Brentwood, TN
Crockett Park Share
Uploaded By: arrdee33 Hole #7
3 / 199ft.   3 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Home Course

5+    8/25/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: MonkeyMan
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -If you know anything about Middle Tennessee, you know it's hilly. Crockett takes full advantage of this. There are excellent elevation changes that will make your drives look like you threw it behind your back or like they were launched out of a cannon.

-This course utilizes a mixture of wooded and open holes. The open ones really let you test out your drive power while the wooded ones force you to work on your accuracy.

-There is very little congestion with a course as long as Crockett Park.

-Brentwood is a beautiful suburb of Nashville and Crockett Park is set in an excellent part of town. Located directly next to Crockett Elementary, Woodland Middle, and Holy Family Church.

-Pro/Am tees. The Am tees are challenging while the Pro tees are tough. Some will have you looking down the fairway thinking, "There's no way."

-There are signs on each tee box (multiple signs for multiple teeboxes).

-Well groomed grass that looks like it is mowed weekly.

-Baskets are in excellent shape.

-Markers let you know which direction to travel to the next tee box. The course is very long, so make sure to look for these to avoid confusion.

- The use of doglegs with multiple tree hazards make for some very challenging holes.
Cons: -Carpet tee pads are my main complaint. With as many people that play this course you would think they would invest in some concrete.

-There is not a bathroom on the course. But there is an indoor soccer facility nearby that has some inside.

-Some of the pars on the longer holes are almost impossible to achieve. (Hole 9 from the Pro Tees!!).

-There should be some more benches for a rest or while waiting on a group.

-It is VERY easy to loose a disc in some of the wooded areas. Some will have paths to look for frisbees while others will have you climbing trees.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and actually grew up about a mile away. I play several times a week and have gotten to know the ins and outs of this great course.

Since we play this course multiple times a week we have set up pars that we think are fair according to our amateur skill level. We play from every pro tee and this is what we came up with:

1= 3
2= 4
3= 3
4= 3
5= 4
6= 3
7= 3
8= 3
9= 5
10= 3
11= 4
12= 4
13= 3
14= 3
15= 3
16= 3
17= 4
18= 4

Front 9 Par= 31
Back 9 Par= 31
Course Par= 62

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun day in the heat

2-4    8/16/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 24  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2010
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Am and Pro tees for every hole. Love playing the Pro tees for a nice challenge and then playing the Am tees afterwards to feel good.
Cons: Lots of thorns. I lost a Teebird off of hole 11 in the brush. I will wear pants next time. A lot of the course plays through some very hot open fields.
Other Thoughts: I will play this course more often now that I know where it is. I thought the lack of concrete tee pads would bother me but my group played through and barely noticed. Not an issue on a dry summer day.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Super challenge from the longs

1    7/31/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 9.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I enjoyed this course quite a bit. It's more open than most, but really makes good use of elevation changes to keep things interesting. There are hardly any flat holes to be found. Nice variety of holes - a few technical and wooded, some big bombers, some tunnel shots, some right, some left. Little bit of everything. The majority of the course was open rolling hills, with little "islands" of trees/bushes/rough scattered about that provided obstacles to throw around/through/over.

Multiple (carpet) teepads on every hole. Signs were good, and unlike most courses with multiple teepads, each pad had it's own sign which was nice. Upkeep on the course was good, grass looks to be mowed pretty regularly.

Hole design was pretty good for the most part, with several memorable holes. 16-18 were fantastic and left me with a great final impression as I left the course.
Cons: Just like every other review, I have to mention the lack of concrete teepads as a negative. The carpet pads were actually better than I expected, the biggest drawback being that they were sometimes lumpy in places, and not always level. It's my understanding that the local club has been trying to get funding and approval for concrete pads for some time now. This is far too good a course to not have concrete.

The only other improvement I'd like to see would be more benches. This course is long and it's hilly. In the hot summer sun you can get zapped pretty quick.
Other Thoughts: We played from the white (long) tees, and let me warn you: these pars are no joke!! I'm personally not in the "everything is par 3" crowd and prefer to measure myself against the "expected" score on a given hole, ie par. I found this tidbit on the course message board: "we set white tee par based on the best whole number for a 1000 rated player." Needless to say, I've never played a course with pars set for 1000 rated players, but it was great fun and brought out the best in me. Examples: hole 5 is 396' out of a low-ceiling tunnel, through another gap, turnover to the right, to a basket that's guarded by little evergreen trees…par 3. Hole 17 is 484' UPHILL to a wooded approach…par 3! Man! Most courses would have these as par 4s and possible even 5s!

There were quite a few other groups playing while we were there, and everyone we saw was throwing from the short tees. Apparently most people consider the longs a little too brutal. Are you man enough?!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fun!

