Thousand Oaks, CA
Rabbit Flats Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers   (Taken 8/2012)
Course Information Kiosk



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
Rabbit Flats Original 9 and Temporary 9 Hole Course

5+    7/8/2012   5/23/2010
Review By: Discette
Played: 232  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2012
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I would rate this course as a 4.5 for beginning or youth players. This is a great course to bring new players or the entire family. Three pin placements from one tee means everyone can play together. However, it is a bit rugged - so no strollers.


Love the giant 12 foot wide circular tee pads with an excellent finish. This also makes it easy to invent safari holes. I liked the smaller tee signs. They will be easier to update or replace if vandalized.


This course was designed on a very small piece of land and Mike B did a great job with it. It makes great use of the elevation with a mix of up and down shots. It is not FLAT, be prepared for trekking up and down hills - some are steep.


Red pins are for youth players, Blue pins are numbered 1 - 9. Yellow pins are numbered 10-18. Red pins 19 -27.


Give the original 9 hole course 3 discs for experienced players since the challenge here is really in the putting. Be sure to give this course a try. It is truly unique and fun to play!
Cons: It is a bit rugged, so make sure to wear sturdy shoes. Not suitable for carts or strollers.


While the walk from the parking lot is a couple of hundred yards, I really don't mind walking in order to have this part of the park just for disc golf.


Not a fan of elevated baskets, but it does add some more challenge to a couple of the flat/wide open holes.

Holes were designed away from neighbors, but it is still possible for wild beginner throws to go into the school yard on Holes 3 and 8. Do not hop fence. They will call you if you have your number on the disc.
Other Thoughts:

Temporary 9 Hole Conejo Pro Am Course review

I have had the opportunity to volunteer and play in the 2011 & 2012 Conejo Pro Am held at Rabbit Flats. The event sets up nine temporary baskets from So Cal DGA. The 9 Hole course plays around the soccer fields, with a few holes around the picnic shelter area. These popular youth soccer fields are in use year round. This annual PDGA event is held on the one summer weekend when the fields are being serviced. The fields are fenced off and closed to all soccer activity. The walking paths around the fields are also closed for the one day event.

The temporary tournament 9 layout is fun and more challenging than the traditional RF course. This is not a course for beginners or youth players like the original 9 hole layout.

10 tee is located at the southwest corner of the soccer fields. The narrow fairways for Holes 10 & 11 are bordered by the OB/fenced soccer fields on the left and the school fence on the right. The walking path here is gravel and becomes the fairway and is not OB. Hole 10 target is placed on the right behind one of the lone trees along the path. Hole 11 plays to the grassy area southeast of the softball field. Basket is located just in front of storage shed. Hole 12 is an island hole and the pin is located in the sand volley ball court. Players must land within the court off the tee or take penalty strokes. The court is only 225 feet away from the tee, so all PDGA divisions should be able to throw onto the volley "island". Holes 13 - 15 play out and around from the reserved shelter area. On Hole 13, the basketball courts on the left are OB. With the added low ceiling from the mature trees, and a natural narrowing of the fairway, a roller is a great shot to have in the bag. Hole 14 tees over a natural uncultivated section with the pin placed on the edge of the heavy brush. Holes 15-18, along the north side of the complex, have some precarious pin placements along the elevated berm. The OB walking path and soccer fields add to the challenge. Baskets 17 and 18 are placed on the top of the narrow berm. Accurate placement of drives and putting is necessary on these holes or the extra strokes can add up quickly.

This course will never exist as a permanent course unless the soccer fields are removed. The only chance to play it, is while the course is set up during the annual PDGA event.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 T.O. finally gets a real course!!!

5+    5/14/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2011
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -three baskets per tee
-great use of a fairly small plot of land
-circular concrete tee pads allow you to aim comfortably at any of the three baskets
-great use of elevation
-good course flow
-a couple elevated baskets (8 & 9)
-nice, brand-new discatchers; color-coded
-signs w/ map
-plenty of parking
-DG exclusive (separate from rest of park)
-part of a great park with baseball and soccer fields, tennis courts, walking/running trails, amenities
-great, committed group of locals that are really taking care of the place and constantly making improvements - CDGC, the Conejo Disc Golf Club (PDGA affiliated), http://www.conejodiscgolf.com /
Cons: -about half the holes are totally wide open, particularly 8 & 9, but trees are being planted to create some obstacles
-few holes that have some kind of "forced shots"
-have to walk to the back of the park from the parking lot
-relatively long walk from 9 back to 1 that crosses a couple fairways
-needs a sign pointing to hole 7's tee, it is hidden around the corner
-signs indicate distances and route to each basket but they are very small. would be nice to see some real, full-sized signage. i also noticed at least one that had the wrong color coding.
-some tall grass on the top of the plateau and a treacherous, tree-lined creek along 4-6; especially in play on 6
-course is a little rough around the edges at the moment but it is still brand new. time will take care of it.
Other Thoughts: This is a great little course that is an overdue addition to the area. We should finally be able to retire the YMCA!!

The course is built on a small ridge at the back of the Thousand Oaks Community Park, next door to TO High School, and really makes effective use of the land. Hats off to Mike Byrne for doing a fantastic job with the course design.

The multiple, color-coded baskets on each hole are what makes this course really special. The red baskets are pretty short and intended to be rec-level but are not too short and still make for a fun warm up round. Almost all ace runs! The blue and yellow baskets are the front and back, respectively, and are mostly far enough apart that they aren't exactly the same shot on each one.

