Grandview, WA 
Dykstra Park Share
Uploaded By: Jodabro Hole #6 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 287ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee: Par 3, 287ft



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 great place to practice

5+    7/8/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: geezergolfer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great place to introduce the game to a beginner. A clean grassy family park with good terrain changes. This is a course that allows a thrower to make mistakes and still recover as it is very open field.
Cons: a city park with lots of people out for a walk on the pathway or playing soccer at the field. it is irrigated with sprinkler pipes so you may have to contend with that.
Other Thoughts: I need a regular,(3 times a week) excercise and I find that this course is v ery enjoyable for that. We also take as many kids out to play for the first time as possible here. They soon love this sport.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New Course In Grandview!

1    6/24/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park is probably stretched over 8-10 acres. It's a lovely, slightly rolling, with mowed grass and some small trees planted. The park is a multi-use facility with restrooms, soccer fields, a gazebo and large play areas. It's all very clean and well maintained. The 9 hole course plays 6 out and then 3 holes playing back to the beginning. The baskets are new Mach ll's. The tees are marked with two poles maybe 4" x 4"s. One on each side of the box giving the player plenty of room to throw. The sign on the left warns you to let people clear before throwing into them. Another sign on that pole gives you distance and par numbers. Currently, you're teeing off on grass but I'm concerned that with more use, these areas will become unsightly dirt spots. The Parks dept. has plans for concrete or some material for the pads. The small hills give the course some added personality.
Cons: It's basically a recreational course. Not much challenge (other than the prevailing winds) for tournament type players. It's mostly open right now. In years, some of the planted trees will provide needed obstacles. I think the course planners missed a opportunity on # 2 by not placing the tee up on the hill closer to the street. It would give this hole a little more of a enjoyment factor.
Other Thoughts: I found it amusing that the tee signs read "Goal # 1" instead of "Hole # 1". There are industrial strength sprinkler pipes laying across the course in several places. And speaking of industrial strength, I was hit with a blast of water from one of the sprinklers. Felt like a prison convict getting hit with a water cannon. Actually felt pretty good on a hot June day.

I'm glad to see the Parks and Rec director is on board here. This course is a nice addition to the Discing community in this part of the state.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 If you build it they will come!

2-4    5/21/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quick access off I-82, Problem free Parking, New mach II baskets, Well maintained grounds, Tee signs giving distance and par, Challenging for all skill levels to some degree, Not congested. FREE!
Cons: Not many obstacles offered and Irrigation pipes spread out across the course about every 75-100 yds. Grass tee pads for now turn to dirt soon!
Other Thoughts: When I saw the course I liked it and was real impressed with the distances of the holes. I was surprised not to see another DG'r utilizing this great course! Then again I see green fields of grass I pull over to throw a few drives! This is a nine hole course spread across beautiful green grass with a sloping edge and a few rolling hills. The area is large enough for an eighteen hole layout, maybe someday? Though there was a fitness track/course circling the park it was not an issue. I would be blessed if this was down the road from me. It sounds like the city has added some small trees since installing it and will be working on improvements in the future. Nice course to learn on or teach others the sport.

The irrigation pipes, I'm sure these are temporary, but they were there. Make for an interesting roller.

This is a city park that offer other amenities to the community in the same park share and enjoy it's the only course for miles from you! I'm just glad to see courses sprouting up in these small towns, it helps when traveling.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Dykstra Park

1    4/30/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 187  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Dykstra Park is located right off I-82 in Eastern Washington, just outside downtown Grandview about three minutes from the local high school. This nine hole course was installed in 2009, with the intention to be user friendly and catering to all skill levels. The course is placed in a large open park with undulating hills and plush green grass. The course has other amenities besides the dg course which include two large playgrounds, a gazebo, bathroom near tee #1, a mini soccer field, and a large pedestrian cement walkway which surrounds the entire park. The course is very well maintained by the Parks and Rec Dept, with mowed fairways, manicured trees, clean garbage cans, and a fairly clean restroom.

