Nashville, TN
Seven Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: anthonygobot Hole #13 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 272ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 68
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My new favorite

1    9/26/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: hound_dog
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome layout. Great variety of shots needed. There are a lot of holes that play longer than those of a typical wooded course. Numerous pin placements, 5 possibilities on some holes, allow for a wide variety of layouts. The park was very quiet and peaceful. I never even noticed that there was an airport nearby.
Cons: This course would easily earn a 5 rating from me with two things. New tee pads that are not dangerously slick when wet and new baskets. Some of the baskets are bent or rusty. The tee pads have gravel poured into the concrete in such a way that it creates a very slick surface. Also a few of the tee pads slope down hill making it an awkward throw.
Other Thoughts: This course is just fantastic. It was just a great walk through the woods. The course never seemed to get old, and every hole seemed well thought out. I will return to play this one again soon.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Always a good time

5+    9/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: boondock339
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All the signage has been updated, and it's WAY better than before. This course has a good mix of open and wooded, mainly the latter. I prefer wooded courses mainly because that's what I grew up playing on.
Cons: Sometimes the course has some drainage issues around 12 and 13.
Other Thoughts: I have seen some people talk about unsavory characters and open drug and alcohol use on this course. It is what it is. If you want a country club atmosphere go play golf.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Course in Nashville

5+    8/8/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: Biggzipp
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This really is my favorite course in Nashville. It has a great design with a wide variety of terrain and challenges for both left and right handers. The community of golfers surrounding the course keep it in good condition, and there's always several golfers playing when you show up. The landscape is diverse and inviting. Pretty nice tee pads. Multiple pin locations, and updated signs were just added. Location in the city!
Cons: Not much here, but the baskets are a bit shallow, so you might occasionally lose a putt that would stick somewhere else. Some might complain that it's too wooded, but that's part of what makes it 7 Oaks (IMO).
Other Thoughts: A really relaxing course to play since there's not much elevation change. You can play through quickly if you desire, but it's not boring or short. Might be the smartest designed course in town.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Will play it again!

1    6/27/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: SunOnMySkin
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging holes with a good mix of hills, trees, and open areas. Dog legs, and elbows help with the toughness. Also some holes are best played side arm and others back hand. Well marked with good baskets.
Cons: Hole 14 needed better marking for its tee off pad. Hole 15 is thick on each side so its easy to lose a disc. The start of the course at hole one is a little vague.
Other Thoughts: Over all this is a pretty good course. Clean and fun. Will play again for sure

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course

1    6/29/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: KickMuttButt
Played: 146  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of technical and open shots. minimal but effective/enjoyable elevation changes. I like courses that force accurracy by having very difficult recovery shots. This course could be very maddening if you are not on your game.

Very well maintained by the local DG community. I wish Atlanta golfers respected and improved our courses in this way. There were manicured and erosion-protected "greens" arround the basket. There were de-limbed fallen trees outlining fairways. There were nice benches and gravel areas surrounding the concrete tee-box areas. plentiful trash cans. Fantastic.
Cons: Not many. I was a little lost looking for hole #9. They had added 3 holes and there was no signage explaining this. It was a little difficult seeing the baskets...perhaps some bright pink flags on top of the baskets would help this (I've seen this at other courses - very effective).
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this round of golf and along with Cedar Hills consider this a must-play in the Nashville area. Great course to thow all the shots in your arsenal. Be prepared for a challenge!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/24/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seven Oaks is one of the top courses in the Nashville area. The course provides great variety in length, layout and technicality, a must play if you are in the area. Although Seven Oaks is an older course, it is still very challenging and demanding, even by today's standards. Here is a breakdown of the course:

Course Essentials:
-Baskets: Mach Baskets with multiple positions on all holes except #1.
-Tee Pads: Single position concrete pads on all holes...
-Signs: Variety, some holes still have the original tee signs, others have printed/laminated signs, but unfortunately, many holes do not have any signage at all...

