Nashville, TN
Seven Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 68
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Oldie But Goodie

1    10/10/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 324  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 21 holes, multiple pin positions with indicator of current position at tee-sign, concrete teepads, dedicated area of the park. Benches and garbage cans.
Cons: Teepads a bit short, signs well-worn - difficult to read the distance information.
Other Thoughts: A very solid course, offering a variety of hole-types - very/moderately/not wooded. A few chances to bomb away, but there is a premium on control. Moderate elevation change on a few holes, most being relatively flat. Fairly even distribution of right/left/non-turning shots needed.

Navigation: How I came across the three extra holes - after finishing #8 in the short/right position, there is a path to the left, which will take you to tee #9, a basket in front of you, labelled with an "X" (and some distance behind it you may see another basket, which is "II"), and to the right a path which will take you to the tee for number "III". Play "III" first, take the path to the back/left of basket-III to find the tee for number "I". After playing I", the tee for "II" is easy to find, then after playing it, simply return to the "X" basket, and take the path, now to your right, to the 9th tee. To find tee #15, turn left after crossing the mini-bridge (the easily visible tee to your right is #16), walk down the meadow a bit, then take a path to the right to find tee #15.

Favourite hole(s): 14-16 form a nice combination. #14 is a long, gentle downhill with a line of tree to the left and scattered trees in front of you as you approach the basket. #15 is a long, gentle uphill with brush then trees narrowing the approach over very rocky terrain. #16 is long and flat down the course of a meadow, trees/brush on both sides, with the shallowest of creeks also running along the right side. The right-side pin position across the creek with the woods behind is classic.
Least favourite hole(s): 5-8 for a borderline pinball combo that will make you pay for any inaccuracy!

Very convenient to the airport - only about a five minute drive away. Certainly worth a visit if in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and technical

5+    10/5/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: dud317
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of holes in the open and wooded. The wooded holes are sure to provide a challenge, but you shouldn't lose a disc. Players are friendly. If you go by yourself you can usually play a couple of extra discs each throw.
Cons: Very busy so try to play in the off-peak hours. There is a guy that always hangs out at hole 11 I think. He's a nice guy trying to make a buck selling hackysacks, but when I go disc-golfing I look for privacy and solitude, not solicitation.
Other Thoughts: I recommend a good short game to get through the wooded holes as well as knowing the behavior of your discs to have a good round. If you are a beginner you may be intimidated by the more experienced players, however they were friendly to me when I first started. I just started a couple months ago and average a 70, but I recently shot an amazing 60 here the last round.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good time

1    9/27/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: RollinAbsher
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: well taken care of, u can tell its old but nothing really wrong with the course. there were actually people there cleaning trash and brush while we were there. there is a good amount off all shots for everyone, turn overs, heizers, flicks, straight shots gaps open fields it has it all.
Cons: only thing bad about this course is there are about 3 different pin locations for each hole and sometimes you have to walk out and look at the basket to tell where to shoot. other then that there is nothing bad i can say about this course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/8/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: trippin4knuggs
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Wooded but not loaded with trees and brush.
Cons: Can really add up a score with bad hole.
Other Thoughts: Look for a hippie on the back nine as you enter the woods... chances are if you lost a disc he'll find it for some beer.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good..and not so good

1    8/29/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: SharpshootersDiscGol
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well maitained with benches, tables, and trash cans at every hole...no repetition of hole and pin placement..multiple pin placements...however this can be a problem too...
Cons: Tee signs were not helpful at all and if not for a local joining my group at hole 6 then we would have no clue as to where or what par these holes were. Several of the holes were no way in the par 3 range and there was no way of telling exactly what distance you were playing or where the pin acutally was hiding...other then that the course is very challenging.
Other Thoughts: Maybe I am a little partial to being spoiled by the HB Clark designs here in Kentucky but I don't know...This course would be a five in my book if the tee signs were just a little better marked and made sense.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 5th or 6th best Nash Area Course

