Moore, OK 
Hillsdale DGC Share
Uploaded By: YoDesigner Hole #7 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 357ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Alright Little Course

2-4    10/19/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets
Quick round
Easy navigation
Not crowded
Well mowed
More fun than I expected
Always good to work on midrange game
Fairly clean campus
Good to take family or newbies to learn the game
Can get in 2-3 rounds very quickly
Easy access from i-35

Favoritre Hole(s): #4
Cons: Short
Few trees
Natural tees (really not too bad)
The water stinks
Sidewalks in play on a few holes (watch out for students)
Not very challenging or even technical
You can almost throw anything you want, you're not forced to pick a line to the basket.
Parking is crowded on weekdays.
The only hole that you need a driver on is hole #6
Other Thoughts: All in all this is not a bad little course. It is fun for a quick round or to take a beginner to.
This is not a destination course but, its worth a stop if you're in the area and have time.

Please respect the rules. It is on a Baptist college campus.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Day on Campus

2-4    9/20/2012   9/21/2012
Review By: elOso22
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course. The holes are relatively short and with few obstacles it is a great beginner and novice course. Veteran players may wish for more trees or man-made obstacles.

The course is well laid out and each tee is clearly visible from the previous basket. Each tee has a sign (except for 6 and 7 which have been torn down) which gives the distance and a map.

The course conveniently starts and finishes in the middle of campus next to a building with bathroom facilities and a water fountain with fresh, cold water.

Though the course plays in the heart of the campus, it is a small school and there are never so many students walking by that it is a problem.
Cons: Finding the start of hole 7 took me a long time the first time I played.

Because many of the holes are on the edge of campus, unfortunately there was quite a bit of trash the the times I played here and the only trash can I saw were in the buildings.

The course plays around a swamp and when the winds act up, discs easily find their way into the soggy land in the middle of campus. Crossing to hole four, you have to walk across the water and the small bridge is quite rickety. Finally, I discovered the plank that someone put across the water for a safer crossing.
Other Thoughts: I have driven to Hillsdale in Moore twice to play this course. The last time I played, I played two rounds and it was a load of fun. Unfortunately I have not run into other players, but I understand that several people play this course regularly. If I lived in the OKC area, I would too.

A youth football team was practicing near hole one the first time I played, but they showed up when I was further down the course and I didn't have to skip the hole. Some holes are shady but others are fully exposed which can make it difficult to play an Oklahoma course in the summer or early autumn.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 surprisingly fun

1    3/22/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -fun, beginner-friendly layout
-mach 3 baskets are in great condition
-clean and well-manicured, grass is mowed
-easy to navigate the course
-signs at each tee but at least one was broken (hole 6)
-close to the highway
-despite the wetness, still pretty easy to play after a rain, not a lot of mud
Cons: -course plays through a small valley with a drainage area at the low point, gets very soggy
-not many obstacles and very short, experienced players will be bored
-might have to watch for pedestrians if students and faculty are around, a few holes play over walkways or near school buildings
Other Thoughts: This nice little beginner course is actually pretty fun to play. The holes are mostly short and play through a small valley with a drainage area through the low point. The course kind of zig-zags around it so the area around many baskets or tees can get pretty soggy if there has been any rain.

There are signs at each tee (hole 6 tee was broken) and the tees are natural, some with wooden framing. Even when wet, it is pretty easy to find a dry spot next to the tee from which to throw. Hole 8's tee is the concrete walkway next to the sign.

Some fun shots and since it plays through a shallow valley, some elevation comes into play on most holes. Very open and easy to rip it here but the accurate golfer will be rewarded with birdies.

Overall, a fun course but nothing special. Perfect for students here, if you live close to the school, or are looking for a place to bring beginners. A fun stop for course baggers but most travelers passing through should probably opt for one of the Norman courses. However if time is a factor, this course plays quickly and is right off I-35.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Good course for a quick round

2-4    12/4/2011   12/9/2011
Review By: WxGuyCPA
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy access from I-35

Convenient for people living in S.OKC /Moore to play.