Course Design & Layout:
-Fairways: Good mix of open, technical and semi-technical fairways. Several holes offer multiple routes to the basket, and with the wide variety of pin placements, many holes can vary between straight/right/left lines, depending on the current location.
-Elevation: Minimal elevations with rolling hills throughout the course.
-Length: Great variety in length with the multiple pin placements. The course can play anywhere from 4300-6500ft, depending on current pin locations.


Course Description:
Seven Oaks begins with a series of 3 semi-open holes that are a great warm-up before you get into the more technical areas of the course, and an opportunity to get off to a good start with some easy pars and possible deuces. Once you finish the opening 3 holes, the course takes you into the more heavily wooded areas where tighter, more technical fairways await. Holes 4-6 are shorter par3's, but become progressively more technical with some really nice, tight fairways (especially 5-6) that reward accuracy and punish any stray drive. Once you finish #6, you can choose to play the optional holes I, II, and III which will return near the tee for #7. The path for these holes isn't clearly marked, but is located near the long position for hole #6. Holes 7 & 8 open up a bit, but still have narrow fairways with plenty of trees to force lines and shape your tee shots. The front nine finishes with a fairly short, semi-open shot that is a nice break and easy deuce to close out the first half of the course.

You don't get much of a break as Hole #10 takes you straight back into the woods. There are a couple of narrow routes through the heavily guarded fairway that plays slightly uphill to the basket. Holes 11-13 are a little more open, but the edges of these fairways are protected with some very thick trees. Hole 14 is simply a great golf hole. An open (but narrow) fairway that plays slightly down hill with a gentle right to left dogleg that offers great aesthetics and design. The fairways on 15 & 16 open back up a bit, but the rough is very thick and will easily add strokes. Holes17 is a shorter more technical style hole that plays slightly uphill with lots of trees. If you can hit the line, it's an easy 2, but the shorter length makes your up and down for par fairly simple if you catch a tree off the box. Hole 18 is a really nice finishing hole. A couple of trees to avoid off the tee with a gentle turnover line to an open fairway. The pin is tucked back into an opening in the trees and just in front of the creek. Some landscaping on the left provides great protection for the basket making for a difficult putt if your approach fades out. The trees and creek behind and to the right are trouble too.

Navigation:
Even without a course map, the holes were pretty straight-forward and easy to follow. The printed/laminated signs listed the direction to the next tee, which was very helpful. Without these navigational aids, it would have been more difficult to follow the course. A few holes have some longer walks to the next tee, and at some points on the course, multiple tees are visible, which gets a little confusing. The most difficult area is around hole 3. The tee for number 4 appears as though it could go for multiple baskets opposite of each other, and with no tee sign on 4, you kind of have to guess. Hole 4 is a short par3 that plays up the hill (gentle uphill) to the right of 3's basket. The basket down the hill to the left is actually the basket for hole 18. When finishing on hole 9, you are very near (if not in the right side of) the fairway for 18. You'll want to stay along the tree-line on the right side and you'll find the tee for hole 10 throwing back into the woods.
Cons: -Baskets: The baskets are in decent shape, but can be very difficult to spot in the heavily wooded areas of the course. Even in daylight, the tree cover makes for some great shade, but given the lighting, the baskets tend to blend into the background. Many baskets have the orange reflective stickers, but they are older and still a little difficult to see.

-Signs: The printed signs are good (as far as information), but with many holes having no sign at all, you'll probably be scouting several pin placements your first time through the course. Some of the existing original signs are faded and difficult to read.

-Markers: Pin position markers on many of the posts (threaded bolt w/washer) which are nice, but several of them were not up-to-date with the current pin placements, which makes it difficult to locate the pin if you are new to the course.

-TeePads: Concrete pads were adequate in size, but many of them have cracked and are getting very worn. Dirt around the tees (in some areas) is starting to wash away, and several pads weren't level.

