Fitchburg, MA 
Coggshall Park Share
Uploaded By: philvil Hole #14 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
tuff course

2-4    5/20/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: chillin
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: challenging, tuff shots, good hike up and down hills
Cons: Not well maintained, not labeled good for directions to next hole, very easy to loose disc, no real established tees
Other Thoughts: it would be a nice course if they add a few signs and cut back some of the over growth

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course with A Lot of Potential

1    7/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: bosoxbrent
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Pretty challenging set of wooded holes that allow you to really practice your woods game.
* You definitely get some good exercise hiking up and down some of the hills.
* For the most part the course is pretty clean. I found very little trash there.
* A few holes were ones that you shot across valleys. Those were a lot of fun.
* It's in a very quiet park that didn't seem very crowded when we played.
* There are a couple of holes that even a beginner may have a chance to ace.
* The baskets were very new and in excellent shape.
Cons: * My biggest peeve is the lack of signage. This was my first time playing this course. There were no signs stating how long the holes were and only a few showing you where the next tee was.
* Tee boxes could use a little leveling and gravel if they are not going with wooden or concrete tee pads.
* Needs a lot of maintenance. There are a lot of wood piles and trees down off the main fairway. Likely due to the ice storm a few years back. Could use a little care.
* Not a friendly course for beginners.
* Oddly enough we found about 10 bras hanging from various tree branches and signs. I'm not sure if this is a joke or perverts run free in the woods after dark.
Other Thoughts: This was a pretty hilly, wooded course. I was really frustrated on the front 9, but the back 9 was much more enjoyable. I think it just took some getting used to on my part. I really wish they cleaned up the downed branches and brush as this could be a very nice course. I look forward to seeing if local clubs/players organize something to help clean this course up.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Coggshall 9

5+    9/26/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: kthibodeau1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging and beautiful location. This course is in a beautiful pine and oak forest.

You can pick wild blueberries and raspberries in late summer.

Great array of wildlife to be seen from red tail hawks, to smoking mushrooms.
Cons: This course can be frustrating due to all of the undergrowth. Even if you have a good drive, you may be looking for your disc for a long time.

The course is still just 9 holes, so there is room for growth and if it is cut and cleaned more it can easily move to a 3+ rating.
Other Thoughts: This course needs a donation box so that we can move along the unfinished work and get it cleared out properly.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Lil` nine holer

5+    1/26/2010   1/28/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2010
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is a decent mix of shots needed throughout the bottom eight holes. While there isn't a lot of elevation change there is enough to keep you honest, but not limit your shots too much. The upper ten holes change elevation much more but are still in the "clean-up" phase and are very hard to find. The tee boxes are lined with 2x4's or felled trees which makes them pretty easy to find. The hole variety is pretty decent mix of left, right, tunnels, uphill and downhill. There is also pretty decent parking by the entrance(it says don't use the entrance, but its ok). The Home Depot five gallon bucket targets are pretty easy to see, if the hole has them. The lower holes 1-2 and 13-18 all have brand new Discatchers. Holes sixteen and seventeen are by far the most exciting holes on the course. Sixteen is a short shot straight up the hill with the basket perched on a rock landing. Seventeen is a long dogleg left with many obstacles and a high shot will get lost in the foliage. These two holes have probably the best risk/reward shots on the course. The upper holes have lots of potential and with some more clean-up will be a great asset to the course and park in general.
Cons: Probably the most glaring con is the lack of signage. There are no tee signs or next tee signs on the upper holes. Next tee signs and hole numbers are available on the lower holes. The course currently has eight permanent and one temporary hole on the bottom and ten holes up top(these holes have no signage). Navigation is incredibly difficult on holes 3-11. I spent more time looking for next tee boxes and targets than actually throwing. There are no major design flaws but the hard navigation really drags this course down. There is still a considerable amount of brush and cut down trees littering the fairways of some of the holes which makes for some tricky footing[there has been leaps and bounds made on this on the lower holes but the uppers are still miserable]. Some of the tee boxes are very unlevel and downright dangerous (hole seventeen). No map is currently available and the baskets aren't numbered (not really a problem but would be nice to have).
Other Thoughts: Bring boots as there is a small creek that runs through the park and drains into the lower parts of the park, which just so happens to be where the course is. You might want to wear long pants as well because there is still a bunch of brush that needs clearing and tons of thorny vines all over the course. There is a group that is working on it, and has all of the brush out of the fairway but an errant throw and you could be in trouble. New baskets have helped and sohave some workdays but the underbrush keeps coming back with a vengence.
Here's my breakdown of navigation between the lower holes. Note: actual hole number in parenthesis.
1 to 2 - about 50` down the path after basket 1
2 to 3 - go up the hill turn left and go 70`. The tee box is near where the road starts to bend on the right
3(13) to 4(14) - about 30' up the hill
4(14) to 5(15) - turn to your left and walk 50`
5(15) to 6(16) - go up the trail on the right 100`
6(16) to 7(17) - down the hill to the right 50`
7(17) to 8(18) - 20` down the path
(Note that all distances are approximated)

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.