Brentwood, TN 
Crockett Park Share
Uploaded By: arrdee33 Hole #14
3 / 235ft.   3 / 357ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Red Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Bring the D...or don't

5+    5/15/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: RustyStrings615
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A scenic and well-designed course with Am and Pro tees. It is mostly open and hilly, with the occasional patch of trees to avoid. Always lingering is the threat of the unforgiving thick thorny brush on either side of the fairways. Great variety of shots required..even though it is mostly open. Most importantly, there are lots of really fun shots to throw...several tempt me to empty my entire bag off the tee. The OB sidewalks and roads provide some extra challenge. The park is in a really nice neighborhood, feels very safe and family-friendly. The Pro tees will test all facets of your game..mostly the ability to throw far, deal with quite a bit of elevation change, and also to thread some really tight needles in the wooded holes...and it can be VERY tough when windy. The Am tees are perfect for newer players...and provide an exciting 'deuce or die' course for more advanced players.
Cons: Punishingly hot here during the Summer...and there is very little shade throughout much of the course. The large carpet tee pads do work pretty well...but nonetheless, take the course down a notch.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty long course...particularly from the Pro tees...you will definitely get your exercise for the day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your walking shoes...

1    4/7/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: TNDiscGolfer
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was located in a very beautiful park in a very nice area of town. This was my first experience with carpet tees and I actually prefer them over concrete now I think but there are some cons, see below. I loved the open holes and the wooded holes were equally as fun. You start off the first few holes in the open with all about 200'-300' feet. The first hole that grabbed my eye was I believe number 7 where you are in the woods and hole is placed in the narrow woods on top of a small hill. Definitely tests your skill and kind of tells you how the rest of the day is going to pan out. Towards the back 9 there are lots of bomber holes so bring your big boy arm and let er' rip! Accuracy is key and like I said you will need a arm for this course. Also this course has very nice baskets. The tee signs were very nicely made but had some cons as well, see below.
Cons: If you aren't big on walking far and up and down hills this may not be a course to go to. If you throw it in the woods on the back 9 watch out for thick briar patches as they are everywhere. Hole 7, I believe, is right beside some fences that go to backyards of some peoples houses so if you go left you may lose your disc or ringing their doorbell. The carpet tees had lumps in most tees and this will definitely twist some ankles if not careful. Very crowded on weekend. The tee signs although very nicely made weren't helpful on where the hole was. I accidentally threw to 18 when I was on 10 and found out after I saw a group throwing towards us.
Other Thoughts: This was my first trip to Crockett Park and I will definitely be back but hopefully during the weekday. I would recommend it to anyone in the area or out of town just driving by. This place is in a very nice area of town and about 5 minutes away from good places to eat and a huge mall. Definitely a walk at this course but well worth it. The locals were very helpful with which hole is which and where to drive for the best score.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Throwing for distance

5+    1/29/2012   2/5/2012
Review By: The Drake
Played: 89  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Nasvhille disc golf scene has multiple courses of all variety to showcase the sport. Crockett park, located just 15-20 minutes south of downtown Nashville, in my opinion provides a great complement to the many other courses nearby. A well maintained course with not too much non-disc golf interference except on the first couple of holes this course offers almost everything you could ask for in a disc golf course.

Crockett contains 2 sets of tees, red and white, which for the most part actually provide 2 different courses. The white tees (pro) are typically longer with a few more added difficulties (tighter initial lines, more obstacles to avoid initially). The red tees typically provide for technically less difficult lines with shortened distances though they are by no means "dumbed down" versions of the white tees. Importantly both sets of tees have their own tee signs complete with fairly accurate distances.

Along with multiple tees most holes also have multiple pins which personally I don't find to always be a pro if they are not well designed alternate positions, but this course tends to provide differing enough shots to be worth it.

For me one thing that is a must for a course to go from being good to above average or excellent there needs to be some elevation change which this course most definitely possesses.

While some reviewers have commented on the course being "too open" I would have to disagree. Yes for the most part the course is open, but given the distances of the holes, the elevation changes and the good use of natural obstacles and OB lines I think the monotony is broken up very well. Not to mention given the openness and length of the holes it really allows you to air out some big drives.
Cons: The first thing you notice about the course, any course are the tee pads themselves. With the exception of a couple of holes which play off the walking trail which meanders through parts of the course the pads are of carpet. When its dry out there is not much of a problem but obviously once it gets a little wet things can be tricky and a little dangerous. With that they are frequently upgraded.

