Gallatin, TN 
Triple Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: punkfan55  



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Better than it's overall rating

1    6/21/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 99  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 1.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Benches and Trashcans

2. Tee signs and concrete pads

3. Great mix of wooded and open holes

4. Must use a lot of different shot types

5. Not much trouble areas with pedestrians although there is a few holes near sidewalks
Cons: Cant really think of any.
Other Thoughts: I never played the course before they did the update of 6 holes on the back 9 so I imagine that's why the current overall rating is as low as it is. Don't pay attention to that. This is a solid course with a great variety of shots and is in a pretty nice park. Enjoy!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Really Not That Bad

1    9/4/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: Fleet
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9 is mostly woods and technical shots. Back 9 is letting it rip while minding a couple of mandos.

Front 9 circles back around to the parking lot. Tee pads to 1 and 10 are actually right next to each other facing opposite directions, so technically you can start on either half of the course.

Course map at the beginning. Backside of the map has each hole listed with distance and par. Take a picture of the course map because it may come in handy later.

Practice basket. Just don't throw at it when you're teeing off on hole 9.

Yes, all the baskets are there.

Cons: Holes 2 and 8 play dangerously close to the driveway. May have to watch out for cars and whatnot.

Tee signs on a few holes are hidden. We were Pretty sure we were at hole 3 but couldn't see any indication of it until we found the sign covered by some brush on the left.

Hole 13 doesn't have a tee sign at all. You can see the tee pad for 14 down the way, though, so if you throw in that direction you'll find the 13th basket pretty easily on the right.
Other Thoughts: We went while it was drizzling, so we were the only ones out there. That's always a plus for me. Your experience may vary depending on the crowd that day.

Mind the fence on hole 12.

Some reviews seemed to make this out to be a godawful course. It's not *special* by any means, but in certainly isn't terrible.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 desolate wasteland

5+    8/15/2011   3/15/2012
Review By: entangled
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are baskets, not all of them are there but this is somewhere different to throw. No one is ever there.
Cons: Missing basket. No trash cans. Hole 1 from the start is pretty much a lucky shot. Dangerous and annoying pin positions/layout. Summertime is very nasty out in that desolate field.
Other Thoughts: Least played course in this area. Almost no reason to get out there with Sanders Ferry, Cedar HIll and Seven Oaks being much more fun and closer to me. Not really worth the drive after the first time.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Average course, fun though

1    12/12/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 235  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Triple Creek provides for a nice shot selection on the front nine and some wide open shots on the back nine to let loose on. The tee pads are good size and grippy (important because I played it while it was snowing). The signs are adequate and the flow of the course is easy to follow. There aren't any spots where you can get lost in and the course sits away from most other activities in the park aside from the fenced off dog park. The design nicely uses the creeks flowing through the park on a lot of the putting greens. The front nine tests your technical ability through mostly wooded and mostly flat holes. Several holes play perpendicular to a tree line to add a little luck to the course while most of the others play through moderate to heavy woods. The rough is thick enough that straying too far in will cost you at least a stroke. Only three holes on the front have any real elevation changes. The back nine has mostly open holes with baskets tucked in along the tree line and next to the creek. Most of these holes are flat with only a few giving any change in grade. Nice use of the double mando on number 18 to channel shots through the tree line.
Cons: First thing I noticed was on the walk between 3 and 4, you come to within 15 feet behind of number 6's basket. That's a big safety issue in my book since I see number 6 as an ace run hole in which throws can easily sail right past the basket. Several other tee pads can also be in danger of being hit by an errant throw. Several times on the back nine, there are multiple tees within 30 feet of each other. I normally wouldn't mention this but its obvious to me that this would slow play down a lot during tournaments while waiting for one group to not distract another group. The posts on which the tee signs are placed are physically touching the tee pad so in case you want to approach the pad from a certain angle, you can't because the post is in the way. With the course being in a lower point in the park near the creeks, drainage can be an issue with pools of standing water common on the back nine. The fairway to number 12 floods as well. As I have noticed with numerous HB courses, the course will lead out to a certain point with no real resolution to the loop so there's one overly long hole to get back towards the rest of the course. This is the same at Triple Creek where number 16 is the huge bomber hole that feels out of place compared to all the other holes in the park.
Other Thoughts: Noticed there are no trash cans anywhere on the course so pack all of your stuff in and out to keep this course clean. Maybe it was just the day I was playing it (snowing, overcast, cold) but the wind can be a big factor in disc selection at Triple Creek. Overall this course can be fun for players of all skill levels. It provides good shots for less skilled players to learn and perfect while giving more skilled players a chance to post some low scores. Several of the holes on the front nine strongly remind me of Veterans Park in Lexington, KY in that they're wooded with a nice creek flowing parallel to the fairway. I wouldn't consider Triple Creek to be a must play in the Nashville area but would be a good warm up to go play Sanders Ferry or if you're in the area with time to spare for a round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Our First Visit

