Brentwood, TN 
Crockett Park Share
Uploaded By: arrdee33  
Hole #1 White Tee: Red tee to the right



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun and clean

1    10/16/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: dud317
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful and well maintained course. Pro tees and Am tees allow for variety of skill level. Most holes are open with a few wooded and some with just some tree hazards. Not busy during the weekdays.
Cons: Some holes have woods very near the fairway, so an errant throw on a windy day will send you searching. 18 ends in the middle of the park so you have a bit of a walk to get back to the parking lot. Sometimes you have to search out the pin before you tee off.
Other Thoughts: This course is very fun and while it may seem technical, it's more just hilly and wooded. You don't need to be a pro to shoot from the pro tees, most just add 50 feet or less to the hole. I started playing about 3 months ago and I shot mostly from am tees with a couple of pro tees, and I shot an amazing 48.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course in Middle TN

5+    10/5/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: tjonesbusiness
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mix of open and wooded holes, unique layout, long and short distances, allows you to be able to really drive a disc on some holes, good mix of shots... I need several specialty discs for this course, good use of signage, two boxes (Pro and Amateur)
Cons: Carpet boxes are VERY slippery when wet, first 2 holes (in my opinion) are a bit too open, LOTS of thorns... this provides extra incentive NOT to throw OB
Other Thoughts: I love this course primarily because it allows me to really mix up my shots. It "is" a more open course BUT you still have to be strategic with where you put the disc. There are holes that are, just simply, really fun to play. The Pro boxes provide a whole different feel and challenge... makes it almost seem as if there are two courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 BEST COURSE IVE PLAYED

1    9/27/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: RollinAbsher
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: awesome course don't know where to begin. people say its too open, some say its too windy. the wind is only bad on the long open shots which is what makes those holes interesting. other holes are in the woods and seem to be easy but once you throw you realize they are harder then they appear. the baskets are nice and i played right after a rain and the pads made from carpet were still grippy enough that i could still put power behind my throws with confidence. People complain about the big arms a lot for this course, i throw max +or- 300 feet and i played with my buddy that is a true tournament player who i have seen throw 400 450 with no problem (both or first time on the course). i held with him the whole time and actually beat him by 1 stroke, you just have to know how to play and play your best, if you don't bring your A game the course will eat you alive.
Cons: the only thing that i can even think of that they might change is the pads, but as long as the carpet is changed regularly i don't see it being a problem.
Other Thoughts: I'm from bowling green KY and have played all the courses here, all of them in Louisville, Franklin, and other place and ill say it again this is by far my favorite course. i played on a sunny Sunday afternoon after a rain storm and there were people everywhere but i think people know now where the disc golf routs are because no one was ever in our way.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/8/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: msudog_
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've been playing here weekly for the past 5 months, so I'm updating my review of the course.

In my opinion, the best attribute of this course is the multiple tee pads. The Am/Pro tees offers a fun, challenging experience for everyone.

This is one of the longest courses in the area, so it can give you a good workout.

This course is very well maintained. There is some thick brush, but I usually try to stray from it.

It's mostly open, but some basket placements utilize the trees/brush very well as obstacles.

It can get very windy, so it makes the course much more challenging and fun, I think. The wind can make hole 13 hilarious because of the elevated basket.

Grip it and rip it baby! Although it's mostly open, there are a few trees/ob you need to worry about on every hole.

Offers some very challenging holes from the Pro tee pads.
Cons: Because it's primarily open, the summer sun can zap you fast. Bring water!

Carpet tee pads. When it's dry, they are never a problem. When it's wet, they generally blow. Some tee pads are in low areas, and they take forever to dry out.

You can live off the RHBH. Unless I have a terrible drive, I might use a tomahawk and thumber once.

For such a long course, there are hardly any benches and trash cans.

There is a path that runs along several holes that gets used by walkers, runners, bikers, etc.

Lately I've seen a lot of people just walking their dog around the course. Unfortunately they don't tend to bag the poo.

The only real problem I have on any of the holes is hole 8 from the pro tee pad. Located right next to the pad on the right is a tree. You can easily smack your hand/arm on the trunk of the tree if you use the front of the tee pad. I don't really think you should be able to injure yourself on an object from a tee pad.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. I play it just about every Sunday with a group of locals at 2 pm (Join us!).

