Brentwood, TN 
Crockett Park Share
Uploaded By: arrdee33 Hole #13
3 / 239ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Red Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Great for driving but offers little challenge

2-4    9/7/2016   9/10/2016
Review By: Pops
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: MikeTheGaolie did a great job summarizing the pros of the course. It did not seem quite as challenging as I had hoped playing once on the normal tees and the second time on the pro tees. The fields are wide open and you can just throw and work on your driving. The fields are actually the best I have played on and were well kept by the grounds crew. Holes 8 & 9 made this part of the course challenging and fun to navigate some wooded challenges.
Cons: If you have never played this course, finding the pads and holes can be pretty challenging. I spent about half my time looking for the holes or having to ask players where to throw. Once you hit holes 12 to 16 it goes from confusing to frustrating trying to figure out where to throw. The signage is pretty confusing and well past it's useful life. Even the main board has seen better days.
Other Thoughts: I travel quite a bit for work and pleasure and love playing a round or two. This course was a great place to stretch the legs and let loose driving the discs. It's more of personal preference, this course seems geared towards beginners. If you're looking for a challenge, I would suggest finding another course. If you are looking for a course to take it easy a consumer some frosty beverages then this is the place for you.

Immaculate rolling terrain

1    7/26/2016   8/17/2016
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 56  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.6 Years
Pros: The course winds through rolling fields and woods on the southeast portion of Crockett Park. Red/White tees differed typically through added distance with similar lines. Multiple pin placements can give the return visitor a good variety combined with the two tees on most holes. A decent balance of lefty/right opportunities and one or two occasions to pull out the hyzerbomb or thumber. Most well-controlled rec players will see lots of 3's from the shorts with a handful of birdie opportunities. Strokes added from the white tees are usually a result of distance, not technical ability.

The first five holes and most of the back nine are nominally open field shots for the most part with some minimal line shaping due to a copse of trees or elevation change or a pin placement just a few yards back into the woods. Usually multiple paths to the pin. I liked #3's basket placement inside a square of four shaggy trees and #5's combination of downhill elevation and blind pin location behind one of the aforementioned copses. #6, #7, and #8 are true woods holes that have restricted fairways that force you to a more defined line and restrict overhead shots. The elevation change on #7 and #8 were fun and frustrating at the same time. By the time you get to #9, you're pretty much out of the woods. #9 through #15 are field shots with elevation changes or tucking the pin at the edge of woods or just inside. A few pin placements are blind from the tee. #13 has a 'circus' pin on top of a built-up railroad tie pyramid. #17 and #18 are somewhat of hybrids as they are field shots but more restricted with various tree windows and elevation changes to define the lines. Still, nothing that a good second shot couldn't correct for the drop-in par.

Tees were OK, not great. Red/White or Pro/Am tees were usually pretty visible but since they aren't concrete, there was a little bit of guessing at various stages of the round to figure out which tee I was on since the signage wasn't overly helpful. I don't recall seeing the painted wood markers in the photos on DGCR. Baskets were in good shape and pretty visible throughout with a little bit of scouting on the blind shots.
Cons: The course signage is well into its useful life and the hole maps on the signs aren't very helpful. They've faded pretty well and aren't great for navigation. I think a few were missing as well as I didn't notice two signs on every hole. However, having the course map pulled up on your phone helps a ton. The navigation around #12 and #15 was tricky and the rules for #13's 'C' pin placement were odd. Still don't know if I played 12 right. The course kind of crosses over itself in the back nine, however repeated plays would likely iron out the navigation issues.

Holes #8 and #9 are really the only holes that have the potential to involve the walking trail, but you should still be courteous to other park patrons. The walk from #18 back to the parking lot was a tad long, especially in the rain on the day I played. What the online map doesn't show you is that there's more parking near #14's tee that might be a better option for an easier loop.
Other Thoughts: This course is located in an immaculate multipurpose park in an affluent suburb of Nashville. The park has a walking trail, playground, and even a historic structure to visit. There's some real ground covered on this course so don't expect a quick round or easy stroll as the uphill climbs are noticeable. No real bathroom or water fountain opportunities unless the indoor soccer facility is an option. I feel like just a little more work would go a long way with this course. Concrete tees, updated signage would definitely help.

The open field portions of the course are a little repetitive, but coming from board flat Oklahoma, the elevation changes kept it interesting for me. There's no real 'WOW' hole on this course. For me, the closest was #14 red. It really tempts you to empty the bag, has deceptive range, and a pretty decent risk/reward for going for it on the upshot due to the thicket behind the A pin. Still, it wasn't something that I haven't seen done pretty similar on most courses with some decent elevation change available. All in all, a good but not great course in a municipal park. It's an easy find off of I-65 and I recommend it to anyone come through.

