Lebanon, TN 
Cedars of Lebanon Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nostalgia that needs work

1    6/22/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: BMWRider
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Classic course, some challenging holes, nice terrain and friendly local players. The back nine is pretty decent, there is plenty of parking and most of the course is well shaded.
Cons: There is trash everywhere and I did not see cans to put it in. The course is poorly marked and the flow is not intuitive. I spent a lot of time looking for the next tee pad, particularly on the front 9. Most of the baskets are rusty (I did see at least one new one) and need some love. There are no distances or signs to indicate where the basket is.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while in Lebanon to attend a wedding. I spoke with a group of local players who told me this course was designed in the 1970s and I believe this is probably true. Looking around there is a lot of potential here. Yes the baskets are old and the course is poorly marked. But an active club could probably whip this into shape with a couple of work days. While playing I kept thinking to myself, 18 sets of chains, stencils, a measuring wheel, spray paint, etc. A few signs indicating next hole and this would be much nicer. I would also think 6 trashcans could help make a world of difference if the park could see fit to empty them. I hate that this course looks like a landfill in the making, the natural terrain is very nice and should be a highlight of the course.

In the end the shame of this course is that it is a classic that has been neglected. It is a good technical course that rewards the ability to throw in the "tunnel" and punishes a lack of disc control. While I have not been playing long, I have played a lot of courses in a short time including one other 40+ year old course. This could be gem with a little time and energy. If I were a local I would make this a pet project. When I return next month I will bring a trash bag and at least help out a bit.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

First Impression / Open mindness

1    3/1/2014   3/1/2014
Review By: Vibramterraius
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Originally posted : It is only because I don't like to rate anything in our sport of disc golf as being poor that is why this course is given above a 1.0
A couple of holes were well wooded and offered some degree of challenge. Playing a round with my son was great too. Tees were ample length.

Edited Post : I left a negative review here but that's not the way to leave it. So with an open mind I did go back to revisit this course in fact twice more just to be completely fair.

Tees are ample for throwing and have been numbered which really helped (see Cons) some are aged and beginning to wear alot.

Course has a good use of woods and terrain to offer some challenges along the way.

Less trash and debri around the couse now.
Cons: Original Post : Pretty much everything else really. Not well maintained in fact it was trash laying at every tee. Very very few course markers and absolutely no leads to the next tee.

Edited Post:
Definately the lack of signs at the Tees and no signs to lead you to the next tee seriously impacts this course.

The Tees are ample but aging and wearing some are in real need of repair.

Although less trash laying around than the initial visit there was still to much. Even plastic bottles hung on tree limbs here and there.
Other Thoughts: Original Post: Course needs revamped and some love given to it. Not a bad course layout really just needs a lot of help. Other than to help in a revamp / club project to the help this course I'll not be back to play again.

Edited post: Adding to the origianl post. This course has potential to rank as one of the best courses in the area but it needs disc golfers to step up and give the course and other players some respect. Hanging trash in trees REALLY!!!
So after going back with an open mind my first impression and first review of this course was tainted. So I am going to do what I can to help this course and try to improve our sport this summer. Beggining here now by bumping the rating from 1.5 to a 2 for the uniqueness of the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not The Best...

1    8/20/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: nashvilleguy99
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The park is a nice park nice scenery very easy to find and for the course again nice scenery and lots of shade great for summer play nice obstacle course
Cons: holes are way to short and basket and tees are hard to follow. To much stuff on ground and not upkeeped very well.
Other Thoughts: Probally will never play there again honestly

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some work

1    5/8/2009   2/1/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a wooded area in a state park that is solely dedicated to disc golf, so you probably won't run into any other park users during your round. There isn't much elevation, but there are some rock piles and sinkholes that come into play and add a little bit of the elevation element.

Most of the holes are pretty tight, and are a good balance of right and left turning shots with plenty of straight shots. There are a couple shots with wider fairways, but they still play through the woods and so you'll end up in trouble if you stray from the fairways.

This course really tests your accuracy, and makes you pay for errant shots without a big risk of losing your disc.
Cons: The course is totally flat, and every shot plays down a wooded corridor. On top of this, most of the holes fell in to the same distance range. This meant that the course felt very repetitive, without much real differentiation between holes. The lack of elevation also makes for poor drainage, and so the course gets very muddy after a rain and seemed to stay that way for a while (and the mud is good thick clay, so you'll take lots of it with you).

The course is very hard to follow in spots, with unused concrete tees scattered through the forest and no next tee markers. If not for seeing some locals, we would have had trouble even finding some holes, let alone playing them in the correct order.

Several of the baskets, tees and signs were in sad shape, and could use lots of work. There were concrete pedestals left behind under many baskets where the soil had eroded away, and it made for odd skips on upshots, and dings to softer plastic discs.
Other Thoughts: The course was a fun play, though hard to follow and not in the best shape. If you're driving by, this is a nice wooded course, but not a must-play. Newer players might find it a little frustrating to be in the trees the whole time. More experienced players will find some good accuracy and line shaping challenges here, but not enough variety to make it a really interesting course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Oldie but a goodie

5+    6/2/2011   7/9/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2013
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shady course in the woods, great for summer play. Great technical course for beginners as holes are shorter but still force you to stay in the fairways. More experienced players can still enjoy shot shaping through tighter lines and going for birdies. Take a step back in time and play an older course that reminds us of how disc golf was in its infancy.

#1 over the rocky sinkhole is one of the best looking opening holes around. #15 also has a basket placed over a large sinkhole and may be the hardest hole on the course. Both are unique holes.
Cons: Gets really muddy when it rains. A couple of holes are "hidden" down a path, and depending on how you play it, you may play 17-20 holes and not realize it. Baskets, tees, and signs are older as well and show it. Some effort has been made recently to correct the hole numbering, but there is still some inconsistencies between tees, signs, and baskets.
Other Thoughts: *Navigation Update*- There is now a white number painted on each tee to help with navigation and hole order. Essentially there are two #12's that are completely different, and then two #13's (that happen to play to the same basket). So after 11 you have a choice- backtrack up the fairway and play that 12/13, or walk down a trail to the other 12/13. Both finish at the same spot getting you ready for 14.

This is one of the older TN courses, the tees, signs, and baskets show their age, but the fairways are mature and well-broken in.

In a state park, so there is camping, picnicking, etc. Restrooms are at the park office.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.