Brentwood, TN 
Crockett Park Share
Uploaded By: arrdee33  
Hole #1 White Tee: Red tee to the right



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Nice, Rolling Hills

1    10/10/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in the back of a quiet, rural-area park.
- Well-manicured course that plays mostly on grassy fields that seem to be well-maintained
- Park signs guide you to the course start and there is plenty of parking near an indoor sports complex
- Nice course map available online and posted right near hole #1
- 2 tees on most holes create options for "long" or "short" layout
- Multiple pin locations on most holes, creating some variety for regular players
- Nice tee signs (at both tees) with hole map, distance to each pin location, par
- Bolt/washer system to indicate current basket position - this definitely helps since a couple holes are long and/or blind from the whites (10, 11, 12, etc.) or where it's tough to guage distances, even if you can see the basket
- Some of the 2 tee positions offer different hole experiences, rather than just a long/short version of the same line or throw (holes 5 and 12 come to mind) - not all are like this, though...see below
- Although this is a very open course, there is good use of the treelines that are available, with either the tee or basket tucked close to or into the woods, so the drives/approaches have to be somewhat careful
- Elevation changes (rolling - nothing too steep) create some nice variety
- A couple holes were real nice - #3 is short, but a cool pin protection with big, thick trees, #5 was a neat little anny or flick out of the woods to an open pin, #14 was a fun downhill ace run to an open pin, #16 was a downhill drive with a tight window about halfway out with the basket teasing you on the other side, #18 has a tight window near the tee that requires some finesse, then a medium-long approach shot to an open pin
- Since the course is so open with no water, not a high chance for lost discs
- No trash, quiet, relaxing, nice place for a walk and fun day
Cons: - It's been said plenty, but this course is a bit too open for my liking - too many holes were just throwing across a field, with little to no punishment for an errant shot (#1, #2, #9, #13, #15, etc.)
- Tees are a mix of carpet and dirt (apart from #1 and #4, which tee off from a sidewalk), creating some rough footing - I actually have carpet on my home course and I don't mind, but here, it's like some bases weren't leveled/smoothed before placing the carpet
- Although the tee signs were "nice", I thought some of the maps didn't seem right and the pictured pin locations seemed off (#10 comes to mind)
- Many holes don't use the multiple tees to create variety - the red tees are usually shorter versions of the same line/shot you throw from the whites - if they are different angles,they'r eusually in the open field holes, which doesn't really change anything (few exceptions - see above)
- The 3 wooded woles seem like an afterthought (which one review seems to indicate may be true - that they were added after the soccer building forced a re-design) and were annoying - short, too much luck required (and I don't often complain about wooded holes) and don't fit in with the rest of the course
- Walking path can cause some interference/delays on #1, #4, #6, #7, #9 - random park-goers with dogs in the fields also caused some delays on #9, #18
- A few confusing spots with tee and basket locations - baskets for 9, 10 and 18 kind of mash together (almost threw at basket 18 from tee 10 - had to walk up almost to the basket to check) - tees for 12 and 15 made me do a double-take
- Some of the brush is painful - got stabbed and scratched up looking for a disc that turned the corner early on #12
- Long walk back from #18 to the parking lot
- No benches that I remember
Other Thoughts: - Basket 13 was...interesting - elevated base, but it was also on top of a "double-long" pole, which made for a unique, steep uphill, putting look
- Power lines running through the back 9 created an niteresting visual - I think one pin was tucked very near a big lattice tower

Overall, this is a solid, well-maintained course that I would certainly play again. It's "unspectacular" (no real memorable fetures/designs), but lends itself very nicely to someone who wants to air out some drives with some obstacles to keep you honest.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My Home Course

5+    12/1/2015   9/1/2012
Review By: kingje1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 12/4/2015
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Two different courses. If you want to practice your short game play the Red, if you want to really test your distance and accuracy play the white.
There are some really unique holes on the white course. On hole 5 from the white you are throwing from inside a wooded area up and over a small hill through two wooded areas to a basket guarded by tall bushes.
It's challenging and offers holes for both forehand and backhanded throwers.
The Williamson County disc golf club is there a lot and they are very friendly and helpful.
Cons: There are a lot of places to lose your discs in the summer. Fall and spring golf on Sunday afternoons can get very crowded. Any of the above mentioned challenging holes can easily become double bogeys or worse for a rec/intermediate class player.
Other Thoughts: I rate Crockett high because I never tire of playing it.
Crockett is a tale of two courses. The am and pro tees are completely different. When I first started playing I played the am tees and it was a fun beginners course. When I switched to the Pro it has become an extremely challenging course. It is worth the time it takes to look for all the pro tees. You will hear people say that it is too open often. They haven't truly played the challenge of the pro tees. Don't get me wrong, there are some long ones. Right now 12 and 9 are in long at 700 feet each. The truly challenging pro tees are 4, 5, 7, 12, 16, 17. Pay attention to the OB on the pro tees because it is a threat on several of the holes.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice place

2-4    7/13/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole course in a large park setting. Two sets of tees at almost all holes. Multiple basket positions. Signs at both short and long tee pads. Signs show hole layout, distance and current basket position using a nut and bolt system. There is also numerous next tee signs and aids. This is a very easy park to play a round in. Hassle free disc golf.