5+    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: RayRay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is aesthetically pleasing. The layout works great and the holes are beautiful. The shots are techinical and almost all holes are birdie holes. Pin placements change frequently. This a great course to take a new player and will be challenging for an intermediate level player who is working on control. If you prefer to only use a forehand drive, you will love this course.
Cons: Aside from #18, the holes are very short. The course only has 1 to 2 shots that require more than 60% power and you can finish feeling unfulfilled. Some deep placements are tricky but most holes are relatively low risk birdie shots despite the course's technical reputation. The course is heavily overplayed by large groups of casual players and large groups of local players who lack a big enough game for the other courses. This review will not be popular amoung said players, but the course is over-rated when compared to the other great Nashville courses.
Other Thoughts: If you are a casual player, play this course, you will love it. If you are a serious player, play Cedar Hill, Crockett Park and Sharp Springs first.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, worth seeking out

2-4    8/12/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting
Big Parking area
Great signage--mapped out with each basket placement and a little washer on the pole just beneath the sign to show which placement the basket is at on the day you play
Very intuitive flow
Cement tees at every hole
Benches at every hole
Garbage cans at every hole
Excellent use of available terrain
Excellent use of elevation
Superb design
Forces you to throw every type of throw you know and even make up a couple :)
Really tests your strategic thinking
Multiple baskets on each hole
Beautifully manicured fairways
Great mixture of very technical holes and long holes--and many holes that have extremely technical stretches to get through to then navigate a long open area to the basket
Very nice mix of dogleg right and left holes (some practically switchbacks), laser straight holes and great uphill and downhill holes
Even the extremely technical holes have at least 2 or 3 very defined paths to the basket
No redundancy of holes
Amazing manicured paths and basket areas--crushed stone, wood chips, railroad ties
Great directional signs to direct you to the next tee
Amazing risk/reward aspects to this course
Friendly and helpful locals
3 bonus holes to make it 21
Cons: Hard to find any cons on this course...I can't imagine how you could make the design of the course any better--literally one of the most creatively designed courses I've played out of 297 so far...

In a perfect world, the only thing I would change is on a few of the tee pads...a few slant up or down quite a bit and could be leveled and re-poured...a few are well worn and the little pebbles in the cement are smoothed quite a bit and are pretty slick when wet

These minor issues in no way distract from this phenomenal course
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if you are in the Nashville area...we played it three times while here on a conference and wish we could have played it even more

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/10/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: msudog_
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's been about 7 months since I last reviewed the course, so I think it's time for an update.

I believe there are benches at every hole, so that gives the course a chilled persona.

The majority of the course is wooded, so it will teach you accuracy. The course calls for a good mix of backhand and forehand shots along with some elevation.

The are multiple pin placements for almost every hole, and they are moved regularly.

There is some kind of cactus that is growing on hole 15, I believe.

It seems like the course is constantly being worked on.
Cons: The two biggest cons for me are the crowds and tee pads.

It seems like every time I go there it's crowded. I think the only time you might be able to play without a crowd is a dawn. Easily the most crowded course in the Nashville area.

This is an older course that needs a lot of work. Some of the tee pads can get pretty slick, especially holes 2 and 6. Both tees are on a downward slope. I would guess the angle is around 20 degrees. Way to steep for me to use my regular drive technique.

There are some semi-open holes, but only one hole that you don't have to worry about trees. There are some tight holes, then there are some insanely tight holes, almost to the point of just random trees.

The course can get very muddy if it has rained within 2 or 3 days. The tee signs are old and are getting harder to read. The baskets are also aging.

On hole 6, one of the pin positions sits behind the bench/tee pad of hole 7. Very easy to hit someone if you are not very accurate.
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to my home, but I usually try to go to other area courses. I'm really surprised at how crowded this course gets, because I don't consider it a beginner friendly course. You need to be accurate to do well here.

As of today, here are my Nashville area courses in rank.