1    11/6/2010   11/13/2010
Review By: alvis.randal
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *Liked the mixture of holes...especially the holes completely in the woods (dad).
*Nice variety of short and long holes (dad).
Cons: *Trees were too close together (son).
*Missing basket #7 (dad).
Other Thoughts: *We could not find hole #17. Finished #16, but #17 was not there. We skipped and went onto #18.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 An OK course

2-4    8/6/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9 plays through some nice wooded shots that really test your accuracy. Back 9 plays over open farmland and is great for distance shots. Nice variety
Cons: A lot of the holes in the front 9 have very random tree patterns in the fairway and I basically had to rip it and hope for some tree love. The signs on quite a few tees had fallen over and the sign for 18 is missing entirely
Other Thoughts: This course was empty when we went and felt like our own private course. I played badly but look forward to going back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Just OK

1    7/3/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: LMeyers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: had a decent course flow.
Cons: front was much more enjoyable than the back as the back went through what seemed to be a farmers hay field. also, dogs at the "dog park" barked at us going by.
Other Thoughts: one time was enough!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A nice intermediate course

1    10/19/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: brettmartin
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a pretty good course. Like people have said, this is like two courses made into one. The front nine is a lot harder with it going through the woods but you can make up for it on the back nine as it is mostly wide open.

It is a good intermediate course that I recommend playing at least once. If you are very good at disc golf you shouldn't have a hard time with this course. There are many opportunities to get a few birdies and many pars.

The grass was trimmed on the front nine with the back nine just out in some fields so it is more of large grassy areas.

The course does a good job with having signs on every hole besides one and it does a good job of locating you to the next hole so that you don't get lost. All the teepads have concrete which is a big plus.

Lastly, it's very secluded for the most part from the rest of the park.
Cons: Hole 8 doesn't have a sign, Hole 13's sign was knocked over on the ground, Hole 18's sign was knocked over on the ground.

There were some large amounts of trash just laying on the ground next to the teepads which is a big pet peeve of mine.
Other Thoughts: I came on a Monday when I had the day off from work so the course was completely empty. Just a few people walking around but besides that it was just me. There is a dog playground/park next to Hole 11 so it was fun to stop and play on that for a little while before proceeding to the next hole.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/20/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: tjonesbusiness
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: hardly anyone was there, a range of shots needed
Cons: I've played pretty much all the Middle TN courses and found this one to be EXTREMELY difficult for some reason, course design is not great
Other Thoughts: I'm not completely sure as to why I didn't really like this course. I will have to say that I found this course to be extremely difficult to score well. I guess it was the overall layout. I'm not a fan of heavily wooded, tight shots and this course has plenty of those. One hole is VERY narrow. 300+ feet and the left side is a barb wire fence. If you are a backhand player, what the f*$# are you supposed to do??? Probably won't drive back up to Gallatin to play this one any time soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Diverse Holes and Lost Discs

5+    7/9/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: RayRay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good Diversity of shots
- Techincal Shots on front 9 are very challenging and unique
- Requires good decision making
Cons: - Technical holes and Open holes are not mixed well. Feels like two 9 holes back to back.
- Very easy to lose a disc on the back 9 in high grass or dense woods. New players need to be careful.
Other Thoughts: This course is certainly better than some of the reviews suggest. The back is a little bland but the front is awesome and requires some serious control.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.