Nashville, TN 
Seven Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 74
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Nice Course on a hot day!

2-4    5/23/2016   5/23/2016
Review By: Tan-Vic-Own-Sim-Moon
Played: 62  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course with a great mix of a few open holes and a lot of heavily wooded, shaded holes. Benches every hole and not that busy on a weekday.
Cons: A sign at the front of the course would be nice for new players. Not the longest course.
Other Thoughts: One of the nicest courses I've played.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Well rounded course.

1    5/16/2016   5/17/2016
Review By: jesse_v_m
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open and wooded holes. Clear attention to detail regarding maps of each hole at each tee. Holes often have multiple tees and baskets which give it a nice variety without needed to relocate baskets. The "intercourse" holes are a clever way to work a few extra playable holes. Well groomed course with thoughtful building of steps, disc-catching walls, and protection on some pads from players throwing on the previous hole. Clearly thought through and purposeful course. Also very nice that it's a dedicated course instead of a park with non-players roaming in the way.
Cons: Pay attention to the signage at each tee for info about the next hole's tee. There are signs hanging on the baskets but they aren't always pointing the correct way.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty sweet course

2-4    4/12/2016   4/13/2016
Review By: TXDiscDude
Played: 89  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of all kinds of shots for lefties and righties.
Lots of benches and tables.
Strictly a disc golf course, no kooks running aorund in the way.
Good bud.
Friendly groups
Extra bonus holes "the intercourse"
Good double chained baskets.
Arrows to next tee at baskets
Fresh cut fairways.
Disc golf store around the corner.
Cons: Very crowded in the afternoon.
A few signs were missing, but most holes have basket placement visible from tee pad. If you look around the trees there are signs for basket placement drawn on rocks and boards on the holes with missing original signs.
Other Thoughts: A lot of love went into the course. Keep it up.
I will be playing here when I'm in Nashville in the future.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Well used but still fun

1    9/4/2015   9/4/2015
Review By: bballr4567
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can see how this is one of the favorites for disc golfers in the area. It has a very controlled feel to it that allows pretty much anyone to compete as long as you have a good handle on your throwing. You will not just force your drive into an open field and throw for two.

The multiple pin positions are fun. It drastically changes the course especially with some of the baskets tucked away for the Music City Open. Much harder throws.

For this being an urban course, it was very quiet (could here the planes taking off and landing) but overall traffic noise was very little. It is certainly a hidden gem in the middle of the city.

Very, very, very clean. Of course, this could be due to the tournament just being held but the amount of trash was almost none. Tells that there are lots of locals who care for this course.

The amounts of shots you need to have in your bag is crazy. Lots of fun and just a lot of great routes to take.

Its very wooded. Either you like that or you dont. Great shade on a hot summer day for sure though. Keeps you cool enough to enjoy the round.
Cons: There are multiple railroad ties on a lot of the holes. Due to the hilly nature of the course and the dense woods the ground cover is not there at all. The railroad ties are placed to stop erosion but can be a pain for you to work around on your throws. You wont be throwing many skip shots here. It does take a lot away from the natural feel of the course and I have a feeling that the course upkeep team doesnt like them all that much either.

It can be difficult to find your way around the course even with the next tee signs on the tee signs.

Other Thoughts: The course was very easy to find and right off the interstate basically.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course

1    8/12/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: DragonJarod
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good upkeep with benches, tables, garbage cans, and a place to hang your bag at almost any hole. The signs for the holes are good. It's a nice course to practice your accuracy with only a few open holes.
Cons: A smashed in sign and a rotting table, at two different holes. Sometimes, it's confusing where the hole is.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Home Cooking

1    6/18/2014   6/19/2014
Review By: Nashvillian
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is my home course i would say I have played it well over 300 times. The varied shots you have to throw make it one of my favorites. There are some wide open holes but its not a straight hang it long types of holes. There is always a tree or 50 trees in the way at some point in the hole.

As a rhbh player at about 350 and rhfh with about 250 -300 range i find uses for almost every shot at my disposal. People complain because it has tight lines in the woods, but that's disc golf to me.

Always alot of people easy to pick up in a group.

Great local group keeps this city course in tip top shape.

FREDDY!!! - local course expert and hacky sack maker :D

Newly installed 3 basket area near 10 for putting.
Cons: Too many people. I don't mind waiting but sometimes there are families that like to stroll through doing cartwheels on hole 2 .

For some players having smokers/drinkers people having a good time bother them, but i say to each their own.
Other Thoughts: I have played about 100 courses and this is in my top 10 for sure. I live close to cedar hill in Nashville and love that course as well, but for me this is the best course in Nashville area with Smyrna and cedar hill 2 or 3 depending on the day.

