Lebanon, TN 
Cedars of Lebanon Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    6/28/2013   7/28/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 141  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It was kind of cool to play a course that is older than me (by 7 years). Cedars is an all wooded course that had some neat holes. Here are my pros:

1) Some people don't like rocks on a course but it really adds character. The rocks, especially on hole 1, are really neat. You know you aren't playing some course in boring old Illinois (my home state) when you see stuff like this. The rocks were actually the most beautiful thing about the course. It took a nice gash out of one of my discs but oh well. It was visually stunning!

2) Cedars is a short course that didn't take too long to get through. It offers a variety of shot shapes, including straight putter shots, hyzer, anhyzer and flick shots.

3) The area of the park that the course is in is dedicated solely to disc golf. There's no risk of playing through a picnic or anything like that.

4) Even though its a fairly short course, the lines are fairly challenging. They are very fair but don't expect to just come out here and throw putters all day: the lines of the holes force you to throw some challenging shots. If you miss your line you will be punished.

Favorite Hole: Hole 18 was a challenging hole, a 350 foot hole with a tight line. My buddy and I were on the last course of a road trip and I took a 4 on this hole while he took a 2 on the hole, which left us tied. DESPITE my score it was still fun to throw that drive and the hole had a nice green just outside of the forest.
Cons: While this course did have some fun holes, you could tell the course was put in many years ago. The glory days of this course are gone but its still a nice course. I am giving it a Passable rating based on these factors:

1) The baskets looked original to the course and were very worn.

2) The navigation was not easy and the tee signs (when they were there) didn't offer anything outside of distances and a hole number.

3) The course truly had no signature holes and not a lot of memorable holes. I did like hole 18 and thought the rocks added some nice scenery to the course but the course felt very repetitive. I think that back in the day the course design was probably a solid B but unfortunately the holes were not too memorable.

4) This isn't a huge con for me, but this course is exclusively in the woods. If you don't like throwing through tight tunnels then this is not the course for you.
Other Thoughts: The Nashville area has some fun course. I wouldn't put this in my top three if you are going to be in the area but if you are in town for more than a few days and want to play all of the courses this one is playable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nostalgia that needs work

1    6/22/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: BMWRider
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Classic course, some challenging holes, nice terrain and friendly local players. The back nine is pretty decent, there is plenty of parking and most of the course is well shaded.
Cons: There is trash everywhere and I did not see cans to put it in. The course is poorly marked and the flow is not intuitive. I spent a lot of time looking for the next tee pad, particularly on the front 9. Most of the baskets are rusty (I did see at least one new one) and need some love. There are no distances or signs to indicate where the basket is.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while in Lebanon to attend a wedding. I spoke with a group of local players who told me this course was designed in the 1970s and I believe this is probably true. Looking around there is a lot of potential here. Yes the baskets are old and the course is poorly marked. But an active club could probably whip this into shape with a couple of work days. While playing I kept thinking to myself, 18 sets of chains, stencils, a measuring wheel, spray paint, etc. A few signs indicating next hole and this would be much nicer. I would also think 6 trashcans could help make a world of difference if the park could see fit to empty them. I hate that this course looks like a landfill in the making, the natural terrain is very nice and should be a highlight of the course.

In the end the shame of this course is that it is a classic that has been neglected. It is a good technical course that rewards the ability to throw in the "tunnel" and punishes a lack of disc control. While I have not been playing long, I have played a lot of courses in a short time including one other 40+ year old course. This could be gem with a little time and energy. If I were a local I would make this a pet project. When I return next month I will bring a trash bag and at least help out a bit.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

First Impression / Open mindness

1    3/1/2014   3/1/2014
Review By: Vibramterraius
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Originally posted : It is only because I don't like to rate anything in our sport of disc golf as being poor that is why this course is given above a 1.0
A couple of holes were well wooded and offered some degree of challenge. Playing a round with my son was great too. Tees were ample length.

Edited Post : I left a negative review here but that's not the way to leave it. So with an open mind I did go back to revisit this course in fact twice more just to be completely fair.

Tees are ample for throwing and have been numbered which really helped (see Cons) some are aged and beginning to wear alot.

Course has a good use of woods and terrain to offer some challenges along the way.

Less trash and debri around the couse now.
Cons: Original Post : Pretty much everything else really. Not well maintained in fact it was trash laying at every tee. Very very few course markers and absolutely no leads to the next tee.

Edited Post:
Definately the lack of signs at the Tees and no signs to lead you to the next tee seriously impacts this course.

The Tees are ample but aging and wearing some are in real need of repair.

Although less trash laying around than the initial visit there was still to much. Even plastic bottles hung on tree limbs here and there.
Other Thoughts: Original Post: Course needs revamped and some love given to it. Not a bad course layout really just needs a lot of help. Other than to help in a revamp / club project to the help this course I'll not be back to play again.

Edited post: Adding to the origianl post. This course has potential to rank as one of the best courses in the area but it needs disc golfers to step up and give the course and other players some respect. Hanging trash in trees REALLY!!!
So after going back with an open mind my first impression and first review of this course was tainted. So I am going to do what I can to help this course and try to improve our sport this summer. Beggining here now by bumping the rating from 1.5 to a 2 for the uniqueness of the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the rough.

5+    11/22/2012   11/22/2012
Review By: discoe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging, heavily wooded holes with narrow fairways.
-No hole feels the same. Every hole presents a new challenge.
Cons: -Unforgiving rough.
-No open holes.
-Course navigation is difficult and there is no signage.
Other Thoughts: This course was designed back in the day. There aren't any shots that require a monster drive. However, this course will frustrate anyone with its unforgiving rough and focus on mid-range precision. The course is maintained by a group of loyal disc golfers who do what they can, when they can. The park neglects the course and doesn't even change the trash. Littering is a huge problem out here. This course has the potential to be a "must-play" in the Middle TN area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not The Best...

