Disc Golf Store
Brentwood, TN 
Crockett Park Share
Uploaded By: arrdee33 Hole #9
3 / 298ft.   4 / 603ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 White Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Improves after first holes

2-4    5/24/2014   5/24/2014
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is on a very nice piece of land with both open and forested areas and significant elevation change. It has multiple tee locations, with the longer tees labeled "pro," and the signs indicate multiple basket locations. This review is based on two rounds from the "pro" tees.

The course winds through an immaculately maintained park. Lots of ground wood mulch covered what was apparently bare ground. The mulch was dry and was very conducive to having the disk skip well past the basket when I played in late May, 2014. This was a little added degree of difficulty on the shorter, forest holes that I appreciated.

There are a number of holes that require accurate tee shots in the woods and several that transition through narrow openings in to more open areas and vice versa. There are a few holes that utilize the available elevation changes very well, holes 4, 5, 10, 11, 14 and 18 come to mind.
A few holes border wooded areas with some very score-punishing underbrush.
Navigation is pretty straightforward. Next tee positions are indicated on the tee signs and on the bottom of the baskets. There are also park signs pointing to the next tee on some holes. I had no problem navigation this course the first time I played.
Cons: The carpet tee pads are uneven and can and do cause stumbles. This is enough to affect your shots. Of all the things that you might be thinking about when you throw, you should not have to worry about stumbling during a throw when you even take a short run up.

There are a few forgettable and wide open holes. Holes 1, 2, 3, 9 and 13 come to mind.

There is no water out on the course.

The tee signs do a very poor job of giving a new player a good idea of the layout of obstacles not visible from the tee and basket positions. They include multiple basket locations but there is no way to determine which position the basket is in without walking forward.

Basket gimmickry is in use on hole 13. I don't understand the fascination with elevated baskets. However, this one isn't overly punitive and this is more of a pet peeve than a true con. Other than the elevated basket, this is just another wide open hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a fun course and well worth playing. However, I can't help but think that the design just didn't get all that it could have out of this beautiful piece of property. Much of this probably comes from the first three holes. There is very little challenge there even from the "pro" tees. Hole one is just a wide open, 300 foot hole. Maybe there is a different basket location that gives it more of an elevation change, but when I played, it was downhill about 5-6 feet, i.e., practically no change. Hole 2 is wide open to the right and adds a little length and hole three is wide open with the basket guarded by a few selectively placed tall shrubs/trees that actually make a good target. Hit one and you will have good shot at birdie. They might get in your way if you throw short, but this is a fairly short hole (think "pro" tees).

This is a fun course that makes a poor early impression. The quality of the holes gets better as you get further into the course and I'm certain that I will gladly play it again the next time I visit that area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worth the challenge

5+    3/22/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: tampabay
Played: 41  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Difficulty - This course is difficult. It really rewards hitting your lines but can punish you for a missed one. I like the challenge of having trees/obstacles within the first 150' before a larger opening (1, 3, 5, 16). I think it really rewards a combination of precision and distance. This course is pretty long, and you will have to throw uphill and downhill.

Elevation - Holes 4, 5, 12, 17, 18 are some of my favorite uses of elevation in all of Nashville. Out of those holes only hole 13 and 18 are true downhill holes. The others have a variety of hills and valleys creating confusing winds and a great terrain for disc golf.

Variety - This course has incredible shot variety. I think a great number of the holes allow you to choose a line (meaning a right finishing shot or left finishing shot). I would consider hole 2, 4, 10, 15, 16 to be left finishing, 3, 5, 9, 11, 17, and 18 to be right finishing and the others really give you options. I love the balance of tight fairways to open bombs with what seems like constant wind.

Pro/Am Tees - I think this am tees are very well placed. There are many holes where I look over at the am tees and quickly envy anyone throwing from them. However, I think they still do provide a fun and challenging course. I have not throw from the Am Tees but I could see a newer player keeping up with someone advanced if they play well from the Am tees. I think this makes Crockett a course that players can really grow into.
Cons: Thorns - The rough is terrible. I always list this (when relevant) just so players know to be wary of the rough.

