Fitchburg, MA
Coggshall Park Share
Uploaded By: philvil Hole #13 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
tuff course

2-4    5/20/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: chillin
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: challenging, tuff shots, good hike up and down hills
Cons: Not well maintained, not labeled good for directions to next hole, very easy to loose disc, no real established tees
Other Thoughts: it would be a nice course if they add a few signs and cut back some of the over growth

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Course with A Lot of Potential

1    7/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: bosoxbrent
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Pretty challenging set of wooded holes that allow you to really practice your woods game.
* You definitely get some good exercise hiking up and down some of the hills.
* For the most part the course is pretty clean. I found very little trash there.
* A few holes were ones that you shot across valleys. Those were a lot of fun.
* It's in a very quiet park that didn't seem very crowded when we played.
* There are a couple of holes that even a beginner may have a chance to ace.
* The baskets were very new and in excellent shape.
Cons: * My biggest peeve is the lack of signage. This was my first time playing this course. There were no signs stating how long the holes were and only a few showing you where the next tee was.
* Tee boxes could use a little leveling and gravel if they are not going with wooden or concrete tee pads.
* Needs a lot of maintenance. There are a lot of wood piles and trees down off the main fairway. Likely due to the ice storm a few years back. Could use a little care.
* Not a friendly course for beginners.
* Oddly enough we found about 10 bras hanging from various tree branches and signs. I'm not sure if this is a joke or perverts run free in the woods after dark.
Other Thoughts: This was a pretty hilly, wooded course. I was really frustrated on the front 9, but the back 9 was much more enjoyable. I think it just took some getting used to on my part. I really wish they cleaned up the downed branches and brush as this could be a very nice course. I look forward to seeing if local clubs/players organize something to help clean this course up.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

New England Woodsy Discin'

1    7/4/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: Dylan Courtney
Played: 64  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Coggshall Park is a relatively new course that appears to be on it's way to becoming a real gem considering it is free to play. It is very easy to locate and parking is right by hole 1. There's only room for about 10 cars but we had the course to ourselves on July 4th. The setting is quite beautiful with massive boulders, tall pines, and rolling hills of Mountain Laurel and Rhododendron.

Design incorporates elevation to create a nice variety of holes. There are steep uphills, long gradual downhills, and a couple ridge to ridge shots with valleys in between. I found myself using a multitude of drivers, mids, and even putters off the tee, so bring your whole bag. Proficiency in throwing a Roc/Buzz/etc. nice and straight is rewarded. There are lanes to pump drivers out to the right or left, but the brush in the rough makes for a dangerous risk/reward ratio. Although the brush made finding discs difficult at times, it isn't very tall so you can usually get back on track with a nicely placed tommy/thumber. Baskets are brand new DISCatchers which grab discs well and are bright yellow which makes spotting them (a little) easier. The greens were all very nice once you found them and then got your disc to them.
Cons: The entrance to the park appears shady at best. The information "kiosk" is a joke. The natural tee pads are vaguely defined at their best and flat out dangerous at their worst. Signage only gives hole number and par (all 3's except for 1 hole). I don't care what the par is. I can't see the basket on more than half the holes, so how about a distance or a little sharpie drawing of which direction the hole turns. We ended up walking a bunch of holes before throwing because they literally could have been 290 dogleg right or 400 straight ahead. This gets tiring with the (awesome) steep rocky terrain. There were a couple spray and pray holes but most had an intended fairway. Took us 10 mins to find hole 4: After 3, take a left and follow the road up the hill past the 13 tee (ya…13). After hole 12, walk back down the road to 13. More thorough 'next tee' signage is needed. The few trash cans we saw were literally overflowing with garbage (It's full! Take your crap with you and throw it out in a container that doesn't have a Jenga pyramid of refuse reaching a foot above the can.)
Other Thoughts: Obviously after playing once or twice the layout/signage 'cons' diminish, but for a first timer it was a little tough. This is not a super difficult course (shot a 56 first time out), however it is not beginner friendly. Hardcore New England discers/hikers will feel at home. With those beautiful baskets and great environment, proper tee boxes should be a priority. Some of them will need to be moved entirely. We really enjoyed playing here despite the cons. As this course improves I think it will become very popular. Those who enjoy Devens will certainly like this course (once Devens-esque signage is installed). Now that I know the layout I can't wait to play it again!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Check It Out

