Thousand Oaks, CA 
Rabbit Flats Share
Uploaded By: zenbot Hole #5 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 124ft.   3 / 152ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Looking over hill to long basket



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good young course with room to grow

1    4/27/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: IsThisThingOn
Played: 17  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -PERFECT signage, never seen better
-good use of the space.
-medium-high shot variety (will grow with the new trees
-WIDE skill range: Reds are great for newbies, blue and yellow range from nice birds to almost par 4s
- great ace runs on a few holes (#4/13 in particular)
- elevation changes made it a good challenge
Cons: -WIND is oppressively strong
-some pin placements were nonsensical.
-Hole 7/16 needs rethinking. The Red pin is a neat shot, but blue and yellow are not well place in relation to the tee pad.
if there are any restrooms/water fountains, they must be pretty far away.
-Mandy on hole 2 is awful for the blue pin, seems like it's there because of a dirt jogging/bike path.
Other Thoughts: Not one I would make a trek out for (at least not until the trees grow in). Still, definitely worth playing if you're passing through the area. The signage should be a model for every course in the country, could not be any more clear.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I like it!

1    6/10/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: LiLHomeGirl
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - clear signs and holes for different level players- including children due to alternative baskets.
- feng shui! relaxing and peaceful. Clear of trash.
- nice layout and resting spots at holes. Tee boxes are very nice and large (cement).
- feels safe for solo ladies but the course is in the back of the park and visibility is not good. I would play this course alone.
- good private "rest" stops
Cons: - aim well or loose your disc in someones backyard- no trespassing.
- bushes are vicious
- poison oak
- short course
Other Thoughts: I will play here again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Learning course

5+    1/20/2013   1/31/2013
Review By: Josephb.
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads.
18 hole course ( front & back 9)
Very easy to navigate.
Three pin Locations red, blue and yellow.

Cons: Tee pads get muddy and dirty
Poison oak on premises.
Short course,
Other Thoughts: The course is very beautiful right now from the recent rains. There is a lot of grass around, nice and green.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New Basket Placements!

2-4    6/18/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: Jeffro Skull
Played: 106  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Some holes have new basket placements... YES! I thought the green pots were just for looks. ;-)
Cons: Afternoon wind gusts can be brutal... you have been warned.
Other Thoughts: Thank guys for getting us a decent course that is close... muy bueno! Are we looking for sponsors for some more permanent tee signs with all basket placement footage?

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9ish? Hole

1    4/26/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2012
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -3 permanent pin placements at all 9 tees.
-Lots of variety for its size!
-Navigation is generally simple
-Very nice information kiosk located at hole #2
-DG exclusive
Cons: -A couple of long walks to tees
-Foxtails
Other Thoughts: Rabbit Flat is located behind a park and high school, on a multi-terrained piece of land. While trees are generally not the main obstacle, the terrain is what makes this park fun and exciting.

I don't know if you call it a 9, 18, or 27 hole course, but there are 27 pins scattered ALL OVER this wonderful piece of land. I like to refer to it as a 27 hole course with a 9 hole capacity. We had a wonderful afternoon checking out the entire course, aka playing it 3 times, and some later safari rounds.

Others have said they skip the red pins, but they serve as a fun birdie warmup and inflate the score :P

I found it very fun and unique to be playing a course, and seeing a shot I will be taking later on. It got me excited for the next round, and the one after that. The final round definitely had a sense of closure as I had played all 3 possibilities on each tee.

The opportunity for black aces are endless!

While the 'red' course provided the challenge I have come to expect from 9 hole courses, the blue and gold courses were each a more fun challenge. Definitely allowed you to throw your disc with power at times. The two blind uphill shots were particularly fun.

The blue and gold courses are not necessarily 'medium' and 'difficult.' Sometimes the blue pin is harder to reach, sometimes the gold is. I think this makes playing an 18 hole round more interesting, instead of 9 easier holes then 9 harder ones. Keeps it mixed up.

The hillside shots were particularly fun, there is a distinct possibility that your disc will just float forever, right into the jungle like creek area very near the pins.

Hole 4 Blue is an island hole, +1 stroke and play from where you lie if you are outside the circle.

The walk to hole 7 is over the hill beyond all 3 pins for 6. Walk up, then down :)

So here is a reason to stop by: To be able to look over the entire course and just see pins EVERYWHERE! On top of hills, in the field, under a tree, just everywhere. It was actually really cool looking. I mean, 27 pins on around 12 acres? Pretty neat.

So its a 9 hole course, we spent about 4 hours there, taking our time and never getting bored. What a GREAT course for the city of Thousand Oaks! I, for one, am jealous, as I cannot casually drive there whenever I want. Coupled with the fact that it was NOT busy, and was 'secluded' from the rest of the park for lack of a better term, and this is one of the best 9(ish) hole I have ever played. Perfect for practice.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.