Thousand Oaks, CA 
Rabbit Flats Share
Uploaded By: BENFTS Hole #2
3 / 110ft.   3 / 179ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Ozzy Dog Review for Rabbit Flats-Thousand Oaks, CA.

5+    1/2/2013   1/12/2013
Review By: cmoriarity666
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun shots up and downhill. Great course for beginners, but still challenging for more advanced players. Thousand Oaks is beautiful and the weather is consistant. Very easy to find pads and the park is clean.
Cons: There are only 9 Tee Pads and the course is short.
Other Thoughts: Great course to bring the dog , Trash cans were easy to find.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  rabbit flats a great course

5+    8/16/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: Flick41198
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: friendly fun course the only course i have ever played at has 27 baskets 9 tee pads 18 blue to yellow good small course a lot of easy holes for birdies and always guys out there its always alot of fun to play there and will always be improving by the day
Cons: gross creak not enough obstacales annoying bushes a lot of palm trees that swallow discs and poison oak and a lot of gross bushes that make you lose your discs
Other Thoughts: will be an amazing course once the trees mature and will always be my first and one of my favorite courses and a great lost and found at the community center with discs that people have lost and all they need is your name and there is your disc

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Improving

5+    8/11/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 37  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First, from the first time till my round today this course continues improve and become more complex, so I am sure I will be editing this at some point.

-Easy parking
-giant oval teepads, that are well kept and make teeing off very easy.
-Easy to navigate once you get onto the first hole.
-Three hole stretch 4/13-6/15 offer a few unique looks, not really hard holes but more than just pitch and putt, splashed out 13 with a short thumbed today...damn!!
-Friendly local crew, I've had two discs returned to me here and have always found 2-3 people I can jump in a round with.
Cons: -Wide open relative holes on half of the holes, this will be negated over time as trees grow in but that is probably 3-5 years out.
-No water I can find, it gets hot and dusty out there!
-Not really a controllable con but the creek water is pretty nasty, gonna have to give my roc a serious cleaning after dunking it on 4.
Other Thoughts: This course makes great use of the existing space, with more time and alot more tree growth I could see giving this another disc.

For a short thrower like myself these holes are a great length, obtainable distances and plenty of birdie opportunities.

Advanced players will probably be bored to death out here, lots of putter/short midrange holes.

Having family in TO this is a course I will play when I'm in the neighborhood and be thankful for it's existence, but not a course I'd go out of my way to come to.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad for the land they were given

1    5/27/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is evident that a ton of work has been put in by the volunteers who made this course. Bravo. For the limited land they were given, they really put a lot of thought into maximizing it. I like the "island" green and the treachery of the creek on the north side of the course.

Great tee pads. Nice baskets.
Cons: The land is limited, which restricts what is possible for making the course.

Either wear long pants or high socks, because it is very easy to get wood chips or worse in your shoes.
Other Thoughts: Great course for girlfriends/wives/kids/beginners. Again, I'm very impressed by the work put in by the locals on this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Meh

1    11/27/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: nesto
Played: 45  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.7 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -great 12' round/oval tee pads
-top of the line discatchers baskets painted accordingly
-some fun elevation change
-stairs to walk up/down steeper parts
-next to sport fields for long drive or roller practice/warm up
-map available at kiosk
-straight forward marked OBs
-course flowed
-no crossing fairways
Cons: -mostly short, wide open, easy holes.
-not very challenging for advanced/open players
-multiple colored baskets to throw at with no real signage can be weird at first
-no footage marked
-didn't really make use of limited foliage to present and additional technicality
-walk across field to kiosk, directly adjacent tee pad is hole 2? walk back to hole one...
-locals starting on hole 3 where closer parking is
-not a scenic course whatsoever
-no memorable or signature holes. one is on a mound but it's less than 300' away
-with all those baskets no practice basket
-blue and yellow baskets positions aren't really that different. most baskets for holes are grouped in a small area.
Other Thoughts: We hit this course up on the way home from a road trip and was mildly disapointed. 27 primo baskets and 9 tee pads with easy lines and straight forward shots. Duece or die. Only a few long holes to air it out and they are not really that long. Good use of elevation for the area but the piece of land used has many limitations. It is obvious that a lot of work has been put into the course but it has a long way to go. Threw my putter on a lot of drives. I can only dream what we could do with that many baskets here in the bay area. They should try to secure a better, larger piece of land eventually and use 18 of the baskets from here to make a better course. Great place to bring out kids/girlfriends/beginers to introduce them to the game. If I am in the area again I would probably forgo another visit but if lived here i would play it. I imagine skilled locals play some fun safari holes to add length/challenge

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Rabbit Flats - AWESOME!