Teepads - The carpet teepads are okay on some holes, but other holes it's pretty bad. And some holes play from the walking path. Hole 4, 7, 11, 12 are the ones that come to mind that suffer. The carpet tees can be lumpy and difficult to feel comfortable on. If it's even slightly wet hole 12's tee because a nightmare. Hole 12 is really difficult so having a tricky teepad makes it even more frustrating. All in all I'd give the teepads a 7/10 with no rain, and a 4/10 with rain.

Cross Traffic - Between the walking path and a few holes having overlapping fairways (9, 10, 11, 18) it can feel a little tricky at times. I wouldn't say this is a huge issue, but it is definitely something you should be aware of. Also, when you are on the tee for hole 8, you are at risk from people throwing on hole 7.
Other Thoughts: I am reviewing this course having only played the long positions, I have not played the short tees. I think this is a great course and it feels you have to grind away at every hole to get par. I really enjoy the consistent difficulty. I wish it had one or two more wooded holes and I could do without hole 9's super-long tee. Definitely a great course and I appreciate all the work that Williamson County put in on this course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    2/17/2014   2/17/2014
Review By: Vibramterraius
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of parking was nearby and adequate. Course map located near first Tee. Distances on the course vary to offer good challenges for both long/ shorter throwers. Course was well maintained and clean. One thing exceptionally good was that the course maintenance folks had spread Pine shavings from ground up Christmas trees over the lower (muddy) areas of the pathways and target areas.
Cons: Tees need to be constructed with cement and elevated to shed water. One negative was the the back 9 tees can become confusing and intersect with one another quite a bit. Although hole markers were there they were not detailed enough. Placement of better hole markers would make the experience much better.
Other Thoughts: Over all this course is a very good one and certainly a do again course. Looking forward to playing here again later in the spring or summer.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    9/26/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: sghdba
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I'd call the terrain "rolling", which provides most of the challenge judging the distance. In general the course is well marked (see exceptions below), my fist time plaing the course was easy to follow for the most part. Not overly difficult (I played the red tees) but fair.
Cons: The tees (carpet?) need some maintenance, and a few holes have signs that are not up-to-date (e.g. #12) making finding the correct basket hard at times, but not impossible.
Other Thoughts: overall a good experience...I'll come back when I am in town!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Nice Lawn & Big Arm Dream

5+    1/5/2013   1/12/2013
Review By: WillAnderson
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The lion's share of the course is either open or lightly wooded so players won't be taxed by loose lines, but the unguarded elements will pain you. The open holes roll amid mounds of hilly, well kept grass like one would expect to find on a ball golf course, and the elevation changes therein craft the experience. Keep your nose down because wind drafts will catch the disc, & I'd wear a hat or bring sunblock bc there's no "cart path" for golf carts. In the wooded holes (mid course), some tighter technical opportunities provide relief from the sun & offer resting areas. You'll enjoy some ace runs before opening up on the back 9 for more grip & rip. Big Arm folks will love the sheer length of the course. Most holes have double tee pads AM/PRO labeled RED/WHITE. The scenery is beautiful, and the course cleanliness & upkeep will beg your return.
Cons: While I'm not opposed to carpet pads, I expect better on such a nice course. More obstacles like pines would be nice on the open holes to block the wind & add visible challenges. The signage is dilapidated & faded even though the baskets are normally visible or easy to find. No benches in the open at all hurts golfers w/o chairs or those who bring family members or a main squeeze to learn/spectate. There's very little privacy from the rest of the park.
Other Thoughts: I steer clear of this course in the Summer and try to play it on days with low to no wind. Great place to have a doubles match.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice, Rolling Hills

