Disc Golf Store
Thousand Oaks, CA 
Rabbit Flats Share
Uploaded By: BENFTS Hole #5
3 / 124ft.   3 / 152ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

1    8/16/2014   8/18/2014
Review By: soundstains
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 possible holes with a variety of uphill, downhill and straight shots with a few obstacles (trees, woodchip piles). There's a decent amount of wind, so this is a great place to step down to a mid or putter for stable driving. Good condition concrete tees with great signage.
Cons: Short course. There is a creek with dense shrubbery that the wind likes to carry discs into. My party had 6 total discs land in this area over the course of game. One of the holes is a bit difficult to find and requires a short walk through a hidden path near the creek.
Other Thoughts: Not a super hard course and not worth a trip out just to play this one, but if you're passing through the area, its great for a quick 18.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good young course with room to grow

1    4/27/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: IsThisThingOn
Played: 17  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -PERFECT signage, never seen better
-good use of the space.
-medium-high shot variety (will grow with the new trees
-WIDE skill range: Reds are great for newbies, blue and yellow range from nice birds to almost par 4s
- great ace runs on a few holes (#4/13 in particular)
- elevation changes made it a good challenge
Cons: -WIND is oppressively strong
-some pin placements were nonsensical.
-Hole 7/16 needs rethinking. The Red pin is a neat shot, but blue and yellow are not well place in relation to the tee pad.
if there are any restrooms/water fountains, they must be pretty far away.
-Mandy on hole 2 is awful for the blue pin, seems like it's there because of a dirt jogging/bike path.
Other Thoughts: Not one I would make a trek out for (at least not until the trees grow in). Still, definitely worth playing if you're passing through the area. The signage should be a model for every course in the country, could not be any more clear.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    2/19/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the only 18-hole courses in the surrounding area. Red, Blue and Yellow basket sequence is easy to understand, with red and blue colors indicating short and long positions on the front nine, with yellow baskets reserved for the back nine. Good cement tees with decent signage.

Has quite a few downhill and uphill tee shots which add to the fun factor, along with a few man-made hazards such as dirt mounds which do influence play. My favorite holes were the downhill holes, especially #4/#13 which are easily deuced with precision overhand shots. From the highest points on the course you can see the mountains surrounding Thousand Oaks, which appears to be a very nice area. The area bordering the course on the north side has a small creek that is sheltered by palm trees, a small plus in terms of atmosphere.
Cons: As mentioned elsewhere, the front and back nine share the same area. The course itself was barren and treeless, likely due to the 2013-early 2014 drought. Some backtracking is necessary on occasion to find the next tee. No signage indicating that there is a disc golf course in the area aside from a kiosk near Hole 2, which is a long way back from nearby Moorpark Rd. Though this course does well at maximizing land use, it's still 18 holes crammed into 9 acres. Those who have played courses such as Idlewild or Leviathan won't be too impressed by the course difficulty level; I was able to par easily with a few overhand lobs despite my low player rating.
Other Thoughts: Though the area is surrounded by walking paths and baseball and soccer fields, the small area partitioned off for disc golf is disc golf-only. A nice park in a nice area, this is a decent beginning to intermediate level course that can be finished in an hour, which is nice if you happen to play a course like Coyote Point the next day. A $2 donation to play is fair, but not a bargain considering the lack of maintenance.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worth Playing!!

1    9/6/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: tommyUnitas
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes. Variety of shots needed. Map/scorecard available at first tee. Disc golf only on site. Was not crowded, only saw two other groups. Benches for sitting at tee boxes. Nice tee pads and baskets. They have a lost and found bin on the west end of the course.
Cons: Hardly any shade. Elevation changes made for some stiff calves the next day. Didn't see any drinking water on site (was about 90 the day I went, so good thing I brought water), and no restrooms either (I hit the community center first). Saw some poison ivy/oak, so beware.
Other Thoughts: For sure worth playing. I parked in the community center parking lot and walked across the soccer fields to the course. Some won't like the long walk, but I'm a walker, so all was good. Locals were cool. Because of the small course layout and the shared tee boxes, you might have to duck some errant shots if playing on a crowded day. There's a creek that comes into play on a few holes. Some baskets are mounted on top of mounds, making for challenging shots/putts. There's a lot of woodchips and dirt on the ground, no grass, so maybe wear your hiking shoes. Because of the woodchips, discs didnt skip well, thus shortening your shots. Only needed long driver a few times, mostly used fairway drivers and mid range discs. There's a donation box at the first tee, to help out with course maintainence. It's pretty secluded out there, no one else but a few players, and I saw someone doing some sort of maintainence. I will play again next time in TO.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/14/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Rabbit Flats fills the disc golf void in this area. It is readily apparent that the locals love this course and have worked hard to make it a fun disc golf experience.

