Layout Extinct

Loris, SC 
Loris Nature Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Citadelly Hole #5 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 173ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Could be great.

5+    8/17/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: Brad bass
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9 Lots of shade, nice baskets. Many good shots to test your game. The woods are tuff in places tight fairways but for the most part shorter dist. Holes are short but challenging. It's free and quick if you want it to be
Cons: 7 is to close to the park and kids I love the hole but it can be tuff if there are people in the area. 10 is ok but it's made to seem worse because it's followed by four clones back to back to back to back. 11,12,13, and 14 are all the same if you can stay to the right you'll have no problem with the ditch 15-18 are good though long walk but won't kill you.
Other Thoughts: It's not hard to navigate at all there is a sing next to the t for 1 that will tell you where to go. The t for 1 is just a few feet up a sidewalk to the left of the pavilion in the parking area. This course could be very nice if we could do a few changes to the back maybe bring a few into the woods. I live close to this park and am out there often if your in the area and would like someone to show you around here or other local courses let me know and I'm always looking for other locals. Check out Myrtle beach area disc golf ok Facebook also. bradleyrbass@yahoo.com

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 best local course

5+    7/8/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: Hindenburg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: front 9 are reasonably wooded creating plenty of shade and challenging approaches to the targets. Plenty of straight shots for long drives and short curved drives from tee to target to give you a great diversity to work on all aspects of your game. Hole 18 tees off over a lake.
Cons: Hole 3 is missing, holes 10-17 are very long straight shots and are very repetitive, so i usually just play the front 9. its also centered around a playground so you have to be wary of kids. There is no info about distance or any designated tee box so you have to tee off from the left or right of a post with the basket number in it.
Other Thoughts: we do a doubles round weekly with usually 6-8 people so if your a local and you wanna meet other players go to horrycountydiscgolf.com and sign up.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun on the Grand Strand

1    6/20/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course that will test all aspects of the beginner's game. The front nine will test your accuracy with some incredibly narrow, tight fairways and a few almost unfair turns. The back nine will test your distance (and your endurance, as holes 10-14 are pretty much the same hole - see Cons.).

#17 is a fun hole to unload your bag on -- wide open and long. Played it better than I thought I would.
Cons: Tee signs are just a 4x4 with the hole number for now. No tee pads. Missing basket on #3. Back nine starts of with a string of holes that are pretty much the same thing over and over again. #7 is the most unsafe hole I've ever played -- hopefully it will be redesigned in the near future. If there had been kids on the playground I would have skipped it; my drive ended up hyzering out on me and landed under the equipment.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty good drive from Myrtle Beach and North Myrtle, but right now it's about the only option available. Factoring in gas, it was still cheaper for me to drive up here to play than drive to Tupelo Bay and play 18 there. With some fixing up and a bit of a redesign this will be a great course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Loris Course

2-4    3/26/2011   3/29/2011
Review By: SamuelCollins
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am just starting out in disc golf and have only been playing for 3 weeks. i like this course because it is close to home. it has many good and challenging holes and from playing here i have seen an improvement in my game.
Cons: most of the back holes are the same long holes, boring, repetitive, and unnecessary. the holes that play next to the play ground was a very stupid idea as my friend about killed 30 kids with a bad flick.(BING) the course could use tee pads and par/length plaques.
Other Thoughts: over all a decent course, i like the location and the environment I just think someone should rethink and move some of the holes. plenty of room why not use it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Loris

5+    4/17/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: BING
Played: 40  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great baskets and some hard to hit holes. Has woods and open along with a shot across a pond. Water holes always add a little extra fun to the game. This course has EVERY HOLE you can ask for. Straight holes, woods holes, cross the pond hole, and OB holes that make you work for par.
Cons: Could list them but doesn't matter. Most of the holes will be fixed in few months or less. Have a good crew already for this course. Visit www.horrycountydiscgolf.com

Other Thoughts: Looking to get new pin and tee locations for alot of holes out there so please check back in a few weeks and I'll update with new info.

4/22/11

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/10/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would like to start by saying RussMB's review is excellent/extremely helpful to me and I would really just like to add my thoughts.
#18 is a really nice way to end with a shot over a pond where the water is very clear and easy to find a disc that didn't make land.
-not bad for beginers
-nice clean park with the cleanest port-a-potty I have ever seen
- long and short shots
- some really fun shots
-easy to navigate even with out tee signs
-not crowded
Cons: The long holes seem a bit to long for a course suited towards rec players.
-long walk from 16 to 17 and confusing as to where to go (across the street at the high school)
-really long walk back after #18
-a crossing fairway but it's not crowded so it shouldn't be an issue
-bug spray needed
Other Thoughts: Use the address RussMB has provided to find this place. Definetely not a destination course but it's got some decent fun if you are traveling by.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Close to Home

1    1/24/2010   1/25/2010
Review By: runningheels
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice park. Open field in the center, surrounded by trees. New, state of the art playground equipment, benches (swings). Most baskets are close; kids can play without too much challenge. Natural paths (woodchips) easy to navigate through course.
Cons: No Tee Boxes (in fact, it took some searching to find the #1 tee). Holes 5 and 6 hold too much water/unplayable. Tree-lined fairways are dense (holes 3-6), making disc retrieval difficult on errant throws.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.