Nashville, TN 
Two Rivers Park Share
Uploaded By: dgdoctor Hole #1 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 223ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Better than it's rating.

1    10/5/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: BigMikey
Played: 47  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Good use of elevation, up and down hill shots required.
--grass mowed very close, great for rollers.
--Lots of different pin positions.
Cons: --no benches.
--signs are there just not much detail. Missing a couple yardages.
--could be busy with non DG people.
Other Thoughts: Nice course with a wide variety of distances, from 180ish to over 400ft. Mostly open but has enough mature trees to require shot shaping on most holes. Enjoyable course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Driving Range

1    1/19/2013   1/29/2013
Review By: WillAnderson
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great place to air it out & get some exercise! Situated near a wave pool/water park, this little gem will have the out of shape huffing & puffing! The scenery is quite nice, rolling hills. The front half of the course plays very quickly with shorter holes & long ones that are easy to park. The baskets are in decent shape. The only obstacles on the course will be your bad driving habits if any. I'd recommend this course to anyone practicing a new run up or trying out a new set of drivers. Blizzards really love this course too! Grip it & rip it!
Cons: BORING! While it's nice to go big sometimes, it's not DG at its finest. The pads are inconsistent, some carpet, mostly concrete. The signage is dilapidated & confusing. It's easy to get lost because many of the signs have been vandalized, and all of them are on their last limb bc they've been turned backwards and reused. Tee pads that don't go to holes are everywhere. Some signs are marked for B basket for example, but the B basket isn't indicated on the map.
Other Thoughts: Take your time navigating, and look for the basket before your throw. I wouldn't bring anyone with joint or health problems bc the course goes up & down many times on these big open hills. If your disc goes over the fence, into the Waterpark area...that's trespassing brotha. The signs clearly say not to jump the fence for disc retrieval. A phone # would be nice.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Rating doesn't accurately describe the course

5+    11/3/2012   11/20/2012
Review By: Bencybul
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open course layout that is perfect for the beginning player, but has definite length and great elevation changes for the more experienced disc golfer. There is the opportunity to try out a number of different shots as well, without too much risk.
Plus, the park is absolutely beautiful. Every time I have gone the holes are well taken care of and baskets, although some need to be re-marked, are in great condition
Cons: -The park is rather busy, so you do have to contend with bikers on some holes.
-No next tee signs near the baskets.
-Remnants of disc golf course of the past can make some shots confusing ( but are great for making different holes for tiebreakers
Other Thoughts: This course is a necessary counterpart to Seven Oaks right down the Road. Where nearly every shot is a punishment and the lines are at time inconceivable. I think that both of them are great courses in their own rights. Are there small changes that could be made to make this a much more difficult course? Absolutely, but this course is excellent for what it is.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good basic course

2-4    10/15/2012   10/16/2012
Review By: Tacoma4x4
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for the beginner. If you take every chance/risk, it is a blast for more experienced player. The wind adds an awesome feature, just see how far you can bend some shots on gusty days. The course is in good shape, and they have recently moved the pin on 11 around to bring back some elevation. Good holes are 11, 14, 5(one of my favorites), and of course I love #1 on a very cross breeze day.
Cons: It is pretty easy overall. I'm by no means terrific compared to some of you men and women. The course is forgiving about 70% of the time. but the upkeep is good, and its a quick hour with friendly people.
Other Thoughts: To the people responsible, use the gradual up and down hills more effectively. The course could be more challenging, without being longer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Serves its purpose

1    10/10/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole course in a large city park. Mix of carpet and concrete tee pads that all worked well. Signs at tees showing multiple basket locations with the washer system to show current layout. Course is pretty wide open so you can simply look at the basket to know where you're headed.

Rolling hills and scattered mature trees are the setting for this course. No line shaping or tight gaps to hit. Plenty of room for error, and multiple shots could be used to reach most baskets. Nice looking course that is open enough on the hills to allow wind to impact throws on certain days. Course also has virtually zero lost disc potential.

Several of the baskets are tucked behind or near large trees to add to the challenge. This course did what it could with the layout to make things as interesting as it could be. There are a decent amount of small up and downhills throws. There is also a few baskets with some sloping ground to add some risk to putts and approaches.

