Thousand Oaks, CA 
Rabbit Flats Share
Uploaded By: zenbot  



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    2/19/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the only 18-hole courses in the surrounding area. Red, Blue and Yellow basket sequence is easy to understand, with red and blue colors indicating short and long positions on the front nine, with yellow baskets reserved for the back nine. Good cement tees with decent signage.

Has quite a few downhill and uphill tee shots which add to the fun factor, along with a few man-made hazards such as dirt mounds which do influence play. My favorite holes were the downhill holes, especially #4/#13 which are easily deuced with precision overhand shots. From the highest points on the course you can see the mountains surrounding Thousand Oaks, which appears to be a very nice area. The area bordering the course on the north side has a small creek that is sheltered by palm trees, a small plus in terms of atmosphere.
Cons: As mentioned elsewhere, the front and back nine share the same area. The course itself was barren and treeless, likely due to the 2013-early 2014 drought. Some backtracking is necessary on occasion to find the next tee. No signage indicating that there is a disc golf course in the area aside from a kiosk near Hole 2, which is a long way back from nearby Moorpark Rd. Though this course does well at maximizing land use, it's still 18 holes crammed into 9 acres. Those who have played courses such as Idlewild or Leviathan won't be too impressed by the course difficulty level; I was able to par easily with a few overhand lobs despite my low player rating.
Other Thoughts: Though the area is surrounded by walking paths and baseball and soccer fields, the small area partitioned off for disc golf is disc golf-only. A nice park in a nice area, this is a decent beginning to intermediate level course that can be finished in an hour, which is nice if you happen to play a course like Coyote Point the next day. A $2 donation to play is fair, but not a bargain considering the lack of maintenance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Worth Playing!!

1    9/6/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: tommyUnitas
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes. Variety of shots needed. Map/scorecard available at first tee. Disc golf only on site. Was not crowded, only saw two other groups. Benches for sitting at tee boxes. Nice tee pads and baskets. They have a lost and found bin on the west end of the course.
Cons: Hardly any shade. Elevation changes made for some stiff calves the next day. Didn't see any drinking water on site (was about 90 the day I went, so good thing I brought water), and no restrooms either (I hit the community center first). Saw some poison ivy/oak, so beware.
Other Thoughts: For sure worth playing. I parked in the community center parking lot and walked across the soccer fields to the course. Some won't like the long walk, but I'm a walker, so all was good. Locals were cool. Because of the small course layout and the shared tee boxes, you might have to duck some errant shots if playing on a crowded day. There's a creek that comes into play on a few holes. Some baskets are mounted on top of mounds, making for challenging shots/putts. There's a lot of woodchips and dirt on the ground, no grass, so maybe wear your hiking shoes. Because of the woodchips, discs didnt skip well, thus shortening your shots. Only needed long driver a few times, mostly used fairway drivers and mid range discs. There's a donation box at the first tee, to help out with course maintainence. It's pretty secluded out there, no one else but a few players, and I saw someone doing some sort of maintainence. I will play again next time in TO.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/14/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Rabbit Flats fills the disc golf void in this area. It is readily apparent that the locals love this course and have worked hard to make it a fun disc golf experience.

- The tee pads are awesome! I love the circular pads, these make it easy to change pin placements later, or even for safari holes in the other direction.
- New baskets, with multiple baskets on each hole, to keep it interesting.
- Big elevation change, hole 4 being the most memorable.
- Overall a fun experience. It is easy enough to attract beginners to the sport, but offers a fair enough challenge to develop some skills.
- The area seems pretty DG exclusive, you don't have to worry about hitting pedestrians and strollers.
Cons: Not too much in the way of trees at this point. So the elevation is the only major obstacle, not too many trees to get in the way.

It is mostly short and open, making it deuce or die for advanced players.
Other Thoughts: It is cool to see the amount of work that the club put into this course. Using the land they were given they made this into interesting layout with some good variety. The elevation keeps things from feeling too repetitive. If you are in the area it is worth playing, but it is not worth planning a road trip around.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

She treated me just fine :)

1    7/12/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You can tell tons of volunteers help maintain this course.
Trees are growing and will be just stunning as the years go; this will be a great course one day. Good things take time :)
Cons: There are only 9 Tee Pads and the course is short.
Other Thoughts: Good course for beginners, short game, dogs, and people just out to play a nice 9 hole course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Local Course

1    6/10/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: srosdahl
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tons of volunteers help maintain this course. I love the fact we finally have a local course!
Trees are growing and will be just stunning as the years go.
Cons: Parking is a walk but there are secret spots to park closer to course.
Tee Signs need graphics and distance. Heard they are getting done.
Other Thoughts: Its my home course! Nice to say I have one!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    4/13/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course makes really excellent use of the space available. The course uses a mostly open area with a hillside at two edges. About half of the holes use the elevation nicely to add some variety, including a fun downhill throw and a tricky shot that is uphill to some pin placements and up and over to another. There aren't a lot of trees, but what's there is used well to protect pin locations on a couple holes. There is decent distance variety, especially with the different pin options on each hole.

