Nashville, TN 
Seven Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 332ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    3/16/2010   3/17/2010
Review By: peglegholly
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful
Challenging
Varied holes
Alternates available
Cons: Can get a little muddy
Sometimes crowded (because this is considered the BEST course in Nashville by locals)
Hole 18 is pretty long
Other Thoughts: This a really nice course with ample seating at each pin and plenty of garbage containers throughout. I had a lot of fun at this course, and would easily say it's one of my favorites in Nashville.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, but crowded

1    5/8/2009   2/9/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 764  Exp: 12.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a ton of variety and balance. You'll throw all kinds of shots, over nice rolling hills in the woods and in open clearings. The course did a great job of playing in and out of the woods, and never felt repetitive or stale. There was a great balance between shots that required left or right turns, with some straight narrow fairways to navigate too.

There are concrete tees that are well worn but still serviceable. There are multiple pin positions on all the holes, with some holes having several possible settings. The signs showed distance and layout, and had a nice set up to show what the current placement was so that you didn't have to walk the holes just to see where the in was.

The different pin placements looked like they would really change things up and make the course play very different. The setting when I played was a nice balance of longer and shorter placements, and kept the left/right holes pretty even. I don't know how often this changes or whether it's always in such a nice balanced layout, but it certainly was well-done when I played.

The local players clearly love and take care of this course, and the ones we met and played with were friendly and helpful.
Cons: The course was quite crowded when we played, with several large groups slowing things down even more. We ended up waiting on every tee, which made for a very long round.

The tees aren't in great shape, many were cracked, sloping, and worn very slick with use. There were also some where erosion had made drop-offs around the edge of the concrete making for poor footing on run-ups and follow-throughs.

This course is showing its age a bit. The baskets and tees are very well used, and are starting to break down a little. There is pretty significant erosion in many places on the course, especially in the wooded holes which made for poor drainage and lots of mud and standing water even a few days after rain.

The extra 3 holes were a fun addition, but were tricky to find. It would have been nice to have a little better signage explaining the course layout and the optional extra loop.
Other Thoughts: This is a great older course that is still challenging and fun even with newer disc technology. There are lots of holes that reward great shots and punish bad ones, without being a disc-eater. I would definitely stop by this course for a fun round if you're in the area.

Newer players might find this course tough and a little frustrating, though it's not too terribly long. More experienced players will find a variety of challenges here, and will need lots of different shots to score well.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Early Wood

1    12/15/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: lschrock
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, controlled drives are the key to this oak forest. I played the majority of the course with a roc, with the exception of a couple of holes. Lots of trees, with most of the fairways having really defined lines. There are a couple that you throw, and just close your eyes and hope for the best. Pretty clean course for the most part. In a park right outside a nice little neighborhood, the course is pretty isolated. I don't foresee a lot of interference with joggers or bikers, either. This park doesn't share its disc space. Decent elevation change, and a good variety of shots. This course provides a lot of ace runs too, as long as you don't hit a tree.
Cons: No really long drives, though it could be the pin placements on the day that I played. The guys that I played with said that this course gets really packed most of the time. I guess I played at a good time. Course holds a lot of water, and it had just rained. A lot of holes in the 200-300 range, so the course is almost a midrange course exclusively.
Other Thoughts: Great course overall. Recommend a play or two, as long as you skip the peak play hours.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Oldie But Goodie

1    10/10/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 21 holes, multiple pin positions with indicator of current position at tee-sign, concrete teepads, dedicated area of the park. Benches and garbage cans.
Cons: Teepads a bit short, signs well-worn - difficult to read the distance information.
Other Thoughts: A very solid course, offering a variety of hole-types - very/moderately/not wooded. A few chances to bomb away, but there is a premium on control. Moderate elevation change on a few holes, most being relatively flat. Fairly even distribution of right/left/non-turning shots needed.

Navigation: How I came across the three extra holes - after finishing #8 in the short/right position, there is a path to the left, which will take you to tee #9, a basket in front of you, labelled with an "X" (and some distance behind it you may see another basket, which is "II"), and to the right a path which will take you to the tee for number "III". Play "III" first, take the path to the back/left of basket-III to find the tee for number "I". After playing I", the tee for "II" is easy to find, then after playing it, simply return to the "X" basket, and take the path, now to your right, to the 9th tee. To find tee #15, turn left after crossing the mini-bridge (the easily visible tee to your right is #16), walk down the meadow a bit, then take a path to the right to find tee #15.

Favourite hole(s): 14-16 form a nice combination. #14 is a long, gentle downhill with a line of tree to the left and scattered trees in front of you as you approach the basket. #15 is a long, gentle uphill with brush then trees narrowing the approach over very rocky terrain. #16 is long and flat down the course of a meadow, trees/brush on both sides, with the shallowest of creeks also running along the right side. The right-side pin position across the creek with the woods behind is classic.
Least favourite hole(s): 5-8 for a borderline pinball combo that will make you pay for any inaccuracy!