With the open layout of this course, and distances ranging from 221' to 378' this would be a great course for newer players or to bring less skilled friends. Nothing overly challenging or brutal that would discourage lesser players from having a good time. With all the more challenging wooded courses in the area this looks like a good choice for practice rounds or rookies.
Cons: Signs are old and need replacement. I would also question some of the distances.

It looks like there are some random extra tee pads around. There might be some alternate layouts with more challenge, but without better signs I had no clue.

Every shot is pretty straight and simple. Not a hole on the course where you are excited or in awe.
Other Thoughts: Not a ton you can say about this course. It is decent in a typical open park setting kind of way. Nothing offensive and nothing great. If you are in Nashville and looking for an open course to practice or bring a new player this would be a nice option. Every city should have at least one of these type courses, but I wouldn't travel out of my way to go there.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Training course

5+    8/20/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: mm1315
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Two Rivers is a fairly open and beginner friendly course, that being said it can still be a challenging course even for more advanced players if you are really trying to go for it on every shot not to mention there always seems to be some kind of wind. Most holes have multiple lines for reaching each pin placement so no matter your playing style you have a good chance at reaching the basket. Both a pro and con it is a fairly short course with only a few long (350+) holes. I consider this more of a training course that is great for working on touch shots, new discs or learning to play in the wind.
Cons: This is a multi-use park so you have to be careful and watch for other park visitors, mainly on the front half of the course due to the bike/walking path. Inconsistent tee pads can be annoying at times. Some are a little dangerous I've tripped or lost my footing on tee pads for hole 4, 15 and 17, but I've heard they will be doing some work on them in the coming months. Signs are poor not showing where the next tee pad is and even missing some of the pin placements, best to play your first round or two with someone that has played there before. Finding the first hole can be interesting if it's your first time, it's back where you entered the park but there is no parking anywhere near the tee for hole one. Moles seem to be prevalent here as well so you have to watch your footing at times when walking.
Other Thoughts: Not my favorite but I play here often since it gives you more freedom to test out different shots and work in your wind practice. It would be nicer if there were a few more long holes to work on your distance throws in the open field. I will give a brief overview of the holes of the course to give you an idea of what you'll be getting into. I must mention I am a right handed backhand player, so any shot suggestions are given with that in mind unless otherwise noted.

Hole one is a fairly simply hole the pin is a good ways below you, straight ahead behind a large tree. The low hanging branches on the right side make this a nice touch shot coming low under them, most pros I've seen will try a high hyzer and attempt to crash through the tree with varied success. The left side of the tree is more open making it a bit more of a side-arm or lefty friendly hole. This is a possible ace (hole in one) hole but not guaranteed, I have clipped the basket with a side-arm and low skip shot.

Hole two, a fairly straight forward shot with the basket straight ahead, an OB (out of bounds) road 15-20 feet past it and a tree on the right side. There is also a rather large tree just a little ways off whose branches now are low hanging and blocking the hyzer line. This is the first true ace hole, though you can risk going OB if you throw a little too high. A nice slow anhyzer or straight shot is the preferred route, once again this is a lefty/side-arm friendly hole.

Hole three is the first difficult shot if it is in one of the long positions. The short position is straight ahead and easy to reach, but the pin is rarely in this location. On this Hole you are throwing uphill towards the tree line, a blind shot since you can't see the gap you are trying to reach and there is almost always wind here to affect your disc. The gap is almost straight ahead but only roughly 10-15 feet wide with a couple of trees in the dead center, it is easy to block yourself out off the tee if you get a little too far right or left. There is a high window on the right about 30 feet from the main gap if you happen to pull your shot right off the tee. This hole definitely forces you to place your shots well.

Hole four forces you to throw through a twenty foot gap forty feet away, not a difficult shot but the fact that you are throwing slightly up hill and the ground levels out then goes downhill means you have to place your shot well again. The first pin position is a fairly simple hyzer through the gap and turning left, there tends to be a headwind you don't feel off the tee here that can mess with your disc a little. The second pin placement is nearly straight ahead a little off to the right, the uphill then downhill factor coupled with the headwind can make this a challenging shot at times. Both pin placements force you to throw blind shots.

Hole five is fairly straight forward, a downhill shot with the ground sloping downhill right to left. The pin is slightly off to the right with a few trees to shape your shot around. Preferred route is throwing straight at it avoiding the low ceiling, but there is also an option of throwing a stall shot through a right gap and letting your disc fade towards the basket. A touch shot but this is the second possible ace hole.