-Safety Concerns: I've only played the course once, but it was very busy. I really didn't have to wait behind other groups, and I don't really consider busy a "con" so to speak, it is good that so many people enjoy the course, but several areas where tees/pins are located in close proximity on the course does create a safety concern. When I was getting ready to tee off on hole 17 for example, someone playing hole 8 had missed a little left and was right in the line for hole 17. Other similar situations occur in various areas of the course.
Other Thoughts: All in all, a solid course that is both fun and challenging. The course, as a whole was in decent shape and appeared to be maintained very well, the park was clean and manicured when I played there. The course design, minus the safety issues, was very well done and offers some really great golf holes. Nashville has some great disc golf, with Seven Oaks being one of the top courses in the area, definitely a must play if you are coming to Nashville. (I would also highly recommend nearby Cedar Hill!)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    6/4/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: K_Woodcock
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very well put together course you don't have to walk far between basket and tee box. Very densely wooded but still has open shots and sunlight. The brush to the sides is thick but not to thick to lose your disc in.
Cons: The signs are usually not up. This is the only reason this course got a 4.5 from me.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the Nashville area for sure :)

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 playing on home field

5+    5/12/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: jasmogegr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: i love this course. was first introduced to the sport on this course. consider it my home turf. every time they move the baskets i get excited.
Cons: none what so ever
Other Thoughts: you cant leave nashville without playing atleast once. its like home to me

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Knock on wood

1    5/5/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: peabody
Played: 43  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like wooded courses so OF COURSE I am going to love this place. The first few holes give you a complacent attitude like "This ain't so bad" then you hit the woods. Each and every hole has a 'feel' of it's own. When they say 'well kept' they aren't kidding. Bushes are trimmed and there is not a bit of trash to be found except for the trash cans.. It is inspiring to see how much pride goes into the upkeep of this course.
The cactus and limestone on little Texas is awesome. The shot over the little fence and the one over the two bridges are disc golf scenery at it's best.
Cool benches at most holes and the baskets on some of the pins were shallow. I thought that was cool. Tough for sure but fun.
You better be able to throw straight so bring your midrange game.
The (innercourse) will test your resolve and add a few new cuss words to your vocabulary. Wish I could have seen the Yin/Yang better as there were a few leaves on the ground.
So Pros: Fun Tough Beautiful
Cons: We went early on a weekday so the crowding wasn't bad at all.
You have to have someone that knows the course though. The signs were gone for the most part but mabey they were getting ready to replace them for the tourney.
Was muddy in places but heck, as much rain as they have had here over the past two weeks, I thought it was in great shape.
Some pads were not level (sloped downward) but I am older and that's my problem.
Didn't see a bathroom and the Shell station that sells the discs just down the road didn't have one to use either.
Other Thoughts: Some courses leave you with scattered thoughts (this hole could have been done this way/hole so and so was useless and out of place/that pin placement was dumb)
This course leaves you feeling like you have had a complete disc golf experience. It flowed so well from hole to hole and you were looking forward to the next. If you want to have a satisfying round of disc golf, then this is the place.
I rate Cedar slightly higher even though I don't have the arm for that course. That one is length tough, this one is fairway tough.
Both Cedar and Seven Oaks are two completely different courses and are must plays if you are near Nashville, Tn.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 seven oaks

1    2/21/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: rustystrings
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: tests all aspects of your game...many different shots required to score well. even par is a very solid round out here. plays long and wide open on some holes...short and very technical on others. lots of birdies and ace runs...except for a few of the longer holes its "deuce or die" . the extra holes between 6 and 7 are called "the innercourse" it is extremely challenging and can be frustrating for those not used to very narrow fairways through dense woods. overall, this is my favorite course in the area...always presents a new challenge for me..even though I play here very often. Usually easy to find really good players to pick up a round with too. It is very well-maintained by volunteer labor...lots of pride in the course..and it shows. I'd say that Seven Oaks is the heart of the disc golf culture in Middle Tennessee.
Cons: most of the time it's way too crowded...even during what are typically slow times for other courses. I guess its everyone else's favorite course too. I'm just as guilty as the next guy..but it seems this is the course everyone goes to..even though there are a dozen courses nearby to choose from..which are generally empty most of the time.

Also, it would help if maybe the holes were just renumbered 1-21 instead of have the "innercourse" as I, II, III because there is always a traffic jam at hole 7 where some people play the inner and others don't. Some of the baskets are of the small old-school variety and some of the teepads drop off severely. It is very well-maintained by volunteer labor...lots of pride in the course..and it shows.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.