Excellent DG course amidst Multi-use

5+    10/2/2015   11/2/2015
Review By: Tailwalker00
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 21.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has everything . Perfect mix of Shots and holes make this course among the best. Being located in a very nice park doesn't hurt either. Maintenance is generally perfect considering its suburbia. Maybe only two or three repetitious holes but All in All it is a must play. Roller and Tomahawk course for sure. Loved it !
Cons: Multi use park as always can have some drawbacks like hitting walkers but other than that maybe they could " permatize" it a bit more with the installation on concrete tees. But that impedes on the natural beauty of this park so for now carpet it is.
Other Thoughts: Being only minutes from I-65 this course is a great diversion or distraction to break up a long drive or whatever. Super clean and Safe as there are tons of people around always. But is not crowded as this park is Large.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Improves after first holes

2-4    5/24/2014   5/24/2014
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 60  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is on a very nice piece of land with both open and forested areas and significant elevation change. It has multiple tee locations, with the longer tees labeled "pro," and the signs indicate multiple basket locations. This review is based on two rounds from the "pro" tees.

The course winds through an immaculately maintained park. Lots of ground wood mulch covered what was apparently bare ground. The mulch was dry and was very conducive to having the disk skip well past the basket when I played in late May, 2014. This was a little added degree of difficulty on the shorter, forest holes that I appreciated.

There are a number of holes that require accurate tee shots in the woods and several that transition through narrow openings in to more open areas and vice versa. There are a few holes that utilize the available elevation changes very well, holes 4, 5, 10, 11, 14 and 18 come to mind.
A few holes border wooded areas with some very score-punishing underbrush.
Navigation is pretty straightforward. Next tee positions are indicated on the tee signs and on the bottom of the baskets. There are also park signs pointing to the next tee on some holes. I had no problem navigation this course the first time I played.
Cons: The carpet tee pads are uneven and can and do cause stumbles. This is enough to affect your shots. Of all the things that you might be thinking about when you throw, you should not have to worry about stumbling during a throw when you even take a short run up.

There are a few forgettable and wide open holes. Holes 1, 2, 3, 9 and 13 come to mind.

There is no water out on the course.

The tee signs do a very poor job of giving a new player a good idea of the layout of obstacles not visible from the tee and basket positions. They include multiple basket locations but there is no way to determine which position the basket is in without walking forward.

Basket gimmickry is in use on hole 13. I don't understand the fascination with elevated baskets. However, this one isn't overly punitive and this is more of a pet peeve than a true con. Other than the elevated basket, this is just another wide open hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a fun course and well worth playing. However, I can't help but think that the design just didn't get all that it could have out of this beautiful piece of property. Much of this probably comes from the first three holes. There is very little challenge there even from the "pro" tees. Hole one is just a wide open, 300 foot hole. Maybe there is a different basket location that gives it more of an elevation change, but when I played, it was downhill about 5-6 feet, i.e., practically no change. Hole 2 is wide open to the right and adds a little length and hole three is wide open with the basket guarded by a few selectively placed tall shrubs/trees that actually make a good target. Hit one and you will have good shot at birdie. They might get in your way if you throw short, but this is a fairly short hole (think "pro" tees).

This is a fun course that makes a poor early impression. The quality of the holes gets better as you get further into the course and I'm certain that I will gladly play it again the next time I visit that area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the challenge

5+    3/22/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: tampabay
Played: 41  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Difficulty - This course is difficult. It really rewards hitting your lines but can punish you for a missed one. I like the challenge of having trees/obstacles within the first 150' before a larger opening (1, 3, 5, 16). I think it really rewards a combination of precision and distance. This course is pretty long, and you will have to throw uphill and downhill.

Elevation - Holes 4, 5, 12, 17, 18 are some of my favorite uses of elevation in all of Nashville. Out of those holes only hole 13 and 18 are true downhill holes. The others have a variety of hills and valleys creating confusing winds and a great terrain for disc golf.

Variety - This course has incredible shot variety. I think a great number of the holes allow you to choose a line (meaning a right finishing shot or left finishing shot). I would consider hole 2, 4, 10, 15, 16 to be left finishing, 3, 5, 9, 11, 17, and 18 to be right finishing and the others really give you options. I love the balance of tight fairways to open bombs with what seems like constant wind.

Pro/Am Tees - I think this am tees are very well placed. There are many holes where I look over at the am tees and quickly envy anyone throwing from them. However, I think they still do provide a fun and challenging course. I have not throw from the Am Tees but I could see a newer player keeping up with someone advanced if they play well from the Am tees. I think this makes Crockett a course that players can really grow into.
Cons: Thorns - The rough is terrible. I always list this (when relevant) just so players know to be wary of the rough.

Teepads - The carpet teepads are okay on some holes, but other holes it's pretty bad. And some holes play from the walking path. Hole 4, 7, 11, 12 are the ones that come to mind that suffer. The carpet tees can be lumpy and difficult to feel comfortable on. If it's even slightly wet hole 12's tee because a nightmare. Hole 12 is really difficult so having a tricky teepad makes it even more frustrating. All in all I'd give the teepads a 7/10 with no rain, and a 4/10 with rain.