There are some cool touches like berms around baskets and a rock island/lake (depending on which pin you're shooting at). The tees are very nice large concrete circles. With three baskets on each hole that allows for drives in any direction. The multiple baskets are a neat way of adding variety to a fairly small property, in a way that didn't seem to cause issues with folks playing different layouts at the same time. The course is fairly easy to follow.
Cons: Despite a lot of creativity, this is still a pretty wide open course that allows for fairly straightforward shots on a lot of the holes. There are a few pins that stretch things out a little, but for the most part the distances are fairly short and that leaves the course feeling a little lacking in challenge for better players.

The course ends in an odd place, you have to cross through a few other holes to get back to the first tee or to leave the course on the way back to the parking lot. The long walk to and from the parking lot could be a con, I didn't rate down for it at all because I'd rather see a longer walk to a better course than a course through heavily used areas of a park.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the red layout very approachable, and the blue and yellow layouts challenging but fair. More experienced players will find the course fairly straightforward, but fun. There are a few nice challenges, and some fun birdie/ace runs. I enjoyed my round here, and really liked seeing the creative use of the property. I love the idea of being able to play 9 holes of your choice or a full 27.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Improving

5+    8/11/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 35  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First, from the first time till my round today this course continues improve and become more complex, so I am sure I will be editing this at some point.

-Easy parking
-giant oval teepads, that are well kept and make teeing off very easy.
-Easy to navigate once you get onto the first hole.
-Three hole stretch 4/13-6/15 offer a few unique looks, not really hard holes but more than just pitch and putt, splashed out 13 with a short thumbed today...damn!!
-Friendly local crew, I've had two discs returned to me here and have always found 2-3 people I can jump in a round with.
Cons: -Wide open relative holes on half of the holes, this will be negated over time as trees grow in but that is probably 3-5 years out.
-No water I can find, it gets hot and dusty out there!
-Not really a controllable con but the creek water is pretty nasty, gonna have to give my roc a serious cleaning after dunking it on 4.
Other Thoughts: This course makes great use of the existing space, with more time and alot more tree growth I could see giving this another disc.

For a short thrower like myself these holes are a great length, obtainable distances and plenty of birdie opportunities.

Advanced players will probably be bored to death out here, lots of putter/short midrange holes.

Having family in TO this is a course I will play when I'm in the neighborhood and be thankful for it's existence, but not a course I'd go out of my way to come to.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf is a Posative

2-4    11/8/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 80  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2014
10 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: "Pros:
- Great Use of Limited Space. Rabbit Flats could become an example of what to do if you only have 10 acres and want to build a "somewhat" complete disc golf experience. 9 tee-pads with 3 baskets for each create a unique "27 Hole" course.
- Island Greens. Two of the greens were designed as "islands"… or so they appeared (surrounded by boulders or a dirt berm). This is an awesome way to make an otherwise easy open disc golf hole into something much more interesting.
- Pin Placement. Several of the pins were placed on mounds or on the edge of steep hills, creating more difficult putts with more serious consequences.
- Getting Better. From what I was able to observe, it seems like they are still hard at work trying to make the course better. I saw a lot of plants in planter buckets waiting to be planted… as well as some what appeared to be new dirt berm-work being done to create an island green around Hole 1's Blue basket." DSCJNKY (Trusted Reviewer - Gold Level)

My Addition...
I love playing a windy course and this course was very on the day I played. This adds a much needed addition in the basic difficulty.
Cons: Hole length (most under 300') three baskets in place on the same hole at the same time, general lack of course etiquette (common with new dg communities), and a lack of large obstacles.
Other Thoughts: This community keeps working on this course and the changes are always happening. In just a few years this course will be a fantastic little gem perfect for newer players.

10 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Great land use. Full of potential.

5+    7/8/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: zenbot
Played: 31  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
13 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: • Every tee pad offers multiple pins to throw to. This creates a nice 18 holes with only 9 tees. (more if you count the shorter novice baskets)
• Each tee is round which doesn't force you to run up in one direction. This also makes it very easy to create your own safari course.
• The downhill shots on tees 4 and 6 are excellent indicators of your precision and/or restraint. A missed ace run will be punished with a disc search in the ravine.
• Good technical holes. Precision and not a giant arm will win here.
• One of the neighbors sells freshly-squeezed lemonade on his property line adjacent to hole 7. Buy a cup and keep the community on our side.