Hole six is straight ahead on a slight incline, fairly open allowing a wide range of shots. Still this requires placement if you can't reach the pin in one shot because it is possible to have your disc roll away if you miss your upshot.

Hole seven shares a tee pad with hole nine, another nice touch shot here on either pin placement. If the pin is in the first placement it is straight down the path and a little to the right, with trees on the left and right creating a 15-20 foot gap about halfway to the pin and a low ceiling. The ground falls away to the right so getting your disc to settle and not roll away is key. The second pin placement is down the path and to the left near the paved path (OB). You can take the same gap as in the first pin placement here just making sure to end up left but not going over the paved path and out of bounds. The second line is to go to the left of the tree just left of the path, great shot for lefty/side-arms or if you have nice anhyzer shot. Even if you do make a good shot off the tee you must be careful not to push too hard on your putt and end up OB on the path beyond the pin.

Hole eight is slightly uphill straight ahead with the ground sloping downhill to the left. A fairly straight forward shot, what makes it interesting is the wind can really affect your disc here being on top of the hill. I have played here a lot and the wind can come from just about any direction.

Hole nine is straight ahead down the path or possibly to the left just off the path but it rarely changes position. This is another touch shot but is a possible ace if you can throw long and straight. The main problem here is there is a major slope going right to left downhill the entire length of the fairway making this a very interesting shot for right hand backhand throwers. If your disc hyzers out at the end you can be looking at a very difficult putt with the basket at a considerably higher elevation. Trees down the left side can block you out if your shot isn't perfectly on line here. There is another option of taking a wide hyzer to the right following the slope of the hill around a tree if you can place it well and not skip to far, this is my preferred shot here.

Hole ten has two placements, the first is behind a tree straight ahead . The ground slopes downhill right to left again, that being said the preferred line is a hyzer crashing in at the basket near the tree. The second placement is in the flat of the valley with a large tree on the left forcing you to shape your shot. The preferred shot here is throwing straight out barely missing the tree on the left, the only downside is the distance you have to get with this is difficult unless you have some real power. The wind can affect your shot hear as well. Another option is if you have a good tomahawk shot you can flex around the tree. The third option is throwing a wide anhyzer around the tree to the left and letting it work back towards the basket, this is the route I have seen a few pros take.

Hole eleven is downhill straight ahead behind a large tree. This is another ace hole if you can shape your shot around the tree.

Hole twelve is possibly the longest hole on the course depending on the pin placement. Trees on the left, right and straight ahead will make you shape your shot somewhat. The pin placements are focused around the large tree about 300ft away, being left, right or about 150ft behind. This is a great hole to work on your flex shot or flip up hyzer. The wind here swirls around and can affect your disc tremendously; I have experienced headwinds, crosswinds and tailwinds here making this a good hole to practice getting distance in the different types of wind.

Hole thirteen can be touchy depending on the pin placement. The ground falls away left and right off the main path down the center. The first pin placement is down the path just off to the right behind a large tree, choosing how to deal with the tree makes this a very touchy shot. I consider this placement more lefty or side-arm friendly. The second placement is straight ahead beyond the trees by about 50-75ft and a good 10-15 higher in elevation. The trees create a low ceiling that force you to throw long and straight and you are still left with a difficult putt uphill. If you have the power it is possible to take the trees out of play going with a high hyzer up and over them, but that can bring the wind into play.

Hole fourteen you are throwing over a valley at the pin in one of two positions on the opposite hillside, the wind tends to push you left here towards the woods/bushes so be sure to put your shot out wide enough. The first pin placement is wide open, the second is slightly behind a tree. There is a possibility of going too far and going over the fence if the wind takes your disc, but not a consideration for most.

Hole fifteen focuses around an uphill shot around a large cedar tree directly ahead and a few other trees beyond. There are two pin placements, the first on the right is an easy soft hyzer. The second placement is directly ahead past the cedar tree, the hyzer shot here is difficult being uphill with the trees beyond the cedar creating a low ceiling. There is a fence running down the left side of the fairway that is possible to throw a large anhyzer for those that have the shot, just make sure you force it over enough to keep it in the fairway. This is another lefty/side-arm friendly position.

