Gallatin, TN 
Triple Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: punkfan55  



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 ready to shoot myself

1    5/30/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: ChronoDisc
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: it was a nice mix of wooded and open holes. the pins were very nice and every hole had a concrete pad. located in a very nice area. even has a small creek (dont throw it in!)
Cons: i absolutaly hate this course with a burning passion. the first couple of holes were ok, open and mostly easy. then you get back into the deathtrap in the woods. one hole even has a very narrow area for you to throw through. if you throw it to the right you never see your disc again, if you throw it to the left you have to climb over a small barb wire fence. i really did not like the layout of this course. it had me walking all over the place wondering where i was headed next. one hole in the back nine actually is just a section mowed out of shoulder high grass. throw it in and the magical disc fairy steals your disc (by the way if you find a white roc in there... its mine)
not neccesarily a bad course.... just really really annoying.
Other Thoughts: not really worth the trip. if you live nearby, check it out. otherwise dont bother.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A tale of two 9's

1    12/1/2008   12/1/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a decent course.. The first hole is a nice downhill shot through a row of trees, the second is a typical hyzer shot. Then, enter the woods for a lefty/sidearm shot, followed by 2 more holes with long wooded fairways. There are a few easy birdies on the front, but the wooded holes are fun and provide a challenge.

The back 9... well, I have to say the front 9 and back 9 are completely different. For almost all the shots on the back 9 you are throwing a long drive with trees either on your right or on your left. You will be fighting the wind of most of these shots, with all of them being 300+. The highlight of the back 9 was a 500+ foot monster with a 5 foot window about 20 feet from the tee. The rest of the back 9 was forgettable.
Cons: Some pretty typical holes at this course that you could find anywhere else.

Lack of continuity in the layout. Goes from short and technical to long and open.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course, but there are about 5 or 6 really great courses within 1 hour.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/10/2009   7/12/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a nice new park that is still being developed, ample parking, and often it seems you pretty much have the course to yourself. There are small but informative tee signs and a great map of the course by hole 1 and the practice basket.

This course has a decent variety of tightly wooded and long open holes. Wide variety of distance from 220' to 610'. The fairways are starting mature with time- the wooded holes now have legitimate paths and the open holes are neatly mowed and are clearly defined as they are lined by very tall meadow grass.

Tees #1 and #10 both start at the parking lot and are actually side by side. All tees are concrete.
Cons: This is basically 2 courses- front 9 in the woods, back 9 long and open in a field, instead of a nice mix back and forth (but I believe the course started as 9 and later upped to 18.)

The disappointing thing for me to see was that the signs,pads, and baskets seem to be aging much faster than they should for a course as new as this one. Many of the signs were broken and laying on the ground. The corners of some of the teepads had started to erode away. And many of the Innova Discatchers were starting to rust- especially the band on the top.

I am also disappointed they removed/reconfigured the best hole on the course- you used to have to play a hole between two long tree lines, now they have #1 and #9 playing through the tree lines and a 90 degree angle than the original hole and it just doesn't seem to fit- now you rely more on luck for those holes than skill like used to be required.

Another one of my favorite holes is no longer there as they built a dog park right in the middle of #11's fairway, so now the new hole looks a lot like all the others on the back- wide open with the basket tucked in the woods.
Other Thoughts: I would only play this course if I was in the area and could not go somewhere else nearby. It provides an opportunity to work on your game, but I don't prefer it for competitive rounds. There are just too many other courses in the Nashville area and surrounding counties that are way better.

*I have updated this review and increased my rating by .5 discs since I first played this course. This is proof that new courses can get better over time, but I feel some areas they have improved while other alterations have detracted.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Has a good mix

4/1/2008   5/9/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great mix of short, long, open, and wooded holes. The front nine is heavily wooded and requires acurrate throws with a midrange or putter. The woods are extremely thick on the front with heavy underbrush. The fairways are fair, but if you are not in them or on the edge of them you will be pitching out on the front nine. The back nine is more open with the holes winding along a few over grown fence lines and creeks. Water does come into play on the front and back in form of a small creek. If you throw in it you can get your disc back as long as it didn't just come a huge rain.
Cons: The course tends to not drain well on the back nine. In the summer they only mow the fairways on the back nine and the fields around them can have grass a couple feet tall and it can be really hard to find your disc.

The main reason this course doesn't get good reviews from most people is it's just not a real pretty course. Not the prettiest to play.
Other Thoughts: This course is well worth playing and can be pretty challenging if you can't throw your mids with the right shape and distance on the front nine. If you can come off the front nine close to par you should be able to shoot low. the back is for the taking. 54 is a pretty good score on this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Typical

1    5/22/2006   4/15/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/10/2008
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, solid baskets, quiet and calm, not very crowded, good use of available terrain.
Cons: There were a lot of small issues. The design. The drainage problems. Altogether, I just wasn't thrilled. It was perfectly average. Nothing more and nothing less.
Other Thoughts: The drainage seems to be an issue on both the back and the front. The last time I played there the back nine had a few holes that played through the open meadow where the fairways were mowed out of grass that was about 3 feet high. Errant drives were nearly impossible to find. On one of the first few holes there is what looks to be a "twigloo". We called it this because it was dense undergrowth that resembled a dome shape. It was thick and we had to retrieve a disc from inside of it...not fun. Overall, It was a break from the courses I play all the time, but nothing that would ever make me say "I can't wait to go back and play this course again!" I actually scratched my eyeball (yes eyeball) throwing out from underneath a fir tree. It swole shut and I finished the round "pirate-style". That really didn't factor into my evaluation of the course. It was fun because it was different, not because it was a great course. I may go back some time if I am bored.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not too bad...

2/18/2008   2/23/2008
Review By: punkfan55
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It had a good mixture of open and wooded holes. Some of the holes were pretty challenging. A lot of elevation changes.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.