Gallatin, TN 
Triple Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: punkfan55 Hole #3
3 / 249ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Average course, fun though

1    12/12/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 227  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Triple Creek provides for a nice shot selection on the front nine and some wide open shots on the back nine to let loose on. The tee pads are good size and grippy (important because I played it while it was snowing). The signs are adequate and the flow of the course is easy to follow. There aren't any spots where you can get lost in and the course sits away from most other activities in the park aside from the fenced off dog park. The design nicely uses the creeks flowing through the park on a lot of the putting greens. The front nine tests your technical ability through mostly wooded and mostly flat holes. Several holes play perpendicular to a tree line to add a little luck to the course while most of the others play through moderate to heavy woods. The rough is thick enough that straying too far in will cost you at least a stroke. Only three holes on the front have any real elevation changes. The back nine has mostly open holes with baskets tucked in along the tree line and next to the creek. Most of these holes are flat with only a few giving any change in grade. Nice use of the double mando on number 18 to channel shots through the tree line.
Cons: First thing I noticed was on the walk between 3 and 4, you come to within 15 feet behind of number 6's basket. That's a big safety issue in my book since I see number 6 as an ace run hole in which throws can easily sail right past the basket. Several other tee pads can also be in danger of being hit by an errant throw. Several times on the back nine, there are multiple tees within 30 feet of each other. I normally wouldn't mention this but its obvious to me that this would slow play down a lot during tournaments while waiting for one group to not distract another group. The posts on which the tee signs are placed are physically touching the tee pad so in case you want to approach the pad from a certain angle, you can't because the post is in the way. With the course being in a lower point in the park near the creeks, drainage can be an issue with pools of standing water common on the back nine. The fairway to number 12 floods as well. As I have noticed with numerous HB courses, the course will lead out to a certain point with no real resolution to the loop so there's one overly long hole to get back towards the rest of the course. This is the same at Triple Creek where number 16 is the huge bomber hole that feels out of place compared to all the other holes in the park.
Other Thoughts: Noticed there are no trash cans anywhere on the course so pack all of your stuff in and out to keep this course clean. Maybe it was just the day I was playing it (snowing, overcast, cold) but the wind can be a big factor in disc selection at Triple Creek. Overall this course can be fun for players of all skill levels. It provides good shots for less skilled players to learn and perfect while giving more skilled players a chance to post some low scores. Several of the holes on the front nine strongly remind me of Veterans Park in Lexington, KY in that they're wooded with a nice creek flowing parallel to the fairway. I wouldn't consider Triple Creek to be a must play in the Nashville area but would be a good warm up to go play Sanders Ferry or if you're in the area with time to spare for a round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Just OK

1    7/3/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: LMeyers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: had a decent course flow.
Cons: front was much more enjoyable than the back as the back went through what seemed to be a farmers hay field. also, dogs at the "dog park" barked at us going by.
Other Thoughts: one time was enough!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/20/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: tjonesbusiness
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: hardly anyone was there, a range of shots needed
Cons: I've played pretty much all the Middle TN courses and found this one to be EXTREMELY difficult for some reason, course design is not great
Other Thoughts: I'm not completely sure as to why I didn't really like this course. I will have to say that I found this course to be extremely difficult to score well. I guess it was the overall layout. I'm not a fan of heavily wooded, tight shots and this course has plenty of those. One hole is VERY narrow. 300+ feet and the left side is a barb wire fence. If you are a backhand player, what the f*$# are you supposed to do??? Probably won't drive back up to Gallatin to play this one any time soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A tale of two 9's

1    12/1/2008   12/1/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a decent course.. The first hole is a nice downhill shot through a row of trees, the second is a typical hyzer shot. Then, enter the woods for a lefty/sidearm shot, followed by 2 more holes with long wooded fairways. There are a few easy birdies on the front, but the wooded holes are fun and provide a challenge.

The back 9... well, I have to say the front 9 and back 9 are completely different. For almost all the shots on the back 9 you are throwing a long drive with trees either on your right or on your left. You will be fighting the wind of most of these shots, with all of them being 300+. The highlight of the back 9 was a 500+ foot monster with a 5 foot window about 20 feet from the tee. The rest of the back 9 was forgettable.
Cons: Some pretty typical holes at this course that you could find anywhere else.

Lack of continuity in the layout. Goes from short and technical to long and open.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course, but there are about 5 or 6 really great courses within 1 hour.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/10/2009   7/12/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a nice new park that is still being developed, ample parking, and often it seems you pretty much have the course to yourself. There are small but informative tee signs and a great map of the course by hole 1 and the practice basket.

This course has a decent variety of tightly wooded and long open holes. Wide variety of distance from 220' to 610'. The fairways are starting mature with time- the wooded holes now have legitimate paths and the open holes are neatly mowed and are clearly defined as they are lined by very tall meadow grass.

Tees #1 and #10 both start at the parking lot and are actually side by side. All tees are concrete.
Cons: This is basically 2 courses- front 9 in the woods, back 9 long and open in a field, instead of a nice mix back and forth (but I believe the course started as 9 and later upped to 18.)

The disappointing thing for me to see was that the signs,pads, and baskets seem to be aging much faster than they should for a course as new as this one. Many of the signs were broken and laying on the ground. The corners of some of the teepads had started to erode away. And many of the Innova Discatchers were starting to rust- especially the band on the top.

I am also disappointed they removed/reconfigured the best hole on the course- you used to have to play a hole between two long tree lines, now they have #1 and #9 playing through the tree lines and a 90 degree angle than the original hole and it just doesn't seem to fit- now you rely more on luck for those holes than skill like used to be required.

Another one of my favorite holes is no longer there as they built a dog park right in the middle of #11's fairway, so now the new hole looks a lot like all the others on the back- wide open with the basket tucked in the woods.
Other Thoughts: I would only play this course if I was in the area and could not go somewhere else nearby. It provides an opportunity to work on your game, but I don't prefer it for competitive rounds. There are just too many other courses in the Nashville area and surrounding counties that are way better.

*I have updated this review and increased my rating by .5 discs since I first played this course. This is proof that new courses can get better over time, but I feel some areas they have improved while other alterations have detracted.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not too bad...

2/18/2008   2/23/2008
Review By: punkfan55
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It had a good mixture of open and wooded holes. Some of the holes were pretty challenging. A lot of elevation changes.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.