Raymond, MS 
Flying Eagle DGC Share
Uploaded By: WSP420 Hole #16 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    5/6/2014   5/24/2014
Review By: dustan32
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
Pros: The course is very well kept. It offers wooded shots as well as open shots.
Cons: A few of the holes are shorter than I like. They hardly EVER change pin positions, which makes it very stale.
Other Thoughts: Not a lot of people play the course, so you can work on your game!


5+    5/3/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
Pros: -Nice tee markers
-Nice scorecards in their own little scorecard box
-Accurate map on scorecard and "Trail to the next tee" on the tee markers makes navigation a breeze.
-No one else was playing both times I played this course.
-Multiple pin locations
Cons: -Very tight course; could be a major issue if more than a few groups were playing at the same time.
-With the exception of the 'The Green Mile' (630' Hole #14) , all the holes are fairly short
-Somebody needs to take a weed-eater to 'The Gnome' (Hole# 16)
-3-4 benches and I saw 2 trashcans
Other Thoughts: Despite the abundant and specific Cons and the generic pros, I really like this course. It's quick, fun and you get to throw along a gradual left-hand dogleg on Hole# 8 next to a road with oncoming traffic!

  Hidden Gem

5+    6/15/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: underdog06
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great location, on college campus..played numerous times and love the layout and design. Alternate hole locations are great for beginners and more advance players. Best course in Clinton area
Cons: Garbage cans needed

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Collateral Damage!

1    9/4/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: Freqe C
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scorecards and maps at the beginning of the course free to all. Not very complex, so it is good for beginner throwers. Varying distances based on where they put the basket, so they could possibly make the course different every time you play it. Impossible to lose a disc. The course is free.
Cons: Very poor layout, especially for any hope of a tournament. As previously stated, a lot of the baskets are right near a fence, and the lanes are next to one another in several places. Also, there is too much activity going on around there. I can't believe they put the course among the tennis courts, soccer fields, softball diamonds, parking lots, and picnic areas. We had so many people walking through our lanes with no regard to the fact they might get hit by a flying disc. Very high probability of collateral damage!
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, and it is not a busy sport day, like a Wednesday afternoon, this would be a much better experience. However, I would pass this up for one of the other courses in the Jackson/Vicksburg area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Do you yell "fore" in dosc golf?

1    9/4/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: Madmoojuice
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Very beautiful course!
- Good use of real estate in some sections.
- Variety of shots and techniques needed
- Free map/scorecards at beginning!!
Cons: - First few holes are hazardous to pedestrians and game attendees!
- Number of holes run along, beside or up to a fence. Provides a few opportunities to loose a disc, interupt a sporting event (soccer, softball, etc)
Other Thoughts: While the course is beautiful and has a variety of holes, there was far too many people in the area around the first two or three holes. A soccer game had ended just as were getting to hole #2 and the crowds trickled out across the fairway with no concerns even though we waited (mostly) patiently for them to pass.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Flying Eagle

2-4    5/15/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: halplunkett
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Flying Eagle Disc Golf Course at Hinds Community College offers nicely mowed fairways, mature tree's, 18 new DGA baskets, and free entry to play. The general atmosphere of the course is that of a park, and the holes make good use of the available trees.
Benches are installed on a few holes, nice informative Tee-Signs are in place, and the parking lot is right next to hole 1 and 9 for easy access to the front and back 9.
Natural Tee-Pads are used, which is better than short, incorrectly poured, non-flush concrete tee-pads (i.e. Brighton Park, Tombigbee State Park). Good use of available land, and multiple basket positions will keep the course interesting. Course is great for pros and beginners alike.
Course is very convenient to residents of Raymond, Clinton, etc.
Cons: * Several of the Tee-Signs were installed too close to the tee pads. This is especially bad on some of the longer holes were you need to get a good rip to birdie the hole (#7, #14). I've had one injury in my group already - you then get freaked out and throw weird to avoid a bloody hand!
* A few holes have their basket very close to the next hole's tee-pad. This would make tournament play difficult.
* A few basket's (~ 4) are installed too high.
* Natural Tee-Pads, although preferred over incorrectly poured concrete, can be slippery/muddy when playing in wet conditions. The Rez in Ridgeland is an example of concrete tee-pads that are very nicely done.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a good disc golf course. The lack of water and some shorter holes make it more appealing to beginners than The Rez in Ridgeland, but it can still be a competitive course for advanced/pro players. Some of the students that I talked to while playing were very friendly and seemed to be excited about the sport of Disc Golf.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 City park course in the country