1    8/20/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: nashvilleguy99
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The park is a nice park nice scenery very easy to find and for the course again nice scenery and lots of shade great for summer play nice obstacle course
Cons: holes are way to short and basket and tees are hard to follow. To much stuff on ground and not upkeeped very well.
Other Thoughts: Probally will never play there again honestly

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old school and entertaining

1    2/1/2011   2/1/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 231  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cedars shows how a course was designed way back in the day when the farthest flying disc would go about as far as you could throw a Roc or Buzzz these days. This completely wooded layout forces hyzers, anhyzers and a few straight shots off the tees. Most fairways are well defined with several being not so straightforward. A lot of the holes are blind shots with fairly open greens so if you can make it unscathed through the fairway, you should have a good chance at birdie. The rough isn't so thick that you can lose a disc but it will cost a stroke if you go in early off the tee. The baskets appear to be the original ones from when the course was installed. The tee pads are all uniform and are adequately sized for this layout. Most of the tee pads have benches nearby in case you want to rest and enjoy the scenery in between holes. There are several ace runs out there as well as a few longer holes that force you to execute a lengthy controlled drive to stay in the fairway and reach the green.
Cons: Navigation from hole to hole is troublesome unless you've played here before or are with a local. There are multiple times after a hole where there are several different paths to other tee pads but no indication of which is which. Most of the signs are also missing, leaving no indication of which hole is which, the distances and the basket placement. With a lot of the baskets being not directly in front of you, it leaves a lot of searching to be done to know where you're throwing. This really threw me off but there's a park installed bench in the middle of number 16s fairway.
Other Thoughts: Cedars is a fun out-of-the-way course that is different than many of the other courses you'll find these days. The old school nature of the course and quiet scenic features of the park make for a great golfing experience. More skilled players might look at this course as good practice on their short game with an array of mid-range shots. Less skilled players might get frustrated at the amount of trees and rough but can find comfort in that none of the holes are monstrously long.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I love this course

2-4    7/30/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2010
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course mixes up a variety of open and wooded holes that are hard enough to be challenging but easy enough for that occasional birdie.
Cons: Some of the holes can be hard to navigate. Though I keep track of the numbers very closely, we always wind up playing 19 holes.
Other Thoughts: Every times I go near Lebanon I play this course. And the local rangers have some loner discs if you don't wanna buy one from the gas station but I think a dog chewed on most of them. The course feels like the bastard step child of Seven Oaks and Cedar Hill, which is awesome.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some work

1    5/8/2009   2/1/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a wooded area in a state park that is solely dedicated to disc golf, so you probably won't run into any other park users during your round. There isn't much elevation, but there are some rock piles and sinkholes that come into play and add a little bit of the elevation element.

Most of the holes are pretty tight, and are a good balance of right and left turning shots with plenty of straight shots. There are a couple shots with wider fairways, but they still play through the woods and so you'll end up in trouble if you stray from the fairways.

This course really tests your accuracy, and makes you pay for errant shots without a big risk of losing your disc.
Cons: The course is totally flat, and every shot plays down a wooded corridor. On top of this, most of the holes fell in to the same distance range. This meant that the course felt very repetitive, without much real differentiation between holes. The lack of elevation also makes for poor drainage, and so the course gets very muddy after a rain and seemed to stay that way for a while (and the mud is good thick clay, so you'll take lots of it with you).

The course is very hard to follow in spots, with unused concrete tees scattered through the forest and no next tee markers. If not for seeing some locals, we would have had trouble even finding some holes, let alone playing them in the correct order.

Several of the baskets, tees and signs were in sad shape, and could use lots of work. There were concrete pedestals left behind under many baskets where the soil had eroded away, and it made for odd skips on upshots, and dings to softer plastic discs.
Other Thoughts: The course was a fun play, though hard to follow and not in the best shape. If you're driving by, this is a nice wooded course, but not a must-play. Newer players might find it a little frustrating to be in the trees the whole time. More experienced players will find some good accuracy and line shaping challenges here, but not enough variety to make it a really interesting course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 definetly improved

1    11/26/2009   11/26/2009
Review By: 2naphish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 33.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice short course that demands accuracy.a great place in middle tennesse to go when it's cold or windy.also shaded and cool in the hot summer months. short enoungh to play multiple rounds without wearing out older players like me.
Cons: equipment is very old . tee pads are small and you will need to rethink run ups to more of an upshot type throw.
Other Thoughts: a huge amount of work has been done over the summer 2009. this is all volunteer work by a group of local golfers.the state has no funds and a minimum staff for course maintenence. truckloads of mulch have been spread, baskets repaired, retaining walls and logs have been placed to help with erosion control. signage is still a problem as this course has been through several different configurations and there are extra tees that lead to nothing. current course maps will soon be available at the info sign near tee #1

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not half bad

1    5/30/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: ChronoDisc
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course isnt as bad as people make it out to be. sure it is a little old and it is all par threes. not a single long hole. i found it quite nice to not be chucking it as hard as possible to get it to a pin 500 ft away. if you need some woods pracice this is the place to be. i found it to be a very relaxing course that didnt wear my arm out.
Cons: you will run right off the end of the tee box and flat onto your face. the baskets are pretty old. the maps of the holes were mostly unreadable or nonexistant but we took it as a challenge.
Other Thoughts: overall a pretty decent course. can be a little annoying in some spots but i thoroughly enjoyed my visit. i would recommend to anyone worked on their wooded game, beginners, or just anybody looking for an original disc golf course.

planning to go take a day to play and replace all of the signs (if the park will let me) if anybody in the area would like to help me out i would greatly appreciate it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.