Course Extinct
Wayland, MI 
BlueGill DGC Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #18 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Disc Golf Wonderland

1    4/11/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: pacanova
Played: 52  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Every hole offers it's own unique challenge
-Very peacful surroundings.
-Beautifully maintained.
-Very risk-reward oriented.
-Joe is the man! He greeted us as soon as we arrived on his property (probably to make sure we weren't trouble makers) and gave us a quick run down on the layout. He even brought us a scorecard on the 3rd when he realized the box was empty.
Cons: -As mentioned, the rubber teepads could use some love. I actually like dirt tees though, so 18-24 were some of my best drives.
-Signs would be nice for some of the blind holes.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a course to play for par and take birdies as they come. If you get too cocky, Bluegill will put you in your place. Just relax and throw the shots you know, you might just surprise yourself (as I did) with your score at the end of the round. I have no idea how I will be after the 2 round tourney this weekend.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best Water Holes

1    3/31/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course diversity, with many wooded holes, wide-open and a couple of very long holes (including one over 700 feet). Top-notch water holes that are among the best you will find anywhere, even surpassing Idlewild (Holes 9-12). These holes are what one would find only at a truly world-class course. Hole 10 could even be considered a 'double' water hole, since you are shooting over two bodies of water. Even better is that the water holes have neatly-groomed landing pads, and the water itself is clean enough to find your disc if it goes in (in March, at least). Hole 9 is a short, 'Demon Drop' hole along the steep edge of a hill that is unlike any other I've played (Hole 7 at Lincoln Ridge comes close). Among the woods holes are one with a huge ravine, and a big uphill shot that plays longer than indicated (Hole 17). Has plenty of precariously perched pin placements on the edge of hills, creating thrilling, high-risk putting. Ropes delinating out-of-bounds areas on some holes contribute to the challenge. Unusual relic objects (oil tank, wagon wheel, an old well) add to the personality of the course and are actually relevant in course play.
Cons: No signs, and little in terms of navigation aids. Rubber tees are OK but are slippery when wet. Holes 18-24 have dirt tees. Quite a few wooded holes on the back nine seem out-of-place compared with the best holes here. Some grass areas might swallow discs in mid-summer, presenting additional disc loss hazards in addition to the water holes. Limited access means you can't plan a trip on your day off. It's understandable that the course owner would not want strangers on his property at odd times (Holes 1, 8 and 9 are very close to his house), but at the same time, it is a legitimate 'con'.
Other Thoughts: Private course with little of the riff-raff found elsewhere. Quite challenging, but not as difficult as Leviathan, Hudson Mills Monster or Idlewild (a couple of strokes harder than Flip, but no more). In other words, the right amount of challenge for most. If this course was public and had proper signs and cement tee pads, it would be top-five in Michigan….maybe even #1.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tough but fair

1    2/4/2012   2/21/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a beautiful piece of Michigan forest surrounding a private home. There's a little bit of everything here, lots of variety and lots of fun. There are all kinds of different lengths, from some tricky ace runs to some longer shots where you have more of a chance to rip a drive. A handful of the holes play out in grassy fields, a few of these have slightly protected pins or rollaway potential, and this is where most of the distance on the course comes into play. A few holes play over and along a series of small ponds offering some great risk/reward decisions. Each has a safer option and an option to go for the ace or deuce that brings the water more into play.

The remainder of the holes play through Michigan woods, with some nice tight fairways and enough rough to make you pay for an errant shot. Throughout the course elevation comes into play, with some nice tricky greens and a mix of uphill and downhill shots. One of the most memorable holes is a very aceable downhill shot that's so short and steep that the challenge is not going long (especially with water lurking long and left of the pin). The tighter holes offer a great balance of left and right turning shots, with a couple s-curves or dead straight shots mixed in, you'll need lots of different line shaping skills to be successful here.

The property is beautiful, and it's obvious a ton of work has gone into this course. The wooded fairways are clear, and the grassy areas are nicely mowed. Joe was kind enough to meet us early in the morning, driving me around the course so we wouldn't have trouble following the layout. The course gets limited traffic but even so it was nice to see no trash anywhere on the course.
Cons: The course is limited access, mostly only open for events and by invitation. 18 of the tees are rubber, several are lumpy or torn, none are a big enough deal to majorly affect footing. 6 tees are natural, these still need a little work and were generally a bit rough. There is no signage, understandable on a private course, but it would be a little tough to follow without a guide or a quick tour of the course by the owner. The map available online is out of date and doesn't reflect the current layout.
Other Thoughts: I had a blast here, and will definitely be back to play again. BlueGill would be a little much for most beginners, with lots of challenge and some opportunities to lose plastic. More experienced players will enjoy the variety, and will find many different skills tested here in a beautiful and secluded setting.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Michigan??????