5+    5/6/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: BA-DG
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Good hole design and variety overall with uphill, downhill, flat, and rolling hills all in the mix.
- Mix of holes favoring RHBH/LHBH.
- Very few short holes. Consistently challenging.
- Baskets in great shape.
- Great setup to play quick 9 holes.
- Quiet, secluded and serene, but still conveniently located.
- New parking area has opened making parking a breeze.
- Actively being improved.
Cons:
- Teeboxes are terrible right now to be honest (but are frequently being worked on).
- The rough is thick out there. It can be difficult to find discs thrown off the narrow fairways.
- Some holes have low lying muddy areas.
- Gets buggy in summer.
- Course layout is not ideal (due to being split into lower 9 and upper 9). There are lengthy walks between some holes, notably 2-3 and 12-13.
- No signage for holes other than par and distance.
- Some permanent signage still needed for direction to next hole, though this is not a problem after a playing once.
Other Thoughts:
This is my hometown course and it's getting better, but still has room to improve.

I really enjoy the play here. The holes are narrow and challenging. The rough is so thick (and thorny!) in spots that the safe play is often rewarded, making for many interesting risk/reward shots. There is a lot of elevation to work with here but there are only a few downhill holes, while there are several steep uphill holes. Most holes are overall flat with rolling hills.

There is definitely work to be done though, but that is one of the great things about this course -- it will only get better. Every time I'm out playing I run into someone working on the course. Recently a few baskets have been reset (for height) or moved slightly. Some teeboxes have also been moved (closer to the basket) or are being improved. This is good because the teeboxes are awful for most holes, and that is my major gripe with this course. Since I'm local I may work on raising some money for rubber pads for the teeboxes.

There are 19 holes here, but not really. I'm still confused by it actually. There are 18 holes with permanent sings for 1-18. But in front of 1 is a short 193ft hole that has a temporary 1 sign.

The way my friends and I play it:
18 holes - Play temp 1 as a warmup and then play the signed 1-18.
9 holes - Play temp 1 as 1, then signed 1 as 2, 2 as 3. Cross the street and play 13-18 to finish quick 9.

I'll post a course map soon and will be working on hole description signage for the course (as soon as they stop moving baskets).

If you live nearby you should absolutely give Coggshall a play, just don't forget the bug spray!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great course taking form

1    3/24/2012   3/24/2012
Review By: xdzt
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very cool course with lots of interesting holes
- Quiet
- Some opportunities for bigger (but precise) arms
- Only 12 min. from Devens, making for a pleasant 36 holes in the woods
- Now has 18 holes, with some great additions in the "top" nine
- Quality baskets
- It's clear that a lot of work has been done on this course and it's a reasonable expectation that a lot of work will continue to be done, turning this into the gem it deserves to be
Cons: - Lack of signage hurts both in navigating between holes and at the teebox on blind shots
- Some rough teeboxes
- I imagine this will be a *very* buggy course come summertime, bring bugspray
- A lot of underbrush off of the fairways can make it a little tricky to navigate to errant discs.
Other Thoughts: Despite its open lines of sight, this is a narrow course. That said, there are very few trees in the middle of the narrow fairways, meaning that if you don't stray you won't need to worry about unlucky bounces.

I think there's no doubt that this course is going to blow up in popularity as it nears a more completed state. It's a challenging, but exceptionally fair, course.

