Nashville, TN 
Two Rivers Park Share
Uploaded By: dgdoctor Hole #1 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 223ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great new design

5+    7/22/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Coast
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New course design has made this a very enjoyable round. I've played here over the last 5 years and now I finally have the feeling of playing on a disc golf course.

So often it would be a struggle to play the entire front 9 because of a missing basket or from being so tired going up and down the hills. The front 9 is now well put together with a few walks to tee pads (4->5, 5->6) and it really offers good opportunities to get the most out of your discs.

I would often only go to the backside to break in new disc and test them out. Now both sides offer a fun mix of long and short open drives. The backside being broken up from the monotony of back-and-forth baskets is great. Like stated before some of the best holes were left alone and the new lines for holes work great to move you from hole to hole still.
Cons: This is still a very open course and the Summer in Tennessee is brutal sometimes. Be prepared with sunscreen and look for the occasional shade. It is out there enough to cool one off for a minute.

I'm sure the course will be adding in some garbage cans and benches soon, but until then most haven't been taking their trash out with them and I'd recommend taking a small chair.

Carpet pads are in good shape now, but they always wear and I'm looking forward to the concrete pads.

As always with this course you will have alot of non-disc golfers around and should keep an eye out. Most holes avoid the bike path and pavilions though.
Other Thoughts: I love the new lines on this course and can't wait to get out there more often. I hope that the baskets are moved occasionally to see more and more of the new layout.

I like the one long tee pad used for holes 7 and 9. I could see some additional mandos through out the course to add challenge, but for the most part there is a good mix of RHBH/FH shots as well possible LH shots(?) to be played.

I will definitely make time to get this course back in my routine.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Redesign Far Superior to Old Design

2-4    7/2/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 220  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The redesign of Two Rivers vastly improved a mediocre-at-best course into a something that's worthwhile to stop and enjoy. Several of the better holes off the original design are still used (I think its 1, old 2-> new 3, old 12-> new 14, old 13-> new 15) and maybe a couple others I'm forgetting. Most of the holes are straight forward with no surprises with many incorporating large old growth trees with big canopies. While not being overly technical there is some length so bigger arms definitely have the advantage here. Since a lot of the tees were moved around, the tee signs have moved as well with new paper copies of the holes inserted into the signs complete with all pin placements and directions to the next tee. All of the new tee pads are large patches of carpet that are mostly level. The new layout incorporates the slopes much better with multiple left-to-right and right-to-left slopes instead of just straight up and down the hills. There are several of the former shots mentioned but are scattered much more through the layout now. The course makes a loop back towards the parking lot after nine so you have the ability to easily cut your round short. There are also restrooms near the parking lot too.
Cons: I see this as being a course in progress with the lack of concrete tees, sleeve placements still to be added, lack of benches and trashcans. None of the tee signs indicate which sleeve placement the basket is in. Several times I had to throw a test shot out an approximate distance to see which sleeve it was in. With the constant elevation changes, the carpet tee pads had a tendency to flow with the ground and not be leveled off. I can see how this would mess with a lot of golfers. Though there are no trashcans on the course, there are several near number 1 as well as numbers 9, 10 and 11. In multiple spots a busy walking/biking trail comes close to several baskets but you're not actually throwing across these trails. Just beware of non-golf park users. Also, this is not a quiet course. Other park activities include several children playgrounds (on both the front and back of the course), the walking/biking trail, multiple shelters that were all filled when I was there, a large waterpark, and a large highway (Briley Parkway) all adjacent to the course. There's not a lot that can be done about any of these things, its just worth knowing about before you expect a nice secluded quiet round.
Other Thoughts: Once I heard that Two Rivers was redesigned I was somewhat skeptical at first but after playing it I'm a fan. The new layout utilizes the topography of the land much better while the layout doesn't feel forced onto the property like much of the old course. The course has appeal to players of all skill levels. More advanced players can work on distance controlled drives of various lengths and reading the elevation changes. Less skilled players can enjoy the course for the lack of underbrush and multiple birdie opportunities.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ups and downs

1    6/27/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: SunOnMySkin
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging due to not seeing the baskets and distance. Very clean. Possible hole in ones and birdies.
Cons: No tee off pads. A lot of ups and downs. Poor layout and no signs or markings. Tee pads to no where. Very windy and crowded. Joggers and walker path thru the course. Had to watch out not to hit pedestrians. Very few trees and the trees that are there are not used to the best advantage for a good challenge.
Other Thoughts: Not as good as other courses in the area. I will most likely not play this one again.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park - nice course

1    6/30/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: KickMuttButt
Played: 150  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The new course layout is much better than the previous. I never played the previous; but the old tee signs and pads were still visible. Very nice park. Wide open. Cannot get into trouble except for 14 where a shot wide-left will leave you in some underbrush. Good mixe of elevation up and down hills plus many long holes accross the sides of the hills.
Cons: Not technically challenging. Most holes are straight blasts to the basket. However, they make best use of the land they have - so kudos for that. Need signage badly. Need a scoreboard in the parking lot to indicate where #1 begins (I Looked for 10 minutes). I dont mind the carpet...it actually works well. Did I mention signage? Especially from #4 basket to #5 tee pad.
Other Thoughts: It shares space with a water park which is mildly entertaining to watch when there is a kid who is scared to death of the water slide.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New Layout is Great!