Cross Traffic - Between the walking path and a few holes having overlapping fairways (9, 10, 11, 18) it can feel a little tricky at times. I wouldn't say this is a huge issue, but it is definitely something you should be aware of. Also, when you are on the tee for hole 8, you are at risk from people throwing on hole 7.
Other Thoughts: I am reviewing this course having only played the long positions, I have not played the short tees. I think this is a great course and it feels you have to grind away at every hole to get par. I really enjoy the consistent difficulty. I wish it had one or two more wooded holes and I could do without hole 9's super-long tee. Definitely a great course and I appreciate all the work that Williamson County put in on this course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    2/17/2014   2/17/2014
Review By: Vibramterraius
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2015
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Parking: Multiple lots provided nearby and adequate space.
Maps/Markers: Course map located near first Tee. Holes are pretty well marked the back nine holes can be a little confusing first time played but easy enough to figure out.
Distances: The course offer a reasonable mix of longer and shorter distances. You can air out some drivers on several of the open targets. While working some mid-ranges through wooded sections as well.
Maintenance: Course is well maintained and clean. Once while playing in through the winter months in the lower (muddy) areas the maintenance team had shredded Christmas trees and used the shavings to cover the pathways.
Cons: Tees: This only really becomes a con in the wet seasons. Since the tees are carpet and not concrete and elevated they can be slippery and even muddy. Tees are not a problem at all when climate turns dry.
Other Thoughts: #1) Open for Driver
#2) Driver with Woods parallel on left
#3) (Will continue to finish when time permits)
#4)
#5)
#6)
#7)
#8)
#9)
#10)
#11)
#12)
#13)
#14)
#15)
#16)
#17)
#18)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ditto on Big Arm's Dream

5+    10/23/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: Declarkus
Played: 84  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good signage, pro tees, multiple pins, good flow
Cons: Carpet tee pads can be wet, muddy, slippery
Other Thoughts: I've probably played this course the most. It was where I learned to snap a drive, and where I learned how to battle the wind . Great beginner course from the red tees. Challenging but fair from the tips. Loosely wooded, only a few in the woods. The wind can really mess with you from the 1st hole and the back 9. I really like this course, but there's nothing that makes it great. It's fun from both tees; its almost like 2 courses.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/26/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: sghdba
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I'd call the terrain "rolling", which provides most of the challenge judging the distance. In general the course is well marked (see exceptions below), my fist time plaing the course was easy to follow for the most part. Not overly difficult (I played the red tees) but fair.
Cons: The tees (carpet?) need some maintenance, and a few holes have signs that are not up-to-date (e.g. #12) making finding the correct basket hard at times, but not impossible.
Other Thoughts: overall a good experience...I'll come back when I am in town!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    3/17/2013   3/17/2013
Review By: ervin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a nice range of holes and there are a ton of elevation changes throughout the course. It's a fun course overall as there are varied tees and it seems like different pin placements on every hole. The woods holes are pretty tough, and some of the serious distance holes are hard as well due to the shifting elevations which makes judging distances even more challenging.
Cons: The course seems a little tight in spots, and the back three or four holes are right on top of one another. The major problem I had with the course was that there seem to be holes in the middle of holes and unless you've played it before, you're likely throwing to the wrong hole. Holes 10 and 12 really stick out in my mind as I was throwing at the 18th hole on 10, and the 13th hole on 12. This would likely not make a difference when it's played multiple times, but it was a really confusing setup in spots. Also, some of the woods hole--like 8--don't really have a line to the hole which makes it feel hard just to be hard--if you know what I mean.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a pretty challenging course from the white tees. I wasn't on my game, but even if I were it would make for some really technical woods and distance shots. It's not just a big arm course. There are an equal amount of grip'n'rip shots mixed in with really technical woods holes. Overall it's worth the drive from Nashville.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Lawn & Big Arm Dream

5+    1/5/2013   1/12/2013
Review By: WillAnderson
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The lion's share of the course is either open or lightly wooded so players won't be taxed by loose lines, but the unguarded elements will pain you. The open holes roll amid mounds of hilly, well kept grass like one would expect to find on a ball golf course, and the elevation changes therein craft the experience. Keep your nose down because wind drafts will catch the disc, & I'd wear a hat or bring sunblock bc there's no "cart path" for golf carts. In the wooded holes (mid course), some tighter technical opportunities provide relief from the sun & offer resting areas. You'll enjoy some ace runs before opening up on the back 9 for more grip & rip. Big Arm folks will love the sheer length of the course. Most holes have double tee pads AM/PRO labeled RED/WHITE. The scenery is beautiful, and the course cleanliness & upkeep will beg your return.
Cons: While I'm not opposed to carpet pads, I expect better on such a nice course. More obstacles like pines would be nice on the open holes to block the wind & add visible challenges. The signage is dilapidated & faded even though the baskets are normally visible or easy to find. No benches in the open at all hurts golfers w/o chairs or those who bring family members or a main squeeze to learn/spectate. There's very little privacy from the rest of the park.
Other Thoughts: I steer clear of this course in the Summer and try to play it on days with low to no wind. Great place to have a doubles match.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.