Nashville, TN 
Seven Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 72
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

1    6/24/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seven Oaks is one of the top courses in the Nashville area. The course provides great variety in length, layout and technicality, a must play if you are in the area. Although Seven Oaks is an older course, it is still very challenging and demanding, even by today's standards. Here is a breakdown of the course:

Course Essentials:
-Baskets: Mach Baskets with multiple positions on all holes except #1.
-Tee Pads: Single position concrete pads on all holes...
-Signs: Variety, some holes still have the original tee signs, others have printed/laminated signs, but unfortunately, many holes do not have any signage at all...

Course Design & Layout:
-Fairways: Good mix of open, technical and semi-technical fairways. Several holes offer multiple routes to the basket, and with the wide variety of pin placements, many holes can vary between straight/right/left lines, depending on the current location.
-Elevation: Minimal elevations with rolling hills throughout the course.
-Length: Great variety in length with the multiple pin placements. The course can play anywhere from 4300-6500ft, depending on current pin locations.


Course Description:
Seven Oaks begins with a series of 3 semi-open holes that are a great warm-up before you get into the more technical areas of the course, and an opportunity to get off to a good start with some easy pars and possible deuces. Once you finish the opening 3 holes, the course takes you into the more heavily wooded areas where tighter, more technical fairways await. Holes 4-6 are shorter par3's, but become progressively more technical with some really nice, tight fairways (especially 5-6) that reward accuracy and punish any stray drive. Once you finish #6, you can choose to play the optional holes I, II, and III which will return near the tee for #7. The path for these holes isn't clearly marked, but is located near the long position for hole #6. Holes 7 & 8 open up a bit, but still have narrow fairways with plenty of trees to force lines and shape your tee shots. The front nine finishes with a fairly short, semi-open shot that is a nice break and easy deuce to close out the first half of the course.

You don't get much of a break as Hole #10 takes you straight back into the woods. There are a couple of narrow routes through the heavily guarded fairway that plays slightly uphill to the basket. Holes 11-13 are a little more open, but the edges of these fairways are protected with some very thick trees. Hole 14 is simply a great golf hole. An open (but narrow) fairway that plays slightly down hill with a gentle right to left dogleg that offers great aesthetics and design. The fairways on 15 & 16 open back up a bit, but the rough is very thick and will easily add strokes. Holes17 is a shorter more technical style hole that plays slightly uphill with lots of trees. If you can hit the line, it's an easy 2, but the shorter length makes your up and down for par fairly simple if you catch a tree off the box. Hole 18 is a really nice finishing hole. A couple of trees to avoid off the tee with a gentle turnover line to an open fairway. The pin is tucked back into an opening in the trees and just in front of the creek. Some landscaping on the left provides great protection for the basket making for a difficult putt if your approach fades out. The trees and creek behind and to the right are trouble too.

Navigation:
Even without a course map, the holes were pretty straight-forward and easy to follow. The printed/laminated signs listed the direction to the next tee, which was very helpful. Without these navigational aids, it would have been more difficult to follow the course. A few holes have some longer walks to the next tee, and at some points on the course, multiple tees are visible, which gets a little confusing. The most difficult area is around hole 3. The tee for number 4 appears as though it could go for multiple baskets opposite of each other, and with no tee sign on 4, you kind of have to guess. Hole 4 is a short par3 that plays up the hill (gentle uphill) to the right of 3's basket. The basket down the hill to the left is actually the basket for hole 18. When finishing on hole 9, you are very near (if not in the right side of) the fairway for 18. You'll want to stay along the tree-line on the right side and you'll find the tee for hole 10 throwing back into the woods.
Cons: -Baskets: The baskets are in decent shape, but can be very difficult to spot in the heavily wooded areas of the course. Even in daylight, the tree cover makes for some great shade, but given the lighting, the baskets tend to blend into the background. Many baskets have the orange reflective stickers, but they are older and still a little difficult to see.

-Signs: The printed signs are good (as far as information), but with many holes having no sign at all, you'll probably be scouting several pin placements your first time through the course. Some of the existing original signs are faded and difficult to read.

-Markers: Pin position markers on many of the posts (threaded bolt w/washer) which are nice, but several of them were not up-to-date with the current pin placements, which makes it difficult to locate the pin if you are new to the course.

-TeePads: Concrete pads were adequate in size, but many of them have cracked and are getting very worn. Dirt around the tees (in some areas) is starting to wash away, and several pads weren't level.

