Fitchburg, MA 
Coggshall Park Share
Uploaded By: philvil Hole #2 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lots of changes since earlier posts

1    10/30/2014   10/31/2014
Review By: gabereif
Played: 24  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Based on reading previous posts, it sounds like this course has changed a lot since 2012. Here's my description of the course as of October 2014. I've tried to highlight how the course differs from earlier reviews.

-18 holes
-Abundant parking off of South St. with a prominent sign that says "Disc Golf Parking Only"
-Free
-Some tee pads are good. Every hole has a well-defined tee pad. Some are brick, some are rubber, some are natural.
-Baskets are in fine shape.
-The golf is challenging with all the trees and most holes are fair.
-Nice use of elevation, especially on 6 and 16.
-Hole 6 is clearly the best hole. Great aesthetics and a great tee shot.
-Underbrush was not a problem, except for a couple holes, but maybe this would be worse in the summer.
Cons: -It took my 5 minutes of wandering to find the first tee.
-There's a bulletin board, but it has no course map. A course map would have been very helpful.
-The holes have signs, but no indication of the layout of the hole. Most tee shots are blind, so this is frustrating. The hole signs also don't tell you how long the holes are. This was frustrating.
-There are lots of homemade signs around to help you get from one hole to the next. That said, navigation was hard for a first-timer. I'm not sure I would have found hole 6 without running into some folk. And getting from hole 12 to 13 was hard too. Navigation was frustrating, although I made it through without a map or smart phone.
-I saw one pile of poop and stepped in another. Otherwise the course was clean.
-Some tee pads are bumpy and some are too short.
-Two long walks from 3 to 4 and 12 to 13.
-Some fairways are too tight and long for my taste. I think it was 9 and 14 and 17 and 18 where the fairway is narrow and windy and long. I bet this could be great for a local who knows the course really well, but I was frustrated on these holes.
-Some holes are pretty boring. Like 1.
-The course is described as moderately wooded. I would say it is heavily wooded!
Other Thoughts: If this course had better signage from hole to hole, signage for the layout of holes, hole distances listed, a sign to find the first tee, and a course map, it would be much better. I recognize that returners won't be bothered by the lack of navigational help, but as a first-timer, this put a damper on my experience. Otherwise, this was solid disc golf. I am pretty close to giving the course a 2.5, but I love the Disc Golf Parking Only sign in front that let me know I was in the right place. If I were a local, I'd be happy to play here on a regular basis.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New England Woodsy Discin'

1    7/4/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: Dylan Courtney
Played: 83  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Coggshall Park is a relatively new course that appears to be on it's way to becoming a real gem considering it is free to play. It is very easy to locate and parking is right by hole 1. There's only room for about 10 cars but we had the course to ourselves on July 4th. The setting is quite beautiful with massive boulders, tall pines, and rolling hills of Mountain Laurel and Rhododendron.

Design incorporates elevation to create a nice variety of holes. There are steep uphills, long gradual downhills, and a couple ridge to ridge shots with valleys in between. I found myself using a multitude of drivers, mids, and even putters off the tee, so bring your whole bag. Proficiency in throwing a Roc/Buzz/etc. nice and straight is rewarded. There are lanes to pump drivers out to the right or left, but the brush in the rough makes for a dangerous risk/reward ratio. Although the brush made finding discs difficult at times, it isn't very tall so you can usually get back on track with a nicely placed tommy/thumber. Baskets are brand new DISCatchers which grab discs well and are bright yellow which makes spotting them (a little) easier. The greens were all very nice once you found them and then got your disc to them.
Cons: The entrance to the park appears shady at best. The information "kiosk" is a joke. The natural tee pads are vaguely defined at their best and flat out dangerous at their worst. Signage only gives hole number and par (all 3's except for 1 hole). I don't care what the par is. I can't see the basket on more than half the holes, so how about a distance or a little sharpie drawing of which direction the hole turns. We ended up walking a bunch of holes before throwing because they literally could have been 290 dogleg right or 400 straight ahead. This gets tiring with the (awesome) steep rocky terrain. There were a couple spray and pray holes but most had an intended fairway. Took us 10 mins to find hole 4: After 3, take a left and follow the road up the hill past the 13 tee (ya…13). After hole 12, walk back down the road to 13. More thorough 'next tee' signage is needed. The few trash cans we saw were literally overflowing with garbage (It's full! Take your crap with you and throw it out in a container that doesn't have a Jenga pyramid of refuse reaching a foot above the can.)
Other Thoughts: Obviously after playing once or twice the layout/signage 'cons' diminish, but for a first timer it was a little tough. This is not a super difficult course (shot a 56 first time out), however it is not beginner friendly. Hardcore New England discers/hikers will feel at home. With those beautiful baskets and great environment, proper tee boxes should be a priority. Some of them will need to be moved entirely. We really enjoyed playing here despite the cons. As this course improves I think it will become very popular. Those who enjoy Devens will certainly like this course (once Devens-esque signage is installed). Now that I know the layout I can't wait to play it again!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Check It Out