2-4    10/8/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: Emoney
Played: 59  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let me start by sayin "HOLY SH*T"! I wish i had played this course sooner. This course has every shot and terrain you could want from a course. It has a crazy amount of elevation changes, WATER holes (9,10,11,12) tight holes, field holes, long holes, short technical holes, O.B. Holes ( rope defines O.B.), guarded greens , elevated baskets, sloped greens with 100ft + dropoffs behind the bucket. Everything!
Also, every hole makes sense and has no repetition at all. Each holes makes sense and presents a new challenge. Also the open holes have O.B. Ropes or guarded baskets with insane dropoffs ( sometimes both). There are no "bland" holes out here, or gimmes, u have to work for your score on every hole.
This course even has water holes (9,10,11,12) and one is amazing (#11). I played a tourney there and in the 2 groups i was in and the two groups behind us, i seen 9 discs go in the water that day. I can only imagine how many more went "in" on 10 and 11.Hole #11 is evil, it offers you a huge hyzer spike(rhbh), a straight shot, or a thumber/tomo BUT there is a narrow landing area(20ft across) to get a putt, its my favorite hole.
The baskets were in great shape and had double chains. There were trash cans around the course and it was very very clean. I think 18 holes had rubber mats with little "bluegill fish" shaped plates with hole number and distance. The additional 6 holes were dirt teepads. The scenery was amazing. They even had kool running "oil pump horse lookin things" ( sry not sure what there called). These added to the many memories i will have of this place.
Cons: I know ppl that played this course will get mad at me for only rating a 4.5, but the rating system on this site says a "5" is a perfect course. While bluegill is a 5 in almost every way, i have to stay fair to this sites rating system. I know i will get ppls "thumbs down" but i have to be fair.
Ok, couple cons that make this course a 4.5.
* The rubber teepads are mildly lumpy and a couple had chunks missing, also had 6 holes that were dirt with no distance marker. I wish i had the money to buy concrete pads for joe.
* The flow of the course is akward at numerous points, it has you backtrack or not sure where to go. Its a private course so its not a huge issue but if i went alone i would be lost.
* Its a private course and invitation only. I wish he would let more ppl on it so they can donate money and get this course some nice concrete pads and signage.
Other Thoughts: This course has everything and is the best course i have played. Its just a little rough around the edges with the teepads and signage. We all know this course is a 5 and i will update my review when i see this course fix these minor issues. Flip city is my only 5 rated course because it has these finishing touches that bluegill doensnt, that being said, bluegill is a better "disc golf" course. Blue gill is where you come when you want to play the sport and have a challenge, Flip City is more of a relaxing and fun experience for any level of player.
BlueGill is the real deal and it is definitly championship caliber. The best pro score that day was 4 under and that was no walk in the park.
I hope everyone that can , gets a chance to play this course. I just wish it was more available to the public but that would probably just hurt it.

Thx joe, your course it at the top of my list!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Almost...

1    5/7/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: MIdisc1
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2011
5 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: One of the most beautiful and challenging courses i've played. Very well maitaned with the best use of water i've ever seen. The pin placement and use of obstacles were very challenging but really fun to play. The course was up to 23 holes when I played, with a tee pad (but no basket) for 24. It was a blast playing out there and Joe was great.
Cons: The reason I didn't give this course a 5 was I really didn't feel like the course was complete yet. The ribbions that mark your path through the course can become confusing leaving you searching for the next hole. Also I don't remember ever seeing a seat or "chill" area anywhere on the course. These are minor complaints, the course is very good, but there is still some rawness to it.
Other Thoughts: Great job with the course Joe, I really look forward to playing it again.

5 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Joe Gill is THE MAN

5+    11/22/2010   3/17/2011
Review By: david_hedstrom
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.6 Years
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Absolutely one of the sickest courses I have ever played. Challenging but very fair. The course is very well maintained. Shots range from short and heavily wooded to long open bombs. Severe elevation changes and ponds make for very fun and dangerous shots. Baskets are in great shape, tees are adequate and have Bluegill fishes marking hole distances. Scorecards on the tee of hole 2. 3 new holes are challenging and a good change of pace from the rest of the course. Joe Gill has made the course what it is and he is to be glorified for the beautiful labor of love he has created.
Cons: None...
Other Thoughts: ***Not open to the public, invitation only!

If you loose a disc in one of the ponds there is a row boat and a grabber to get your disc out but more than likely you will not be seeing it again. Joe will go in every so often to fish out discs and return them to their owners. I lost an Orc and it was returned to me 3 separate times! I love this course and it is a privilege to play here everytime I do. The course should never be abused and trespassing will get you kicked out for life. Treat the course and the man with respect and I am sure you will be invited back.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 WOW!

