Nampa, ID 
Osborne Park Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #7 (Taken 11/2010)
4 / 389ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket.



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Just Who Was This Course Designed For?

1    7/25/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Osborne Park is a large sprawling park which at first glance appears to be just a typical little neighborhood park but you later find it extends far back into the neighborhood. The park besides this large open expanse of lawn has a children's play area, picnic area and Santi Can.
I have to question the design here. There are a couple of interesting holes with challenge, a few long open boring holes throwing across open lawns and others where losing discs is a real possibility.
# 3 is a 305' hole where you have to be able to throw 280' in order to clear a dry, swampy area with waist high grass. For many players, this is a poorly designed hole offering no alternative route.
Everyone loves the challenge of # 6. It's 519' with the basket set back in the trees to the left. You have to throw over a small creek to reach the first landing zone and from there the basket is well guarded with a small group of trees.
Cons: Holes 1 & 2 are pretty much open,flat and boring throws.
I think # 7 is one of poorest designed holes that I've encountered on a course anywhere. It's a 389' Par 4 but it's the tee shot that unnerves me. It's not quite straight so many players will attempt to annie their tee shot directly over a neighbors fence and yard. So many discs are going to land in this neighbor's yard that this hole is a disaster waiting to happen.
# 8 and # 9 are both holes with the drainage ditch bordering all the way down on your left. So many Rec type players are going to hyzer their shots into this ditch and the rugged wild area beyond it.
Other Thoughts: Advanced type players will love 3, 4, 5 and 6 and won't have any problems with 8 and 9. However, the average Joe playing this course is going to either skip # 3 or spend time searching here, lose his discs on the last two holes and possibly brain the neighbor's kid on # 7, and then "Poof" and this course might just get shutdown by the authorities.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    5/25/2013   12/26/2013
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 31  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 4-6 are nice.
Good mixture of hole lengths.
Hole 6 is a great par 4/5 that crosses a small canal and has a great basket location. It's a tough par and even tougher birdie.
There's some promising potential for this park as the trees mature.
There are some challenging holes and you will have to be on target to post a good score and stay dry.
Cons: The park is newer and the trees on many holes are still small and don't create great hazards.
This park seems to be prone to vandalism; basket 1 was missing the day we played and I have heard from other players that missing baskets are a problem here. If you have your own portable, you might want to bring it with you.
The large irrigation canal will swallow a bad shot on a few holes.
The park is a little hard to find, so print some directions or turn on your GPS first.
Hole 1 is not easy to find.
It's a fairly long hike back to #1 when you finish.
Other Thoughts: I was really looking forward to playing the locally famous #6, but the basket was in a much closer and easier position on the day we played. I was very disappointed. Note to Parks and Rec and/or the local club: "Please keep #6 in the long pin location; it's a signature hole when the basket is tucked back in the far grove of trees." Players are going to want to play it after they read about it. The other holes could benefit from alternate pin locations, BUT NOT #6! I'm going to bring my basket next time so that I can play #6 in that position no matter what. You could combine this park with West Park for a good day of chuckin the plastic.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Needs Some TLC

1    6/2/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: dandther
Played: 41  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 39.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole 3, over the "dry pond" according to the map, is fun. Yes, you can lose a disc here. Deal with it.

Hole 4 has a challenging basket, tucked behind some mature trees.

Hole 6 is outstanding, as noted by other reviewers.

Several very long holes, which I enjoyed.
Cons: As of June, 2013: None of the baskets have hole numbers (West Park in Nampa has holes marked on baskets).
Basket for hole 1 is missing.
Tee sign for hole 5 is missing. Map provided by city is wrong in a number of ways, so I played to what I think is number 9. (That's the map linked on this site).
It's a long walk from 9 to get back to where you park.
Just like West Park, the tee pads are too short for people who want a little more of a run-up.
A couple of baskets are in different locations than the city map shows. At least I think so.
If you find the park in the subdivision, it's not obvious where to start.
Other Thoughts: I played in a steady 25+ mph wind, which amped up the difficulty. However, my rating of 1.5 would not change even if there had been no wind. It would change if the baskets were all here, the signs were correct, and the tee pads were larger.

I'm in Nampa for a week for business. I'll play West Park again. I might play again here, but there's nothing pulling me back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/12/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: I da ho
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: *The Boise area should be loaded with dg courses, but it's not. It's nice to have this 9-hole neighborhood course as an option.
*The course design makes nice use of trees and other obstacles.
Cons: *Hole 3's tall grass is a black hole for discs. Not in a cool way.
*It's difficult to spot all the tee pads and baskets. I had to make some tough calls on where to throw, and was ultimately unconvinced I had played all the holes as designed.

 9 hole course with 4 great holes.

2-4    5/30/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: DoOgSauce
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Holes 4, 5, 6, and 7 are great, the rest are pretty good. Hole 4 is short with some consequences if you go deep. hole 5 is weird. I played it down the canal through the gap. the hyzer line would be tough. Hole 6 is amazing, lots of ways to play the hole and a well guarded basket. 7 is fun and can be played a variety of ways.