Generally, it's not a crowded course. Since the weather has gotten nicer, some Saturdays and Sundays can get crowded. That will probably taper off once the Summer heat hits us.

I like this course for beginners and pros alike. There are multiple pin placements for some holes, but they are not moved very much. I think the last time some of the baskets were moved was about 6 months ago.

As of today here are my favorite Nashville area courses:

1. Cedar Hill Park
2. Crockett Park
3. Liberty Park
4. Sharp Springs Park
5. Barfield Crescent Park
6. Seven Oaks Park
7. Two Rivers

I haven't played Sanders Ferry, Cedars of Lebanon, or Triple Creek.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Open, Long, Challenging

1    7/9/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: RayRay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Diverse and challenging open shots
- All pins are protected, no gimme birdies
- 3 technical holes to keep you honest
- Course is constantly improving, 4 additional par 4 locations are going in!
Cons: - Carpet Tees (better than dirt though)
- Rough is very rough, easy to lose a disc
Other Thoughts: Course requires power and accuracy. The 7oak's noodle arms are afraid of it!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course, just long...

1    4/6/2008   3/3/2009
Review By: Dan_Dizzle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very good variety of holes and distances. Each hole has a map and distances on it. Not very hard to find the next tee pad.
Cons: A good portion of the holes are extremely long and the maps didn't reflect exactly how long they were. Wasn't sure where to throw on a couple holes because they were long and out of sight.
Other Thoughts: Really good course if you have been playing for a while. Wouldn't recommend for beginners unless you want to be really tired at the end of the day.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Crockett Park

2-4    2/10/2009   2/11/2009
Review By: Moffit
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First of all, this course is great. It is full of long distance holes and a few (3 or 4) woods holes to mix things up a little bit. If you love chucking a disc as far as you can than you will love this course. It is well kept and a great place to spend a day.
Cons: I would have to say the most obvious con of this course would be traffic. Whether it is some ignorant park goers walking in front of your line, or parents with their kids trying to play, there most likely will be people around you. Also, the wind is pretty strong on this corse every time I have been there but I have only been to this course during windy times of the year, but it definitly is more windy than most will be used too. Woods will be hard to get into while looking for discs during the summer.
Other Thoughts: If you are going to go, go fairly early in the morning (8-10) on weekdays when it wont be crowded, bring good walking shoes, and alot of water, and you are going to have a great time.

I live real close by so if anyone wants to throw just let me know!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very solid course

2-4    1/31/2009   2/2/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is really nice. It has everything you could ask for bundled up in a nice 18 hole package. It has a hole that is as wide open as it can get, some woods for tight technical holes, and everything in between. Additionally, the two tee pads make it great for the pro and novice alike. There also appeared to be alternate pin placements on almost all of the holes. There is a generous mix of hole lengths ranging from number 8 red at 169' to number 12 white at 715'.

Number 8 may be short but you have to shoot a field goal through two trees about 48" apart and they are just a few feet in front of you. It is just narrow enough to shake you up. If you make it past look out for random trees that seem to enjoy slapping your disc to the ground. Great hole indeed. Number 12 white is daunting. It is across a valley with large THICK patches of foliage and briars sort of acting like huge sand traps scattered about the fairways. You need to throw at least 250'-275' and get past this stuff and then throw down the hard 90 degree dogleg to the right. If you have a big arm you can throw over a 40' tall stand of trees about 50' deep 50' from the tee pad but you are really taking a big chance. The red tees don't offer much relief. It's a real love hate relationship with those I've talked to who have played it.

Beyond that you can expect to throw left and right. I don't think it favors forehand or backhand at all. It is very fair. There are also some pretty unique holes as well. Look for a basket directly under a huge power tower at hole number 9 and hole number 6 has this hanging branch that makes you feel like you are at a haunted hole for some reason. Number 13 is an elevated pin and kind of unusual.

The dirt pads have all been covered with carpet and serve their purpose pretty well.

Signs were in good shape and had good information. The flow makes good sense. It's very easy to follow. They have added some "next tee" arrows to the bottom of the baskets and nice bright number signs up top.