1    2/4/2011   2/5/2011
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 16.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Insane hills. You'll hardly believe you're in Michigan.
-Great water carries offer exciting risks.
-Immaculate conditions, no jerks allowed on course.
-Teepads are outstanding. Don't let the rubber scare you off. Best rubber tees I've seen.
-Immense variety in shots.
-Extremely challenging holes. Has big enough shots to stretch any arm, and tight enough lines for any finesse player.
-Beautiful scenery with unique trees and interesting looking oil pumps and tanks, not to mention the gardens.
-Friendly hosts, Joe guided us around and acted as our disc golf Sherpa, helping us not to lose discs in the deep snow.
-Every hole is named, often with clever movie related jokes.
Cons: -No tee signs.
-Gotta get permission.
-Makes it hard to think of cons.
Other Thoughts: This course is world class, jaw droppingly awesome disc golf. Worth traveling across the country for, so if you're closer than 5 hours, you're doing yourself a disservice by not playing this immediately. I came here looking for an excuse to give this course less than a 5 star rating, so as to break up the scoring here. I couldn't find one. It's as deserving of the rating as any course I've ever seen.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best south of Flip!!

5+    9/12/2010   11/12/2010
Review By: Terry C
Played: 49  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 17.6 Years
17 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Variety of holes, you will move along from open fairways to very tight holes shooting threw tight trees to throwing off huge elevation to throwing around and over ponds, wow!!
-OB is marked with yellow rope making already challenging holes even tougher.
-Water Water Water, this course is the best course Ive ever played reguarding use of its several ponds along the course.
-Beautiful property!! Joe pumps oil and several shots have oil pumps in play that you have to avoid to hit your line. On or near the oil pumps is OB.
-Maintenence!! Everything is mowed,trimmed,polished, no trash or garbage or vandalism anywhere, amazing michigan beauty!!
-21 Holes, 18 main course and 3 alternates!!
Cons: -Private course need invite to play
-Potential to lose discs into the several ponds in play.

Neither of these are really cons to me, the private factor keeps this course clean and beautiful. And if you have your info on your discs they will get returned. I trew 4 into the ponds last summer and eventually had 3 returned!!
Other Thoughts: This is one of Michigans finest courses. Blue gill gives flip city a run for its money as far as awesome factor!! I love the water holes, this is the BEST course I have ever played reguarding water challenges. It has huge elevation changes too!! One hole has you throwing off a cliff down to a very small fairway with a pond on one side and thick rough to the other side. Pin placements are very chalenging throughout the course. I love the way this course winds its way through open fields, to then being in tight trees, then to be throwing off big hills, then to be trowing over water, I mean wow!! This is a super fun, very challenging course for anyone of any skill level. I met several notible pro disc players at Joe's fall color classic tournament last year, that was cool as heck!! I cant wait to play this course again next year as its definitely one of the best I have ever seen or played. Pure Michigan Beauty!! Make sure you have an invite to play here or you will be run off the course.

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 private if the future for serious disc golfers

1    8/11/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.4 Years
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Epic Michigan landscape of ponds, hills so large and steep they seem out of place, thick forest, open fields, pine rows and garden features. Grass is mowed, course is kept-up beyond the necessary standards. 21 unique and challenging holes ranging from steep downhill shot in the woods with a basket on the edge of a pond to a 760 ft hole across a field with the basket in the woods and O.B. in the landing zone of the upshot. Rubber tees, signs, scorecards. Rough is only thick on a few holes.
Cons: Blank
Other Thoughts: Private- don't trespass. If you're lucky enough to get in with someone or play the tournament there bring your A-game.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 WOW!

5+    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: discinboogs
Played: 110  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2010
11 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful landscape. The designer did everything right with this course. This course challenges everyone. Not impossibly hard, it's hard disc golf. Every shot on this course is an absolute joy to throw. Playing along 60+ acres of great Michigan property is a blessing here. Some holes have extreme elevation involved in both the fairways and pin positions. Yellow rope is used to distinguish some OB areas along the course. I was immediately addicted to this course after the first time I played it. The water holes here don't make you play a crazy shot all the way over the water. The holes all have bail-out areas in reach for everyone. Every hole here makes perfect sense and is fun to throw. Blue Gill is the BEST. Some extra holes can make or break a round and an be brutal. The brutality only makes them that much more fun to play. This course hosted a sanctioned tournament last year and will do the same this year in October. Also Joe has a Blue Gill Super Bowl Blow Out event :)
Cons: This course IS private so sometimes I get a craving and can't indulge.
Other Thoughts: Wish I could play here at LEAST once a week. Joe has made a legendary course in Blue Gill. I've never felt this way about a course. Truly breath-taking to play. The risk-reward here is at a MAXIMUM. A privelege to just play. Shot my first 1000+ rated round here last year. 1028 :)

11 of 19 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.