5+    5/17/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: ambroze
Played: 127  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A great mix of short (1,2,7), medium (4,5,6,8,9,11,14,15,16,17) and long (3,10,12,13,18) holes that allows you to rip it in some wide open areas. Mix of carpet and concrete tee pads. Signs on each hole have inserts over the original layouts that show you what you need including the next tee. Fairways now go across the valleys reducing the amount of walking up and down the hills. Hole #3 in the long is a great hole that shoots uphill and then into the mouth of the tree line and the basket is over towards the right. An excellent challenging hole for a par 3 in this spot. Mandos can be found on holes #4 (through the opening of the tree line) and #17 that keeps you to the left of the tree to protect you from #18's tee pad.
Cons: Course is still under re-design so players please be cognizant of the changes.
Other Thoughts: Best part of the course is the new layout. You can forget about all of the other reviews complaining about the up and down hills and that it is not marked anymore. We have put a lot of time and effort in making this course a much better playing experience. We are looking at getting in new tee pads for the ones that currently have carpet in place, and adding in benches and trash cans. There are finally 9 holes on the front and 9 holes on the back. Locals have provided their personal feedback to me about the new layout and not one person has had anything bad to say. Everyone talks about how much it's improved and they look forward to playing this course again where in the past they would never stop to play. Come check it out.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Needs some work

5+    4/18/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: BrownTown
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners learning to throw that won't get frustrated by hitting trees. Wide open space.
Cons: I will give the park the "benefit of the doubt" since the course flooded in May of 09. But this park was a disappointment taking some friends to play. Markers not accurate. Baskets not marked with correct #'s. Back 9 is all messed up.
Other Thoughts: I will not be back until this course gets revamped.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 It's Come a Long Way, Baby

5+    7/9/2011   10/30/2010
Review By: Fleet
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - You can let it fly on the majority of this course

- The redone course is somewhat terraced so you end up walking from side to side up the hills instead of straight up and down. It's easier on the legs.

- Depending on the time of day, you might be the only one out there (plus for me, anyway).
Cons: - Some signs still need to be updated. Some tee placements aren't updated when the pins are moved.

- Pavilions next to holes 8, 10, and 11 sometimes have large family gatherings, and the kids are running around on the fairway or right next to the teebox.

- I've seen people grilling out on hole 18 before. Like, on the teebox grilling out.
Other Thoughts: It's been ages since I logged in this thing but figured if anything I need to update this review since the course redesign is - what - half a year old now?

It has really shaped up to be a decent course. Kudos to the guys who put the time and effort into making it an enjoyable place to play. Two Rivers is now on our weekly rotation after work. It used to be "Do you want to go play Seven Oaks after work today?" Now it's "Do you want to play disc golf after work today? Do you want to play at Two Rivers or Seven Oaks?"

Also, I don't know why, but this is the most wide-open course around and I've lost the most discs here, especially on the back nine. Weird.

Oh, and if you find yourself on hole three looking ALLLLL the way to the right to the basket, you're more than likely looking at hole 4, and the basket for hole 3 is probably behind the tree line directly in front of you. Seen a few people mess that one up.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 You've got to admit it's getting better. A little better, all the time.

5+    1/8/2011   8/3/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 24  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice open drives. Lots of ace bomber chances and room to glide all day. Concrete tee-pads in decent shape. The place has been trimmed up in a few places making for less disc searching.
Cons: Lots of hills. Some signs are in poor shape. The numbers are wrong on a lot of the signs. Hills.
Other Thoughts: UPDATE: 3/11/11 THe Front 9 is redesigned and playable. Look for more improvements and the back 9 in coming weeks.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hot and Unorganized

1    7/4/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: LMeyers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: really can't think of any unless you want a killer uphill/downhill workout (in the 95* heat)
Cons: course poorly organized. tee signs not marked correctly. baskets not marked correctly.
Other Thoughts: appears that someone decided to rearrange the holes, but forgot to finish the job. after 9 holes we gave up and went somewhere else to play.
As mentioned in another review "I can not recommend this course until the locals take an afternoon to correct the hole numbers, fix the distance signs to only display the used pin position, and convince the park to install benches and garbage cans." TAKE SOME PRIDE IN YOUR COURSE.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Big Hills

1    4/8/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will defiantly be remembered for the big hills. It is also pretty open for the most part except for a few mature trees that are scattered around for an occasional obstacle. The course is pretty nice looking with its thick grass and rolling hills. For those living in the Nashville area I am sure it is a welcomed addition to an already diverse choice of courses.

The course has satisfactory concrete tee pads, baskets and signs. There are several pin placements around the course as well. I also noticed a couple of shorter tee pads for those who may interested. The hole lengths vary from some sweet ace runs to a couple of longer hole that will make you work for a three.

There is a walking path the meanders through part of the course and gets some use. Beyond that you'll get the feeling the you have the whole course to yourself. It is a real opportunity to experiment with different shots or unleash your whole bag on the ace runs without worrying about holding other players up during their round.
Cons: For the most part, there is really only three shot types out here. Uphill, downhill, or the less common across a valley shot. As you might imagine, the course can get a little repetitive.

I wish they would have indicated which pin position was in use. Although the basket is clearly visible it's still hard to figure out exactly how far away they were. The landscape is just so open and hilly that sometimes it is hard to tell. For example, if position A is at 275' and B is at 300' it's hard to tell the difference from the tee.
Other Thoughts: I had a pretty fun time playing out here even though it's not one of my favorite Nashville courses. Unless you just like open, hilly, and windy courses there are better choices in the area. With that said, if you wind up playing out here it is a pretty solid course. It's good for all types of players of all skills levels. Anyone should have a good time out here. Enjoy!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.