Carlsbad, NM 
Bataan Rec. Area (MLK Park) Share
Uploaded By: jerm.bar Hole #1 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice little cours

1    7/7/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: ChampionWraith
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice open shots, few tree hazards, nice grass terrain, few mandos
Cons: Small Tee boxes, Kind of congested area and homeless people floating about.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course. Took me about an hour to play whole course so its convenient when your short for time. Very birdie friendly course. I played all par 3's and hit 4 Birdies with no bogeys..This is a uplifting course!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Additions to the course

5+    5/4/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: Beginner@51
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2013
Pros: This is my home course, I just want to let everyone know we will be expanding the course to 18 on July 1 (building starts). I understand that there will be 2 or 3 Safari holes. Played a tournement Last November with the additional hole temporarily in place, and if the permanent new holes are in same area the difficulty level will be increased. There is a possibility of a Dedication Tournament at completion
Cons: If 18 is in the area of November Tournament it is a long walk back to your car.
Other Thoughts: In response to Valkrie Kids remark about #2 not pointing to basket position, it is because of the mando around the utility pole to the left of tee.

Valkyrie Kid has a point, But, based on the projected placement of the additional 6 baskets it wil more like a front 6, a middle 6, and a back 6.

This Course Is No Death March!

1    4/4/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Bataan Recreation Area course plays around three seperate areas of the MLK park in Carlsbad. # 1 tee starts near the river. #1,2 and 3 and then # 12 play in this first grassy area. Then # 4 throws across a corner of the river and # 5 plays back along the railroad tracks. Then you walk under the tracks to another part of the park and play #'s 6-11 before returning to the orginal area to finish up on # 12. It's actual quite easy to follow.

The # 1 & 2 tee signs are quite simple. They just state the hole #. Nothing else. The pads are concrete trapazoid, just average size. The baskets are the Innovas with big yellow bands. When you get to the # 3 signs, they suddenly have the par and distance-Thank you.

# 4 doesn't have the distance. It's the one that throws across the corner where the river is not flowing. It's probably only about a 180 foot carry across the river but then you have to cross the park road so add another 50 feet.
Many of the holes in the park area behind the railroad tracks are wide open holes with not much in the way of obstacles. A couple are over 400 feet and another is a 225 foot ACE run.

# 11 might be the toughest hole on the course. It's tight down the fairway with trees on the right and a ballfield on the left. The backstop is in your way and the basket is protected by trees and branches.
Cons: While the throw over the water is kinda cool, be careful with park traffic on the street right behind it.

The # 2 teepad is not all pointing to the current basket placement. A couple of the holes on the end of the course are pretty unimaginative. Just long straight throws across wide expanses of grass/brown dirt.
Other Thoughts: When you get to # 7, there's a official Carlsbad Park Department sign welcoming you to the back 6. So on this course, you have the front six and the back six. This was a first for me! To play a front six and a back six. Earlier today, I played the six hole course in Artesia. I guess I played the front three followed by the back three? COOL!

I'm actually a little disappointed to hear that this course is expanding to 18 come July 2013. Having a regular old front nine and back nine is not nearly as intriguing to me as having a front six and a back six.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  gotta be on your bucket list

5+    10/13/2012   10/16/2012
Review By: jerm.bar
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great for all skill levels, has some holes that are difficult and some easier. right by the river so the scenery is beautiful. lots of small elavation changes.
Cons: not many obstacles. softball practice during softball season. a couple holes dont have the distance.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/29/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: DanClayton
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets, tees and signs in good condition. Good flow, with two loops if you don't have time for a complete game. Good use of available obstacles. Good balance of hole distances and shots.
Cons: Baseball games or other activities may require you to skip a hole or two. No super long hole.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/19/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: redrum23187
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: not sure on the pros of this course its pretty shot only took about 20-30mins to play most hole are pretty short all in all its not a drive out of the way course i did have fun playing ther tho
Cons: lots of traffic with poeple and cars had to skip a hole cuz a birthday party not much diffaculty to it

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.