As just mentioned there is a walking trail around and through the park. For the most part it avoids the course but there are a couple of holes where it comes into play. You tee off of it on holes 1 and 4 (from the whites). It also runs the length of the middle of 4s fairway and the right side of 9s. Typically non-golf traffic isn't that bad and the people who use it do at least know what the sport of disc golf is, but its something to be on the lookout for when playing.

There are 3 holes which are completely out of character of the rest of the course. Holes 6-8 were added after the indoor soccer complex was added requiring a course re-design as a way to bridge the walk from the front of the course to the back. These holes are all very short and very technical. They are not bad holes in and of themselves, they just don't flow well with the rest of the course.

There can be some very long walks between a couple of the holes. Along those lines when you finish up on 18 you end in the middle of the back portion of the course and have quite a lengthy walk to the parking lot uphill the entire way.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is one of my favorite courses in town. I just moved to the nashville area last summer and was very happy to come to a place with so many great courses within a few minutes drive of downtown. I place this course nearly as often as Cedar Hill on the north side of town which is one of my favorite courses.

This is a great course to practice controlled long drives. Being primarily open there is a lot of room for error to help hone in your long drives, but to score well you have to be accurate and controlled. Crockett provides yet another great complement for the Nashville disc golf scene.

I've been told and it appears to be confirmed here by other reviewers that par 54 is considered near a 1000 rated round. As someone rated in the 980-990+ range I would say that is fairly accuate. As I play this course frequently I usually score between 50 to 56

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid

5+    10/4/2011   10/4/2011
Review By: boondock339
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is and always has been a well manicured course. Everything is well marked; although, for someone that has never played on it, I can see how it would be hard to find #9,#10, and #11. This is good place to practice driving.
Cons: This is just a personal preference thing, but this course is a bit too open for my taste; I think it could use a bit more variety. It also seems like they used to move the baskets around, but it seems like they haven't been moved in a while(I could be wrong on that). My main complaint is the tees. I prefer concrete tees; however, I don't mind carpet. These carpet tees need some help as they are in their current state. The ground underneath them needs to be leveled, because uneven ground tends to lead to injuries. Being primarily a backhand thrower this is a serious issue that needs to be addressed.
Other Thoughts: Bring water. This course can be brutal on a sunny day.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  One of my favorites!

2-4    9/15/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: garrett141
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open courses and wooded.
Cons: Not many. There's no water but that's good for many of us.
Other Thoughts: I'm a beginner so it's hard to compare this to other courses when this is one of two i've ever played. The courses are fun, challenging and there was at least a dozen other people out there this evening. I look forward to playing here again.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not a huge fan

1    6/4/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: K_Woodcock
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course if played off the pro Tees has some super long holes. There are at least three 700 plus holes. Very well marked course.
Cons: The course is not put together that well and has way to much out in the open shooting I think. Alot of ups and downs.
Other Thoughts: Juts not a super fun course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 No water hazards!

2-4    5/18/2011   5/18/2011
Review By: jsbatte
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5
Pros: I'm still new to disc golf, so take my review for what it's worth to you. I had a fun time playing this course. It's in a great location and is a nice course to walk. Since I'm not a big distance thrower (yet), I enjoy the tee pads that are located at the top of hills. I played from the am tees and will probably use them for quite a while.
Cons: The walk can be very tiresome, but its a great workout. The carpeted tee pads didn't really bother me, but if I was used to only concrete, I could see where this would be troublesome. First four holes are kind of boring, but make for a good warm up. Since I'm still trying to hone my technique, it would be great if there was a practice tee.
Other Thoughts: This course is about 15 minutes away, so I will play this course as often as possible. I live closer to the sharp springs park, but I find that course miserable. Sharp Springs is heavily wooded and has two water holes that I will avoid for a long time. Mosquitos are awful, too. Anyways, Crockett Park was fun.

  Excellent

2-4    4/19/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: joshuaneate
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Placed in a multi-use park that is well kept and the grass is frequently mowed.