5+    5/6/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: BA-DG
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Good hole design and variety overall with uphill, downhill, flat, and rolling hills all in the mix.
- Mix of holes favoring RHBH/LHBH.
- Very few short holes. Consistently challenging.
- Baskets in great shape.
- Great setup to play quick 9 holes.
- Quiet, secluded and serene, but still conveniently located.
- New parking area has opened making parking a breeze.
- Actively being improved.
Cons:
- Teeboxes are terrible right now to be honest (but are frequently being worked on).
- The rough is thick out there. It can be difficult to find discs thrown off the narrow fairways.
- Some holes have low lying muddy areas.
- Gets buggy in summer.
- Course layout is not ideal (due to being split into lower 9 and upper 9). There are lengthy walks between some holes, notably 2-3 and 12-13.
- No signage for holes other than par and distance.
- Some permanent signage still needed for direction to next hole, though this is not a problem after a playing once.
Other Thoughts:
This is my hometown course and it's getting better, but still has room to improve.

I really enjoy the play here. The holes are narrow and challenging. The rough is so thick (and thorny!) in spots that the safe play is often rewarded, making for many interesting risk/reward shots. There is a lot of elevation to work with here but there are only a few downhill holes, while there are several steep uphill holes. Most holes are overall flat with rolling hills.

There is definitely work to be done though, but that is one of the great things about this course -- it will only get better. Every time I'm out playing I run into someone working on the course. Recently a few baskets have been reset (for height) or moved slightly. Some teeboxes have also been moved (closer to the basket) or are being improved. This is good because the teeboxes are awful for most holes, and that is my major gripe with this course. Since I'm local I may work on raising some money for rubber pads for the teeboxes.

There are 19 holes here, but not really. I'm still confused by it actually. There are 18 holes with permanent sings for 1-18. But in front of 1 is a short 193ft hole that has a temporary 1 sign.

The way my friends and I play it:
18 holes - Play temp 1 as a warmup and then play the signed 1-18.
9 holes - Play temp 1 as 1, then signed 1 as 2, 2 as 3. Cross the street and play 13-18 to finish quick 9.

I'll post a course map soon and will be working on hole description signage for the course (as soon as they stop moving baskets).

If you live nearby you should absolutely give Coggshall a play, just don't forget the bug spray!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Almost there

5+    11/15/2011   11/17/2011
Review By: gizmo
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: not overcrowded,good for all skill levels,multi approach to holes,quiet,secluded,cool nature spot
Cons: poor signage,alot of underbrush to lose a disc in,we always find tons of ticks on our group
Other Thoughts: overall good course it could clearly use a little bit of tlc,but i play here on a regular basis and i enjoy it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Coggshall

5+    10/12/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: Coop
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 7/22/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Coggshall Disc Golf is located in a large park right off the main road. It has 18 holes all with brand new Discatchers that catch amazingly well.

Elevation is nice here as several holes have good up or down hill shots. One has you go over a valley to get to a basket. A few of the fairways have dropoffs on the sides so if you go off the fairway you gotta go back up and through the trees to get back on track. Almost half of the course has some use of elevation on the hole.

There is a variety of holes here that cater to rhbh and lhbh as well as a couple of ways to attack the basket. It isnt always just one way to get to a basket but a couple of ways.

The road on the lower holes is OB which adds to the challenge. I know some people hate OB but in my opinion if used correctly can add to a course. In the case of Coggshall I defently think it adds to the course.

If you are pressed for time(lunch round) you can easily play the bottom 9 in about 45 minutes as they loop around the lower section and finish right next to the parking lot where you come in at.

The wildlife here is great there are deer, different birds, and the mountain laurel is nice to look at during summer

There are brick tee boxes on holes 10,11, and 12. Several tee boxes have been flattened out and improved. More brick teeboxes are in the works.
Cons: Parking at Coggshall has greatly improved. There is now parking for at least 20 cars with more parking planned for the future.

Coggshall is still a new course that is getting better everyday but the undergrowth is defently tough. The mountain laurel here is brutal. It looks nice but they very large and overgrown and you can spend a lot of time looking for your disc and not playing.

The teepads are rough. Most are natural while some have rubber horse stall mats. The natural tees need work and the rubber on the others is a little to short. They are getting better though,see the pros above
Other Thoughts: For a quick round you can use the bottom 9 holes. Use holes 1-3 and 13-18. Its a quick loop that starts and finishes at the parking lot.

Hole 4 is up the road from hole 3. Its about 100 yards up the road and you tee off from the road.

There is a league on Thursday nights starting at 5:15 $5/play $10/tags.

Come fall we are hopeing to have more brick teepads in place. The goal is to have all 18 done by year end.




1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.