The use of elevation on 4-7 makes for some really interesting shots and a good course flow. The course basically circles the perimeter of the area, utilizing the best of the terrain features. Trees have been planted on 8 & 9 and with time will greatly improve play on those holes.

Bottom line: a really fun short course. Play 9, 18 or 27 holes. A great way to fill the gap between Lake Casitas and Sylmar.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Great 9ish? Hole

1    4/26/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2012
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -3 permanent pin placements at all 9 tees.
-Lots of variety for its size!
-Navigation is generally simple
-Very nice information kiosk located at hole #2
-DG exclusive
Cons: -A couple of long walks to tees
-Foxtails
Other Thoughts: Rabbit Flat is located behind a park and high school, on a multi-terrained piece of land. While trees are generally not the main obstacle, the terrain is what makes this park fun and exciting.

I don't know if you call it a 9, 18, or 27 hole course, but there are 27 pins scattered ALL OVER this wonderful piece of land. I like to refer to it as a 27 hole course with a 9 hole capacity. We had a wonderful afternoon checking out the entire course, aka playing it 3 times, and some later safari rounds.

Others have said they skip the red pins, but they serve as a fun birdie warmup and inflate the score :P

I found it very fun and unique to be playing a course, and seeing a shot I will be taking later on. It got me excited for the next round, and the one after that. The final round definitely had a sense of closure as I had played all 3 possibilities on each tee.

The opportunity for black aces are endless!

While the 'red' course provided the challenge I have come to expect from 9 hole courses, the blue and gold courses were each a more fun challenge. Definitely allowed you to throw your disc with power at times. The two blind uphill shots were particularly fun.

The blue and gold courses are not necessarily 'medium' and 'difficult.' Sometimes the blue pin is harder to reach, sometimes the gold is. I think this makes playing an 18 hole round more interesting, instead of 9 easier holes then 9 harder ones. Keeps it mixed up.

The hillside shots were particularly fun, there is a distinct possibility that your disc will just float forever, right into the jungle like creek area very near the pins.

Hole 4 Blue is an island hole, +1 stroke and play from where you lie if you are outside the circle.

The walk to hole 7 is over the hill beyond all 3 pins for 6. Walk up, then down :)

So here is a reason to stop by: To be able to look over the entire course and just see pins EVERYWHERE! On top of hills, in the field, under a tree, just everywhere. It was actually really cool looking. I mean, 27 pins on around 12 acres? Pretty neat.

So its a 9 hole course, we spent about 4 hours there, taking our time and never getting bored. What a GREAT course for the city of Thousand Oaks! I, for one, am jealous, as I cannot casually drive there whenever I want. Coupled with the fact that it was NOT busy, and was 'secluded' from the rest of the park for lack of a better term, and this is one of the best 9(ish) hole I have ever played. Perfect for practice.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Glorified Nine-Holer

2-4    4/10/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 16.9 Years
18 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Sweet, brand new grippy tees
-Excellent baskets. 3 per hole.
-Terrain. The course is set up on the top and along the ridge of a pristine 50' plateau. Some really fun downhill shots (one is a short, fun putter shot and another is a bomb), a cool, sharp dogleg, one really tricky, steep uphill shot and the rest wide open shots.
-Accurate signage (though really small and hard to read)
-DG exclusive area
-Plenty of parking and easy to find
-Course flows pretty well. Almost every tee is visible from the previous pins making navigation a breeze
-Course bulletin board has a map and schedule of a few local events
-No criss-crossing fairways. Very safe.
Cons: -Easy to lose plastic on a few holes. The creek that runs down the East side of the course has spawned a LOT of underbrush.
-Extra small signage. Hole maps are approximately 3" x 1.5" and hard to read.
-A few of the wide open, flat holes on the back half of the course are, for all intents and purposes, the same shot.
Other Thoughts: Rabbit Flats is the newest disc golf addition to socal. And a well-thought out course it is. This course mixes up required shots quite a bit, which is what makes it stand out in my mind as one of the better nine hole courses I have had the pleasure of playing.

But it is a nine hole course. The basket locations, for the most part, are pretty closely grouped. The red baskets are crazy short. We didn't even play them when checking out the course. Only holes 1, 5 and 6 require a significant change of approach between the blue and gold baskets.

That said, this course has something for everyone. A great course to take some of your beginner friends and gain satisfaction from playing the longer baskets while the noobs play the reds. This is an incredible course to learn the sport as it has significant elevation change...more than most socal courses. Pair that with the deeper baskets, waiting to be conquered, and Rabbit flats becomes one of the best learner courses out there.

Try out Rabbit Flats when you have an opportunity. The variation and technical nature of the hole layouts will have you coming back for more and bringing your friends!

18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

  A biased opinion.......

5+    4/3/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: Frizzboom
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: New round concrete tees. 27 baskets, 9 tees. Kids and newbies play to the red basket, so play head to head with the pros! Use the walk across the soccer fields for warm up. Finesse will win the round here. Practice your depth perception on each hole, is it 250 or 180 ft.? Some holes play long others short. My favorite basket is13. The "normal wind" on this course is "abnormal" so it plays different everyday! This is a friendly course so say hi to the other players!
Cons: The giant disc eating Pyrocantha bush on 6!!!
Other Thoughts: When the landscaping is mature and new trees are in this will be a great family course.

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.