5+    3/13/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: Romans12,14-17
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 30.5 Years
6 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - Beautiful course! Huge varieties of throws. NOT FLAT! Lots of elevation changes. Accuracy pays off dividends! Many opportunities for trouble (out of bounds) if you get greedy for birdies or aces.
Lots of trees and shrubs have recently been planted on the fairways of 8, 9, 17, and 18.
- All available space utilized in fantastic ways to created 18 fun and challenging holes.
- Mulch is brought in routinely to reduce weed growth and keep the dust down, (although the course has beautiful green grass right now! :-)
The mulch piles give great terrain variety before they are spread.
- Most holes have 2-4 alternate pin placements, and there are more being planned.
- Many holes (#s 7, 9, 14, 16,) play surprisingly long!
- For the following descriptions, I'm assuming a clockwise rotation, (right handed backhand).
- Tee 1/10: It's easy to "saw" one off to the right and go out of bounds (OB) on or across the jogging trail. You would be wise to throw more to the right than you think you should. But be careful to no throw it right into the hill that rises to the right! The kiosk by tee 2/11 was strategically placed to intercept errant drives to long hole 10 and protect people waiting on tee 2/11.
- Tee 2/11: Be sure to make the mandatory to the right of the marked tree. The best shots I've seen are with big rimmed drivers (Boss, Firebird) with big skips. Local rule: missed mandy - play where you lie (unless OB on or over the jogging trail) and add a 1 stroke penalty.
- Tee 4/13: FUN, FUN, FUN! Short, steeply downhill shots. Just a bit long on hole 4 gets you an OB penalty, as the top of the slope down to the creek is marked OB. If it's a day of Santa Ana winds from the east, (rather than the trade wind, on-shore wind from the west), it's easy to flatten out a drive and go OB on or across the jogging trail.
When playing hole 4, the big rocks circling hole 13, form an OB area (Lake Conejo). Local rule: play where you lie (in Lake Conejo) and add 1 stroke penalty. With a solid putt, you can save a par! With an aggressive off-line putt, you can go OB in the creek! :-)
When playing hole 13 the rocks form an island (Coney Island) that you must land on or you are OB. Local rule: play where you lie and add a 1 stroke penalty. Again, a nice putt can save your par!
Tee 5/14: Very uphill drives! Don't miss the mandy to the left of the marked pole! If you do, the local rule is to play where you lie and add a 1 stroke penalty. The short position of hole 5 is more challenging than it's longer position, as it is close to a steep embankment. If you're drive is short, you'll have tough footing to go along with your very uphill putt. If you're long, your comeback putt can wiz on by and go way downhill!
Hole 14 is an awesome shot steeply uphill, around a nice pepper tree, and back down a steeply sloped fairway. Short drives, (most are!), give a challenging downhill approach, or a dangerous putt. The long position of 14 is a HUGE drive! But I've seen Wally Moore park it with a broken in KC Roc!
Tee 6/15: Singnature holes! Trade winds from the west can turn over your drive (and long 6 is a pump!) and put you OB in the creek that runs along the right side of the entire fairway. Lots of work has been done to thin things out to make errant drives into the creek area easier to find! There is a very large bush (pyracantha) that is OB adding more challenge. This is a beautiful fairway, half-bowl shaped. Hole 6 is a long throw with OB to the right, in the fairway (pyracantha), and just past the hole! Hole 15 requires your drive to navigate between the creek and the pyracantha!
Tee 7/16: This tee is near the creek (very scenic!) and requires drives to go a long way, uphill, riding a hyzer. Recently added trees and mulch piles have added very nice touches to the fairways.
- Tee 8/17: Hole 8 is a fun "dinker" with 4 pin placements on and around a big dirt mound named The Anthill. Lots of new trees have made the hole much better. Putts are challenging.
Hole 17 is also much better now with many new trees. Hole 17 is placed close enough to the edge of a ridge, that if your drive is long, you may go a considerable way downhill, leaving a long uphill putt.
Tee 9/18: Hole is a long drive around and over trees.
Hole 18 "The Anthill 2" has 3 pin positions on and around a large mound. New trees, and elevated putt make this a cool hole. Beware of turning over your drive into the adjacent school yard!


Cons: Original tee signs not completely accurate, (but new ones are on the way, and they are promised to be very nice.)
Limited area, 10 acres.
Time needed for trees to mature.
Other Thoughts: Not every course can be, or should be a Santa Cruz. Even that incredible course would get boring if every course were just like it.
Rabbit Flats is a very unique course maximizing FUN and CHALLENGE.
The CRPD (Conejo Recreation & Parks District) made a huge investment in this course and it has paid off!
It is awesome that they put in an extra 9 holes (red baskets) so kids and beginners could play along with experienced players!
Bring the whole family, wife, 1st timers...
This could be a model for courses in the future to get more people into the sport!
The CRPD continues to be involved on a weekly basis improving the course - spreading mulch, weeding, planting, building steps on steep trails, getting new tee signs, adding new hole locations...
Rabbit Flats will only get better and better over time. It's on it's way to a 5 disc rating! :-)