Coggshall's location can't be beat. Right off of rt 2, it is a 12 minute drive to Devens DGC, and there's a Play it Again Sports about 1 mile down the road in Leominster to buy some new plastic while you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 First Round

1    1/16/2012   2/16/2012
Review By: anttiwalt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - a few long holes
- variety of terrain, many ups and downs, and a few flats
- new baskets
- cool shot over a valley

Overall this place is great, I was expecting a poor experience but I really enjoyed the variety of the holes and how spread out the course was. The fairways are in great shape and course was not crowded at all, we saw one other person
Cons: - parking is terrible, there is only room for a few cars in a small horseshoe driveway.
- finding the next basket can be difficult, as signage is poor on the first few holes, now that i've played it once it won't be a problem though.
- tee pads are mostly natural, a few horse pads in the beginning
- the mountain laurel and prickers were a bit tough to find your disc in, even in the winter
Other Thoughts: - Go here! If you live within an hour I'd say its worth the drive.
- the course is practically brand new, and will only improve

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Almost there

5+    11/15/2011   11/17/2011
Review By: gizmo
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
Pros: not overcrowded,good for all skill levels,multi approach to holes,quiet,secluded,cool nature spot
Cons: poor signage,alot of underbrush to lose a disc in,we always find tons of ticks on our group
Other Thoughts: overall good course it could clearly use a little bit of tlc,but i play here on a regular basis and i enjoy it.

Coggshall

5+    10/12/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: Coop
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 7/22/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Coggshall Disc Golf is located in a large park right off the main road. It has 18 holes all with brand new Discatchers that catch amazingly well.

Elevation is nice here as several holes have good up or down hill shots. One has you go over a valley to get to a basket. A few of the fairways have dropoffs on the sides so if you go off the fairway you gotta go back up and through the trees to get back on track. Almost half of the course has some use of elevation on the hole.

There is a variety of holes here that cater to rhbh and lhbh as well as a couple of ways to attack the basket. It isnt always just one way to get to a basket but a couple of ways.

The road on the lower holes is OB which adds to the challenge. I know some people hate OB but in my opinion if used correctly can add to a course. In the case of Coggshall I defently think it adds to the course.

If you are pressed for time(lunch round) you can easily play the bottom 9 in about 45 minutes as they loop around the lower section and finish right next to the parking lot where you come in at.

The wildlife here is great there are deer, different birds, and the mountain laurel is nice to look at during summer

There are brick tee boxes on holes 10,11, and 12. Several tee boxes have been flattened out and improved. More brick teeboxes are in the works.
Cons: Parking at Coggshall has greatly improved. There is now parking for at least 20 cars with more parking planned for the future.

Coggshall is still a new course that is getting better everyday but the undergrowth is defently tough. The mountain laurel here is brutal. It looks nice but they very large and overgrown and you can spend a lot of time looking for your disc and not playing.

The teepads are rough. Most are natural while some have rubber horse stall mats. The natural tees need work and the rubber on the others is a little to short. They are getting better though,see the pros above
Other Thoughts: For a quick round you can use the bottom 9 holes. Use holes 1-3 and 13-18. Its a quick loop that starts and finishes at the parking lot.

Hole 4 is up the road from hole 3. Its about 100 yards up the road and you tee off from the road.

There is a league on Thursday nights starting at 5:15 $5/play $10/tags.

Come fall we are hopeing to have more brick teepads in place. The goal is to have all 18 done by year end.




1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 First trip to Coggshall

1    10/18/2011   10/18/2011
Review By: Elegenza
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
Pros: Place looks to have some recent work done. There are some good holes through the forest. Saw a Big Buck run by hole 5. The course has a lot of potential and am excited to see in the future.
Cons: The mapping is under construction and was hard to follow. At hole #3 I actually played 13. followed sign for hole #3 could not find basket. Probably still in works.
Other Thoughts: I would still go hear again as I kind of go the feel for flow of the course now. Will rate higher once the signage is complete.

 Coggshall 9

5+    9/26/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: kthibodeau1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging and beautiful location. This course is in a beautiful pine and oak forest.

You can pick wild blueberries and raspberries in late summer.

Great array of wildlife to be seen from red tail hawks, to smoking mushrooms.
Cons: This course can be frustrating due to all of the undergrowth. Even if you have a good drive, you may be looking for your disc for a long time.

The course is still just 9 holes, so there is room for growth and if it is cut and cleaned more it can easily move to a 3+ rating.
Other Thoughts: This course needs a donation box so that we can move along the unfinished work and get it cleared out properly.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.