Terrain is mostly gentle rolling hills with a scattering of trees and brush for obstacles. A few holes do play in the woods, but for the most part this is open air golf.

Especially from the shorts this is a fairly easy course to play. No huge hills, long walks or water carries. Just very simple lines, and a relaxing atmosphere. Great place to learn, practice or bring a newer player.
Cons: No holes that jump out as exceptional. Not any wow factor or holes that you really feel you need to empty your bag on.

Tee pads are carpeted. They suffice, but could be an area for an upgrade.

Not much line shaping or shot making. By the Sloppy count there are 14 holes that require a straight shot. Many of those holes are in open fields.

No water or huge hill shots. Hole 14 comes close as it is a decent descent of 502' , but distance is more dramatic than the elevation drop.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course for a number of reasons. From the shorts it is a relatively easy round for most players, and would be a good place for new players to learn. Youjust can't get in too much trouble on 200-300' mostly open holes. For better players looking for more challenge I'd recommend playing from the long pads.

Holes 6-8 are the only tight wooded holes, but the course does do a decent job of trying to keep the woods and trees in play. On several holes you are forced to throw out of the woods into open fields, or throw a drive or approach into the edge of the woods toward the basket. This kind of design will at least keep some players from carelessly airing out their high-speed drivers.

Hole 14 might be the signature hole here with its 502' downhill line to the basket, but I really enjoyed #12. From the shorts it was 287'. About half way down the fairway there is an island of trees and brush. Off the tee you can take a tight gap to the right, go way around to the left, or go over the top. The basket sits nestled in another wooded area at the end of the fairway. I love holes that give people multiple options off the tee. It's always fun to see how different players make the shot.

If you are in the Nashville area give this course a shot. Being mostly open it is a nice alternative to Cedar Hills or Seven Oaks.


7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bring the D...or don't

5+    5/15/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: RustyStrings615
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A scenic and well-designed course with Am and Pro tees. It is mostly open and hilly, with the occasional patch of trees to avoid. Always lingering is the threat of the unforgiving thick thorny brush on either side of the fairways. Great variety of shots required..even though it is mostly open. Most importantly, there are lots of really fun shots to throw...several tempt me to empty my entire bag off the tee. The OB sidewalks and roads provide some extra challenge. The park is in a really nice neighborhood, feels very safe and family-friendly. The Pro tees will test all facets of your game..mostly the ability to throw far, deal with quite a bit of elevation change, and also to thread some really tight needles in the wooded holes...and it can be VERY tough when windy. The Am tees are perfect for newer players...and provide an exciting 'deuce or die' course for more advanced players.
Cons: Punishingly hot here during the Summer...and there is very little shade throughout much of the course. The large carpet tee pads do work pretty well...but nonetheless, take the course down a notch.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty long course...particularly from the Pro tees...you will definitely get your exercise for the day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your walking shoes...

1    4/7/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: TNDiscGolfer
Played: 52  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was located in a very beautiful park in a very nice area of town. This was my first experience with carpet tees and I actually prefer them over concrete now I think but there are some cons, see below. I loved the open holes and the wooded holes were equally as fun. You start off the first few holes in the open with all about 200'-300' feet. The first hole that grabbed my eye was I believe number 7 where you are in the woods and hole is placed in the narrow woods on top of a small hill. Definitely tests your skill and kind of tells you how the rest of the day is going to pan out. Towards the back 9 there are lots of bomber holes so bring your big boy arm and let er' rip! Accuracy is key and like I said you will need a arm for this course. Also this course has very nice baskets. The tee signs were very nicely made but had some cons as well, see below.
Cons: If you aren't big on walking far and up and down hills this may not be a course to go to. If you throw it in the woods on the back 9 watch out for thick briar patches as they are everywhere. Hole 7, I believe, is right beside some fences that go to backyards of some peoples houses so if you go left you may lose your disc or ringing their doorbell. The carpet tees had lumps in most tees and this will definitely twist some ankles if not careful. Very crowded on weekend. The tee signs although very nicely made weren't helpful on where the hole was. I accidentally threw to 18 when I was on 10 and found out after I saw a group throwing towards us.
Other Thoughts: This was my first trip to Crockett Park and I will definitely be back but hopefully during the weekday. I would recommend it to anyone in the area or out of town just driving by. This place is in a very nice area of town and about 5 minutes away from good places to eat and a huge mall. Definitely a walk at this course but well worth it. The locals were very helpful with which hole is which and where to drive for the best score.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Throwing for distance

5+    1/29/2012   2/5/2012
Review By: The Drake
Played: 104  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 13.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Nasvhille disc golf scene has multiple courses of all variety to showcase the sport. Crockett park, located just 15-20 minutes south of downtown Nashville, in my opinion provides a great complement to the many other courses nearby. A well maintained course with not too much non-disc golf interference except on the first couple of holes this course offers almost everything you could ask for in a disc golf course.