6 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

2-4    1/8/2011   1/8/2011
Review By: IamDangerboy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What a beautiful morning it was today. A light breeze from the south, and warm enough to play in a T-Shirt. A few friendly groups of people were out playing. This is a perfect starter course, and has a few fun obstacles.
Cons: Some of the dog owners don't clean up after their pets. :( The course was a little muddy and wet this morning to add to things that stick to your shoes.
Other Thoughts: This course is still under construction. There were some new stairs on hole 5 going up the hill, and new trees and shrubbery being planted all over the course.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf is a Posative

2-4    11/8/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 81  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2014
10 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: "Pros:
- Great Use of Limited Space. Rabbit Flats could become an example of what to do if you only have 10 acres and want to build a "somewhat" complete disc golf experience. 9 tee-pads with 3 baskets for each create a unique "27 Hole" course.
- Island Greens. Two of the greens were designed as "islands"… or so they appeared (surrounded by boulders or a dirt berm). This is an awesome way to make an otherwise easy open disc golf hole into something much more interesting.
- Pin Placement. Several of the pins were placed on mounds or on the edge of steep hills, creating more difficult putts with more serious consequences.
- Getting Better. From what I was able to observe, it seems like they are still hard at work trying to make the course better. I saw a lot of plants in planter buckets waiting to be planted… as well as some what appeared to be new dirt berm-work being done to create an island green around Hole 1's Blue basket." DSCJNKY (Trusted Reviewer - Gold Level)

My Addition...
I love playing a windy course and this course was very on the day I played. This adds a much needed addition in the basic difficulty.
Cons: Hole length (most under 300') three baskets in place on the same hole at the same time, general lack of course etiquette (common with new dg communities), and a lack of large obstacles.
Other Thoughts: This community keeps working on this course and the changes are always happening. In just a few years this course will be a fantastic little gem perfect for newer players.

10 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Mis-Named... I Never Saw a Rabbit

2-4    11/23/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 302  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.3 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Great Use of Limited Space. Rabbit Flats could become an example of what to do if you only have 10 acres and want to build a "somewhat" complete disc golf experience. 9 tee-pads with 3 baskets for each create a unique "27 Hole" course.
- Island Greens. Two of the greens were designed as "islands"… or so they appeared (surrounded by boulders or a dirt berm). This is an awesome way to make an otherwise easy open disc golf hole into something much more interesting.
- Pin Placement. Several of the pins were placed on mounds or on the edge of steep hills, creating more difficult putts with more serious consequences.
- Getting Better. From what I was able to observe, it seems like they are still hard at work trying to make the course better. I saw a lot of plants in planter buckets waiting to be planted… as well as some what appeared to be new dirt berm-work being done to create an island green around Hole 1's Blue basket.
Cons:
- Hard to Play a Legit Round. I found it too hard to play a legit round at Rabbit Flats. When I got to the tee-pad, I just threw at all three baskets and then went and played them all out… as opposed to throwing at one basket and going around the course 3 times (which would probably suck).
- Kiosk Placement. I don't know why the Kiosk is at Hole 2. As you approach the course from the parking lot and walk across the softball field, you can clearly see a kiosk… so naturally you walk to it. It has a map, info about the course, even a place to make donations, etc… so naturally you start there. BUT, that's not Hole 1??? After playing that Hole thinking it was Hole 1, I was walking around looking for the tee-pad for Hole 2… but the next most logical tee-pad is for Hole 3. I figured out the problem… but it was slightly confusing for a second.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. When you combine short, medium and long shots with flat, uphill and downhill Holes and with 3 baskets on every Hole to unload your bag at, Rabbit Flats becomes a great place to practice. It definitely wasn't the best course I've ever played, but I certainly wasn't mad at the course either. Lots of trouble can be had for bad shots. Lots of sunshine on hot days. Pretty windy on top of the hill.
- Mis-Named. I never saw a Rabbit, only ground squirrels. The course should have been called the "Ground-Squirrel Dug-Out" or something.
- My Score: -11 on the Blues and Yellows (I didn't play the Reds)

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great "9" hole course

1    9/11/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: The Meat Truck
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun, challenging with lots of different kinds of shots.
Easy to find.
FREE FREE FREE
Littler holes for novice players (brought my 7 year old sister to play for the first time).
No Cactus, Thorny stickers
Great tee pads.
Cons: Its really a 9 hole course which three different tees that dont make much of a difference.
Parking is a ways away from first tee.
Can get busy and can get very windy.
Other Thoughts: Well I came out to Thousand Oaks for a day of disc golf and this course was more than i expected, Uphill, downhill, shots and turn to either side everything you can want in a course thats wide open. Great novice holes for young kids or first timers. Would recommend to anyone looking to play a course thats not a giant hike or super hard

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.