Hoisington , KS 
Bicentennial Park Share
Uploaded By: templink Hole #6 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 301ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I guess I'll tee off from the hotel's patio??

2-4    11/1/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 250  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The grounds are well maintained and there is a restroom and a playground here as well.
Rounds will play quickly and you will most likely have the course to yourself.
This is a very beginner friendly course and disc loss should be null here.
Hole 6 was my favorite hole.
Hole 1-plays around a group of cedar/pine trees and makes a sharp dog leg to the right
Holes 2-4-all play around/beside a terrace/drainage ditch
Hole 5-depending on where you tee off from, has a semi protected basket
Hole 6-is a nice straight shot with the basket under some pine trees
Hole 7-throws to the center of the park from West to East
Hole 8-is a straight shot that plays North to South
Hole 9-has a group of trees protecting the basket
Cons: Baskets aren't the best in the world, but they are ok. No map or any info besides distances on a homemade tee marker.
#5 Tee marker is missing. I would guess it was somewhere where the hotel currently sits, so inventing a tee is necessary here.
Wind will be a factor here because of the lack of trees. There isn't any elevation change.
Sidewalks come into play on several holes so be careful.
The walk from 9's basket to the parking lot is very lengthy.
A mostly open course with very few obstacles makes for lackluster discing in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: This is a course where you might introduce a new player to the game. A more advanced player will most likely be bored here. If you like safari action then this course might be up your alley.
In my opinion there just isn't enough variety here to make for an exciting course. Its functionable and for a small town its another option to keep people active. Planting some trees would help make for some better lines and provide a better challenge.
This course isn't a destination course but is a place where you might stop and play a quick round on your way thru.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bicentennial Park

1    5/21/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: Heater88
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to follow. Good use of space and limited trees. Park was well maintained. Had the course to myself.
Cons: Tee signs have seen better days. Sign #5 is still missing (or I never found it). Watch out for walkers/joggers. #9 doesn't finish close to parking lot.
Other Thoughts: I played the course straight up first. Every hole was a driver followed up by putter. Once I got to #9 I played basket to basket backwards back to #1. I was able to practice a few mid-range shots that way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hoisington

1    8/17/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: templink
Played: 57  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Grass tees are marked by small signs indicating hole number and distance to basket.
-Baskets are numbered.
-Easy navigation to next hole, always a plus for first time playing a course.
-Well maintained grass
-Every fairway offered at least some challenge: a tree or a slight bend. No pointless holes.
Cons: -No welcome sign or map.
-Hole #5 basket is there but tee sign missing. I think the new Cheyenne Bottoms Inn was built on the fairway. You can still shoot at the basket from wherever you want, but obviously need to avoid hitting the hotel.
Other Thoughts: Decent 9 hole course. Suitable for beginners, or advanced players looking for a short or practice round. I was here in August and the grass was dry, so I didn't miss having actual tee pads. Under wet conditions, concrete or asphalt would be preferable for stable footing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Did the best with what little they had here

1    1/26/2010   1/27/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good recreational caliber course. Flow is very logical and getting from hole to hole is easy. What few trees are here are used well. You get some decent woodsiness on the middle three holes. Loss of disc risk here is next to zilch so no worries about lost discs unless the (drainage ditch is full). Baskets are in good shape and catch decent for homemades (they do have dead spots though).
Cons: Open for most of the course. Very little variation in hole length. All the holes except for #9 are between 259' and 301'. Pro advanced players here can probably birdie several of these but for the recreational players it was designed for, birdies will be a rare treat. Very tweenerish for that skill level. Walking/exercise path through course could pose a safety hazard. Watch before you throw. Have to backtrack getting from Hole 9 back to Hole 1. Slight lefty bias. Tee signs are loose may be twisted the wrong direction.
Other Thoughts: For a small town like Hoisington, this course is fine. I think you can even get away without concrete tees here. Some tree planting to add challenge could possibly spruce this up a bit. The park can get traffic if there are people using the other amenities or the ballfields are in use. Nothing special, but right along the highway if you're passing through town and need a quick nine.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.