- The tee pads are awesome! I love the circular pads, these make it easy to change pin placements later, or even for safari holes in the other direction.
- New baskets, with multiple baskets on each hole, to keep it interesting.
- Big elevation change, hole 4 being the most memorable.
- Overall a fun experience. It is easy enough to attract beginners to the sport, but offers a fair enough challenge to develop some skills.
- The area seems pretty DG exclusive, you don't have to worry about hitting pedestrians and strollers.
Cons: Not too much in the way of trees at this point. So the elevation is the only major obstacle, not too many trees to get in the way.

It is mostly short and open, making it deuce or die for advanced players.
Other Thoughts: It is cool to see the amount of work that the club put into this course. Using the land they were given they made this into interesting layout with some good variety. The elevation keeps things from feeling too repetitive. If you are in the area it is worth playing, but it is not worth planning a road trip around.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

She treated me just fine :)

1    7/12/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You can tell tons of volunteers help maintain this course.
Trees are growing and will be just stunning as the years go; this will be a great course one day. Good things take time :)
Cons: There are only 9 Tee Pads and the course is short.
Other Thoughts: Good course for beginners, short game, dogs, and people just out to play a nice 9 hole course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Local Course

1    6/10/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: srosdahl
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tons of volunteers help maintain this course. I love the fact we finally have a local course!
Trees are growing and will be just stunning as the years go.
Cons: Parking is a walk but there are secret spots to park closer to course.
Tee Signs need graphics and distance. Heard they are getting done.
Other Thoughts: Its my home course! Nice to say I have one!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I like it!

1    6/10/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: LiLHomeGirl
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - clear signs and holes for different level players- including children due to alternative baskets.
- feng shui! relaxing and peaceful. Clear of trash.
- nice layout and resting spots at holes. Tee boxes are very nice and large (cement).
- feels safe for solo ladies but the course is in the back of the park and visibility is not good. I would play this course alone.
- good private "rest" stops
Cons: - aim well or loose your disc in someones backyard- no trespassing.
- bushes are vicious
- poison oak
- short course
Other Thoughts: I will play here again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    4/13/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 754  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course makes really excellent use of the space available. The course uses a mostly open area with a hillside at two edges. About half of the holes use the elevation nicely to add some variety, including a fun downhill throw and a tricky shot that is uphill to some pin placements and up and over to another. There aren't a lot of trees, but what's there is used well to protect pin locations on a couple holes. There is decent distance variety, especially with the different pin options on each hole.

There are some cool touches like berms around baskets and a rock island/lake (depending on which pin you're shooting at). The tees are very nice large concrete circles. With three baskets on each hole that allows for drives in any direction. The multiple baskets are a neat way of adding variety to a fairly small property, in a way that didn't seem to cause issues with folks playing different layouts at the same time. The course is fairly easy to follow.
Cons: Despite a lot of creativity, this is still a pretty wide open course that allows for fairly straightforward shots on a lot of the holes. There are a few pins that stretch things out a little, but for the most part the distances are fairly short and that leaves the course feeling a little lacking in challenge for better players.

The course ends in an odd place, you have to cross through a few other holes to get back to the first tee or to leave the course on the way back to the parking lot. The long walk to and from the parking lot could be a con, I didn't rate down for it at all because I'd rather see a longer walk to a better course than a course through heavily used areas of a park.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the red layout very approachable, and the blue and yellow layouts challenging but fair. More experienced players will find the course fairly straightforward, but fun. There are a few nice challenges, and some fun birdie/ace runs. I enjoyed my round here, and really liked seeing the creative use of the property. I love the idea of being able to play 9 holes of your choice or a full 27.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Learning course

5+    1/20/2013   1/31/2013
Review By: Josephb.
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads.
18 hole course ( front & back 9)
Very easy to navigate.
Three pin Locations red, blue and yellow.

Cons: Tee pads get muddy and dirty
Poison oak on premises.
Short course,
Other Thoughts: The course is very beautiful right now from the recent rains. There is a lot of grass around, nice and green.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.