Very convenient to the airport - only about a five minute drive away. Certainly worth a visit if in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and technical

5+    10/5/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: dud317
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of holes in the open and wooded. The wooded holes are sure to provide a challenge, but you shouldn't lose a disc. Players are friendly. If you go by yourself you can usually play a couple of extra discs each throw.
Cons: Very busy so try to play in the off-peak hours. There is a guy that always hangs out at hole 11 I think. He's a nice guy trying to make a buck selling hackysacks, but when I go disc-golfing I look for privacy and solitude, not solicitation.
Other Thoughts: I recommend a good short game to get through the wooded holes as well as knowing the behavior of your discs to have a good round. If you are a beginner you may be intimidated by the more experienced players, however they were friendly to me when I first started. I just started a couple months ago and average a 70, but I recently shot an amazing 60 here the last round.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good time

1    9/27/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: RollinAbsher
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: well taken care of, u can tell its old but nothing really wrong with the course. there were actually people there cleaning trash and brush while we were there. there is a good amount off all shots for everyone, turn overs, heizers, flicks, straight shots gaps open fields it has it all.
Cons: only thing bad about this course is there are about 3 different pin locations for each hole and sometimes you have to walk out and look at the basket to tell where to shoot. other then that there is nothing bad i can say about this course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/8/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: trippin4knuggs
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Wooded but not loaded with trees and brush.
Cons: Can really add up a score with bad hole.
Other Thoughts: Look for a hippie on the back nine as you enter the woods... chances are if you lost a disc he'll find it for some beer.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good..and not so good

1    8/29/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: SharpshootersDiscGol
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well maitained with benches, tables, and trash cans at every hole...no repetition of hole and pin placement..multiple pin placements...however this can be a problem too...
Cons: Tee signs were not helpful at all and if not for a local joining my group at hole 6 then we would have no clue as to where or what par these holes were. Several of the holes were no way in the par 3 range and there was no way of telling exactly what distance you were playing or where the pin acutally was hiding...other then that the course is very challenging.
Other Thoughts: Maybe I am a little partial to being spoiled by the HB Clark designs here in Kentucky but I don't know...This course would be a five in my book if the tee signs were just a little better marked and made sense.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 5th or 6th best Nash Area Course

5+    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: RayRay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is aesthetically pleasing. The layout works great and the holes are beautiful. The shots are techinical and almost all holes are birdie holes. Pin placements change frequently. This a great course to take a new player and will be challenging for an intermediate level player who is working on control. If you prefer to only use a forehand drive, you will love this course.
Cons: Aside from #18, the holes are very short. The course only has 1 to 2 shots that require more than 60% power and you can finish feeling unfulfilled. Some deep placements are tricky but most holes are relatively low risk birdie shots despite the course's technical reputation. The course is heavily overplayed by large groups of casual players and large groups of local players who lack a big enough game for the other courses. This review will not be popular amoung said players, but the course is over-rated when compared to the other great Nashville courses.
Other Thoughts: If you are a casual player, play this course, you will love it. If you are a serious player, play Cedar Hill, Crockett Park and Sharp Springs first.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, worth seeking out

2-4    8/12/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.7 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting
Big Parking area
Great signage--mapped out with each basket placement and a little washer on the pole just beneath the sign to show which placement the basket is at on the day you play
Very intuitive flow
Cement tees at every hole
Benches at every hole
Garbage cans at every hole
Excellent use of available terrain
Excellent use of elevation
Superb design
Forces you to throw every type of throw you know and even make up a couple :)
Really tests your strategic thinking
Multiple baskets on each hole
Beautifully manicured fairways
Great mixture of very technical holes and long holes--and many holes that have extremely technical stretches to get through to then navigate a long open area to the basket
Very nice mix of dogleg right and left holes (some practically switchbacks), laser straight holes and great uphill and downhill holes
Even the extremely technical holes have at least 2 or 3 very defined paths to the basket
No redundancy of holes
Amazing manicured paths and basket areas--crushed stone, wood chips, railroad ties
Great directional signs to direct you to the next tee
Amazing risk/reward aspects to this course
Friendly and helpful locals
3 bonus holes to make it 21
Cons: Hard to find any cons on this course...I can't imagine how you could make the design of the course any better--literally one of the most creatively designed courses I've played out of 297 so far...

In a perfect world, the only thing I would change is on a few of the tee pads...a few slant up or down quite a bit and could be leveled and re-poured...a few are well worn and the little pebbles in the cement are smoothed quite a bit and are pretty slick when wet

These minor issues in no way distract from this phenomenal course
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if you are in the Nashville area...we played it three times while here on a conference and wish we could have played it even more

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.