Hole sixteen has two placements with the ground sloping downhill to a great degree left to right with trees creating a low ceiling. Placement one is straight ahead behind a tree, this is a touchy shot with all the trees around and low ceiling. The second placement is straight and right almost at the bottom of the hill below the second far tree on the right. A nice semi-flat anhyzer or trying to crash through the tree on the right near the basket are about the only two options you have here. There tends to be a tailwind or slight crosswind here so choosing the right disc to reach the basket is key.

Hole seventeen is slightly uphill with a mando on the tree straight ahead and slightly to the right (you must be left of the tree with your shot). The pin is straight ahead and slightly off to the right with a wide gap to throw through and a large tree between you and the basket. An anhyzer is the best option here just make sure to clear the mando being uphill this can be a little touchy, yet another lefty/side-arm friendly hole.

Hole eighteen is straight ahead across a slight valley with an OB road (and fence) running down the left side of the fairway. The tree the tee pad is under can sometimes create a low ceiling if it hasn't been trimmed. There are two pin placements, the short one is straight ahead reachable with just about any shot you want to go at it with and a possible ace hole. The second is long with the basket situated amongst three guardian trees. The interesting factor here is the wind, sometimes there is a crosswind from right to left that can push your disc OB. At other times there is a headwind that pushes your disc right and you can be in danger of hitting the playground area. Using the wind to your advantage here is key.

Well I hope this helps give you an idea of the course and what to expect, have fun.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/6/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: entangled
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not too much to brag about here. There are baskets here, that is always good. People new to the game can throw a good round here without climbing up and down hills now that there has been a remodel of the layout. Nice practice spot where you don't have to worry about losing discs. Also for the locals this is a great place for practice ripping on the old pad and pin positions that were very long and downhill.
Cons: The bad thing is that this place is usually very crowded with non disc golfers making it hard to shoot a round without distractions and holdup's. With the new layout there are lot of the same shot back and forth along the sides of the hills. There are several dangerous tee locations as well. Not much shade, hardly any trash cans, no benches, etc. Least favorite of all Nashville courses by most locals. They have managed to destroy a great course in my opinion. It's a shame too because this was one of the only courses where you could come rip your driver with full power and get the full potential out of the disc down those awesome elevation changes that they hardly use anymore. Out of towners will have a tough time of trying to find their way around the course. Hole 1 is by the main entrance by the road by the way. Signs are clustered and confusing now.
Other Thoughts: I used to play here often after a round at Seven Oaks to get some major elevation rips out there. I used to kill it here before they made it even easier. Sure walking up those hills was tiresome but the shots at the top back down were unlike anything we had here in Nashville. Now they barely use the great elevation changes here. Instead of shooting down an awesome hill you are shooting across back and forth. Still hot and shadeless and walking back and forth, just not getting that awesome shot. Used to have concrete tees, accurate signs, and awesome shots. Now none of the above. On an early morning if no one is there I still go and play the old layout. It can still be done with a couple of minor changes. 18 is one of the only shots like there used to be. I will miss 14 from the top of the hill forever.

I guess I see what they were trying to do with the remodel. Due to the shared park with non disc golfers there were some very dangerous and sometimes annoying situations. Throwing a blind shot down on 3 to see an angry biker coming up around the hill that you almost killed was never good. New players were always complaining about the hills so it hardly got played and they were probably trying to increase traffic. The climb was worth it for the shot in my eyes though. The higher the climb the more fun the shot. I loved seeing my discs fly farther than they ever had before down those rolling fairways.

There used to be a 10 percent window of the year that I really enjoyed playing here. Early fall when the wind and sun were not so bad and the children were at school. Now I hardly have the urge to go at all, unless I know that no one is there and I can shoot the old school route.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great for learning the game

5+    1/22/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: The Drake
Played: 91  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have never played any of the previous layouts others have mentioned in their reviews so I cannot speak to comparison of old layouts.

This is a great beginners course. Set in a beautiful public park the course occupies quite a bit of land. The use of natural elevation changes and framing of the holes with a few trees here and there provide for some variety in shot selection.

Given the lack of rough its virtually impossible to lose a disc and overall makes for a very quick round of golf. I can play the entire 18 holes (not speed golf format) in about 1 hour which is nice if you don't have a lot of time but want to get in a quick one.
Very easy to score well making it a great course new players just learning the game trying to figure out how their discs fly. Without much in the way in terms of obstacles nearly every hole can be reached with whatever your favorite shot type is which is great for practicing throwing different lines to reach the same end result.
Cons: While there is some variety in fairways, there isn't much in the way of demands off the tee. If you can only hyzer backhands you'll likely shoot just as well as if you could throw every conceivable shot in the game.

