Course Extinct
Wayland, MI 
BlueGill DGC Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #22 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #22 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Joe Gill is THE MAN

5+    11/22/2010   3/17/2011
Review By: david_hedstrom
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.3 Years
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Absolutely one of the sickest courses I have ever played. Challenging but very fair. The course is very well maintained. Shots range from short and heavily wooded to long open bombs. Severe elevation changes and ponds make for very fun and dangerous shots. Baskets are in great shape, tees are adequate and have Bluegill fishes marking hole distances. Scorecards on the tee of hole 2. 3 new holes are challenging and a good change of pace from the rest of the course. Joe Gill has made the course what it is and he is to be glorified for the beautiful labor of love he has created.
Cons: None...
Other Thoughts: ***Not open to the public, invitation only!

If you loose a disc in one of the ponds there is a row boat and a grabber to get your disc out but more than likely you will not be seeing it again. Joe will go in every so often to fish out discs and return them to their owners. I lost an Orc and it was returned to me 3 separate times! I love this course and it is a privilege to play here everytime I do. The course should never be abused and trespassing will get you kicked out for life. Treat the course and the man with respect and I am sure you will be invited back.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 WOW!

1    2/4/2011   2/5/2011
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Insane hills. You'll hardly believe you're in Michigan.
-Great water carries offer exciting risks.
-Immaculate conditions, no jerks allowed on course.
-Teepads are outstanding. Don't let the rubber scare you off. Best rubber tees I've seen.
-Immense variety in shots.
-Extremely challenging holes. Has big enough shots to stretch any arm, and tight enough lines for any finesse player.
-Beautiful scenery with unique trees and interesting looking oil pumps and tanks, not to mention the gardens.
-Friendly hosts, Joe guided us around and acted as our disc golf Sherpa, helping us not to lose discs in the deep snow.
-Every hole is named, often with clever movie related jokes.
Cons: -No tee signs.
-Gotta get permission.
-Makes it hard to think of cons.
Other Thoughts: This course is world class, jaw droppingly awesome disc golf. Worth traveling across the country for, so if you're closer than 5 hours, you're doing yourself a disservice by not playing this immediately. I came here looking for an excuse to give this course less than a 5 star rating, so as to break up the scoring here. I couldn't find one. It's as deserving of the rating as any course I've ever seen.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best south of Flip!!

5+    9/12/2010   11/12/2010
Review By: Terry C
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 17.3 Years
17 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Variety of holes, you will move along from open fairways to very tight holes shooting threw tight trees to throwing off huge elevation to throwing around and over ponds, wow!!
-OB is marked with yellow rope making already challenging holes even tougher.
-Water Water Water, this course is the best course Ive ever played reguarding use of its several ponds along the course.
-Beautiful property!! Joe pumps oil and several shots have oil pumps in play that you have to avoid to hit your line. On or near the oil pumps is OB.
-Maintenence!! Everything is mowed,trimmed,polished, no trash or garbage or vandalism anywhere, amazing michigan beauty!!
-21 Holes, 18 main course and 3 alternates!!
Cons: -Private course need invite to play
-Potential to lose discs into the several ponds in play.

Neither of these are really cons to me, the private factor keeps this course clean and beautiful. And if you have your info on your discs they will get returned. I trew 4 into the ponds last summer and eventually had 3 returned!!
Other Thoughts: This is one of Michigans finest courses. Blue gill gives flip city a run for its money as far as awesome factor!! I love the water holes, this is the BEST course I have ever played reguarding water challenges. It has huge elevation changes too!! One hole has you throwing off a cliff down to a very small fairway with a pond on one side and thick rough to the other side. Pin placements are very chalenging throughout the course. I love the way this course winds its way through open fields, to then being in tight trees, then to be throwing off big hills, then to be trowing over water, I mean wow!! This is a super fun, very challenging course for anyone of any skill level. I met several notible pro disc players at Joe's fall color classic tournament last year, that was cool as heck!! I cant wait to play this course again next year as its definitely one of the best I have ever seen or played. Pure Michigan Beauty!! Make sure you have an invite to play here or you will be run off the course.

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 private if the future for serious disc golfers

1    8/11/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Epic Michigan landscape of ponds, hills so large and steep they seem out of place, thick forest, open fields, pine rows and garden features. Grass is mowed, course is kept-up beyond the necessary standards. 21 unique and challenging holes ranging from steep downhill shot in the woods with a basket on the edge of a pond to a 760 ft hole across a field with the basket in the woods and O.B. in the landing zone of the upshot. Rubber tees, signs, scorecards. Rough is only thick on a few holes.
Cons: Blank
Other Thoughts: Private- don't trespass. If you're lucky enough to get in with someone or play the tournament there bring your A-game.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 WOW!

5+    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: discinboogs
Played: 110  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2010
11 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful landscape. The designer did everything right with this course. This course challenges everyone. Not impossibly hard, it's hard disc golf. Every shot on this course is an absolute joy to throw. Playing along 60+ acres of great Michigan property is a blessing here. Some holes have extreme elevation involved in both the fairways and pin positions. Yellow rope is used to distinguish some OB areas along the course. I was immediately addicted to this course after the first time I played it. The water holes here don't make you play a crazy shot all the way over the water. The holes all have bail-out areas in reach for everyone. Every hole here makes perfect sense and is fun to throw. Blue Gill is the BEST. Some extra holes can make or break a round and an be brutal. The brutality only makes them that much more fun to play. This course hosted a sanctioned tournament last year and will do the same this year in October. Also Joe has a Blue Gill Super Bowl Blow Out event :)
Cons: This course IS private so sometimes I get a craving and can't indulge.
Other Thoughts: Wish I could play here at LEAST once a week. Joe has made a legendary course in Blue Gill. I've never felt this way about a course. Truly breath-taking to play. The risk-reward here is at a MAXIMUM. A privelege to just play. Shot my first 1000+ rated round here last year. 1028 :)

11 of 19 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.