Crockett contains 2 sets of tees, red and white, which for the most part actually provide 2 different courses. The white tees (pro) are typically longer with a few more added difficulties (tighter initial lines, more obstacles to avoid initially). The red tees typically provide for technically less difficult lines with shortened distances though they are by no means "dumbed down" versions of the white tees. Importantly both sets of tees have their own tee signs complete with fairly accurate distances.

Along with multiple tees most holes also have multiple pins which personally I don't find to always be a pro if they are not well designed alternate positions, but this course tends to provide differing enough shots to be worth it.

For me one thing that is a must for a course to go from being good to above average or excellent there needs to be some elevation change which this course most definitely possesses.

While some reviewers have commented on the course being "too open" I would have to disagree. Yes for the most part the course is open, but given the distances of the holes, the elevation changes and the good use of natural obstacles and OB lines I think the monotony is broken up very well. Not to mention given the openness and length of the holes it really allows you to air out some big drives.
Cons: The first thing you notice about the course, any course are the tee pads themselves. With the exception of a couple of holes which play off the walking trail which meanders through parts of the course the pads are of carpet. When its dry out there is not much of a problem but obviously once it gets a little wet things can be tricky and a little dangerous. With that they are frequently upgraded.

As just mentioned there is a walking trail around and through the park. For the most part it avoids the course but there are a couple of holes where it comes into play. You tee off of it on holes 1 and 4 (from the whites). It also runs the length of the middle of 4s fairway and the right side of 9s. Typically non-golf traffic isn't that bad and the people who use it do at least know what the sport of disc golf is, but its something to be on the lookout for when playing.

There are 3 holes which are completely out of character of the rest of the course. Holes 6-8 were added after the indoor soccer complex was added requiring a course re-design as a way to bridge the walk from the front of the course to the back. These holes are all very short and very technical. They are not bad holes in and of themselves, they just don't flow well with the rest of the course.

There can be some very long walks between a couple of the holes. Along those lines when you finish up on 18 you end in the middle of the back portion of the course and have quite a lengthy walk to the parking lot uphill the entire way.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is one of my favorite courses in town. I just moved to the nashville area last summer and was very happy to come to a place with so many great courses within a few minutes drive of downtown. I place this course nearly as often as Cedar Hill on the north side of town which is one of my favorite courses.

This is a great course to practice controlled long drives. Being primarily open there is a lot of room for error to help hone in your long drives, but to score well you have to be accurate and controlled. Crockett provides yet another great complement for the Nashville disc golf scene.

I've been told and it appears to be confirmed here by other reviewers that par 54 is considered near a 1000 rated round. As someone rated in the 980-990+ range I would say that is fairly accuate. As I play this course frequently I usually score between 50 to 56

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid

5+    10/4/2011   10/4/2011
Review By: boondock339
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is and always has been a well manicured course. Everything is well marked; although, for someone that has never played on it, I can see how it would be hard to find #9,#10, and #11. This is good place to practice driving.
Cons: This is just a personal preference thing, but this course is a bit too open for my taste; I think it could use a bit more variety. It also seems like they used to move the baskets around, but it seems like they haven't been moved in a while(I could be wrong on that). My main complaint is the tees. I prefer concrete tees; however, I don't mind carpet. These carpet tees need some help as they are in their current state. The ground underneath them needs to be leveled, because uneven ground tends to lead to injuries. Being primarily a backhand thrower this is a serious issue that needs to be addressed.
Other Thoughts: Bring water. This course can be brutal on a sunny day.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  One of my favorites!

2-4    9/15/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: garrett141
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open courses and wooded.
Cons: Not many. There's no water but that's good for many of us.
Other Thoughts: I'm a beginner so it's hard to compare this to other courses when this is one of two i've ever played. The courses are fun, challenging and there was at least a dozen other people out there this evening. I look forward to playing here again.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not a huge fan

1    6/4/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: K_Woodcock
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course if played off the pro Tees has some super long holes. There are at least three 700 plus holes. Very well marked course.
Cons: The course is not put together that well and has way to much out in the open shooting I think. Alot of ups and downs.
Other Thoughts: Juts not a super fun course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 No water hazards!

2-4    5/18/2011   5/18/2011
Review By: jsbatte
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: I'm still new to disc golf, so take my review for what it's worth to you. I had a fun time playing this course. It's in a great location and is a nice course to walk. Since I'm not a big distance thrower (yet), I enjoy the tee pads that are located at the top of hills. I played from the am tees and will probably use them for quite a while.
Cons: The walk can be very tiresome, but its a great workout. The carpeted tee pads didn't really bother me, but if I was used to only concrete, I could see where this would be troublesome. First four holes are kind of boring, but make for a good warm up. Since I'm still trying to hone my technique, it would be great if there was a practice tee.
Other Thoughts: This course is about 15 minutes away, so I will play this course as often as possible. I live closer to the sharp springs park, but I find that course miserable. Sharp Springs is heavily wooded and has two water holes that I will avoid for a long time. Mosquitos are awful, too. Anyways, Crockett Park was fun.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.