Thousand Oaks, CA 
Rabbit Flats Share
Uploaded By: zenbot Hole #9 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 199ft.   3 / 363ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    8/16/2014   8/18/2014
Review By: soundstains
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 possible holes with a variety of uphill, downhill and straight shots with a few obstacles (trees, woodchip piles). There's a decent amount of wind, so this is a great place to step down to a mid or putter for stable driving. Good condition concrete tees with great signage.
Cons: Short course. There is a creek with dense shrubbery that the wind likes to carry discs into. My party had 6 total discs land in this area over the course of game. One of the holes is a bit difficult to find and requires a short walk through a hidden path near the creek.
Other Thoughts: Not a super hard course and not worth a trip out just to play this one, but if you're passing through the area, its great for a quick 18.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1    2/19/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: Mark R
Played: 87  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the only 18-hole courses in the surrounding area. Red, Blue and Yellow basket sequence is easy to understand, with red and blue colors indicating short and long positions on the front nine, with yellow baskets reserved for the back nine. Good cement tees with decent signage.

Has quite a few downhill and uphill tee shots which add to the fun factor, along with a few man-made hazards such as dirt mounds which do influence play. My favorite holes were the downhill holes, especially #4/#13 which are easily deuced with precision overhand shots. From the highest points on the course you can see the mountains surrounding Thousand Oaks, which appears to be a very nice area. The area bordering the course on the north side has a small creek that is sheltered by palm trees, a small plus in terms of atmosphere.
Cons: As mentioned elsewhere, the front and back nine share the same area. The course itself was barren and treeless, likely due to the 2013-early 2014 drought. Some backtracking is necessary on occasion to find the next tee. No signage indicating that there is a disc golf course in the area aside from a kiosk near Hole 2, which is a long way back from nearby Moorpark Rd. Though this course does well at maximizing land use, it's still 18 holes crammed into 9 acres. Those who have played courses such as Idlewild or Leviathan won't be too impressed by the course difficulty level; I was able to par easily with a few overhand lobs despite my low player rating.
Other Thoughts: Though the area is surrounded by walking paths and baseball and soccer fields, the small area partitioned off for disc golf is disc golf-only. A nice park in a nice area, this is a decent beginning to intermediate level course that can be finished in an hour, which is nice if you happen to play a course like Coyote Point the next day. A $2 donation to play is fair, but not a bargain considering the lack of maintenance.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ozzy Dog Review for Rabbit Flats-Thousand Oaks, CA.

5+    1/2/2013   1/12/2013
Review By: cmoriarity666
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun shots up and downhill. Great course for beginners, but still challenging for more advanced players. Thousand Oaks is beautiful and the weather is consistant. Very easy to find pads and the park is clean.
Cons: There are only 9 Tee Pads and the course is short.
Other Thoughts: Great course to bring the dog , Trash cans were easy to find.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad for the land they were given

1    5/27/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 23  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is evident that a ton of work has been put in by the volunteers who made this course. Bravo. For the limited land they were given, they really put a lot of thought into maximizing it. I like the "island" green and the treachery of the creek on the north side of the course.

Great tee pads. Nice baskets.
Cons: The land is limited, which restricts what is possible for making the course.

Either wear long pants or high socks, because it is very easy to get wood chips or worse in your shoes.
Other Thoughts: Great course for girlfriends/wives/kids/beginners. Again, I'm very impressed by the work put in by the locals on this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mis-Named... I Never Saw a Rabbit

2-4    11/23/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 342  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 14.3 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
- Great Use of Limited Space. Rabbit Flats could become an example of what to do if you only have 10 acres and want to build a "somewhat" complete disc golf experience. 9 tee-pads with 3 baskets for each create a unique "27 Hole" course.
- Island Greens. Two of the greens were designed as "islands"... or so they appeared (surrounded by boulders or a dirt berm). This is an awesome way to make an otherwise easy open disc golf hole into something much more interesting.
- Pin Placement. Several of the pins were placed on mounds or on the edge of steep hills, creating more difficult putts with more serious consequences.
- Getting Better. From what I was able to observe, it seems like they are still hard at work trying to make the course better. I saw a lot of plants in planter buckets waiting to be planted... as well as some what appeared to be new dirt berm-work being done to create an island green around Hole 1's Blue basket.
- Hard to Play a Legit Round. I found it too hard to play a legit round at Rabbit Flats. When I got to the tee-pad, I just threw at all three baskets and then went and played them all out... as opposed to throwing at one basket and going around the course 3 times (which would probably suck).
- Kiosk Placement. I don't know why the Kiosk is at Hole 2. As you approach the course from the parking lot and walk across the softball field, you can clearly see a kiosk... so naturally you walk to it. It has a map, info about the course, even a place to make donations, etc... so naturally you start there. BUT, that's not Hole 1??? After playing that Hole thinking it was Hole 1, I was walking around looking for the tee-pad for Hole 2... but the next most logical tee-pad is for Hole 3. I figured out the problem... but it was slightly confusing for a second.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. When you combine short, medium and long shots with flat, uphill and downhill Holes and with 3 baskets on every Hole to unload your bag at, Rabbit Flats becomes a great place to practice. It definitely wasn't the best course I've ever played, but I certainly wasn't mad at the course either. Lots of trouble can be had for bad shots. Lots of sunshine on hot days. Pretty windy on top of the hill.
- Mis-Named. I never saw a Rabbit, only ground squirrels. The course should have been called the "Ground-Squirrel Dug-Out" or something.
- My Score: -11 on the Blues and Yellows (I didn't play the Reds)

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.