1    10/10/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in the back of a quiet, rural-area park.
- Well-manicured course that plays mostly on grassy fields that seem to be well-maintained
- Park signs guide you to the course start and there is plenty of parking near an indoor sports complex
- Nice course map available online and posted right near hole #1
- 2 tees on most holes create options for "long" or "short" layout
- Multiple pin locations on most holes, creating some variety for regular players
- Nice tee signs (at both tees) with hole map, distance to each pin location, par
- Bolt/washer system to indicate current basket position - this definitely helps since a couple holes are long and/or blind from the whites (10, 11, 12, etc.) or where it's tough to guage distances, even if you can see the basket
- Some of the 2 tee positions offer different hole experiences, rather than just a long/short version of the same line or throw (holes 5 and 12 come to mind) - not all are like this, though...see below
- Although this is a very open course, there is good use of the treelines that are available, with either the tee or basket tucked close to or into the woods, so the drives/approaches have to be somewhat careful
- Elevation changes (rolling - nothing too steep) create some nice variety
- A couple holes were real nice - #3 is short, but a cool pin protection with big, thick trees, #5 was a neat little anny or flick out of the woods to an open pin, #14 was a fun downhill ace run to an open pin, #16 was a downhill drive with a tight window about halfway out with the basket teasing you on the other side, #18 has a tight window near the tee that requires some finesse, then a medium-long approach shot to an open pin
- Since the course is so open with no water, not a high chance for lost discs
- No trash, quiet, relaxing, nice place for a walk and fun day
Cons: - It's been said plenty, but this course is a bit too open for my liking - too many holes were just throwing across a field, with little to no punishment for an errant shot (#1, #2, #9, #13, #15, etc.)
- Tees are a mix of carpet and dirt (apart from #1 and #4, which tee off from a sidewalk), creating some rough footing - I actually have carpet on my home course and I don't mind, but here, it's like some bases weren't leveled/smoothed before placing the carpet
- Although the tee signs were "nice", I thought some of the maps didn't seem right and the pictured pin locations seemed off (#10 comes to mind)
- Many holes don't use the multiple tees to create variety - the red tees are usually shorter versions of the same line/shot you throw from the whites - if they are different angles,they'r eusually in the open field holes, which doesn't really change anything (few exceptions - see above)
- The 3 wooded woles seem like an afterthought (which one review seems to indicate may be true - that they were added after the soccer building forced a re-design) and were annoying - short, too much luck required (and I don't often complain about wooded holes) and don't fit in with the rest of the course
- Walking path can cause some interference/delays on #1, #4, #6, #7, #9 - random park-goers with dogs in the fields also caused some delays on #9, #18
- A few confusing spots with tee and basket locations - baskets for 9, 10 and 18 kind of mash together (almost threw at basket 18 from tee 10 - had to walk up almost to the basket to check) - tees for 12 and 15 made me do a double-take
- Some of the brush is painful - got stabbed and scratched up looking for a disc that turned the corner early on #12
- Long walk back from #18 to the parking lot
- No benches that I remember
Other Thoughts: - Basket 13 was...interesting - elevated base, but it was also on top of a "double-long" pole, which made for a unique, steep uphill, putting look
- Power lines running through the back 9 created an niteresting visual - I think one pin was tucked very near a big lattice tower

Overall, this is a solid, well-maintained course that I would certainly play again. It's "unspectacular" (no real memorable fetures/designs), but lends itself very nicely to someone who wants to air out some drives with some obstacles to keep you honest.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice place

2-4    7/13/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole course in a large park setting. Two sets of tees at almost all holes. Multiple basket positions. Signs at both short and long tee pads. Signs show hole layout, distance and current basket position using a nut and bolt system. There is also numerous next tee signs and aids. This is a very easy park to play a round in. Hassle free disc golf.

Terrain is mostly gentle rolling hills with a scattering of trees and brush for obstacles. A few holes do play in the woods, but for the most part this is open air golf.

Especially from the shorts this is a fairly easy course to play. No huge hills, long walks or water carries. Just very simple lines, and a relaxing atmosphere. Great place to learn, practice or bring a newer player.
Cons: No holes that jump out as exceptional. Not any wow factor or holes that you really feel you need to empty your bag on.

Tee pads are carpeted. They suffice, but could be an area for an upgrade.