The locals seem to take great pride in the course and their club is very organized. They are planning to install concrete pads soon.

Cons: I played after the rain and it was pretty soggy. If you think it might be wet then leave your favorite shoes at home. It is not unbearable but maybe a little distracting. If not for the newly installed carpet the tee pads would be all but unplayable. Eighteen and one are pretty far apart. I understand that this has more to do with the parks people and not the course designer. I heard it has more to do with parking logistics than course design.

It's pretty windy most of the time out on the course.

It could use a few more benches and trash cans but that certainly should not effect your game. I'm just thinking of convenience.

It could be pretty easy to lose a disc in the summer. There are some pretty thick patches of foliage and an errant shot could send your disc into the black hole on a few.

There is a hole or two where you can run into walkers where you feel the need to wait to throw while they pass. This is not really a big deal though. I don't see it happening often unless the park becomes really crowded.

Other Thoughts: This is a solid course. It is in a huge park with plenty to do and it seems that the course is in its own dedicated area. I don't think anyone will be disappointed even with a lengthy drive. It can wear you out so I don't suggest planning to do much more after a couple rounds at Crockett.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, needs improvement

5+    11/14/2008   11/30/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Crockett Park is a nice course, with good elevation change and distance. This course has multiple tee pads for every hole.

The course expanded from 9 holes to 18 a little over a year ago. The new 18 hole layout uses all of the available space quite well. Several of the holes require a long walk, but the flow is managed well, so its not a huge issue.

Hole 5 from the pro pad my be my favorite on the course - it requires that you punch out of the woods with a right turning shot, and the basket is protected by a group of holly trees. Then there are 3 wooded holes, starting by the edge of a creek. Two of these holes have good elevation change, with an uphill shot through dense woods, and a short downhill shot with a tight fairway.

The back 9 plays along a hillside, with the holes being quite a bit longer. Big arms will like this part of the course. There are some roller opportunities as well. Hole 18 is a great finishing hole.
Cons: Dirt teepads. These have temporarily been replaced with carpet teepads for the Ice Bowl. The goal is to have concrete teepads by summer time.

Wind can be a factor at this course, especially on the longer back 9 that play across a large field.

The course layout uses all of the available land which is great, but it also means that you should be prepared to do a lot of walking. Two rounds at this course is enough to wear anyone out. The walk from hole 18 to the first teepad is a good hike.
Other Thoughts: Its great that Brentwood has a disc golf park now. As this course continues to improve, it could easily become one of the top courses in Tennessee. There is a lot of local support, and as more people find out about this course it will become more and more popular.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/1/2013   7/9/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2013
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid 18 hole course in a nice park. Course has 2 sets of tees. Great map of course beside hole 1. Mostly open and longer mixed with a few shorter wooded holes. Many holes incorporate elevation. I like that every hole is different, including one elevated basket. There are numerous signs at the tee and around the course, arrows in the basket, big red numbers on the back of tee signs all help make navigation a breeze.

The two sets of tees are quite different. Red is shorter and makes for a fun round with lots of birdie opps, but still challenging. White is much more difficult adding length, tougher angles, and more elevation. Last time I played both in the same day the whites played nearly 1 shot tougher per hole for me. This course from the whites is one of the best in the Nashville area for giving distance throwers a chance to let it rip.
Cons: Carpet tee pads (*see note below).

#18's basket is nowhere close to the parking lot, but you just follow the walking trail back towards the soccer building. Speaking of the walking trail- it runs near/across some holes, so you may have to wait for a minute for the path to clear.

This course seems to always be very windy.

#12 and #13 can be confusing depending on the layout. There are several basket options for #12 that can range from 300' to 700'which to me is too much difference for alternate hole locations. There are 3 tee options for #13 depending on where #12 basket is.
Other Thoughts: Redone from 9 holes to 18 holes due to an indoor soccer complex being built right on half of the course, which turned out to be a blessing in disguise. Parking at the soccer building.

Carpet teepads are currently installed. Some are lumpy, and there is always a chance of being slippery in wet conditions, but overall they are not too bad. I do not favor carpet tees or natural tees over the other, but maybe the carpet tees are the next step towards concrete tees.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.