-Safety Concerns: I've only played the course once, but it was very busy. I really didn't have to wait behind other groups, and I don't really consider busy a "con" so to speak, it is good that so many people enjoy the course, but several areas where tees/pins are located in close proximity on the course does create a safety concern. When I was getting ready to tee off on hole 17 for example, someone playing hole 8 had missed a little left and was right in the line for hole 17. Other similar situations occur in various areas of the course.
Other Thoughts: All in all, a solid course that is both fun and challenging. The course, as a whole was in decent shape and appeared to be maintained very well, the park was clean and manicured when I played there. The course design, minus the safety issues, was very well done and offers some really great golf holes. Nashville has some great disc golf, with Seven Oaks being one of the top courses in the area, definitely a must play if you are coming to Nashville. (I would also highly recommend nearby Cedar Hill!)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    6/4/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: K_Woodcock
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very well put together course you don't have to walk far between basket and tee box. Very densely wooded but still has open shots and sunlight. The brush to the sides is thick but not to thick to lose your disc in.
Cons: The signs are usually not up. This is the only reason this course got a 4.5 from me.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the Nashville area for sure :)

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 playing on home field

5+    5/12/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: jasmogegr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: i love this course. was first introduced to the sport on this course. consider it my home turf. every time they move the baskets i get excited.
Cons: none what so ever
Other Thoughts: you cant leave nashville without playing atleast once. its like home to me

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Knock on wood

1    5/5/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: peabody
Played: 49  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 13.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like wooded courses so OF COURSE I am going to love this place. The first few holes give you a complacent attitude like "This ain't so bad" then you hit the woods. Each and every hole has a 'feel' of it's own. When they say 'well kept' they aren't kidding. Bushes are trimmed and there is not a bit of trash to be found except for the trash cans.. It is inspiring to see how much pride goes into the upkeep of this course.
The cactus and limestone on little Texas is awesome. The shot over the little fence and the one over the two bridges are disc golf scenery at it's best.
Cool benches at most holes and the baskets on some of the pins were shallow. I thought that was cool. Tough for sure but fun.
You better be able to throw straight so bring your midrange game.
The (innercourse) will test your resolve and add a few new cuss words to your vocabulary. Wish I could have seen the Yin/Yang better as there were a few leaves on the ground.
So Pros: Fun Tough Beautiful
Cons: We went early on a weekday so the crowding wasn't bad at all.
You have to have someone that knows the course though. The signs were gone for the most part but mabey they were getting ready to replace them for the tourney.
Was muddy in places but heck, as much rain as they have had here over the past two weeks, I thought it was in great shape.
Some pads were not level (sloped downward) but I am older and that's my problem.
Didn't see a bathroom and the Shell station that sells the discs just down the road didn't have one to use either.
Other Thoughts: Some courses leave you with scattered thoughts (this hole could have been done this way/hole so and so was useless and out of place/that pin placement was dumb)
This course leaves you feeling like you have had a complete disc golf experience. It flowed so well from hole to hole and you were looking forward to the next. If you want to have a satisfying round of disc golf, then this is the place.
I rate Cedar slightly higher even though I don't have the arm for that course. That one is length tough, this one is fairway tough.
Both Cedar and Seven Oaks are two completely different courses and are must plays if you are near Nashville, Tn.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 seven oaks

1    2/21/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: rustystrings
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: tests all aspects of your game...many different shots required to score well. even par is a very solid round out here. plays long and wide open on some holes...short and very technical on others. lots of birdies and ace runs...except for a few of the longer holes its "deuce or die" . the extra holes between 6 and 7 are called "the innercourse" it is extremely challenging and can be frustrating for those not used to very narrow fairways through dense woods. overall, this is my favorite course in the area...always presents a new challenge for me..even though I play here very often. Usually easy to find really good players to pick up a round with too. It is very well-maintained by volunteer labor...lots of pride in the course..and it shows. I'd say that Seven Oaks is the heart of the disc golf culture in Middle Tennessee.
Cons: most of the time it's way too crowded...even during what are typically slow times for other courses. I guess its everyone else's favorite course too. I'm just as guilty as the next guy..but it seems this is the course everyone goes to..even though there are a dozen courses nearby to choose from..which are generally empty most of the time.

Also, it would help if maybe the holes were just renumbered 1-21 instead of have the "innercourse" as I, II, III because there is always a traffic jam at hole 7 where some people play the inner and others don't. Some of the baskets are of the small old-school variety and some of the teepads drop off severely. It is very well-maintained by volunteer labor...lots of pride in the course..and it shows.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent technical course, very well maintained

5+    9/11/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 277  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 12.1 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained course just south of downtown Nashville. Course flows from open to mostly wooded holes and finishes up back in the open. Multiple pin placements on every hole with one hole having seven different placements. Many holes have benches on which to rest. The wooded holes are well preserved with defined fairways with an additional tree or two left in the fairway to add an element of luck in successfully reaching the green. Many railroad ties can be found throughout the wooded fairways to restrict the erosion as well as many gravel paths to keep from wading through mud. The underbrush in the rough is manageable to get out. Depending on skill level, your ability to get out of the rough is the difference between a par, bogey, or worse. Seven Oaks requires a technical game to have a shot at birdie. Even on the open holes, shot placement is paramount for having a good next shot.
Cons: Not many that I can pick out. Several of the greens are topped with gravel which can eat away at your disc. Each tee sign shows multiple pin placements but no indication of which sleeve the basket is in. This factor knocked down my rating for the course by one half star. For people who like to know what type of shot to throw off the tee, this adds a lot of walking to locate the basket before you play the hole. This problem can be solved by marking the sign in a semi-permanent way to show where the basket is. Maybe use little colored rivets next to the location of the basket as they do at Cedar Hill. Many of the tees are as old as the course itself and have rusted through the years making reading the distances off them difficult. Course is very popular and can get crowded. It may not seem like a problem for a group of people but singles will get held up a lot of the time waiting.
Other Thoughts: Personally this ranks up there with Cedar Hill as one of the best courses in the Nashville area. If you're not a local playing this course, say thanks to someone who's there all the time. Seven Oaks is a non-parks managed course, meaning that its the disc golf community (not the city) that got the course looking the way it does with all their hard work and volunteer hours. Access to the hidden holes can be done after number 6 by going a little bit farther back left of number 7 tee pad. There's a path leading there but you have to be on the look out for it. These holes are more technical and unforgiving then the rest of the wooded holes. After completing these three holes (I, II, III) you'll be right back at seven's tee pad.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown Favorite