Not much line shaping or shot making. By the Sloppy count there are 14 holes that require a straight shot. Many of those holes are in open fields.

No water or huge hill shots. Hole 14 comes close as it is a decent descent of 502' , but distance is more dramatic than the elevation drop.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course for a number of reasons. From the shorts it is a relatively easy round for most players, and would be a good place for new players to learn. Youjust can't get in too much trouble on 200-300' mostly open holes. For better players looking for more challenge I'd recommend playing from the long pads.

Holes 6-8 are the only tight wooded holes, but the course does do a decent job of trying to keep the woods and trees in play. On several holes you are forced to throw out of the woods into open fields, or throw a drive or approach into the edge of the woods toward the basket. This kind of design will at least keep some players from carelessly airing out their high-speed drivers.

Hole 14 might be the signature hole here with its 502' downhill line to the basket, but I really enjoyed #12. From the shorts it was 287'. About half way down the fairway there is an island of trees and brush. Off the tee you can take a tight gap to the right, go way around to the left, or go over the top. The basket sits nestled in another wooded area at the end of the fairway. I love holes that give people multiple options off the tee. It's always fun to see how different players make the shot.

If you are in the Nashville area give this course a shot. Being mostly open it is a nice alternative to Cedar Hills or Seven Oaks.


7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bring the D...or don't

5+    5/15/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: RustyStrings615
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A scenic and well-designed course with Am and Pro tees. It is mostly open and hilly, with the occasional patch of trees to avoid. Always lingering is the threat of the unforgiving thick thorny brush on either side of the fairways. Great variety of shots required..even though it is mostly open. Most importantly, there are lots of really fun shots to throw...several tempt me to empty my entire bag off the tee. The OB sidewalks and roads provide some extra challenge. The park is in a really nice neighborhood, feels very safe and family-friendly. The Pro tees will test all facets of your game..mostly the ability to throw far, deal with quite a bit of elevation change, and also to thread some really tight needles in the wooded holes...and it can be VERY tough when windy. The Am tees are perfect for newer players...and provide an exciting 'deuce or die' course for more advanced players.
Cons: Punishingly hot here during the Summer...and there is very little shade throughout much of the course. The large carpet tee pads do work pretty well...but nonetheless, take the course down a notch.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty long course...particularly from the Pro tees...you will definitely get your exercise for the day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid

5+    10/4/2011   10/4/2011
Review By: boondock339
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is and always has been a well manicured course. Everything is well marked; although, for someone that has never played on it, I can see how it would be hard to find #9,#10, and #11. This is good place to practice driving.
Cons: This is just a personal preference thing, but this course is a bit too open for my taste; I think it could use a bit more variety. It also seems like they used to move the baskets around, but it seems like they haven't been moved in a while(I could be wrong on that). My main complaint is the tees. I prefer concrete tees; however, I don't mind carpet. These carpet tees need some help as they are in their current state. The ground underneath them needs to be leveled, because uneven ground tends to lead to injuries. Being primarily a backhand thrower this is a serious issue that needs to be addressed.
Other Thoughts: Bring water. This course can be brutal on a sunny day.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 No water hazards!

2-4    5/18/2011   5/18/2011
Review By: jsbatte
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5
Pros: I'm still new to disc golf, so take my review for what it's worth to you. I had a fun time playing this course. It's in a great location and is a nice course to walk. Since I'm not a big distance thrower (yet), I enjoy the tee pads that are located at the top of hills. I played from the am tees and will probably use them for quite a while.
Cons: The walk can be very tiresome, but its a great workout. The carpeted tee pads didn't really bother me, but if I was used to only concrete, I could see where this would be troublesome. First four holes are kind of boring, but make for a good warm up. Since I'm still trying to hone my technique, it would be great if there was a practice tee.
Other Thoughts: This course is about 15 minutes away, so I will play this course as often as possible. I live closer to the sharp springs park, but I find that course miserable. Sharp Springs is heavily wooded and has two water holes that I will avoid for a long time. Mosquitos are awful, too. Anyways, Crockett Park was fun.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.