Tee signs are, by nature of the fact that the course has been re-designed a few times, not the most accurate. With that said the holes themselves are pretty obvious so its not like you have to worry about getting lost

Tee pads are a mix of carpet and concrete which I am never a fan of. I think most golfers would agree a nice grippy concrete pad is ideal, but consistency is likely more important.
With that said given the history of this course with re-designs I can understand the hesitence of making permenant tees and I would imagine future design changes are likely in discussion.
Other Thoughts: I play this course a fair amount despite only rating it as a 2.5 mainly because it is relatively close to my house and its a good course to try new things such as new grips, plastic, throwing lines, etc. Really for more advanced players throwing this course is like going to the driving range. Not a great assessment of your golf game, but great for practice.

Based on what I've read in some of the other posts about previous layouts and looking at the old tee signs I probably would have enjoyed the old layouts utilizing more distance but thats just me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Still Needs Some Improvements

5+    10/13/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: boondock339
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Baskets - Yes, it has them. They are older, but functional, and that's all you can really ask for.
Maintenance - Seems to be well-maintained. Grass is cut on a regular basis. Not a lot of foliage to deal with.
Bathrooms - There is a port-a-potty in the overflow parking lot. I guess this could be a con depending on your view of port-a-pottys, but at least it has something in case nature calls.
Parking - Plenty of it
Scenic Beauty - It's a good looking park...lots of big trees
Course Design - Is it an improvement over what was previously there? Yes. It had no where to go but up though. I suppose that it makes the best use of the space available.
Not crowded
Regular events - Yes, random draw doubles every Thursday at 5:30
Cons:
Tee Pads - There is concrete for some tees and carpet for others. There are also concrete tees that go nowhere, which could be confusing to someone who has never played the course.
Tee Signs - I'm sorry, maybe I'm a stickler for details, but this is completely sorry. What you have is the old sign which is large, and then somebody stuck a newly printed, much smaller sheet of paper with the new info on it. And when I say stuck, I mean just thrown in there. Some were straight and some were crooked. You can still see the old signage underneath. It's pretty sloppy.
Benches - couldn't find any
Trash Cans - I saw 1 on #1 and one near #3/4 but nothing else except what already exists by the picnic shelters.
Other Thoughts:
I played Two Rivers yesterday evening after not having played it in a while. I live about 4 minutes from the course, and while it is the most convenient course to where I reside, I prefer to play other courses in the area. I was curious to see the "improvements" made to the course. The new layout is a definite improvement, but this course still has a ways to go before it gets a better rating from me. It will never be an amazing course, so I guess you just have to appreciate it for what it is. It is an extremely open course, and it is a great course to learn on. I would say there's virtually zero chance you could lose a disc here. For people that are little bit more seasoned, it can be a good place to work on some distance drives and to work on your elevation game. If you are getting ready to play in a tourney that has a course that is notorious for windy conditions, then this might be a good place to prepare. I have never played a round at Two Rivers when it wasn't windy to some degree.

Random Thought: It might be interesting to put in a sister course across the pedestrian bridge at Shelby Bottoms Park. It could be a nice compliment to the open nature of Two Rivers. Perhaps it could be an alternate 9 holes instead of playing the back 9 at Two Rivers.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent 4 Beginners/Novice

5+    8/10/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: DarrellR
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Open drives, tree obstacles, lots of hills. This place is great for beginners and for novice/advanced players to keep your game up to par. Short to long holes helps give the course a mixture of variety. Some holes to get an ace. Very clean and updated holes/tee boxes. Quiet too
Cons: Tee signs aren't in the best shape...plus needs updating from the revamp/remodel recently. Very hilly so it gets tiresome if you aren't in shape. Would stay to the right on hole #13 because of the very high grass and wooded area. Had the pleasure of searching for that.
Other Thoughts: Great for trying for par or sub par. I have played here about 6 times in the past two weeks and love it. Hope you do too. I have gps tracked this course for the Android's app Easy scorecard Pro app. Best app for your phone, hands down.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center