Mostly wide open. Great for beginners

Easy to follow lay out with clearly marked pins indicating the hole.
Only two pins on the course you throw at without seeing it from the tee box (#6 just left of the soccer field, other side of the hill and #7 to the left of the dorms)

Nice use of terrain, most of the course centered on a small valley between the dorms and classrooms.

The grass is short and maintained.

I've played it 4 times, twice on a Sunday afternoon and twice after work on a weekday and was the only group on the course.

Can squeeze in a quick game, played it between 30 and 45 minutes with a group.

Tough to lose a disc (unless you end up on top of the dorms or one of the buildings on campus).
Cons: At the bottom of the valley is a drainage area, which is either muddy or covered in water, depending on how much rain has fallen. This will affect your play on #1, #4, #8, and #9. If you stay right on #1, you'll miss it completely and you can throw past it on #8, but we skipped #4 because the area was all wet around the pin.

You can play around it on #9, but if you try to go for the pin and leave it short, you will be wet.

Lack of obstacles and short pin locations may not be a challenge if you're an advanced player.

On #7, the dorm is on the right, with windows facing the tee box and the pin is nestled between the dorm, parking lot and road leading into the dorms. A wayward disk could end up on (or in) one of those places.

There is foot traffic between the dorms and lecture halls, so you may have to watch for people, which will delay your game.

The tee boxes are earth and become mudholes with any recent rain.
Other Thoughts: The course is very visible from the dorms and the parking lots have vehicles near the course, just be aware and don't get too crazy with the discs.

Considering it's a Christian college and you're literally playing in the middle of campus, just be respectful.

I was playing and walking up to #8's pin and I saw a coyote run through the middle of the course, probably 100 feet from me. This might only happen once in a millennium, but there are areas of trees adjacent to the campus, which sits in an almost open field.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quickie

1    7/16/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: ManOnTheDoor
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very fast course to get through. Played it with MikeTheGoalie & two others over lunch with plenty of time to spare.

Easy to navigate and a relatively open course. Few woods and the only "water" is a marsh/bog that is around 6 of the holes but you /should/ stay out of them if you play the holes right.

Baskets were in great shape and easy to see.
Cons: The bog/marsh doesn't ever go away apparently. It's been more than a week since the last rain and it was still soggy.

The tee boxes are earth with garden timbers framing them. They are very uneven.

Baskets are hard to locate from the tee box - especially on the tees that only have the metal post in the ground and no discernable tee box. Would have been hard to play without someone that knew the course.

In the middle of a college with what appears to be a major sidewalk running through the middle of the course. Might have to fight pedestrians.

There was a lot of overlap between holes and tee boxes. If there happened to be a group behind or in front of you you'd be in the way of their drives if you were putting on previous holes.
Other Thoughts: Was a great course to get a quick 9 in over lunch. Quiet area with no traffic other than students. Good short holes and a few to let you air it out at the end.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not that bad

1    7/14/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee signs for 7 of the holes.
Good baskets.
Nice layout for each individual hole.
Cons: Crossing fairways.
Tee boxes were dirt and outlined with timbers that gave a too small of an area to tee off from.
Short.
Other Thoughts: This course in on a very small college campus. It is very good for what it should be. A course the kids can play for the first time. For that, this course is GREAT.

However, the tee boxes for several of the holes were too close to baskets and 2 of them had crossing fairways. But then no one plays here really so that does not matter.

2 of the tee signs have been broken off. (#6 and #8) but the poll was still there.

In all, this course was fun. I really only needed my ROC and putter. Only one hole was out of my reach.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Short and Sweet

5+    6/11/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 34  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Quick to play. You can literally see almost the entire course from any tee. Good use of elevation. Only one real area of woods to eat your discs. Plenty of open holes and opportunities to try shots and approaches. Signs on all but two holes. Well maintained. Not busy at all. Plenty of birdie opportunities. The footbridge that crosses @ 4 has been replaced/repaired and is much more stable.
Cons: Short. Only one hole with a challenging length.