It would be easy to make some mandos and or o.b. on 5, 6, and 7 and make the holes play much differently for a second time through.

All the grass is mowed, the park is really nice.
Cons: Hole 2's tee-pad. It is easily remedied by throwing from the path. One porta john at hole 1 makes for a long walk to the bathroom from anywhere else on the course.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course a lot and will play here again. Wish it was closer to where I live in Boise. I wish Boise would build some nine holers like this to take pressure off Ann Mo and provide relief from the chuckers that seem to always be at ann mo.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Slow suburban death

1    8/17/2011   1/17/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 164  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice grass, open style of holes. Boring with exceptions for an advanced player, much too long with terminal water hazards for beginners. I hunted for a disc on #3 for 15 mins. in the thick, flattened grass. #s 4-6 are the best holes, but with consequences of losing a disc. No elevation, few trees.
Oops, I forgot, this is the POSITIVE section of the review. Hmmm...when some of the vegetation matures, the course will improve somewhat, but that may take years. If I lived in the neighborhood I'd create alternate hole layouts that were more entertaining. Quality baskets, decent grass. A bathroom. That's all I got.
Cons: Can be very windy. Few obstacles/variations of holes[there needs to be MUCH more planned, planted vegetation, especially trees]. No alternate pin placements. Little escape from the sun. Terminal water hazards for discs, and the irrigation canal is deep and swift enough to sweep the unwary downstream and into the submerged culvert. In view of 200+ residents at all times. Tee #2 is so slanted downhill I could not throw from it. A dud.
Other Thoughts: If you're passing through and need a disc fix, try to stop at Ann Morrison in Boise instead. If you live in Nampa, you have my sympathies.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sloppy Wet Muddy Lost Disc

1    9/18/2011   9/18/2011
Review By: zackparlin
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice layout, some approach shots near inpossible. Some holes point to point with little naural obsticals.
Cons: Overwatered, some tough holes, disc snatching canal on #8. Lightning Hyzer floaters don't float. Deep mud in the anal beds too.
Other Thoughts: Not a course for a rookie. First 6 holes ok for the beginner.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging for a neighborhood course

5+    7/7/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: theabacus
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Several challenging holes, unique holes. Fairways well maintained. Not busy. Very well marked with signs and tee pads.
Cons: A number of the holes are boring. Of the 9, about 4-5 are good; the others are filler. Not for beginners. Disc eating canals and overgrown plants (in the canals). Difficult to find the park as it is surrounded by subdivisions. However, course is easy to find once you get to the park.
Other Thoughts: I live very close to this course and play it very frequently. I enjoy the course; worth playing more than once. Great course to practice on. Much more challenging than the nearby West Park course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/6/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Osborne is a pretty average neighborhood park which nevertheless has a couple of interesting features and a great hole I profile below. While there aren't really many obstacles in terms of elevation, trees, or water; the designers have done a nice job of using what was available. The first section plays mostly over open fields and very young pines - the main hazards here are wind and the creek bed if your shot is very errant. The second section has more trees which force wider lines - this is definitely the best part of the course and includes a few short shots into or around thick stands of pencil trees. Finally, the course concludes with several more relatively boring open field holes.

SuperHole: After playing a bunch of pretty mediocre holes, hole six seems like it was accidentally dropped here from a championship course. Listed as 519ft, six plays as a moderately tricky par four with a pretty clear landing zone which is split in half by a small creek. From there, a tricky stand of small trees protects the pin from errant approach shots.
Cons: As I mentioned above, most of the course just doesn't have interesting terrain features such as elevation or fairway defining trees. Course designers have done a good job maximizing available obstacles but, overall, Osborne still stands as a rather bland beginner-level course.
Other Thoughts: There are some really strange neighbors on the corner of the park who, as we entered, were staring at us through their sliding back door for at least a full 60 seconds straight. Within minutes we could see a park pickup was scoping out our parked car (with Washington plates). Not sure what this was all about but we were practically on the other side of the course when this was all happening.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Osborne Park

1    4/30/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Osborne Park has nice green grass, good baskets, tee pads and signs and is easy to navigate. Most of the holes have only a couple of trees with holes one, two, eight and nine really lacking in the obstacle department. Osborne Park starts out bland with a wide open long bomber hole but starts to get much better by hole three. Holes three through seven are the really enjoyable holes that make up for the open and boring starting and ending holes. Hole three is a blind shot through the tree towards a basket on the other side, kind of fun throw. Four is a shorty but protected by trees and the creek running in the background but this is your best chance for an ace on this course. Five is an interesting double fairway that potentially throws over the creek and hole six is one of the cooler looking par five holes I've seen.
Cons: I wish that some more trees were in play for the aforementioned starting and finishing group of back to backers. I'm not sure I like the distances they are for being a par four, it seems like a three or a four is way too easy to achieve on these holes with fives coming much less often.
Other Thoughts: I'm not really sure how much more could be done to really make this course all that much better. If there were some more trees or any trees involved in some of the longer par fours this course could be something spectacular. This is a solid nine hole course and an interested option in the area if not just to play the fun par five and check this course off your list.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.