5+    8/26/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: Coast
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers the full spectrum of hole layouts, with the exception of any water holes and I'm fine with that. The course is maintained by a excellent crew who give up one weekend every year to a work/party focusing on a couple of holes to manicure, as well as a regular early Sunday morning clean-up. Hence the mentioned mulch, gravel and rail-tyes throughout the course.

The flow of the course is quite smooth with "Next Tee" signs on all the baskets and cleared paths leading to and from each hole. The average hole length is around 300-340' and most all holes work for backhand and forehand throwers. The baskets are moved on a regular basis, but are always marked if you take the time to look at the signs.
Cons: The course crowding sometimes makes you think it is the only course around Nashville. The signs are a bit old and some holes distance are hard to make out.
Other Thoughts: The inner-course holes are played in the weekly doubles and handicap tournaments, so if interested to take part in these events practice them. These holes can help relieve some of the slow play after holes 6 when you can take the split.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A day in the park

5+    8/17/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2010
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: First 4 holes play through a lightly wooded field with a over the hill shot on hole 2. Nice wooded/field shots follow. I was recently hipped to the "intercourse" a.k.a. Holes 19, 20, and 21. Kinda remind me of Star World in Super Mario Brothers. The back 9 offer a lot more room to throw, with Hole 18 being my personal favorite. Lots of nice locals to play with too!
Cons: Can get quite crowded at busy times.
Other Thoughts: The best course in Nashville hands down. Oh, and fyi, the "intercourse" is located down the trail to the right of basket 6. It is not really that hidden but for some reason we couldn't find it without being shown.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fore !!!!

1    7/14/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 11.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'm a big fan of multiple pin placements, and it appears that the Nashville disc golf community is as well, because both Seven Oaks and Cedar Hill have tons of em. I've only played this course one time, so I don't know how often the pins are moved, but there's a lot of potential replay value with so many possibilities.

Teepads and signs were showing their age, but were mostly adequate. Decent variety of holes: wooded, open, longer, shorter. Never felt repetitive as if we were playing the same hole over and over.

This course had more crushed rock and mulch on fairways that any course I've ever played. I'm listing this as a "pro" not because I enjoy fairways full of gravel, but because it occurs to me that this gravel didn't make it's way into these wooded fairways by itself. Someone (probably lots of someones) had to cart every stone back into these wooded fairways, and I'm assuming the alternative would have been mud. I'd much prefer gravel/mulch fairways over mudways.
Cons: My biggest gripe by far about this course is how tightly interwoven all the holes are. There are numerous places where you could hit someone (or be hit by someone) from another tee. You have teepads in the line of fire, and fairways that "T" other fairways. I could have killed a guy on 18 that I never even saw until after I'd thrown.

Adding to the likelihood of hitting someone is the fact that there are SO MANY people playing this course. We played at 2pm on a Wednesday, in 95 degree weather, and STILL saw tons of people playing. I can only imagine what it would be like on a Saturday in the spring or fall.
Other Thoughts: The 3 extra holes were placed very strangely. They don't come at the end, like you'd expect them to. In fact, we'd never have seen them at all had we not gotten lost looking for #9's tee. We finished hole 8 and went down a path that we hoped led to 9. Well, instead, we found a tee with a sign that said "III". Ok, we thought, maybe this used to be the old hole 3 and they never updated the sign? *Shrug* So we played it, went to the next tee, and it's sign said "II". It was then that we realized that we had stumbled upon the 3 extra holes and were playing them in reverse order. We backtracked and eventually found #9s tee, but that's just really strange to stick 3 holes right in the middle of the front 9. Why not renumber the holes 1-21 and give better directions to find these extra 3 holes? Better yet, why not get rid of them entirely and use that land to space out holes 1-18 so that they are a little less cramped on top of one another?

Edit: After playing the course and writing my review, I discovered that this course has it's very own website. Click the Links/Files tab up above for the link to the website. It's fantastically done, with photos and writeups of every hole. I wish every course had something like this!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 good for one play

1    7/4/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: LMeyers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: lots of people playing, good tee pads, people we encountered were friendly. pretty well maintained and groomed course (appears that someone cares)
Cons: some holes poorly designed, sometimes hard to find next hole.
Other Thoughts: was fun for one time, probably wouldn't go back

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.