The course is located on the grounds of a Baptist college so you may have to wait as the course crosses sidewalks between buildings. Not a huge issue and not a problem on weekends or evenings for the most part.

Natural tee boxes aren't really a negative for such a short course, but some might not like them.

The bog that is in play on 3 or 4 holes is full of high weeds and isn't mowed so it grows in size every time there is a hard rain. Borderline stagnant water makes for less than appealing smell when you go to retrieve you disc.
Other Thoughts: Great course to get in a round during a lunch break and still have time to eat. No "traffic" so you can take your time and practice if you want. Closest course to me or my work, so I'll be back often to work on my game.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not a 2

1    5/13/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not as bad as everyone makes it out to be. This is a beginner friendly course that is worth the stop if you are in the area. There is nobody out playing so you can play at your own pace and practice different shots if you like. The course is pretty open allowing many different lines to most pins. The elevation is used pretty well here even though there isnt much of it and despite the fact that the course description says that it is flat.There are tee signs on every hole except 6 and the natural tees are marked by wood posts. The course seems well taken care of and there is no vandalism or trash on the grounds. The baskets seem to be in good shape as well.
Cons: The "marsh" in the middle is nasty but shouldnt really come into play. No trash cans out there but someone must lean up because there isnt any there. The criss crossing of the course could be a big deal if there were a bunch of people playing and there are a couple of baskets placed in the line of other holes.
Other Thoughts: Good course for newcomers to get out and practice without getting caught in the crowd that forms in Norman and in the city. Easy access and there are no places to lose plastic.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad... Fast Play a +

1    3/16/2010   3/23/2010
Review By: DG_Wizard
Played: 20  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The convenience of this course is nice. Like others said, on the Frontage Road of I-35 (West side) between 19th and Indian Hills (right about 34th). It is behind the Free Will Baptist College. This course is not overly difficult. it is a nice change of pace to the 3 courses in Norman. There is no waiting here. It makes for fast play, and there aren't many people out there. Signs are old but decent. This course is not hard to follow. For being such a small course, there are a variety of shots and elevations used. #6 lets you rip a big drive, but most of the other holes are relatively short. It looks as though it is somewhat kept up.
Cons: No concrete tees. The "ditch" throughout the middle of the course is nasty. It reeks something fierce. Avoid it at all costs. This course is short. Many may find it to not be a great challenge. There aren't many trees, and it is open enough to have multiple lines/lanes to the baskets. It is not technical enough to matter whether you throw forehand or backhand. Can get VERY muddy with a bit of rain.
Other Thoughts: I love that there is no traffic here. Stay out of the marsh on #4. Lion's, Griffin, and Colonial all back up at times. This course does not. Not a big "wish list" course, but worth the time if interested in a quick and quiet round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Simple course

1    3/13/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: YoDesigner
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easy to access right off I-35 in Moore, on the WEST side of the freeway, south of 19th ST exit.. Good signage, (except for #6). Good baskets. I played on a Saturday, and the course was pretty empty. Good place to warm up or to somewhat satisfy the urge to play DG. I think this course is good for a beginner to build some confidence. The only obstacle is the mucky creek that runs through the course, but if you can throw accurate, this won't be a problem for you.
Cons: Most baskets and tee's are too close to one another, especially the first half of course (this is very bad especilly if the course was busy. One portion of the course has 2 baskets and 2 tees within about 80' of one another.) Tee sign #6 is missing and that is the only one that has the basket hidden from view from the tee pad (this basket is past the soccer field mound). Nasty creek does not have very good drainage. Wear water proof shoes to keep your feet dry (may be better during the hot summer with dryer ground). No trash cans visibly pressent.
Other Thoughts: This course is not a 'must play' course, but it is still fun to play if you want to catch a quick game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.