Lebanon, TN 
Cedars of Lebanon Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Old school and entertaining

1    2/1/2011   2/1/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 220  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cedars shows how a course was designed way back in the day when the farthest flying disc would go about as far as you could throw a Roc or Buzzz these days. This completely wooded layout forces hyzers, anhyzers and a few straight shots off the tees. Most fairways are well defined with several being not so straightforward. A lot of the holes are blind shots with fairly open greens so if you can make it unscathed through the fairway, you should have a good chance at birdie. The rough isn't so thick that you can lose a disc but it will cost a stroke if you go in early off the tee. The baskets appear to be the original ones from when the course was installed. The tee pads are all uniform and are adequately sized for this layout. Most of the tee pads have benches nearby in case you want to rest and enjoy the scenery in between holes. There are several ace runs out there as well as a few longer holes that force you to execute a lengthy controlled drive to stay in the fairway and reach the green.
Cons: Navigation from hole to hole is troublesome unless you've played here before or are with a local. There are multiple times after a hole where there are several different paths to other tee pads but no indication of which is which. Most of the signs are also missing, leaving no indication of which hole is which, the distances and the basket placement. With a lot of the baskets being not directly in front of you, it leaves a lot of searching to be done to know where you're throwing. This really threw me off but there's a park installed bench in the middle of number 16s fairway.
Other Thoughts: Cedars is a fun out-of-the-way course that is different than many of the other courses you'll find these days. The old school nature of the course and quiet scenic features of the park make for a great golfing experience. More skilled players might look at this course as good practice on their short game with an array of mid-range shots. Less skilled players might get frustrated at the amount of trees and rough but can find comfort in that none of the holes are monstrously long.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/14/2009   2/14/2009
Review By: Mando
Played: 100  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This was the first disc golf course I ever played...way back in the mid-eighties, so it has some nostalgia going for it.
Cons: I was not bitten by the disc golf bug after my first round here. In fact, another 20 years passed before my next round.
Other Thoughts: In fairness to the course, I should give it a fresh look on my next trip to Nashville.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not memorable in a good way

1    6/6/2008   12/6/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I enjoy wooded courses, and this one had a few holes that were hidden gems. Other than those few, the rest of the course was not memorable.
Cons: Directions and signage are dismal. I got completely lost and walked for 30 minutes, and ended up nearly walking up to the doorstep of someone's trailer. Never found all 18 of the holes.. bummer.

Muddy course and teepads are in bad shape.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that locals can enjoy, but it needs some MAJOR revamping. New teepads and signs are needed. Would be nice if it could be reconfigured to be longer.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice scenery, I guess.

7/20/2008   8/4/2008
Review By: Dross
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Honestly, I can't think of anything to put in this box.
Cons: Lots of underbrush. Course doesn't seem as well maintained as most others in the area. Hole layout somewhat repetitive. Signs are hand drawn and sometimes missing entirely, leaving you to search for the pin yourself. Equipment is old.
Other Thoughts: The best part of my trip to this course was the cute puppy that kept following me around.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Its Ok if you're in the neaighborhood

1    2/5/2008   3/13/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2009
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The shapes of the fairways can create a slight challenge. There are hyzer routes, anhyzer routes, straight shots. Fairways are well defined and groomed. There are a few benches scattered throughout the course.
Cons: The condition of the baskets and tee pads is poor. Design is outdated by today's course standards. There are multiple places where navigation becomes an issue. There is a secret, magical hole, that most people won't be able to find. Tee pads are down right dangerous. Some baskets are held in position by concrete stumps. If you land fairly close to the pin, and you throw dx plastic, you will have some chunks missing. All of the holes are relatively short and basic.
Other Thoughts: I am going to update this review since it was written so long ago. At one point this was the only course in Middle Tennessee. And you can tell that it was one of the first. Very little effort has been made to update. As evidenced by the fact that you can still actually buy lightning discs at the Ranger Station.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.