Cons: • Not many obstacles. This will become a non-issue when more trees are planted and begin to grow out.
• Some fairways are adjacent to private backyards. Trespassing is strictly prohibited. All discs are returned to nearby recreational building weekly. If you have your phone number inked they will give you a call.
• Pyracantha bush on 6's fairway is a monster. Just stay away from it. It sucks in discs and bites you when you try to steal them back.
• Holes are fairly short. The average is 250 feet.
Other Thoughts: Rabbit Flats makes excellent use of a smaller piece of land. It's beginner-friendly yet offers enough technical elements to make for a fun round. Drinking is allowed but the course is right next to a high school. Be mindful of who you share your Natural Ice with. You may end up contributing to the delinquency of a minor. There are many new players on the course that are not familiar with etiquette. Be kind. We were all n00bs once.

13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Rabbit Flats Original 9 and Temporary 9 Hole Course

5+    7/8/2012   5/23/2010
Review By: Discette
Played: 242  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2012
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I would rate this course as a 4.5 for beginning or youth players. This is a great course to bring new players or the entire family. Three pin placements from one tee means everyone can play together. However, it is a bit rugged - so no strollers.


Love the giant 12 foot wide circular tee pads with an excellent finish. This also makes it easy to invent safari holes. I liked the smaller tee signs. They will be easier to update or replace if vandalized.


This course was designed on a very small piece of land and Mike B did a great job with it. It makes great use of the elevation with a mix of up and down shots. It is not FLAT, be prepared for trekking up and down hills - some are steep.


Red pins are for youth players, Blue pins are numbered 1 - 9. Yellow pins are numbered 10-18. Red pins 19 -27.


Give the original 9 hole course 3 discs for experienced players since the challenge here is really in the putting. Be sure to give this course a try. It is truly unique and fun to play!
Cons: It is a bit rugged, so make sure to wear sturdy shoes. Not suitable for carts or strollers.


While the walk from the parking lot is a couple of hundred yards, I really don't mind walking in order to have this part of the park just for disc golf.


Not a fan of elevated baskets, but it does add some more challenge to a couple of the flat/wide open holes.

Holes were designed away from neighbors, but it is still possible for wild beginner throws to go into the school yard on Holes 3 and 8. Do not hop fence. They will call you if you have your number on the disc.
Other Thoughts:

Temporary 9 Hole Conejo Pro Am Course review

I have had the opportunity to volunteer and play in the 2011 & 2012 Conejo Pro Am held at Rabbit Flats. The event sets up nine temporary baskets from So Cal DGA. The 9 Hole course plays around the soccer fields, with a few holes around the picnic shelter area. These popular youth soccer fields are in use year round. This annual PDGA event is held on the one summer weekend when the fields are being serviced. The fields are fenced off and closed to all soccer activity. The walking paths around the fields are also closed for the one day event.

The temporary tournament 9 layout is fun and more challenging than the traditional RF course. This is not a course for beginners or youth players like the original 9 hole layout.

10 tee is located at the southwest corner of the soccer fields. The narrow fairways for Holes 10 & 11 are bordered by the OB/fenced soccer fields on the left and the school fence on the right. The walking path here is gravel and becomes the fairway and is not OB. Hole 10 target is placed on the right behind one of the lone trees along the path. Hole 11 plays to the grassy area southeast of the softball field. Basket is located just in front of storage shed. Hole 12 is an island hole and the pin is located in the sand volley ball court. Players must land within the court off the tee or take penalty strokes. The court is only 225 feet away from the tee, so all PDGA divisions should be able to throw onto the volley "island". Holes 13 - 15 play out and around from the reserved shelter area. On Hole 13, the basketball courts on the left are OB. With the added low ceiling from the mature trees, and a natural narrowing of the fairway, a roller is a great shot to have in the bag. Hole 14 tees over a natural uncultivated section with the pin placed on the edge of the heavy brush. Holes 15-18, along the north side of the complex, have some precarious pin placements along the elevated berm. The OB walking path and soccer fields add to the challenge. Baskets 17 and 18 are placed on the top of the narrow berm. Accurate placement of drives and putting is necessary on these holes or the extra strokes can add up quickly.

This course will never exist as a permanent course unless the soccer fields are removed. The only chance to play it, is while the course is set up during the annual PDGA event.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.