If you get out early and play on a weekday this course is fun and challenging at the same time.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Heaven at Seven Oaks

1    5/26/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 47  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Seven Oaks is a nice park in a residential area between I-40 and I-24 in Nashville. The park was pretty easy to find off the interstate.

The very first thing that I noticed when arriving at the disc golf course were the NEON colored Mach baskets. They were in great shape and we didn't have a catching issue the entire round.

There are multiple pin placements on each of the holes and the current pin position is noted on the hole signs.

Most of the signs were in decent shape and did give a pretty accurate description of the hole and terrain.

I was very impressed with the holes themselves. There was a very good mix of distances and variations in uphill and downhill shots. The course also did a very nice job of forcing you to work you disc on a hyzer or anny to get near the basket.

There was a TON of work done by using Timbers and logs to built selves to make it much easier to walk and play this course. The course also used mulch in many places to control the mud and adds to the easy of play on the course.

There are only a couple of easy holes on this course, but it didn't feel like the course was beating you us either. The fun factor of this course was off the charts for me. Our group had and awesome time and we WILL play this course again.

There were benches and tables/spools on most of the holes that can come in handy on busy days.

Holes that stuck out to me....
Hole 5- it was an up and over the hill shot in the 330 ft range thru a tight window. The terrain around the basket sloped off hard from right to left.

Hole 8- played as a hard sweeping turn backhand to a guarded basket. A well thrown disc could make a duece but the line is tight.

Hole 14- There were so many different ways this hole could be set up. We walked all the way back to the tips and decided against it. It was tough enough from the next tee.

Hole 15- Was a nice tight dead straight hole. I really liked the view of this hole from the tee.

I am not being critical by saying this, but the pictures of the course on this site don't do it justice at the present time. The course looks MUCH MUCH better now than in those photos. I was SO impressed by the maint. done on the course.

Cons: If you are a big arm, you will have to wait until hole 18 to air it out some. (better turn it.. but not too much)

The pad are nice size, but I found a couple of them to be a little slick.
Other Thoughts: "If you built it... he will come" !! There is a reason why Seven Oaks is always busy. This is an awesome course to play. You are forced to work the disc both ways and handle elevation changes while playing through some pretty dense woods. Stop and play here... you won't regret it.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/4/2014   3/5/2014
Review By: thrillthrower
Played: 51  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Variety- 1st couple of holes and last finish with big drive potential. In between challenging wood holes complimented by seemingly groomed , even picturesque holes - one hole reminded me of a golf ball course . Left and right shots needed - deuces available if you find the right path to the hole . Risk/ reward potential on several holes makes shot selection fun
Cons: Erosion / drainage may be a consideration in a few spots if wet or has rained Discs may get a rock rub or two on 2 holes. (So throw with precision or use disc u don't love)
Other Thoughts: Flowed nicely- couple of holes with water in play - wonderful course-

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 First Impresssion

1    2/17/2014   2/17/2014
Review By: Vibramterraius
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Being new to the disc golf world my review is focused on offering a review as seen by a beginner players first time on the course.

This course was an excellent experience since there are so many great features.

Course design was well thought out and use of trees and land topology are a great part of playing here. Distances vary and most will make a newer player work to get par. Tees are fine and in great shape the course is well maintained. Trash cans and benches along the course are placed well. Disc selection and throw shaping through multiple flight paths keep things interesting. Once a round is played it is easy to see why so many enjoy this course.
Cons: No course negatives really.
Stray domestic animals have slowed play.
Busy course often have players backed up waiting to tee.
Other Thoughts: By playing this course your skill level will improve making less challenging courses easier to throw.
Seven Oaks is one of the best DGCs in the area and if you really want a good time playing Disc Golf then this course is a must.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Troll's Review

1    10/15/2013   10/17/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 28.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 21 holes (3 secret) + an X factor, Wild
Multiple pin placements
Well maintained
Well labeled
Great lay out, neutral, doesn't favor right or left handed people
super good use of the landscape, hills, trees.
Benches and tables on every tee
Lots of privacy
Super awesome doubles league!
There is even a seasonal "disc bum" who dwells around, makes sure no one breaks in your car, and can tell you if they moved the pins.

Cons: nothing major to say....
No "disc fearing" holes
Or water hazards, and O.B.'s...
Other Thoughts: I know that some people(where I live) don't like the reviews I give.... Well, take a trip to Nashville. I compare courses to the whole world, not just my locality. Obviously, with Nashville's 3 to 4 different disc golf clubs, plethora of great courses... Its sad to say but Cincinnati is lacking behind

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.