2-4    7/5/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: LMeyers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: well groomed, easy to located tee boxes and baskets, park located in a very nice area of town, hole signs very nice, decent mix of open/woods, long/short holes.
Cons: no concrete tee pads :(
LONG walk back to parking lot from hole 18.
Other Thoughts: wish this were our home course! loved watching the deer "frolicking" on hole 9!!

 Grip and Rip

1    4/17/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: AlexAuB
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extreme variety of holes. Excellent mix of thick woods vs obstacles, technical shots vs bombs.

Well-maintained. Course is in a great area of Nashville and the astounding amount of park acreage used was mowed and kept well.

Multiple tee and basket locations that give holes very different characteristics. Course is challenging from the Am tees and downright hard from the Pros.

The elevated basket adds a novel and very enjoyable element to the game.

Great use of power lines on the holes near the turn - presents a unique look for a DG course.

Course is large enough that it never really gets congested, even with a group on every hole.
Cons: Carpet tees could use some TLC, though they seem to grip well. For a course of this caliber, concrete tee pads seem necessary.

For a course this long, there were surprisingly few benches and trash cans.

A few holes on the back 9 seemed to converge in a confusing and potentially dangerous manner.

It's been mentioned, but the tree next to the pro pad on 8 is an unnecessary and real hazard - one guy in my group smashed his hand on his drive.

Long walk from end of course to parking lot.

Could use a clearer indication of which baskets are in use. Judging by the signs, I threw to a few phantom baskets.
Other Thoughts: This course is LONG. Easily the longest disc golf course I've ever played and comparable to some par 3 ball golf courses. Especially if you're playing in the sun and heat, bring lots of water and sunscreen and give yourself plenty of time to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good but not Great!!!

2-4    3/24/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: whiterj
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Two tee pads per hole.. Located in a very nice park.. Couple of very fun aceable holes.. Some holes that your can really test you distance without suffering bad results.. Not a course to be overlooked.. I plan on playing atleast once a month.
Cons: The carpet tee pads are not in the best shape.. One can get a little confused on next tee if he/she has never played there before. The course could have some really creative holes on the great plot of land it is located..

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Crockett Park

2-4    4/14/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: Sheen
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great open course that really gives you a chance to practice your distance throws. A Decent variety of vegetation throughout the 18 holes and a good variety of shots is necessary to play well here.
Cons: The first few holes are VERY open. The underbrush is thick and the summer and it can be easy to lose a disc. Possibly poison ivy trouble.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great place to practice those long drives

2-4    1/24/2010   1/26/2010
Review By: Scott P
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great place to practice some long drives especially on hole 9! There are a few good wooded shots too for accuracy. Hole 6 is easily ace-able as I parked one right by the basket my 4th time ever playing it. The mutiple tees and basket locations are a plus.
Cons: Can be very wet and muddy in spots after heavy rains. Even some of the carpet tees don't hold up well after a heavy rain. Once permanent concrete pads ever get installed and a few extra permanent alt. basket locations, this will be a really great course!!
Other Thoughts: This is diffinately a course worth playing if you live in or around the Brentwood area. There is a really nice local group who plays here most Sundays too who can teach ya a thing or two!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Up, down, and long.

1    12/19/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: lschrock
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two pads - carpet(marked by signs) per hole, long course requiring a strong drive for all kinds of elevation change. Some holes bring in some woods with really technical lines. Most of the course is open, but you're usually utilizing some tree or patch of trees as an obstacle. Course is really long, so bring some water. There are some really fun holes on this course, including one with a six foot elevated basket. I personally loved hole 18, which, from the pro pad is a huge anhyzer launch over a ridge and downhill to the basket on the right, close to 540 feet, epic shot. Seems to be a well maintained course next to some kind of school. (I'm not sure what kind) There is also a hole you can really crush a disc on a long downhill, and I don't get much of that back in the ol' plains. Course has signs with footage and hole layout, really a good course.
Cons: Tee pads? for a course this nice, there should definitely be some concrete pads laid. I don't recall seeing a bathroom, but there are plenty of woods. I don't think there were any benches, either.
Other Thoughts: I really would rate this course higher, if it weren't for the carpet.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and clean

1    10/16/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: dud317
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful and well maintained course. Pro tees and Am tees allow for variety of skill level. Most holes are open with a few wooded and some with just some tree hazards. Not busy during the weekdays.
Cons: Some holes have woods very near the fairway, so an errant throw on a windy day will send you searching. 18 ends in the middle of the park so you have a bit of a walk to get back to the parking lot. Sometimes you have to search out the pin before you tee off.
Other Thoughts: This course is very fun and while it may seem technical, it's more just hilly and wooded. You don't need to be a pro to shoot from the pro tees, most just add 50 feet or less to the hole. I started playing about 3 months ago and I shot mostly from am tees with a couple of pro tees, and I shot an amazing 48.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.