The course itself has great flow and navigation, with six holes playing out from where you start and then three back in toward the parking lot. The course tee signs are easy to spot, with two large wooden posts in which to throw in between from, and include red reflectors and numbers for navigation purposes. The Mach 2 baskets are all well maintained and catch well. Hole distances range anywhere from 230-440 feet, and include five par 3's and 4 par 4's. However, with a big arm, all of the par 4's are easy to birdie and even eagle.
Cons:
The largest issue here is the lack of any obstacles what-so-ever. This park is completely wide open and presents little challenge with the exception of wind and distance. Fortunately, the Parks and Rec people have planted several trees, and over time will help this little hidden gem grow in to an even better course.

The natural grass tee pads seem to be a growing issue too. Although they are sufficient for now, they are quickly wearing down, and eventually will create large divots which will fill with mud and water. Some rubber tee pads would really go a long way here and would be much better for the environment then cement ones. Plus, they can easily be relocated in case the course is ever redesigned.
Other Thoughts:
This course is a lot of fun, and is the perfect course for those trying to learn this wonderful game without getting too discouraged. For more experienced players, it is a great course to work on distance accuracy, putting, and your approach in windy conditions. It would also make a perfect location for glow golf, and there is no underbrush, and the grass is well manicured making it easy to walk around without any issues. With the course being right off the interstate, it is well worth a quick stop for some fun disc golfing!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/30/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dykstra Park is one of the newest disc golf courses in Eastern Washington, located in Grandview off of I-82. The course plays in a wide open park with green grass and small rolling hills. Great flow and navigation is very simple as tee pads are visible from the last basket. The tee pads are two poles and you throw from the middle of them on the grass. To help finding the tees even easier they have little reflectors on the poles. Baskets are all new, in excellent shape and do a great job of catching discs. This is a great place to learn about the sport and to practice shaping different lines to gain distance off the tee as there are several par fours. There are nice bathrooms on site in the parking lot.
Cons: The biggest con is that the course as of right now is wide open with no obstacles. This makes the course a little too easy to seasoned disc golfers especially anyone who has good distance on their drives. The tee pads play on the grass field and I think this is more of a con from the stand point of ruining the grass than from a disc golf point of view in fact the course is new and already the grass between the tee pads is dead and now down to dirt.
Other Thoughts: This is a good little park and the only one located on I-82 in the area and the only course within some 35 miles. They have done a pretty good job using what they have to make a disc golf course usable for a wide range of people. This is the closest course to Yakima which is shocking to me. It would be nice to see Yakima get a course as it's the biggest city around for a while.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Dykstra

5+    2/7/2010   2/10/2010
Review By: grandview
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 3/30/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As Parks and Recreation Director, we designed this course to be user friendly to the beginner. Our intent was to get local folks excited about the wonderful game of disc golf.
We seem to be accomplishing just that with the increased usage by first time players. We love having visitors from out of town too! Come make your outing a full day!
Cons: Perhaps not the most challenging course for the avid player. We added concrete tee pads in the Fall of 2010 and our 2011 Arbor Day Celebration will include about 20 new tree plantings in and around the course. We stress that park pedestrians/patrons have the right of way, sometimes we need to have patience prior to teeing off.
Other Thoughts: Great exercise for middle aged folk like myself.

NOTE: We just installed concrete tee pads 10' long x 5 ' wide at each tee off area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Feb 2010 Review

1    2/6/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: Jodabro
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good posts mark all the tee boxes, very easy to figure out the layout. Grass throughout the park. Open fairways great for beginners, and finding out what your discs do. Lots of elevation changes. Nice signs and markings on posts and basket. Bathroom on site.
Cons: Lack of trees, par 4's are fairly easy to birdie. No tee pads to throw from. Needs more waste baskets for trash. Creek is to be aware of, but not that much of a trap for disks unless its a bad throw.
Other Thoughts: Good park to learn on, Once they add in tee boxes and trees I would change my rating to a 4 star. Talked to park director on the course playing around and he informed us that they plan to add both.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.