Billboard style map of course at the first tee showing you exactly where each tee is. Amateur and Pro tees.

Not a lot of people there on a sunny day so it's easy to just play a round and not have to wait.

Most of the tees have accurate signage.

Cons: The tees are usually made of carpet which isn't bad but I definitely prefer a concrete pad. Some of the carpet is gross.

Some of the signage is highly inaccurate.***
Other Thoughts: ***For example - hole 11 sign shows A and B locations. No C. The pole has A,B, and C locations available and the bolt denotes the basket is on A, but it's on the "hypothetical" C. Luckily, the basket is close and easy to spot from the tee.

In my opinion the course is very wide open in comparison to Seven Oaks or Cedar Hill. So if you hit a lot of trees you'll like this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice - Well Marked Course

1    9/8/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: hooboy
Played: 49  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging overall layout, with some of the best signage I've seen anywhere. Two sets of tees, with distance / map signs at each tee. Multiple basket locations avaiable on most holes with a good marking system using bolts in "A,B C" holes on signage poles. Plenty of "next tee" signs. I played alone and never got lost. Good mix of mainly open and some wooded holes with moderate elevation changes. Course is generaly set apart from the rest of the park. Plenty of distance here to challenge big arms from the back tees, also plenty playable from the front tees. Course starts out a little blah with 1-4 mainly wide open, then 5-10 start a birdie run, with 6-9 the only really heavily wooded holes. Number 6 is a one shotter under a tree, where they bent over a huge branch to create an "archway" you have to throw under - very cool - birdied it. This course has good challenges, and just enough trees in play to keep it interesting. Easy to find in a nice neighborhood, Number 1 tee close to parking lot.
Cons: Not too many cons. Tees are grass / carpet, though generally flat and in decent shape. Course is generally open / lightly wooded, although trees / bushes that come into play can be gnarly in terms of finding discs. I found all my discs but had to hunt / crawl through the shule. Back 9 generally plays up and back on a power line cut, with some power lines / poles in play as obstacles, not necessarily a con, unless you are a purist. 18 finishes a good ways from the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: There is much to like here, cons are minimal. The basket marking system is great, simple, and was 100 % accurate. They have done a very good job of bringing available trees / bushes / power pole obstacles into play. Saw one basket placement I've never seen before....13 was perched on three steps of railraod ties (seen that), then atop not one but two regulation size poles. Putting was a little like shooting a basketball free throw, kind of cool. This is a very good course. One of the best marked courses I've ever seen. I liked it a lot.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course for all skill levels

1    9/11/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 227  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course efficiently uses the land available in this large multi-use park. Crockett has two tee pads per hole (Am & Pro) for different skilled players. Each hole was marked with large tee signs that indicated the hole number with large numbers. These made it easy to find the right tee for each hole. Most all holes incorporate some elevation change with several baskets placed on the edge of some drop offs, giving some make-it-or-break-it putting situations. The wooded holes force some very technical shots and a hint of luck to have a putt from inside the circle. The layout of the open holes makes the most of the existing trees for some well shaped shots. Having only played the long tees, there were a limited number of deuce opportunities that can be gotten without a cannon for an arm. The short tees appeared to be the more used of the sets of tees and provided many birdie opportunities but only with accurate driving.
Cons: The tee pads left a lot to be desired. All tees were large pieces of carpet laid on the ground with many still containing large grass clumps underneath and giving an uneven surface. Several of the long tee pads were placed directly behind the short tee pads so the tee sign was essentially another obstacle that you'd have to negotiate around. Some of the long tees on the wooded holes required you to throw across a walking path that can be fairly busy with pedestrians and bikers. Moving these tees should be a consideration made for the safety of everyone. Some of the tees in the woods did not have adequate clearance for a follow through as I smacked my throwing hand against a tree and wasn't even off of the tee. Several of the long tees on the open holes don't anything to the character of the hole but merely add distance to an already long hole.
Other Thoughts: Course may be difficult to navigate for a first timer, especially with multiple tees per hole. Crockett can be a busy course and the chances of waiting are good depending on tees played, how many in a group, and so forth. Course is worth playing if you're in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.