:
-Fairways: Good mix of open, technical and semi-technical fairways. Several holes offer multiple routes to the basket, and with the wide variety of pin placements, many holes can vary between straight/right/left lines, depending on the current location.
-Elevation: Minimal elevations with rolling hills throughout the course.
-Length: Great variety in length with the multiple pin placements. The course can play anywhere from 4300-6500ft, depending on current pin locations.

Course Description:
Seven Oaks begins with a series of 3 semi-open holes that are a great warm-up before you get into the more technical areas of the course, and an opportunity to get off to a good start with some easy pars and possible deuces. Once you finish the opening 3 holes, the course takes you into the more heavily wooded areas where tighter, more technical fairways await. Holes 4-6 are shorter par3's, but become progressively more technical with some really nice, tight fairways (especially 5-6) that reward accuracy and punish any stray drive. Once you finish #6, you can choose to play the optional holes I, II, and III which will return near the tee for #7. The path for these holes isn't clearly marked, but is located near the long position for hole #6. Holes 7 & 8 open up a bit, but still have narrow fairways with plenty of trees to force lines and shape your tee shots. The front nine finishes with a fairly short, semi-open shot that is a nice break and easy deuce to close out the first half of the course.

You don't get much of a break as Hole #10 takes you straight back into the woods. There are a couple of narrow routes through the heavily guarded fairway that plays slightly uphill to the basket. Holes 11-13 are a little more open, but the edges of these fairways are protected with some very thick trees. Hole 14 is simply a great golf hole. An open (but narrow) fairway that plays slightly down hill with a gentle right to left dogleg that offers great aesthetics and design. The fairways on 15 & 16 open back up a bit, but the rough is very thick and will easily add strokes. Holes17 is a shorter more technical style hole that plays slightly uphill with lots of trees. If you can hit the line, it's an easy 2, but the shorter length makes your up and down for par fairly simple if you catch a tree off the box. Hole 18 is a really nice finishing hole. A couple of trees to avoid off the tee with a gentle turnover line to an open fairway. The pin is tucked back into an opening in the trees and just in front of the creek. Some landscaping on the left provides great protection for the basket making for a difficult putt if your approach fades out. The trees and creek behind and to the right are trouble too.

Even without a course map, the holes were pretty straight-forward and easy to follow. The printed/laminated signs listed the direction to the next tee, which was very helpful. Without these navigational aids, it would have been more difficult to follow the course. A few holes have some longer walks to the next tee, and at some points on the course, multiple tees are visible, which gets a little confusing. The most difficult area is around hole 3. The tee for number 4 appears as though it could go for multiple baskets opposite of each other, and with no tee sign on 4, you kind of have to guess. Hole 4 is a short par3 that plays up the hill (gentle uphill) to the right of 3's basket. The basket down the hill to the left is actually the basket for hole 18. When finishing on hole 9, you are very near (if not in the right side of) the fairway for 18. You'll want to stay along the tree-line on the right side and you'll find the tee for hole 10 throwing back into the woods.
Cons: -Baskets: The baskets are in decent shape, but can be very difficult to spot in the heavily wooded areas of the course. Even in daylight, the tree cover makes for some great shade, but given the lighting, the baskets tend to blend into the background. Many baskets have the orange reflective stickers, but they are older and still a little difficult to see.

-Signs: The printed signs are good (as far as information), but with many holes having no sign at all, you'll probably be scouting several pin placements your first time through the course. Some of the existing original signs are faded and difficult to read.

-Markers: Pin position markers on many of the posts (threaded bolt w/washer) which are nice, but several of them were not up-to-date with the current pin placements, which makes it difficult to locate the pin if you are new to the course.

-TeePads: Concrete pads were adequate in size, but many of them have cracked and are getting very worn. Dirt around the tees (in some areas) is starting to wash away, and several pads weren't level.

-Safety Concerns: I've only played the course once, but it was very busy. I really didn't have to wait behind other groups, and I don't really consider busy a "con" so to speak, it is good that so many people enjoy the course, but several areas where tees/pins are located in close proximity on the course does create a safety concern. When I was getting ready to tee off on hole 17 for example, someone playing hole 8 had missed a little left and was right in the line for hole 17. Other similar situations occur in various areas of the course.
Other Thoughts: All in all, a solid course that is both fun and challenging. The course, as a whole was in decent shape and appeared to be maintained very well, the park was clean and manicured when I played there. The course design, minus the safety issues, was very well done and offers some really great golf holes. Nashville has some great disc golf, with Seven Oaks being one of the top courses in the area, definitely a must play if you are coming to Nashville. (I would also highly recommend nearby Cedar Hill!)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.