1. Cedar Hill Park
2. Crockett Park
3. Liberty Park
4. Sharp Springs Park
5. Barfield Crescent Park
6. Seven Oaks Park
7. Two Rivers

I haven't played Sanders Ferry, Cedars of Lebanon, or Triple Creek.

If you want a course very beginner friendly, try Two Rivers. If you want something similar to Seven Oaks, but a little bigger, try Cedar Hill.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very quaint DGC

1    6/26/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 90  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 5.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was pretty amazing. I wasn't sure what to expect other than its reputation, "it can be pretty crowded and it is a good course". Well I'll have to say that I was pleasantly surprised, I really liked this course a lot. After I played a few holes I discovered that this course has a real nostalgia to it. It almost felt as if it had some ancestral importance, like going to an old historic house or something. I really enjoyed the ambiance.

The course itself has most certainly been around for a while and has been broken in quite well. The first few holes play fairly open and the forth seems to tip toe into the woods beautify. That's where you begin to see some of the nicest wooded holes around. It has some very scenic fairways as you meander through the woods and you'll get a great shot variety. There is also a pretty good fluctuation in lengths as well. They vary from the low 200' to mid 400' foot range. The shorter holes sometimes require a little more accuracy than the longer holes but all in all almost every hole presents some sort of challenge and should be enjoyed by players of all skill levels. There are also multiple pin positions to keep things mixed up. If moved often enough they should keep even the locals on there toes and help keep the course diversified enough to battle becoming bored with the same old layout. It should also be noted that there are also three additional holes that supplement the main eighteen on the course as well. (I did not play them). The course makes pretty good sense and following the layout is fairly easy. In the end I liked the way that number eighteen punches out of the woods and brings you to the pin near a creek bank and trail that conveniently brings you right back up to the parking lot.

You should also enjoy the bonus of concrete tee pads, signs with distances and pin position indications, and benches. Speaking of benches, there is some really unique custom built seats scattered around and they sort of add to the "vibe" of the course. Additionally, it's absolutely amazing to see the amount of work that has been contributed to this course. You have to see it for yourself. People have dragged in cross ties, iron fences, split rail fences, gravel, mulch, etc. Overall it has really given this course a personality of its own.

This course is in its own area without any other park interferences. It has its own parking lot with a port-a-john and a nice kiosk with plenty of disc golf info.
Cons: Being an older course you can expect a couple of cons. First of all the pins are pretty old. I couldn't help notice that the baskets themselves are really shallow compared to some of the modern baskets. Also the concrete pads are pretty worn but they are quite manageable. The signs are in pretty bad shape. Some of them are almost unreadable and seemed to be inaccurate as far as distances are concerned. Some of the pin position indicators were also in the wrong place.

Fortunately I played here on an early weekday and only saw a few other players. I understand that during peak times this course is over crowded. I have talked to a couple of people who have said that the crowds can be frustrating enough to detour them from playing this course at these times. If you are planning on playing here you may want to plan accordingly.
Other Thoughts: At times the phrase "must play" can be overused. This is certainly not the case here. If you are in the Nashville area, you should come and see for yourself. I really don't believe anyone would be disappointed after playing this course. It really is a one of a kind. Enjoy!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 If you like wooded courses....

2-4    6/23/2005   6/23/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 114  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 18.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course mixes some "in the woods" holes, very tight with lots of trees to work around, with some "defined fairway" holes, grassy, fairly narrow, open fairways with thick woods on the sides. Plenty of technical drives & upshots. A handful of semi-open shots where you can use a little distance.

A pretty area, well-kept, and exclusively disc-golf.

Convenient for the passing travelers, just off a beltway-type highway and not far from interstates.
Cons: Some of the tight, "in the woods" holes border on being "luck" holes, with either very tight lines to hit or many trees down fairway where you just hope to fly between them.
Other Thoughts: Played several rounds at 2001 Am Worlds, and a few times since then while traveling through Nashville. I prefer Cedar Hill, but both are fine.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.