1    3/7/2010   3/8/2010
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great beginners course for a few reasons. A majority of the holes are on the short side with the shorter ones being technical in a fair yet challenging way. Hole 5 is about 190 ft. and has 2 possible routes to the pin. The 2 lines are created by trees that are closer to the T pad which makes it easier than having to hit a gap that is 200 ft. away. Forgivable rough makes it easier for a newbie to learn the ever so important (to us rec players) get out of trouble 2nd shot. A few nice pin placements. By a creek on a couple but it was dry today so no chance of loosing a disc. One next to a bridge and a couple surrounded by trees. Even though the design was weird, I think they used every tree in the park. As far as lightly wooded courses go, this one has the most trees in play of the ones that I have played. Only 2 or 3 holes were open field type shots with 1 being about 635 ft. In my opinion for a lightly wooded city park type course, 2 or 3 isn't that many. Considering the size of the park it had a pretty good mix of distances. Nice new baskets that catch your disc and hold it for you.:) Natural pads that are serviceable and so far not dangerous. Nice new T signs. Ace runs for rec players like me are always appreciated. If I had to put it on a scale of 1-10 as far as lightly wooded city park type courses go, I would give it a 6 as it is currently designed. (Which is for the most part is cram job style) Only playing it once, I can't tell if this was by necessity or just the way it was designed. A pretty fun course and nice addition to the outer Jackson area.
Cons: Hard to find the next hole in a few spots. A couple of holes has you staring at more than 1 basket which can be confusing, especially when they are close to each other. Dangerously close fairways make this course an impossible host for future tournaments as it is currently designed. Anytime a tennis court or baseball field fence is used in design, it adds an element of cheesiness and a cramped feel. 7, 8 and 9 are separate from the rest of the course. This course had the most amount of trash of any of the 40 that I have played so far, but the park itself was well maintained and the grass was mowed. Just needs trash cans and a good pick up.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty good course overall and if you are in the area give it a try. It is def better than Leflurrs Bluff.LOL! When entering parking lot look immediately to your left and that is 7,8 and 9. The 1st tee is at the edge of the parking lot where a concrete sidewalk runs along the right side of the tennis courts. If you have the time there is a 9 holer that is lit for night play, but I think the park closes at 9. It is Brighton park and not far from this course. Night play would be the only reason to play it. When playing 14(635 ft.) Your basket is the one to the right of the bridge, but very close to it. After 7-9 walk across the parking lot on the left of the tennis courts for 10. After 17 walk along fence line and behind place where they keep the football sleds to find 18. You will be next to 18s t pad when you play hole 2 or 3 I believe. That should be all of the navigational help needed. Enjoy!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Course on College Campus

1    1/30/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: noahat
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Low traffic
Nice baskets
Variety of shots required
Good tee signs
Cons: Many of the long baskets are very close to the tee pad of the next hole. If the course is crowded, this could be a problem.
Many tee signs are in a bad location, that could interfere with your throw.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a fun course to play, if you're in the area or looking to mix it up a bit. This course is on a college campus, so students and faculty have priority over other disc golfers. There is a small creek in play on one hole, but there is very little chance of losing a disc on the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Inaugural Round

1    1/30/2010   1/30/2010
Review By: manglin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new baskets.
Low amount of traffic right now.
Good info on the signs.
Multiple pin locations.
Mix of open and wooded holes.
Cons: No benches or trash cans.
The flow of the course seems awkward at times. Several holes have the pins very close to the next tee. This could make for congestion on a busy day. The tee signs on many of the holes are too close to the tees.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course overall and is very new right now. I can see it becoming better over time.

It has a good mix of long and short and wooded an open. It also has a mix of hyzer and anny routes. It has some nice older sweetgum and oak trees. The course if fairly flat.

The layout of the individual holes are very good overall, and it's nice to have the multiple pins. The flow of the course seems to overlap itself in several spots, and this could cause problems on a busy day. In general, I'd say this course has more OB than a normal course, which adds a bit of challenge.

I saw some bathrooms around hole 14, but I'm not sure if they were open.

This is a good addition to the Jackson Metro area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center